MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

Wow when was this? wish i could have known those times

Nice, which part of Nairobi is this?

I can see National Archives, Ambassador Hotel. That stage must be the area outside Hilton hotel.

The Hilton Hotel was built on that bus terminal.

What were those green buses called?

I don't remember who was running the buses. It think it was a British company,
before they were taken over KBS.

However, very fond memories of those times.Things were organized

- We used to live in Nairobi South, and there were no high schools nearby.
- Therefore,I went to the Duke of Gloucester ( called DOG ) from 1961 to 1964 for my O levels, and by that time
Highway Secondary had opened in Nairobi South, and so I went there from 1965 to 1966 for my A levels
- The transport to school was very organized. To go to DOG and other schools, the bus company ran a special
Double Decker service, subsidized, for school kids only . It used to leave at 7am from Nairobi South
and stop on the way to pick more kids going to schools in Ngara, Parklands etc.
- On the way home this student bus was not operational. The reason was that, whereas, all students had to go to school
at the same time in the morning, but they did not come back at the same time. This was due to fact that we had
extracurricular activities, like the photography club, different sports etc etc.
-Therefore, for the ride home I had to take a bus from near DOG, and change for the bus to Nairobi South at that
Bus terminal,that is now Nairobi Hilton.
- The bus fares were cents, not shillings.
- We used to have a hearty lunch of Githiri from Mama Rose, or a boiled & roasted corn cob from Mwangi, for 10 cents.

The school system at the time was no financial burden for my civil servant father.

You know what. Just writing this has brought tears to my old eyes.

Does were the days. How did we manage to mess everything up. ?????

Whoa! You guys had a life.

Unrelated, you must be above 65 by now. I never knew wazua is not only vijana.

We are many here....

Hats Off @Wendz.

BTW. Have always though you are a young lady d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#142 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 11:46:11 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

I can see National Archives, Ambassador Hotel. That stage must be the area outside Hilton hotel.

- Therefore,I went to the Duke of Gloucester ( called DOG ) from 1961 to 1964 for my O levels, and by that time
Highway Secondary had opened in Nairobi South, and so I went there from 1965 to 1966 for my A levels
- The transport to school was very organized. To go to DOG and other schools, the bus company ran a special
Double Decker service, subsidized, for school kids only . It used to leave at 7am from Nairobi South
- On the way home this student bus was not operational. The reason was that, whereas, all students had to go to school
at the same time in the morning, but they did not come back at the same time. This was due to fact that we had
extracurricular activities, like the photography club, different sports etc etc.
-Therefore, for the ride home I had to take a bus from near DOG, and change for the bus to Nairobi South at that
- We used to have a hearty lunch of Githiri from Mama Rose, or a boiled & roasted corn cob from Mwangi, for 10 cents.

The school system at the time was no financial burden for my civil servant father.

We are many here....

Hats Off @Wendz.

She is young! Mzee ni wewe na watu wa kwenu!
#143 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 11:55:35 AM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

We are many here....

Hats Off @Wendz.

She is young! Mzee ni wewe na watu wa kwenu!

ISORAIT!!
MatataMingi
#144 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 12:02:10 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

Not National Archives but Kenya Commercial Bank, that's why the area is called 'commercial'. The street between commercial and Ambassador is the shortest street in Nairobi, hence the name Short Street.

So the National Archives house was a KCB house before?
What was it housing before the KCB?

KCB is that tiny building to the right next to the double decker bus. And behind it i can see Sabina Joy.

I am waiting for @MatataMingi to clarify, weweuko too young to know.

Kwanja Sabina Joy was not there then, the place was occupied by a Kodak shop!

@impunity. A bit of history here.

After independence, most African countries like Tanganyika, Ethiopia, Uganda nationalized
the banks. Kenya was a bit smarter. It took over the biggest bank around, which was National & Grindlys.
and renamed it KCB. As part of the takeover deal, N&G were allowed to have only 2 small branches, One in Nairobi and the other in Mombasa. The management to start off was mostly N&G. There was also a deal that the Managing Director will be from N&G, even as the other positions were taken over by Kenyans over time. This lasted well into the late 90s early 20s,
with Andrew Hamilton being the last N&G managing director at KCB.

So what is now the National Archives was the N&G head office and became the KCB head office.
#145 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 1:19:47 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

Not National Archives but Kenya Commercial Bank, that's why the area is called 'commercial'. The street between commercial and Ambassador is the shortest street in Nairobi, hence the name Short Street.

So the National Archives house was a KCB house before?
What was it housing before the KCB?

KCB is that tiny building to the right next to the double decker bus. And behind it i can see Sabina Joy.

I am waiting for @MatataMingi to clarify, weweuko too young to know.

Kwanja Sabina Joy was not there then, the place was occupied by a Kodak shop!

@impunity. A bit of history here.

After independence, most African countries like Tanganyika, Ethiopia, Uganda nationalized
the banks. Kenya was a bit smarter. It took over the biggest bank around, which was National & Grindlys.
and renamed it KCB. As part of the takeover deal, N&G were allowed to have only 2 small branches, One in Nairobi and the other in Mombasa. The management to start off was mostly N&G. There was also a deal that the Managing Director will be from N&G, even as the other positions were taken over by Kenyans over time. This lasted well into the late 90s early 20s,
with Andrew Hamilton being the last N&G managing director at KCB.

So what is now the National Archives was the N&G head office and became the KCB head office.

Thanks.

ION:Do you know the original HQ of Barclays bank bulding in Nairobi? My great uncle work there in its formative days.

#146 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 1:26:14 PM

Who remembers this? Events of Jan-2009!

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Tokyo
#147 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 1:40:46 PM

@Matatamingi I'm lovin' it.
work to prosper
MatataMingi
#148 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:32:27 PM

Sorry,
In my last post about National & Grindlays, I should have told you that N&G was a merger between National Bank of India and Grindlays of the UK. The merger took place in 1958, when the 2 banks merged, but only for their Kenyan branches.
#149 Posted : Saturday, January 24, 2015 7:13:36 PM

Must be Norfolk

Shell BP House

Outside Cityhall
Thitifini
#150 Posted : Saturday, January 24, 2015 10:49:08 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

We are many here....

@matatamingi.... on a light note, which generation caused these chaos??

@kingfisher, I don't think you can point to a generation.
But the mess was caused mainly by Moi, and i firmly believe it could have been avoided
if we had another leader.

Even though I was aroun in 60's and 70's,I think even as late as early 90's; Nairobi was still organized and clean.We used to have the steet lightining,organized transport system(Nyayo bus>stage coach>Kenya bus>Kenya bus management), garbage was collected on time by the NCC,clean streets and estates, tarmacked estates etc.
I think the chaos came after the world banks SAP's and western democracy!!!

@Sewani, @matatamingi. Hats off you guys.

On another note, I agree with @sewani. The SAPs were the most audacious policy to be implemented by GOK, from the little history I've analysed on GOK/DP policy impact.

The njugus messed us, plus the few technocrats who signed their 'restructuring proposals'.

By the way one jungu's daughter of these 'restructuring gurus' once explained to me how the family was pulled out of poverty in Europe during this time by the father (supply deals). And she's a donor project manager right now still in Kenya. Can imagine how she thinks of us.....

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#151 Posted : Saturday, January 31, 2015 9:39:46 PM

#152 Posted : Sunday, February 01, 2015 8:58:36 AM

#153 Posted : Sunday, February 01, 2015 9:10:41 AM

Colonial Police

#154 Posted : Sunday, February 01, 2015 9:16:21 AM

Escorted to the "ICC" to answer charges.

jokes
#155 Posted : Sunday, February 01, 2015 10:21:25 AM

Thitifini wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
kingfisher wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

We are many here....

@matatamingi.... on a light note, which generation caused these chaos??

@kingfisher, I don't think you can point to a generation.
But the mess was caused mainly by Moi, and i firmly believe it could have been avoided
if we had another leader.

Even though I was aroun in 60's and 70's,I think even as late as early 90's; Nairobi was still organized and clean.We used to have the steet lightining,organized transport system(Nyayo bus>stage coach>Kenya bus>Kenya bus management), garbage was collected on time by the NCC,clean streets and estates, tarmacked estates etc.
I think the chaos came after the world banks SAP's and western democracy!!!

@Sewani, @matatamingi. Hats off you guys.

On another note, I agree with @sewani. The SAPs were the most audacious policy to be implemented by GOK, from the little history I've analysed on GOK/DP policy impact.

The njugus messed us, plus the few technocrats who signed their 'restructuring proposals'.

By the way one jungu's daughter of these 'restructuring gurus' once explained to me how the family was pulled out of poverty in Europe during this time by the father (supply deals). And she's a donor project manager right now still in Kenya. Can imagine how she thinks of us.....

I agree, SAPs were bad especially the loan conditions from IMF and world bank.

Here are some of the conditions by the for SAP's and the list is not exhaustive;

Reducing expenditures also known as austerity measures.

Focusing economic output on resource extraction for direct export,

Devaluation of our currency

Trade liberalization and lifting import and export restrictions,

Increasing the stability of investments by supplementing foreign direct investments

opening of domestic stock markets

Balancing budgets and not overspending,

Removing price controls and state subsidies,

Privatization, or divestiture of all or part of state-owned enterprises,

Enhancing the rights of foreign investors vis-a-vis national laws,

Improving governance and fighting corruption this is where they insisted on the formation of Kenya anti corruption commission
#156 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 4:32:56 AM

GO Karting, Nakuru

City Park

CBD

Nairobi 1911, usitharau mlolongo
#157 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 8:47:25 AM

GO Karting, Nakuru

City Park

CBD

Nairobi 1911, usitharau mlolongo

Where did those trees in CBD disappear to?
#158 Posted : Thursday, February 26, 2015 10:18:13 AM

Alba wrote:
guru267 wrote:
just trying to imagine what the scenario would be had we attained our independence in 1997.

Just look at south Africa to satisfy this imagination!

Or if Kenya were still a British territory like Bermuda or Montesserat. This thread brings home the fact that Independence is overrated. December 12 should not be celebrated.

The eating mentality has to be nurtured out of our culture.

You think mzungu could have let you share in his prosperity?
#159 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2015 9:57:08 AM

Stunningly beautiful!

#160 Posted : Wednesday, March 18, 2015 1:38:27 PM

Am wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

We are many here....

Hats Off @Wendz.

At heart, yes.... else, I was there well before independence.