Investor
Stocks
Fear on the Street: Inside the Stock Sell-Off
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,223 Location: Nairobi
Sigh, where is that $60 oil! How I would benefit: - KK makes more 'net margin' with cheaper oil since the 6/- margin is higher as % on 80/- petrol vs 115/- petrol. Also lower financing costs! - KPLC. Lower (fuel) charges for consumers means increased consumption & lower defaults. - KQ. The losses on the fuel hedges will be more than offset by savings on Spot Purchases. Over time, more people will fly if the fares are lower due to lower fuel surcharges! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/23/2010 Posts: 95 Location: Tikrit - IRAQ
Nabwire wrote:...... A country where someone can be unemployed and be paid 3/4 of their salary for 2 years, and you bet against that? A country where most of the citizens dont care about the rest of the world, they think they are the world, ...... it means with or without downgrade, they will still eat McDonald's, still shop at Walmart, still go to Disneyland for vacation ........... until there i'm with the yankees
RED...Which state is that?. GREEN....true. BLUE...true but 78% live hand to mouth or paycheck to paycheck. INDIGO...sweetest place freedomwise and dontcarewise. All in all the US basically runs the world....UNTIL China takes over in .... years. ...We do it for the $$$$!!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 1/17/2011 Posts: 26 Location: nairobi kenya
Nabwire wrote:...... A country where someone can be unemployed and be paid 3/4 of their salary for 2 years, and you bet against that? A country where most of the citizens dont care about the rest of the world, they think they are the world, ...... it means with or without downgrade, they will still eat McDonald's, still shop at Walmart, still go to Disneyland for vacation ........... until there i'm with the yankees
this is not a joke Nabwire, the level of unemployment according to MSNBC today is higher than it has ever been in the history of America. That should tell you something about the demand for McDonalds and shopping for luxuries. further you need to understand the American culture which like south Africans is built on credit. People spend what they expect to earn and are hence forever indebted. That is why such countries are heavily affected by recessions because of unpaid arrears and bills. This is the reason why SA firms such as Nu Metro, fast foods giant Nandos, retail chain Metro Cash & Carry and household goods outlet Supreme Furniture, media24 etc have failed. There culture differs with ours and that could also be the reason why Kenyan firms have failed in Tanzania, different cultures period. Globalization and deregulation may have opened up new markets but that does not mean that firms will succeed in doing business.America is in trouble and they are not alone, Europe is also in turmoil. The question is, when will this catch up with us in Africa because it will eventually catch up with us so long as we do need financial assistance from these countries. Maybe they'll require budget cuts and accountability in future that will limit government expenditures
Even if oil was coming fro Ug, we'd pay for it in dollars. Sehemu ndio nyumba
Mainat wrote:Even if oil was coming fro Ug, we'd pay for it in dollars. and then we'd sell them our manufactured products & services, thus, keeping the money within the family (EAC: Spider Web Economics) beats wiring $ over the Indian Ocean.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Mainat wrote:Even if oil was coming fro Ug, we'd pay for it in dollars. and then we'd sell them our manufactured products & services, thus, keeping the money within the family (EAC: Spider Web Economics) beats wiring $ over the Indian Ocean. Lakini, even Kenya imports most of the stuff! Check out Tusky's or Nakumatt! China will buy more planes from Russia not Kenya, cars from anywhere but Kenya, electronics form China, Korea & Japan not Kenya, etc Yes, Kenya WILL benefit from Uganda's oil money but I hope we can be 'real' suppliers not just a distribution hub. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:Mainat wrote:Even if oil was coming fro Ug, we'd pay for it in dollars. and then we'd sell them our manufactured products & services, thus, keeping the money within the family (EAC: Spider Web Economics) beats wiring $ over the Indian Ocean. Lakini, even Kenya imports most of the stuff! Check out Tusky's or Nakumatt! China will buy more planes from Russia not Kenya, cars from anywhere but Kenya, electronics form China, Korea & Japan not Kenya, etc Yes, Kenya WILL benefit from Uganda's oil money but I hope we can be 'real' suppliers not just a distribution hub. an economy cannot grow through self inclusion. we dont have the absolute nor the comparative advantage to do that. it might be expensive to make a car in kenya than in china. the reason why countries charge in dollars just like EA cables is because of foreign exchange risk associated losses. we need europe as much as they need us,thats the beauty of business
Trizher google 99ers for your answer. By the way I dont know about the US being the sweetest place, its a tough place to live in. Brian I did not say they dont have high unemployment or dont have problems, I said that they dont care. They still shop at vintage American stores, thats why in recessions, stores like McDonald's do well. McDonald's is trading at $86 Walmart at $50 Disney at $33 Coca Cola at 67 etc etc. You cant argue against their spending power
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/23/2010 Posts: 95 Location: Tikrit - IRAQ
Nabwire wrote:Trizher google 99ers for your answer. By the way I dont know about the US being the sweetest place, its a tough place to live in.
...hope sio food stamps u talkin about...... Its a nice place coz of the fact that they dealt with the BASICS a long time ago...ie food, water among others to include electricity.....and that hard work counts. ...We do it for the $$$$!!
Attitude adjustment coming right up!
Just chart the foodstamps vs M2 since 2007. It tells the US growth aka GDP story. Foodstamps vs unemployment chart equals best lie detector of gubberment aka BLS figures. $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
And yet the effects of the austerity measures in the US a.k.a spending cuts are yet to be seen...FIRE IN THE HOLE!!
Rank: Member Joined: 6/21/2010 Posts: 514 Location: Nairobi
Where we are headed to as a country is not good at all. We are at a point where if the govt through its various policy mechanisms & depts don't act fast then we will be the ones to blame. Its the time when the private sector & the govt should meet & map out a way coz both are losing big time. Just the other day their was a biz i was planning to buy into as a going concern, i did the normal due diligence & grew disinterested due to the offer price. To cut the story short they had to slash the price by almost half & it was a bargain & they did this coz the biz debts were running extremely high & their access to funds was minimal & had no funds to expand the biz which truly has potential & is profitable & this just gave me a glimpse of how bad things are fast becoming. 'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Dissing the USA is easy to do... until it hits Kenya! #2 or #3 source of visitors/tourists! If they stop coming... we are in big shit! #1 for diasporan cash. I realized the importance of this cash about 5 years ago! Yaani, some Kenyans (relas of the diasporans) do NOT work! All they do is wait for the chapaa! #1 provider of food aid. Watch the news & have a look at those bags of food or oil. "Donated by USAID" or "From the people of USA". It is sad that Kenya is a beggar but it is a beggar. THANK YOU to the USA for telling kibaki & raila to can it in 2008. Let's not lie. John Kufuor was told to take a hike by kibaki. Ban Ki-Moon of UN was more interested in making sure UN folks were 'safe'. Kofi Annan was only able to do what he did AFTER the USA threw its weight behind him. My fear is that until or unless Kenya can tap the Eastern market for tourists or trade, Kenya will remain an (indirect) appendage of the USA. I do NOT want any more aid. Most of it gets stolen or used for SUVs & luxury lifestyles! Most of these 'aid workers' in Nairobi hang out at Junction or Westgate or Prestige! BTW, the Easterners are far more racist than the Americans! And those waraabus. Well, you know the deal. Slavery is considered OK (& allowed) especially if you are non-muslim. Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
The irony of Americas and Europe's politics.If the US political crisis was in Kenya,we wold have received alot of noise from europe and US.Further analyse England's ban o live press reporting of the riots.Suppose we did that,we wouldnt hear the end of it.So the question is,who will stand up to these countries.If we wanted to go to war with Afganistan and Iraq and assuming tht the US werent hit,do you think they would av accepted it?Politics is only bad when decisions are made in developing countries,not that i like politicians because evidence shows that they are similar everywhere;greedy,narrow minded,crazy etc.Thats the reality of the world we life in today
Morgan Stanley warns that US, EU very close to recession:Morgan Stanley said Thursday that the United States and Europe are dangerously close to recession, blaming in part policy errors by authorities on both sides of the Atlantic. The investment bank said a slow European response to the eurozone’s mounting sovereign debt problems and the US political battle over raising its debt ceiling had hit financial markets and eroded both business and consumer confidence. “Our revised forecasts show the US and the euro area hovering dangerously close to a recession — defined as two consecutive quarters of contraction — over the next 6-12 months,” it said in a new report... http://www.nation.co.ke/...very+close+to+recession/
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Company profits defy economic gloom: You've seen all the headlines - Fears grow about eurozone debt, Growth slower than anticipated, Turmoil on the financial markets. So it's all tales of doom and gloom, right? Not necessarily. At least not if you happen to be a big company. Despite all the concerns about the world economy, many corporations have still been recording large profits which, on the whole, have been much better than analysts had forecast... http://bbc.co.uk/news/business-14617298GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Those Co.s are making money in emerging markets hence, they aren't wholly dependant on the receeding US & Euro area.
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
European banks 'would not survive sovereign debt devaluations' http://bbc.co.uk/news/business-14786589GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Investor
Stocks
Fear on the Street: Inside the Stock Sell-Off