9 Pages«<56789>
AEROPLANES
Spend.thrift
#61 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 11:38:37 AM

Spend.thrift wrote:
"Mondisto, A massive A380 can not land at Wilson. And if you manage to bring it down perhaps after hitting some ramps, the airport runpad will need to be expanded at least twofold before you can take off again

my friend, expert pilots have landed very huge boeing planes in rivers(hudson river just like our nairobi river) and highways without dumping passengers outside or hurting them. If the plane must land it will land. If it cannot reach the intended airport a distressed pilot should look for a nearer one rather than crash heading to destination, if the pilot is skilled enough, he will surely find a place to land to great passenger relief and joy and to the cheers and amazement of all those in aviation.

@Much Know, after discovering that this thread is actually about fixed-tail aircraft and all-weather multipurpose general aviation airports, I agree with you that any aircraft can indeed land anywhere. Even the Antonov 225 can be guided into Kisii airstrip without an ILS in pitch darkness in horizontal, vertical, diagonal or any other exotic orientation. A bare cutexed hand is enough to guide it into the runway. But you need to be careful, if you do not calculate well, you can throw your passengers onto the blast pad- which is actually not considered part of the airport. This can happen when the pilot is anxious or if the aircraft is being used for the first time.

In reality, an A380 with an ICAO deignation of "Heavy" can not land at Wilson. Runways 7 and 14 at Wilson are 1460m and 1540 metres long respectively. To land a 590 tonne A380-800, the standard passenger variant, you will need at least 2000 metres to touch down and brake. And like I said hapo mbeleni, the plane will have to be left at Wlson as a museum or you expand the runway to at least 2500 metres long for a safe lift off-and that is with zero payload and just enough fuel to get that titanic of a jet to JKIA for repairs. About the Hudson river, it was an A320 which is as small as the 737 shuttles and the manouvre was a ctually a ditching -with almost zero engine power. The A380 has a wingspan of 80 meters. Tell me which section of the Nairobi river you will ditch it into without fatal incursions with buildings. Try the Indian Ocean or the River Nile somewhere outside Jinja Town.
#62 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 12:01:23 PM

Spend.thrift wrote:
"Mondisto, A massive A380 can not land at Wilson. And if you manage to bring it down perhaps after hitting some ramps, the airport runpad will need to be expanded at least twofold before you can take off again

my friend, expert pilots have landed very huge boeing planes in rivers(hudson river just like our nairobi river) and highways without dumping passengers outside or hurting them. If the plane must land it will land. If it cannot reach the intended airport a distressed pilot should look for a nearer one rather than crash heading to destination, if the pilot is skilled enough, he will surely find a place to land to great passenger relief and joy and to the cheers and amazement of all those in aviation.

@Much Know, after discovering that this thread is actually about fixed-tail aircraft and all-weather multipurpose general aviation airports, I agree with you that any aircraft can indeed land anywhere. Even the Antonov 225 can be guided into Kisii airstrip without an ILS in pitch darkness in horizontal, vertical, diagonal or any other exotic orientation. A bare cutexed hand is enough to guide it into the runway. But you need to be careful, if you do not calculate well, you can throw your passengers onto the blast pad- which is actually not considered part of the airport. This can happen when the pilot is anxious or if the aircraft is being used for the first time.

In reality, an A380 with an ICAO deignation of "Heavy" can not land at Wilson. Runways 7 and 14 at Wilson are 1460m and 1540 metres long respectively. To land a 590 tonne A380-800, the standard passenger variant, you will need at least 2000 metres to touch down and brake. And like I said hapo mbeleni, the plane will have to be left at Wlson as a museum or you expand the runway to at least 2500 metres long for a safe lift off-and that is with zero payload and just enough fuel to get that titanic of a jet to JKIA for repairs. About the Hudson river, it was an A320 which is as small as the 737 shuttles and the manouvre was a ctually a ditching -with almost zero engine power. The A380 has a wingspan of 80 meters. Tell me which section of the Nairobi river you will ditch it into without fatal incursions with buildings. Try the Indian Ocean or the River Nile somewhere outside Jinja Town.

@spend.thrift,
Which fixed tail aeroplane are u talking about here?
Fixed tail sounds familiar though.
Applause Applause Applause Applause

wa P
#63 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 12:07:27 PM

some pilots 'jettison' some passengers when the plane touch runway. There after they can detain passengers for hours in the plane, until the control tower reports damage on airstrip. In such case it does not matter the size of plane or airstrip. A Cessna can damage Schipol significantly. Beware.
Pierce
#64 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 12:12:04 PM

Any chance this 'Aeroplanes' thread could boost the price of KQ?smile
#65 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 12:20:11 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Who enjoys the flying experience more - the pilot or owner of the landing strip?
Discuss, supporting your points using diagrams & illustrations where unnecessary (20 marks)

Diagrams and illustrations may lead to being black-listed from this site Shame on you
#66 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 1:49:20 PM

wonder what "chege from UK" has to say about thisd'oh! ..his choice of airstrips and ports is somewhat @#$%@# and his passengers must be one disappointed rot, NO evidence of a crash-landing,NO ushers,No red carpet... NOTHING at all..they are just moving forward wondering loud "why the hell is the light at the end of the tunnel behind us!!!!!!Sad
#67 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 3:00:24 PM

mlefu wrote:
. NOTHING at all..they are just moving forward wondering loud "why the hell is the light at the end of the tunnel behind us!!!!!!Sad

Hahahahahahahaha!!!...Hii Mlefu bure kabisa.Mkebe moja ya Busaa kwakoLaughing out loudly
Alo
#68 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 3:41:38 PM

Blackout wrote:
how do I enrol to become an elder? I may be able to understand this aero stuff better

I wanna become an elder too! As someone said here i trust that Kq's price is bound to ^
"A woman's heart should be so hidden in Christ that a man should have to seek Him first to find her."
#69 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 4:03:31 PM

mlefu wrote:
wonder what "chege from UK" has to say about thisd'oh! ..his choice of airstrips and ports is somewhat @#$%@# and his passengers must be one disappointed rot, NO evidence of a crash-landing,NO ushers,No red carpet... NOTHING at all..they are just moving forward wondering loud "why the hell is the light at the end of the tunnel behind us!!!!!!Sad

I presume the runway here is mostly dryLaughing out loudly and airport control must have substantial complaints with regards to landingLaughing out loudly
Seeders
#70 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 5:55:10 PM

this is the winner Laughing out loudly

mlefu wrote:

9 Pages«<56789>