wazua Tue, Mar 31, 2026

12 Pages«<678910>»
July deadline for ban on cash for bus fare
urstill1
#71 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:35:15 PM

I'm telling you these laptops will come, mpende msipende.

urstill1
#72 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:37:19 PM

this thing is dead in the water! gava can dictate what it wants to be paid taxes in but cannot force transactions between private parties to be carried out using some other form. they have provided legal tender just incase we don't agree. if they want to be paid taxes using bebapay or lipa na m-pesa... that is fine. but the last time i checked the notes i have in my pockets are "legal tender for the payment of debts" and if one does not want to be paid using them then.... angoje mbaka sikuile nitasubscribe kwa m-pesa.

One of the very few times I have seen you not supporting the gaarment/Jub policies.
#73 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 10:47:19 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc

So who is complaining?
#74 Posted : Sunday, January 05, 2014 11:38:29 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
By the way, were the Matatu owners part of the deal when these new rules were drafted?

yes they were part of the deal.Their reasoning is that they will stop losing money to conductors, mungiki, police...etc

So who is complaining?

Common man smile Just like he's complaining now that he cant travel by bus at night
hamburglar
#75 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 8:03:39 AM

which part of the pictures above murchr, don't you understand. The rectangle thing with a 1 printed on it is CASH.

We are trying to copy ideas that don't even exist. Even the google card being touted by the gov't is a beta test that has not passed google engineers yet.

Cashless matatus my foot. Ati digital. Hii ni Taxation. Let's just accept and move on.

U are showing pictures of the 90s these days there are apps that can be downloaded from App store or google play for ticketing eg https://play.google.com/...dk.unwire.projects.dart

Very few of those buses remain these days mainly because many people park and ride so where you park ...you buy your ticket and go to work using train or bus.

Muchr. You obviously have no idea what you are talking about. All buses in the metro areas of every city and every State in America take cash. They have a coin box which dispenses tickets. You definitely have no idea how the park and ride works either. Am not sure where you are getting your information from. Trust me, i lived in the States for 16 years and have been to over 30 States so i think i might know a thing or two about this whole thing. Even Greyhound tickets are purchased using cash. The US is a widely cashless society, but nowhere you go is cash frowned upon. You can use cash anywhere you like, the main reason people prefer plastic is because of the convenience it offers.

This whole idea the Kenyan government is trying to implement on matatus is ludicrous. I won't go through all that trouble of sijui beba pay or whatever you guys are calling it, if i just want to hop into a matatu for a quick trip down the road. It just sounds very ill conceived and exhausting.

The government cannot dictate which form of legal tender i prefer to use, unless they want to do away with cash, i will use cash whenever it's convenient for me, and in matatus is one of those places that i refuse to use any other form of payment. If they don't take my cash then that's their problem, they can take me to small claims court where i will still pay them in cash anyway. Some ideas are very retrogressive. Why are Kenyans policy makers so devoid of common sense?
#76 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 9:54:33 AM

Totally stupid worthless project. Wasting time on rubbish while major issues are not addressed. Typical Jubilee govt...
#77 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 10:00:48 AM

urstill1 wrote:
this thing is dead in the water! gava can dictate what it wants to be paid taxes in but cannot force transactions between private parties to be carried out using some other form. they have provided legal tender just incase we don't agree. if they want to be paid taxes using bebapay or lipa na m-pesa... that is fine. but the last time i checked the notes i have in my pockets are "legal tender for the payment of debts" and if one does not want to be paid using them then.... angoje mbaka sikuile nitasubscribe kwa m-pesa.

One of the very few times I have seen you not supporting the gaarment/Jub policies.

There was a thread where 2013 goggles were to be left huko 2013. This is a good progress.

#78 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:22:19 PM

I would be pleasantly surprised if most complaining against the move use matatus. smile
#79 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:30:04 PM

I would be pleasantly surprised if most complaining against the move use matatus. smile

We have dependants, relatives, and even our own children who use mats. smile
Ole Lenku
#80 Posted : Monday, January 06, 2014 12:31:29 PM

People with private vehicles should shout the loudest."First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a communist;
Then they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a socialist;
Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a trade unionist;
Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—
because I was not a Jew;
Then they came for me—
and there was no one left to speak out for me"Martin Niemoller
12 Pages«<678910>»