wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

10 Pages«<678910>
KCSE 2016 Results
#141 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 12:30:05 PM

There's also this argument about KCPE and KCSE being normalized tests. Does it mean if I score a mean of 30% It should be turned into a B so as to fit into some curve? I think grades should never vary. 30% is a clear E.
sitaki.kujulikana
#142 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 1:04:46 PM

creativekaggs wrote:
KNUT wants 2016 KCSE results cancelled.

https://www.standardmedi...-kcse-results-cancelled

KNUT is the most disgraced of the so-called education sector stakeholders.

No one takes them seriously and you can rest assured no one is going to waste their time responding to them.

The other day they were fighting bridge international schools not because of performance but because their teachers don't pay union dues. They were seriously lobbying for the bridge schools to be closed yet they outperform public schools year in year out.

Ok. Knut is bad corrupt, their feet smell etc

Should we fail 300k students? Are our exams more credible because more students are failing? Are we happy because many are failing?

At least we now know these bastards were not teaching our kids. They were waiting for the exam leakage.

Can we push them to do what they are paid to do.

Aren't KNUT the same idiots who sat in the taskforce to agree on school fees guidelines then they collected their cut from principals and started lobbying against the same ?

true, unless the guys against it want us to also moderate the doctors, economists e.t.c

If the exams are set to the set standards for kids in that ages group, if most of them are failing then we need to look at the causes not give them false grades, mambo ya shortcuts ni dangerous, let the kids know if you want to take a particular academic path then you are required to put in some extra work.
sitaki.kujulikana
#143 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 1:07:59 PM

Shak wrote:
There's also this argument about KCPE and KCSE being normalized tests. Does it mean if I score a mean of 30% It should be turned into a B so as to fit into some curve? I think grades should never vary. 30% is a clear E.

true, especially given that those are the single exams that place individuals into the specialized career paths, I mean if for one to be a doctor or a physicist a particular threshold is needed I see a big disservice to the country if all we do is bump up lower grades to fill the same, we end up with clueless experts, no wonder we are going to china to build our roads.
Realtreaty
#144 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 2:16:52 PM

Actually this was the group who sat KCPE 2012 which made me write lots to the Educators as it seem selection of Form one was done badly. It was the time a quota system was used and most students with over 400 were denied National schools and posted to Extra- county schools.
They cried!!!
Now again they are crying for performing poorly!!!
That was mere corruption of young minds in Education.
Thump up for those who passed and hope University placement will be equal.
#145 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 7:21:14 PM

Is 60% pass in Chemistry the same as 60% pass in Home Science?
Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?)

#146 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 7:42:51 PM

Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?)

That's how kina Magoha did it. Hence the skew towards grade E
#147 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 9:13:26 PM

KNUT needs to shurrup. No messaging of results is required. Let those teachers sign the performance contracts. Its alarming if a class 7 student cannot solve a class three maths problem
creativekaggs
#148 Posted : Sunday, January 08, 2017 9:59:45 PM

This post is purely an online Digital Backup incase of litigation.

My last on this thread.

------------------------------
45 students from 26 schools

A999:B+,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=82A
B999:B+,A,A,A,A,A-,A,A=82A
C999:B+,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
D999:B+,A-,A,B+,A,A,A,A=81A
B998:B,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
B997:B,A,A,A,A,B+,A,A=81A
E999:B+,A-,A,A,B+,A,A,A=81A
F999:B,A,A,A-,A,A,A,A=81A
G999:B,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
H999:B,A,A,A,A,A-,A,A=81A
I999:B,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
D998:B,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
C998:A-,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
C997:A-,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
J999:B+,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
K999:B+,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
L999:A-,B+,A,A-,A,A,A,A=81A
L998:A-,A-,A,A,A-,A,A=81A
L997:B+,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=81A
D997:B-,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=80A-
D996:B-,A,A,B+,A,A,A,A=80A-
B997:B,A-,A,A,A,A-,A,A=80A-
M996:B+,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=80A-
K995:B,A-,A,A-,A,A,A,A=80A
N999:B,A-,A,A-,A,A,A,A=80A-
O999:B-,A,A,A,A,A,A,A=80A-
P999:B,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=80A-
L997:B+,B,A,A,A,A,A,A=79A-
F998:B,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=79A-
C996:B+,B,A,A-,A,A,A,A=79A-
Q999:B,A-,A,A,A-,A,A,A=79A-
R999:B-,A-,A,A,A,A,A,A=79A-
S999:B,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=79A-
T999:B-,B+,A,A-,A,A,A,A=78A-
U999:B-,B+,A,A,A,A,A,A=78A-
V999:B,B+,A,A-,A,B+,A,A=78-
W999:B-,B+,A,B+,A,A,A,A=78A-
H998:C+,A-,A,A-,A,A-,A,A=77A-
X999:B-,B,A,A-,A,A,A-,A=76A-
Y999:C+,B,A,A,A,B+,A,A=76A-
Z999:C+,B+,A,B,A,A-,A,B=74A-
Z998:B-,B,A-,B-,A,B+,A,A=74A-
Z997:C+,B+,A,B+,A-,A-,A,B=73A-
Z996:B-,B,A,B+,B+,A-,A-,A=73B+
A901:C+,B+,A,B,B+,A-,A-,A-=71B+

1st column= coded index number
2nd column=English
3rd column=Kiswahili
4th column=Mathematics
Last column=Mean Grade & AGP
sitaki.kujulikana
#149 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 11:36:09 AM

As has been mentioned, kcpe is not mederated, mock exams are not moderated, university exams are not moderated, when people are going majuu SAT is not moderated, kwani hii kcse iko na nini.
If kids fail sawa, it's better to filter them out instead of wasting resources on say doctors who drop out before finishing the course .
sitaki.kujulikana
#150 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 11:44:09 AM

The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China.
#151 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 12:38:16 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China.

So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences?

sitaki.kujulikana
#152 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 12:47:06 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences?

Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta
#153 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 1:04:51 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta

Your assumption is people fail only because they're not academically gifted

What about how the exam was set?

I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days
PeterReborn
#154 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 1:19:59 PM

The exams are generally recycled from the previous years and there is no need to moderate just to get a normal curve.
If last year the grade for A was 80 marks why should be change it to 50 marks this year just because the students have failed.
Even in real life there is no moderation.A loaf of break that cost sh46 in december will not cost 40 bob just because it is Njaanuary and we are broke.
Consistency is better than intensity
#155 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 1:47:09 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
The exams are generally recycled from the previous years and there is no need to moderate just to get a normal curve.
If last year the grade for A was 80 marks why should be change it to 50 marks this year just because the students have failed.
Even in real life there is no moderation.A loaf of break that cost sh46 in december will not cost 40 bob just because it is Njaanuary and we are broke.

The reality is that education cannot be compared with mkate. That analogy is faulty

We need to every year get new students to be teachers, doctors, plumbers, engineers, mechanics, waiters, pilots, drivers etc

How will we get a balance if we fail 300,000 students?

For bread prices (if we were to admit that analogy) they're moderated by the laws of supply and demand

sitaki.kujulikana
#156 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:31:10 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

The reality is that education cannot be compared with mkate. That analogy is faulty

We need to every year get new students to be teachers, doctors, plumbers, engineers, mechanics, waiters, pilots, drivers etc

For bread prices (if we were to admit that analogy) they're moderated by the laws of supply and demand

That's the problem we have, the fixing mentality, I mean to be a doctor there are set requirements, the same goes to other fields, would you hire a driver who cant negotiate a corner as your driver just because he was the best ? He will kill you, surely if our kids can not meet those basic international standards then we need to look for the problem and fix it, be it teachers, or resources, not upping their grades. I mean why don't lecturers at the university standardize grades, ukipata f you either repeat or go.
sitaki.kujulikana
#157 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:35:37 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days

Exams are set from the curriculum, and the latter is designed with some parameters, unless you can show that the exam was set out of the same it's not honest to say that the way the exam was set caused students to fail. If the exam was set within the curriculum then we should look at what caused majority of the kids to fail not increase their grades otherwise we are just setting up a lazy educational system.
Anti_Burglar
#158 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:35:54 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

That's the problem we have, the fixing mentality, I mean to be a doctor there are set requirements, the same goes to other fields, would you hire a driver who cant negotiate a corner as your driver just because he was the best ? He will kill you, surely if our kids can not meet those basic international standards then we need to look for the problem and fix it, be it teachers, or resources, not upping their grades. I mean why don't lecturers at the university standardize grades, ukipata f you either repeat or go.

The failure are withdrawal symptoms of the cheating addiction.
PeterReborn
#159 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 3:42:36 PM

Anti_Burglar wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:

The failure are withdrawal symptoms of the cheating addiction.

Exactly.The standards of educating has been deteriorating over the years and people are afraid of the naked truth.The reading culture and dying and laziness has taken over.Let us deal with the root cause of these issues and not sugar coat failure.
Consistency is better than intensity
cnn
#160 Posted : Monday, January 09, 2017 5:14:02 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

If only we could get somebody to post the results for the first two KCSE's...the whole country produced only single A's in both exams, compare with the 141 people are complaining about last year...and the second exam had 53 candidates achieve the A- grade for the whole country and 350 B+ grade...i do not remember this moderation noise then.
A- in English was by 5 students ,i do not remember a plain A,Kiswahili saw more achieve A plain grade.While physics,chemistry and Mathematics had a number of As,Biology was another monster.In the end a fair number of student's qualified for all the professional courses when it came to the respective subject clusters and the bar even then was high,Medicine got 160,pharmacy 30 and Dental surgery 15 which was about the capacity then.
Matiangi and Magoha have just restored normalcy.