Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,346 Location: Nairobi
obiero wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:sparkly wrote:sparkly wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:sparkly wrote:mamilli wrote:obiero wrote:Ebenyo wrote:HaMaina wrote:If you don't expect to lose as much as you expect to win, then you should just buy t-bills, they are nice and safe. I remember in the Bible there is also the suggestion of just burying your money in a safe place. I can guarantee you won't lose a single shilling. i go by the school of thought that diversification is good as it minimises one exposure towards risks. vvs,sparkly,littledove,aguytrying,angelica anne and wondergirl are some of the wazuans whom i see in that line.They are evenly diversified and i feel thats healthy.I have learnt alot from them and its been very helpful. Sticking with just one counter like my brother obiero does is not healthy unless you want to take over the company. My portfolio is evenly diversified currently that i sleep very well.I doubt whether you,HaMaina sleeps because of the situation with mumias.Obiero gets something extra from KQ on top of the shares he owns in that company,so its well with him. I feel diversification is good than sticking with one company.There is no need to get ulcers when you can prevent. @Ebenyo KQ isn't the only stock I have ever held and you know it! But if one can get ulcers from stock investment then you or that person are simply not man enough.. Hii pesa yote tutaiwacha hapa. Eclessiastes 2 In the words of warren buffet..."diversification may preserve wealth but concentration builds wealth" Diversification is relative. In the 60s, 10-30 stocks was considered diversified but these days 30 stocks are considered concentrated https://www.irishtimes.c...olio-1.2423050?mode=amp
Berkshire Hathaway holds over 100 stocks and businesses https://en.m.wikipedia.o...d_by_Berkshire_Hathaway
BH is worth more than a few billion dollars! BTW, out of town but I owe you 12k... KES not $. Not forgotten.  waiting, I will take Mpesa, unless you want a photo op @VVS trust that you are now back to Nairobi. Waiting for 12k Kenyan money on 0708 733938. Kabisa. Back on Thursday. KES 12,000 ;-) Surely @sparkly why squeeze the old man while you earned superior gains on your stock pick.. Unataka kula dividend zote za miaka nne from @vvs Don't you owe me 100k + interest? Nah, @sparkly won fair and square. I still do not believe that KenGen is superior to KK but the term was to end on 31 Dec 2017... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett