wazua Sun, Dec 29, 2024

15 Pages«<678910>»
Konza city Reality.
jamplu
#141 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:26:14 AM

In my view, those offering Mr. Ndemo high fives and kudos are the problem.

Questioning does not make one a naysayer. In fact in my humble view, I rather love my friends who tell me no than the ones who are licking my butt telling me everything is ok.

Well, everything is not ok. Even Dr. Ndemo admitted it. Only when we push and question can we make this Konza thing come to fruition.

Everything that was discussed here on this post as possible problems has been admitted to. To the point where they had to meet to discuss issues raised.

Yet, we are called the problem?

No amount of veiled comments to the point of being called unpatriotic will make some of us shut up. We shall question, poke and annoy until they get it right. The days of serekali ni baba na mama are over so get used to it.

It is my dream to see a Konza.

But that in no way makes me want to keep quiet when I see glaring institutional and infrastructural problems. Only when we learn to seek only the BEST from our tax shillings shall we move on from the mediocricity that even Ndemo admits exists in nearly all arms of gov't.

If this thing is to help Kenyans, on a serious note where are the Kenyan professionals? Or are they only to be found in the ICT board? When I heard Indians being touted as some of the biggest investors in this project, I wanted to puke. After all I outsource to Indians.

It is rather silly to say that one is colonized because of pointing out errors. Yet this very project is depending on dollars to come from international companies. So who's colonized now?

@alma no one told you to shut up its your right anyway!
but as you poke you don't tear up people and their efforts in the name of ensuring they get it right probably if it were you you wouldn't get it right.
We don't have to talk like konza shouldn't be done or everything is being done the wrong way because we have our shortcomings. The source of some of those shortcomings is all of us kenyans we tend to blame the leadership yet we put them there. We can still make steps forward with the issues that we have, we don't have to sit still until everything is perfect.

And i don't see any problem with the indians being investors in kenya they have also had their share in contributing to other areas like silicon valley get used to it we can't build konza on our own thats a fact you will have to live with.
Those offering Ndemo kudos and high fives appreciate at least he is doing something. There is some effort even if there are problems in the project.
#142 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 9:45:30 AM

@a4architect.com Is it interesting how you left out the rest of the conversation? Or is it because it doesnt sound right for you. Why are you taking us behind? People have to raise questions the answers are what matters
a4architect.com
#143 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 11:21:41 AM

@murchr..i have included a link for people to see the rest of the conversation. Its several pages long so it cant all fit into the post.
Here is the link again for the full conversation.

http://www.kictanet.or.ke/?p=6626

ICT Board/Ministry of Info are doing a great job in conceiving a new city.

In this quest,as in any project, they get caught up in situations which need solutions.Some of the solutions can be obtained from Wazua for free, saving Kenyans alot of tax payer money.

Healthy debate from me and you and any other patriotic Kenyan will go a long way in ensuring the project runs smoothly.Healthy debate based on facts will not take us behind.

For example, in the issue of Sammeer where Investors are moving out because there are no fire escapes, any Kenyan architect would do the design and manage the construction to completion in 2 weeks,resolving the issue so that the investors continue their stay.

In the issue of the overseas architects/master planners not advising the ICT Board on the Physical Planning act requirements, any Kenyan Architect/Master planner would have advised the ICT Board within 5/10 minutes since the info is in their fingertips.

This would have gone a long way to reduce the 2 month delay that the project is currently dealing with and any other unforeseeable hurdle in terms of Physical planning regulations.

A request for info here at Wazua by the ICT Board would have given them free consultation as opposed to the World bank/IFC/overseas architects consultation they are currently receiving which could be costly for obvious reasons.

Here is a good read on why homegrown solutions are best for Kenya.

http://www.thefreemanonl...ness-by-graham-hancock/

http://blog.libertarian....08/06/lords-of-poverty/

As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#144 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 11:26:21 AM

@jamplu some of us have learned that its prudent to give kudos and high fives AFTER a project is COMPLETE.

All I'm asking is that before you go building cities, can you please give me internet NOW?

So if there are no fire escapes at Sameer Park, you go use billions of my taxes to build a city which will be occupied by 500 coders from Ihub? Solve the basic problems first before going to create solutions out of patriotic slogans.

The problem in Kenya is there is no trained manpower, horrible infrastructure and horrible institutions. I don't care what you build if these are not solved first. You will finish building that thing and the next thing you know Kisia is governor and Waititu is Mayor.

Now if you can't take that criticism, then you have no right to be anywhere near public service but should be running your own private company somewhere. Or has that been the plan all along?
a4architect.com
#145 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 11:39:38 AM

mkeiy wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:
[quote=mkeiy][quote=a4architect.com]

South Korea's Samsung is the world's biggest IT maker. See here for details.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samsung_Electronics

http://semimd.com/blog/2...ram-market-share-in-q3/

The highest probability is that the comp me and you are suing to communicate in Wazua have their DRAM from South Korea.

The company that is the leader of Online presence/advert in Kenya/East Africa, Nation media group has a factory in Mlolongo.

The company that is the leader of telephony/money transfer in Kenya/East Africa ,Safaricom has its Customer care offices in Mlolongo.

Nairobi City also started with low rise buildings along River road,Kijabe street.These have grown into the marvelous skyscrapers we see in CBD e.g Times Tower.

I find it contradictory for you to quote Samsung [S.Korea] to support your idea. Dig into the history of the Korea Inc, and it will teach you a thing or two about gov't, third world economy and accelerated economic development. Go to the days just after the Korean war,when the communists made a u-turn in the midlands ,around Daegu.Park Chung Hee, a military ruler, a people's dictator i would say,after the kicking out the weakling that Syngnam was, Park Chung transformed the economy and the country as well. Trees were planted everywhere, people cleaned their neighborhoods. Economically, thru' his word, the gov't funded the founding men of Samsung, Daewoo, Lakhui & Goldastar[later LG], Hyundai etc. Those companies ran like parastatals in private hands. The gov't banned importation of anything made by these companies later turned into Chaebol. The gov't gave them land for expansion, they had long tax breaks, Koreans were made to consume "local", every penny they needed, the gov't availed it. You went against the people's dictator and you were 'taken away'.
And so did Samsung[Korea] grow.

To be what you are quoting for me, Hyundai became the world's no. 1 ship-builder. Samsung became a great builder,they did Khalifa,Petronas towers, taipei 101,Joyland etc.

Assuming you were in Korea in the days of Park Chung, and you had your way,do you think Samsung/Hyundai/LG would be the greats they are? If YES,how?! What you say?

Yes. S.Korea Govt came up with its own homegrown solutions without the help of Worldbank/IFC.
S.Koreans were made to consume +local+..this includes consultancy services too.

If i was in S.Korea, chances are a fellow Wazuan would have come up with the Financial advisory/Architectural master planning as opposed to the current Kenya situation whereby these services are being offered by Worlbank/IFC/overseas architects.

This use of +local+ consultants in S.Korea greatly reduced the chances of happenings described in Hancocks LORDS OF POVERTY book here

Kenya ICT Board should emulate S.Korean method and consume +local+ where possible.

At the moment, Kenya ICT Board is consuming Worldbank/IFC for financial advisory and overseas architects/planners for Master planing services at the expense of tax payers money/experience.
#146 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 11:55:37 AM

In my view, those offering Mr. Ndemo high fives and kudos are the problem.

Questioning does not make one a naysayer. In fact in my humble view, I rather love my friends who tell me no than the ones who are licking my butt telling me everything is ok.

Well, everything is not ok. Even Dr. Ndemo admitted it. Only when we push and question can we make this Konza thing come to fruition.

Everything that was discussed here on this post as possible problems has been admitted to. To the point where they had to meet to discuss issues raised.

Yet, we are called the problem?

No amount of veiled comments to the point of being called unpatriotic will make some of us shut up. We shall question, poke and annoy until they get it right. The days of serekali ni baba na mama are over so get used to it.

It is my dream to see a Konza.

But that in no way makes me want to keep quiet when I see glaring institutional and infrastructural problems. Only when we learn to seek only the BEST from our tax shillings shall we move on from the mediocricity that even Ndemo admits exists in nearly all arms of gov't.

If this thing is to help Kenyans, on a serious note where are the Kenyan professionals? Or are they only to be found in the ICT board? When I heard Indians being touted as some of the biggest investors in this project, I wanted to puke. After all I outsource to Indians.

It is rather silly to say that one is colonized because of pointing out errors. Yet this very project is depending on dollars to come from international companies. So who's colonized now?

Alma
Agree to be called a problem in as much as you think Konza started on the wrong foot and is doomed to fail..

while its blatant that we need to spur this growth through a vision like Konza.. the NAYSAYERS are busy asking for the 'long wrong route first'.. and please mark my words 'long wrong route first', like policies and human resources.

Heck!!..policy can be changed in a day with the stroke of a pen..our problem is that, when its crunch time we keep electing inadequate people and swear by our tribes first, regardless of development and sound policies.

In Education especially I.T its not a must nowdays, that you invest in building labs. Solutions are 'in the cloud'.

I know of a hospital in Nakuru that sends tests and test results to India and within hours analysis and consultation are returned.

It would be wise then, if we cant match the quality of their doctors yet.. atleast have the technology and infrastructure in place to attract theirs as we boost ours.. in the meanwhile we export the same services to Uganda and Tanzania and the rest of East and central Africa.

mkeiy
#147 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:01:33 PM

@ architect, behind everything that S.Koreans were doing, the US was right there. Without US, S.Korea would be like any of the South East Asian countries. The likes of Cambodia,Vietnam.

Locally [S.Korea], its joked that S.Korea is the 51st state of the US.

So don't be so sure about the "homegrown" solutions. For Korea, it was "enabled" by the US, in our case, don't you think we need some "enabler"?
Korea happened through enable-ment, why CAN'T Kenya?

Don't you think the British "enabled" Hong Kong?

For you to move fast, you need a strong force to accelerate you forward.
That's what Konza is seeking/getting out there.
#148 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:11:36 PM

@poundfoolish haya nimekubali. I'll go wait for 20yrs now. It was a pleasure participating in this.
Kausha
#149 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:26:32 PM

@jamplu, what we are advocating for is simple realism. To start with, Thika road and Konza are totally different concepts. Thika road is more of a correction of the nonsense that plagues us every morning and I refuse to see it as any meaningful development. We pay taxes to government to get such things done and it's unfortunate it's taken years to get sorted and so we shouldn't see it as a gift from the government. Would you equate the madness that is Msa road and uhuru highways every rush hour to normalcy? I don't think so. Round abouts are an old concept belonging to the 70s and simply putting together an interchange or a subway around the CBD is common sense activity for a country the size of Kenya. It would be development if the interchange was somewhere in Isiolo where it's more of forward thinking and planning.

Back to Konza, this is simple, a man living in mathare slums with all due respect, struggling to nail a permanent job to feed and educate his 3 kids can not one day wake up with a grand idea of living on a one acre residence in riverside and purport to sell that dream to his kids as big picture thinking, they will think their dad is delusional. How about getting simple things fast and then progressing to the riverside dream a while latter. Again a kid who can barely crawl can't begin to want to compete with usain bolt at the 2012 Olympics this year and call it big picture thinking.

Guys already code from the comfort of their homes and various offices in the CBD, why do you need konza city....Ndemo reminds me of Nduva muli of kenya railways and his Golf hotel on the present day railway club. He kept running ads and ended up talking himself hoarse, no investor put a single dime into the project. I am 98% sure Konza is along the same lines as that Golf hotel concept. We don't need concepts we just need simple solutions to our existing problems first. Look at how ugly our airport is or how poor residential development has been for years or our poor state of roads around the city, lack of water in the city and we talk of an ICT city.....My solution to this is sort the basics but in the meantime roll out a residential fibre network and have talent villages/ centers that offer opportunities for young people to learn. Provide credit for ICT related businesses at preferential terms. Have Government and parastatals procure their ICT services/ products from these centers. You will have achieved what you wanted from Konza at a fraction of the cost of Konza while skipping all the risks associated with Konza.

Look people, no serious investors - the type that invest in such projects will put money in Konza apart from speculating mwananchi full of
greed and again you can take this to the bank. Tutakuwa papa hapa tu to tell you we told you so..ndiooo kwani tanakwenda wapi jameni!
a4architect.com
#150 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:30:22 PM

mkeiy wrote:
@ architect, behind everything that S.Koreans were doing, the US was right there. Without US, S.Korea would be like any of the South East Asian countries. The likes of Cambodia,Vietnam.

Locally [S.Korea], its joked that S.Korea is the 51st state of the US.

So don't be so sure about the "homegrown" solutions. For Korea, it was "enabled" by the US, in our case, don't you think we need some "enabler"?
Korea happened through enable-ment, why CAN'T Kenya?

Don't you think the British "enabled" Hong Kong?

For you to move fast, you need a strong force to accelerate you forward.
That's what Konza is seeking/getting out there.

In your earlier post you mentioned that the S.Korea ruler made S.Koreans consume +local+. You did not mention S.Koreans consuming U.S.A.

At the moment, Kenya ICT Board is consuming Worldbank/IFC/overseas masterplanners and not +local+.

Worldbank/IFC is not equal to U.S.A
#151 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:33:08 PM

@jamplu some of us have learned that its prudent to give kudos and high fives AFTER a project is COMPLETE.

All I'm asking is that before you go building cities, can you please give me internet NOW?

So if there are no fire escapes at Sameer Park, you go use billions of my taxes to build a city which will be occupied by 500 coders from Ihub? Solve the basic problems first before going to create solutions out of patriotic slogans.

The problem in Kenya is there is no trained manpower, horrible infrastructure and horrible institutions. I don't care what you build if these are not solved first. You will finish building that thing and the next thing you know Kisia is governor and Waititu is Mayor.

Now if you can't take that criticism, then you have no right to be anywhere near public service but should be running your own private company somewhere. Or has that been the plan all along?

More of a narrow rant on generalities, rather than general outlook on specifics..

There is no trained manpower (so was S Korea and India and more so Silicon valley when it started, it was more of R & D and we all know R & D are long shorts into the dark. but when you hit something you are oil/gold field owner.

Horrible infrastructure: Isnt this what Konza is trying to achieve.. build infrastructure? or its only infrastructure when in the comfy of your house?
Can you track the growth of Internet in Kenya? from the days of dial up to present broadband

Horrible institutions? which ones.. if the Min of Infor and Comm.. if Vision2030 wasn't doing things like Konza,Lamu and Thika highway.. then it would to me be a horrible institution.

The IT industry is moving, our institutions are catching up.. those in government lagging behind will either sink or learn to swim.

so are you suggesting we wait and wait..and wait?

wait and see who the new governor of Nairobi or Machakos will be..?
mkeiy
#152 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 12:59:57 PM

More of a narrow rant on generalities, rather than general outlook on specifics..

There is no trained manpower (so was S Korea and India and more so Silicon valley when it started, it was more of R & D and we all know R & D are long shorts into the dark. but when you hit something you are oil/gold field owner.

Horrible infrastructure: Isnt this what Konza is trying to achieve.. build infrastructure? or its only infrastructure when in the comfy of your house?
Can you track the growth of Internet in Kenya? from the days of dial up to present broadband

Horrible institutions? which ones.. if the Min of Infor and Comm.. if Vision2030 wasn't doing things like Konza,Lamu and Thika highway.. then it would to me be a horrible institution.

The IT industry is moving, our institutions are catching up.. those in government lagging behind will either sink or learn to swim.

so are you suggesting we wait and wait..and wait?

wait and see who the new governor of Nairobi or Machakos will be..?

@ poundfoolish, say it again, a lil' louder. Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause .

It is the so called "PRUDENT" who remind of this story.

Some two guys are walking down a foot path in some meadow. In front of them, they see white stuff, from a far. They look like sheep,they look like birds. Guy A says those are sheep,guy B disagree and says "can't you see are birds,are you blind?" On drawing closer,the white stuff flew. Guy A says "look, i told you". At which guy B retorts "even if they fly, they are sheep".

"PRUDENT", theirs make good stories,sometimes.
a4architect.com
#153 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 1:21:14 PM

To steer the discussions in a manner that can assist Kenya ICT Board to realise the Konza dream for all of us, let us try to answer these 3 questions..

1. What is the best infrastruture type that the ICT BOard can outlay which will attract investors?
Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve this infrastructure development?

2. What is the budget that ICT Board is working with from the tax payer?

Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve efficient budgetary and financial planning?

3. How much tax payer money is the ICT Board currently spending to pay Worldbank/IFC Financial advisory services and overseas architects and master planners?

Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve the best financial advisory and architecture/master planning from local consultants?
#154 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 1:33:17 PM

Looking at the estimated cost of constructing Konza city and that of Lamu port they are similar:Sh2Trillion.

In the case of Lamu port the cost is meant to be shared between 3 states...so thats doable..

In the case of Konza we are telling investors to believe on a dream that The KSh will be stabilised,The energy cost will come down and our manpower will cost less than in Asia because the country knows how to control Inflation and access to credit is not only easy but also cheap since the government will guarantee most of it...Well Those are high stakes for any investor.

The problem with us is not the lack of Dreams but the lack of realism and workable strategies.

When the kibaki govt embarked on the construction of Muthurua market the plan was to make a market that will be modern, accommodating a Matatu terminus that would serve the whole of Nairobi.Visit the market today....the chaos,mess and disorganisation is baffling.

The same goes for kariobangi light industries,industrial area,Thika and other Govt projects that can rake in billions if the plans are executed in an efficient manner.

Konza city is a brilliant Idea but the question the govt should be asking itself is does the country have the capacity to compete with the world given the resources we have.

The other day a student of JKUAT was employed by twitter it became a national news how many indians,chinnese or Asians work for twitter as engineers.

The reason India,china and the other Asian countries are now leading in technology is because of embracing policies that tune up the citizenry into a collective vision which ensures that from school the curriculum is geared toward a certain goal.The paradigm shift is gradual and with time a country emerges as a top producer of something.

IF you were to ask me what is our education policy I wont tell you,even the Vision 2030 is so ambiguous that when you look at the three pillars and the reality on the ground you are more confused about the future.

jamplu
#155 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 2:41:07 PM

Internet? Seriously? Ask safaricom why they charge you higher prices for the extra bandwidth you need if the cable was cut is it the government who cut it? Let investors do the last mile for the cables or you expect the government to still do that!!
Meralli can keep his sameer park let those 500 coders have their city if you not interested in it fiine we can invite those indians who makes you feel like puking probably they'll keep you faaaar away.
And what do you mean there is no manpower? There is plenty of IT manpower if thats what you talking about. I've said it in this thread and i'll say it again. The IT guys in kenya don't have to invent a Google or iPad for us to say we have the manpower people are doing other things go to one of their exhibitions at least they are building meaningful stuff Nokia are acknowledging that Microsoft and Twitter and Google are noticing what we are doing. It me and you who vote in those leaders you talking about so don't complain so much about them. Infrastructure we getting there even if it will take us the next 10 years but we will get there.
#156 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 2:47:47 PM

eishh. Nasi tumesema we meet in Konza in 2032?
a4architect.com
#157 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 4:07:23 PM

Here is a good read on why these incomplete and contradictory Wazua arguments will go a long way to assist Kenya ICT Board deliver for us a new city.

The article is 67 years old so it has proved itself to be true.

http://www.econlib.org/l...ary/Essays/hykKnw1.html

+++++++The peculiar character of the problem of a rational economic order is determined precisely by the fact that the knowledge of the circumstances of which we must make use never exists in concentrated or integrated form but solely as the dispersed bits of incomplete and frequently contradictory knowledge which all the separate individuals possess. The economic problem of society is thus not merely a problem of how to allocate "given" resources—if "given" is taken to mean given to a single mind which deliberately solves the problem set by these "data." It is rather a problem of how to secure the best use of resources known to any of the members of society, for ends whose relative importance only these individuals know. Or, to put it briefly, it is a problem of the utilization of knowledge which is not given to anyone in its totality.+++++
a4architect.com
#158 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 5:58:16 PM

This is a very interesting book to read especially for those of us privileged to work in the Public sector and in charge of making decisions on behalf of the people of Kenya e.g the Konza City project.....

http://en.wikipedia.org/..._of_an_Economic_Hit_Man

According to his book, Perkins' function was to convince the political and financial leadership of underdeveloped countries to accept enormous development loans from institutions like the World Bank and USAID. Saddled with debts they could not hope to pay, those countries were forced to acquiesce to political pressure from the United States on a variety of issues. Perkins argues in his book that developing nations were effectively neutralized politically, had their wealth gaps driven wider and economies crippled in the long run. In this capacity Perkins recounts his meetings with some prominent individuals, including Graham Greene and Omar Torrijos. Perkins describes the role of an EHM as follows:
Economic hit men (EHMs) are highly-paid professionals who cheat countries around the globe out of trillions of dollars. They funnel money from the World Bank, the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), and other foreign "aid" organizations into the coffers of huge corporations and the pockets of a few wealthy families who control the planet's natural resources. Their tools included fraudulent financial reports, rigged elections, payoffs, extortion, sex, and murder. They play a game as old as empire, but one that has taken on new and terrifying dimensions during this time of globalization.

http://www.guardian.co.u...an/28/biography.politics
#159 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 6:29:34 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
To steer the discussions in a manner that can assist Kenya ICT Board to realise the Konza dream for all of us, let us try to answer these 3 questions..

1. What is the best infrastruture type that the ICT BOard can outlay which will attract investors?
Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve this infrastructure development?

2. What is the budget that ICT Board is working with from the tax payer?

Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve efficient budgetary and financial planning?

3. How much tax payer money is the ICT Board currently spending to pay Worldbank/IFC Financial advisory services and overseas architects and master planners?

Are there additional ideas that Wazuans can contribute to help ICT Board achieve the best financial advisory and architecture/master planning from local consultants?

I thot you gave the figures sometimes back. Anyway ICT board usually has stakeholder meetings you may wish to attend one of these days
Mo
#160 Posted : Thursday, March 01, 2012 6:48:41 PM

Listening to both sides of this debate you understand that there are serious challeneges facing this project; to be or not to be? remains the big question.
my 2 cents view is that let's dream big and as we do so let's also try to fix the basics? africa has not been poor for lack of ideas or resources rather poor leadership; but we cannot runt forever and need to make do with what we have.
let's embrace the project, encourage gok to consult both from within and without and continue to pile pressure for general infrastructural growth. we may not hit v2030 in entiretity but even half a loaf is better than none.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.