Health
Struggling with weight loss
@Njunge, Cabbage is a low cab vegetable and excellent for weight loss. Eats lots of cabbage and less meats. @Wendz, One more thing. If you have a daughter, involve her in your daily excercise regiment. They are the best motivators.They will push you coz they want you to look good. Example: Unaanza na a few sit ups a day with daughter, progress to more as you get comfortable with the program. Sit ups just burn belly fat away You actually feel the effects as you excercise. 15 minutes a day is a good start.Pretty soon,you will be doing sit-ups like you are getting ready to perform in a music concert or getting ready for the New York marathon...effortlessly! It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
@ Wendz, I wish you well. I have a confession to make. I started on a weight loss program. I used to go for evening jog and even looked and felt lighter ( or so I thought) I did this for about a month, then decided to weigh myself... I had not lost an ounce.... damn.... Hiyo maneno iliishia papo hapo! Sasa niko tuu!! I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: Member Joined: 7/13/2010 Posts: 160 Location: rift Valley-Naks
bwenyenye wrote:@ Wendz, I wish you well. I have a confession to make. I started on a weight loss program. I used to go for evening jog and even looked and felt lighter ( or so I thought) I did this for about a month, then decided to weigh myself... I had not lost an ounce.... damn.... Hiyo maneno iliishia papo hapo! Sasa niko tuu!! You gave up too soon.Loosing weight depends on your work out plan and your body,some exercises are very effective in burning calories others less effective like You could include sprints to burn more fat.its important to watch your diet also,so that you don't end up adding more calories than you're burning. ''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
this thread needs some pics...of wendz...
story teller wrote:@Njunge,
Cabbage is a low cab vegetable and excellent for weight loss. Eats lots of cabbage and less meats. mmmmmmh, i hear it has serious side effects on other departments.... will heed but moderately
@Wendz,
One more thing. If you have a daughter, involve her in your daily excercise regiment. They are the best motivators.They will push you coz they want you to look good. She might feel i am keeping the compe alive... LOOOOL - Will engage her on this though
Example: Unaanza na a few sit ups a day with daughter, progress to more as you get comfortable with the program. Sit ups just burn belly fat away You actually feel the effects as you exercise. 15 minutes a day is a good start.Pretty soon,you will be doing sit-ups like you are getting ready to perform in a music concert or getting ready for the New York marathon...effortlessly!
Haya, Wendz, I hope you're implementing these things, sio kurega rega tu Form is temporary, class is permanent
@Wendz.....kupanda mlima is not a walk in the park..brace yourself. Actually you should do Mt. Kenya first, before even thinking of Kilimanjaro
hahaha, pegine after kutembea, motisha ya "horzontal exercise' hamna.... Quote:Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
......running in the hot Nairobi sun huko GPO can also help reduce 2kgs at once!
callaspade wrote:......running in the hot Nairobi sun huko GPO can also help reduce 2kgs at once! hate speech!
I dont struggle with weight loss. I embraced my weight and we made gains. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/9/2010 Posts: 894 Location: Nairobi
i also involved myself in rigorous exercises, and i realised i am not loosing wait but gaining, nowerdays i am just there satisfied with what God has given me. However i still maintain an active day just to avoid getting more unfit. Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
I recently lost 6kgs in 3months. For a mama my size.height and age,that was quite an achievement! i had gotten to that age and point in life where weight gain and you seem to have a very healthy relationship,and you find yourself accepting the potbelly,tyres,cellulite et al... Anywayz,since July last year,i started jogging in my hood,then being active in hikes,marathons,walks etc.. and then came the 2mountains! one in Oct(Mt.Kenya) and 2nd in Dec(Kilimanjaro). And woooop! all the fat that i had previously given up on melted! I have continued with the fitness regime,and although me and the gym divorced a while back,i run 15km a week,walk about 10 or more and try to do a hike every other weekend. I also gave up on my favourite Pizza and chocolate(ouch),and focus more on veggies,fruits and a balanced diet. The downside is,none of my clothes fit anymore! I've taken so many to the tailor in the last few months...until last week the tailor just told me 'Eh,mathe si ununue tu zingine?' So,@Wendz, now that am sure Dec's calories are driving you nuts... Join me we be running together. I promise not to giggle when you pant after just a 5minute run Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
leona wrote:So,@Wendz, now that am sure Dec's calories are driving you nuts... Join me we be running together. I promise not to giggle when you pant after just a 5minute run @Leona... I dont like you anymore.... Dont even mention that holiday fat... the potbelly sits on my laps before i reach the seat... its serious! Dont i envy you gal! Si you 'suv'(or what was the spelling again?" me your big clothes? eeeeh, that hike? am on. am serious. Mpesa before friday...
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
Quote:,and you find yourself accepting the potbelly,tyres,cellulite et al... ...misuse of terms and conditions that make marriage work..or anything else that serves the underlined purpose...
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Wendz You will like me back once your potbelly is gone I have folded my big clothes and packed them,ready to give any plus size mama who visits me..hata nimeziweka hapo karibu na mlango.. As for the hike,sawa...u kuja. nitawapeleka polepole @Mlefu, he he.. unless we both have the tyres,i refuse to carry them alone! Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: New-farer Joined: 9/20/2010 Posts: 90 Location: Nairobi
@Wendz,
Could I ask on behalf of Wazuans what have been your progress since you posted your request, what was your weight then, what is your weight now? Let's see if it has helped.
I am not sure anyone mentioned this but Vegies will work wonders.
Here is what I have seen work for my lady friends.
1.Eliminating all processed foods
2.Taking lots of vegetables and drinking lots of water.
3.Cutting down on Carbohydrates even whole grains but not elimination them all together
4. Take a walk daily but do not stress your body
5. Do you take Tusker? I am sorry you will have to reduce significantly or eliminate it altogether.
6. Start slowly and progress. If you start on aggressive exercises, you will send the wrong message to the body meaning that you may end up building muscle or increasing weight.
7. Now, there is something about vegies, other than helping you to lose weight, they aslo work on your skin in a way none of the items you get from the shops can do.
Please Wendz, if you love your self do something now.
By the way? what is your BMI? may be you should be adding weight!!!
Chepkel! To those who are despairing dont give up. Remember exercise is good even if you dont lose weight. It helps release of feel-good hormone among other healthy benefits. Look at it the long term not just a month. Its a change of lifestyle. I had also struggled to lose weight but am now beginning to achieve change. No more sugar in my tea, less calories. To lose weight calories in must be less than calories burnt. No sodas, no fatty foods. invest in a juicer and blender. Above all get yourself to ENJOY the new lifestyle so that it can become SUSTAINABLE. There is nothing i look forward to more than a glass of natural home made (100% fruit) juice after a run in the leafy suburbs. (Dont be fooled by the processed juices in the supermarkets, they have less than 20% fruit extracts and just sugar, food colour, preservatives and an attractive packet)
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2010 Posts: 520 Location: Epicentre - Ngamia 1
I'm thinking its definately cheaper to buy gym equipment than kutupa pesa in these expensive gym za Nairobi in the long run.What can a kool 6k per month do?Ata stima haifiki hiyo bei - translates to 72k per year ama 100k+ for membership.Walk into any Nakumatt and look at the prices for a multi-purpose bench that can do sit ups,bench press,humstring and a lot more,add the weights and it won't cost you over 45k,even if you go for a technologically advanced machine,bei is unbelievable - i'm thinking seriously about this prospect this year. Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Forester wrote:I'm thinking its definately cheaper to buy gym equipment than kutupa pesa in these expensive gym za Nairobi in the long run.What can a kool 6k per month do?Ata stima haifiki hiyo bei - translates to 72k per year ama 100k+ for membership.Walk into any Nakumatt and look at the prices for a multi-purpose bench that can do sit ups,bench press,humstring and a lot more,add the weights and it won't cost you over 45k,even if you go for a technologically advanced machine,bei is unbelievable - i'm thinking seriously about this prospect this year. You dont even have to go to Nakumatt, there are great second hand gym equipment for a fraction of new ones and in perfect condition! Just got myself an exercise bike for 4k (na iko sawa kabisa)
Health
Struggling with weight loss