wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

9 Pages«<56789>
Religion and Family
#121 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 10:31:38 AM

a couple of things
1) you either chose to believe in scripture or not!
2) your belief in scripture or not does not prevent you from suffering the consequences of the believers of said scripture.
3) it follows that some of believers of said scriptures may be 'ndani ndani ndaaani' because of fear of the militant arm of believers. or even because of social repercussions of 'apostasy'.
4) quoting scripture to people who don't even believe in said scripture trying to justify the reason they should die/be killed is similar to a thug beating you up and stealing your stuff because he read it in a notebook written by john kiria miti! it makes the assailant feel better as 'he is not to blame'! haven't you noticed? people are prepared to do things in the name of God and Country that they would not do in their names?
Apricot
#122 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 3:39:09 PM

a couple of things
2) your belief in scripture or not does not prevent you from suffering the consequences of the believers of said scripture.
3) it follows that some of believers of said scriptures may be 'ndani ndani ndaaani' because of fear of the militant arm of believers. or even because of social repercussions of 'apostasy'.
4) quoting scripture to people who don't even believe in said scripture trying to justify the reason they should die/be killed is similar to a thug beating you up and stealing your stuff because he read it in a notebook written by john kiria miti! it makes the assailant feel better as 'he is not to blame'! haven't you noticed? people are prepared to do things in the name of God and Country that they would not do in their names?

I believe people would also be well served if they are able to separate biblical evidence from historical evidence. Biblical evidence on occasions necessitates "suspense of disbelief" (willingness to suspend one's critical faculties and believe the unbelievable - Wikipedia). For example - that an empty tomb implies resurrection. Historical evidence would show nil such events occurring unless one is willing to assume Osiris, Mithra, Dionysus, Romulus were all real. However, understanding that the bible is a human book (errant, not always inspired, fallible), there are still many good lessons to learn from it - if you can separate oneself from the apocalyptic narrative.
First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Ngogoyo
#123 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 4:38:52 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
You are not alone brother. You have put it as it is. Facing the same dilemma here.

Do you accompany your wife and children to church?

@AA how do you convince yourself to do something against your logic just because you are afraid to get burnt in a fire that no one has ever come back to tell us about?

Why would we get burnt for failing to accept that which we were not convinced about!!!!!

lool.
The lamentations of Ngoyoyo.

@ngogoyo, since your thread is abot religion, let me say something else. When we remain heedless of the signs of God, our Creator, then we prefer to live a life without guidance, an animalistic way of life. And then we will have to face the consequences of our choices.

Dont refer to the creator as God. Its just that creator. Stop baptizing him.

I never said anywhere that i want to live guidance free life or an animalistic life, to the contrary, the people who believe (faith) on something (without questioning as well) just to escape hell live like animals (instinct)

Why do i have to face a consequence that can't be proven. Will those who don't believe and never heard of this God suffer the consequences? don't you think this is absurd.

and why does things need to be explained on only one sphere!!! God's sphere. Why not science and thought process!!!
T-Bag
#124 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 4:40:53 PM

Apricot wrote:
a couple of things

I believe people would also be well served if they are able to separate biblical evidence from historical evidence. Biblical evidence on occasions necessitates "suspense of disbelief" (willingness to suspend one's critical faculties and believe the unbelievable - Wikipedia). For example - that an empty tomb implies resurrection. Historical evidence would show nil such events occurring unless one is willing to assume Osiris, Mithra, Dionysus, Romulus were all real. However, understanding that the bible is a human book (errant, not always inspired, fallible), there are still many good lessons to learn from it - if you can separate oneself from the apocalyptic narrative.

Wikipedia

Most contemporary scholars of antiquity agree that Jesus existed, and most biblical scholars and classical historians see the theories of his nonexistence as effectively refuted.[5][7][8][33][34][35] There is no indication that writers in antiquity who opposed Christianity questioned the existence of Jesus.[36][37] However, there is widespread disagreement among scholars on the details of the life of Jesus mentioned in the gospel narratives, and on the meaning of his teachings.[12] Scholars differ on the historicity of specific episodes described in the biblical accounts of Jesus,[12] and historians tend to look upon supernatural or miraculous claims about Jesus as questions of faith, rather than historical fact.[38]

Almost all modern scholars consider his baptism and crucifixion to be historical facts

@Apr choose a fact, there will always be those for and those against, it comes down to your interpretation of infor available to you (and criteria of analysis) no one else! both positions are true based on the information you choose to believe
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
Ngogoyo
#125 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 4:49:03 PM

So, for you to be safe; you should believe in (1) the One Universal God, (2) the Message delivered by Teachers (messengers and prophets) in the past, these are Abraham, Ismail, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad peace be upon them all... Moses and Jesus, left a scripture; unfortunately their scriptures are not in their pristine form; Do not make difference between any of these messengers...

You never get it. People have no issue with Christianity. They have an issue with God. They don't believe there's a supreme being

Preaching a cult that's an offshoot of Christianity and then mixing with Arabic paganism is not helping them at all

Oh sure! He has a problem with his religion. He is talking about church, so definately it can only be Christianity...

Ngogoyo wrote:
My dilemma, I can’t seem to get motivated to attend church nor listen to prayers or read bible.

I have a problem believing in much of the principles like Jesus, Jews, Israel, contentious stories, the bible etc. I do believe there is a higher power and for sure I came from somewhere!

There is a real problem in the current church set up... Elders/officials being holier than thou on Sunday but source of their wealth is evil, immoral etc.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly stop putting words in my post
just because i didn't mention mosque or islam doesn't mean i'm okay with its dogma.

Actually i did mention islam as well

Apricot
#126 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 5:48:13 PM

T-Bag wrote:
Apricot wrote:
a couple of things

Wikipedia

Most contemporary scholars of antiquity agree that Jesus existed, and most biblical scholars and classical historians see the theories of his nonexistence as effectively refuted.[5][7][8][33][34][35] There is no indication that writers in antiquity who opposed Christianity questioned the existence of Jesus.[36][37] However, there is widespread disagreement among scholars on the details of the life of Jesus mentioned in the gospel narratives, and on the meaning of his teachings.[12] Scholars differ on the historicity of specific episodes described in the biblical accounts of Jesus,[12] and historians tend to look upon supernatural or miraculous claims about Jesus as questions of faith, rather than historical fact.[38]

Almost all modern scholars consider his baptism and crucifixion to be historical facts

@Apr choose a fact, there will always be those for and those against, it comes down to your interpretation of infor available to you (and criteria of analysis) no one else! both positions are true based on the information you choose to believe

@T-bag. Except that if one accepts rational thought, then both positions can't be true or correct. Both can be wrong or only one can be true. But (and I am agreeing with you here), if the criteria of analysis is faith based, then the truth is what one wants to believe. That I cannot argue with.
First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
#127 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 5:58:59 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
So, for you to be safe; you should believe in (1) the One Universal God, (2) the Message delivered by Teachers (messengers and prophets) in the past, these are Abraham, Ismail, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Jesus and Muhammad peace be upon them all... Moses and Jesus, left a scripture; unfortunately their scriptures are not in their pristine form; Do not make difference between any of these messengers...

You never get it. People have no issue with Christianity. They have an issue with God. They don't believe there's a supreme being

Preaching a cult that's an offshoot of Christianity and then mixing with Arabic paganism is not helping them at all

Oh sure! He has a problem with his religion. He is talking about church, so definately it can only be Christianity...

Ngogoyo wrote:
My dilemma, I can’t seem to get motivated to attend church nor listen to prayers or read bible.

I have a problem believing in much of the principles like Jesus, Jews, Israel, contentious stories, the bible etc. I do believe there is a higher power and for sure I came from somewhere!

There is a real problem in the current church set up... Elders/officials being holier than thou on Sunday but source of their wealth is evil, immoral etc.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly stop putting words in my post
just because i didn't mention mosque or islam doesn't mean i'm okay with its dogma.

Actually i did mention islam as well

You didn't mention Islam initially. But since you're mentioning it now, can you explain what issue you have with it? smile
#128 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 6:59:55 PM

Apricot wrote:
What is the mechanism or physics that allows 'information' to travel back in time to a gifted medium?

We have all heard of those people we call prophets - Koitalel, Syokimau etc who predicted the coming of the white man and the rail.

My experience

A few years ago, I was working at a company that seemed to be doing very well. Upward trajectory was the norm hitting targets and all. So when a colleague came to me one day and told me that he's looking for another job because "this company is not doing good", I could not believe it. I asked him why he said that and he told me that he visited a Buddhist priest (Buddha) out of town who told gave him the prophesy.

Honestly, I laughed it off. But I didn't dismiss him because it would have been rude and disrespectful.

A few months down the line, the company lost the largest client, the panic in mgt was intense I mean you could feel it. We had a town hall meeting and the CEO announced the news explaining that loosing the account meant that we would loose 5% in earnings. They tried to express some optimism saying that we shall get new clients but....that didn't happen, the prospective clients chickened out and delayed, the others started delaying their renewal of contracts. My colleague came to me and said..."see, all this was predicted by Buddha". Anyway, long story short my then employer was later acquired by a competitor and people lost jobs because of redundancy.

So back to my question what is the science that allows 'information' to travel back in time to a gifted person? Are some of our brains an antenna of sort?

Here is how I would view such an outcome. Assuming no prediction is made by any medium, is it likely for such an outcome to happen (successful company losing a major client)? If the answer you give is very likely, then I have no reason to believe the medium had access to special information. Anyone can make that prediction and immediately gain a 50% chance of their prediction happening. You did not tell us whether the medium predicted the time and how exactly the business would suffer loss. His/her probability is none-zero, so the antenna hypothesis is nullified.

Fair enough, we could say that the medium played a 50% probability theory. That medium also foretold this dude that he would not marry the woman he was dating, that was before the company issue came up so my conclusion to that was he may have made his mind because of that.

Anyway, after the company issue went down, i have been investigating alot and i have realized that even cops in kiash land use psychic detectives to solve crime.

If anything, how do we explain Leonardo da Vinci and his inventions/drawings?

The SUPERNATURAL does exist!!!

@hamburglar would like to see it as foolishness but there are many cases of unexplained things like what you've referred to.

I was reading Ian Henderson's Man Hunt In Kenya as provided in a link in wazua by Foz00.(Hendreson is the guy who led the operation for the capture of Dedan Kimathi)

Henderson is dismissive of African(Kikuyu) beliefs...mugumo(fig) tree sanctity, witchdoctors etc. He seems to opine that they're backward, useless beliefs

So he wins over different Mau Mau leaders and soldiers in the Aberdares to his side in his strategy to isolate Kimathi.

One day, while hunting for General Kahiu Itina, they encounter the strangest thing. They find Kahiu Itina's squad in a traditional prayer session guided by a medicineman, King'ori.

Gati, the man in charge of the attacking gang, points his gun at the group. King'ori directs the group not to flee but co-operate with the invaders because he had dreamt the previous night of a band that would come to save them. Kahiu Itina's gang became docile and harmless even fetching the ropes by which they were bound with!

Why? Because they had listened to King'ori's prophecy! Henderson confirms later, by separate interviewing that indeed King'ori had prophesied the coming of saviours!

Later, Henderson visits King'ori in prison. King'ori predicts that Kimathi will be arrested "in the tenth month before the rains for millet planting begin"

That was April 1956. Henderson did not think it would take that long to arrest Kimathi. He found it laughable. But Kimathi was only arrested on October 21 1956.

Link ndio hii https://ia902706.us.arch...untinkenya006748mbp.pdf

#129 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 7:07:21 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:
You are not alone brother. You have put it as it is. Facing the same dilemma here.

@AA how do you convince yourself to do something against your logic just because you are afraid to get burnt in a fire that no one has ever come back to tell us about?

Why would we get burnt for failing to accept that which we were not convinced about!!!!!

lool.

@ngogoyo, since your thread is abot religion, let me say something else. When we remain heedless of the signs of God, our Creator, then we prefer to live a life without guidance, an animalistic way of life. And then we will have to face the consequences of our choices.

I never said anywhere that i want to live guidance free life or an animalistic life, to the contrary, the people who believe (faith) on something (without questioning as well) just to escape hell live like animals (instinct)

Why do i have to face a consequence that can't be proven. Will those who don't believe and never heard of this God suffer the consequences? don't you think this is absurd.
In the days of ignorance, God overlooks! Acts 17!
and why does things need to be explained on only one sphere!!! God's sphere. Why not science and thought process!!!

why not? Why not combine thoughts, science, faith?

#130 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 7:21:37 PM

@Lolest! Who said it is the same woman? BUT ut is the SAME crime. ADULTERY!

Can you explain why Jesus is KILLING the children of the ADULTERESS:

Revelation 2:22-23: "So I will cast her on a bed of suffering, and I will make those who commit ADULTERY with her suffer intensely, unless they repent of her ways. I will strike her children dead. Then all the churches will know that I am he who searches hearts and minds, and I will repay each of you according to your deeds."

Dude, are you sure you read the book or just googled adultery+bible?

Wacha kutuangusha buda!
#131 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 8:59:46 PM

Apricot wrote:
a couple of things

Biblical evidence is historical evidence. It always is. Even the apocalyptic narrative is critical to our understanding and development.

The problem is, contrary to expectation, is most of us are never taught how to read the Scriptures. Maybe learning Scripture should begin at twenty five and restricted to a select few.
#132 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:29:05 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

lool.

Creator is a description as is manufacturer. To distinguish one manufacturer from another, each one has a name: Toyota, Nissan, Isuzu etc.

Likewise, the Creator informed us by what name we should call him. He chose *ALLAAH*.

I don't think it is right to dispute that, just as it would not be right to ask Toyota why they would like to be called Toyota and not just manufacturer.
#133 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:32:47 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

lool.

Allaah has taken the trouble to send us guidance in the form of prophets, the first of who was Adam and the last of who was Prophet Muhammad alaihis salaam.

Let us equally take the trouble to find out what they taught and follow those instructions so we live a blessed life. That instruction makes us different from other animals.
#134 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:39:52 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

lool.

Why do i have to face a consequence that can't be proven.

It is common sense that when we are employed in any institution we follow instructions as laid down by the employer. The consequence of not following instructions will only be felt when we have been sacked. Of course you can't prove what it will be like to lose your job until you lost it. And none of those who lost their jobs are allowed to hang around the premises. Don't wait to be sacked. Just be humble and follow the instructions. It is we who will feel better if we toe the line.
#135 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:46:27 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

lool.

Will those who don't believe and never heard of this God suffer the consequences? don't you think this is absurd.

I don't think there is any one who hasn't heard of Allaah. And if there is, then God Almighty has created each one of us with a pure fitra implanted in our hearts which makes us recognise that we are created beings and there is a set of instructions that we obey by default.
#136 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:50:13 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
Iganamagana wrote:

lool.

...and why does things need to be explained on only one sphere!!! God's sphere. Why not science and thought process!!!

Allaah (the Creator, the manufacturer, the designer) keeps on telling us to use our intelligence. I think this means scientific thought process. Ama?
Apricot
#137 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 9:54:01 PM

Apricot wrote:
a couple of things

Biblical evidence is historical evidence. It always is. Even the apocalyptic narrative is critical to our understanding and development.

The problem is, contrary to expectation, is most of us are never taught how to read the Scriptures. Maybe learning Scripture should begin at twenty five and restricted to a select few.

No. Biblical evidence is historical, but that does not equate to historical evidence. That is also not to mean there is no historical evidence in the scriptures. Historical evidence can be verified through various means; writings (scholars can identify those that were deliberately forged to give credence to certain claims), archaeological finds, etc. We know a lot about the pharaoh’s of Egypt from the papyrus writing and wall inscriptions, yet we cannot point to even one grave site for all the characters in the bible, Judas Iscariot included. We can identify a lineage of Alexander the Greek, but you will see documentaries where the search for Jesus’s lineage still goes on.

How should scriptures be read? Yes of course, scriptures were esoteric. But that was before the invention of the Gutenberg printing press in the 15th century, before which making copies was tedious (not to forget easy to transfer errors into). In this age of information, limiting the audience that accesses such information is just not plausible. But I am not sure if you are suggesting that we should put blinders on when reading the scriptures, so that we can accept a different meaning than that conveyed by the author! Perhaps I would suggest that we learn Aramaic, Greek, Hebrew and Latin so we can read the scriptures/oral transalations in their original languages and pick up nuances not available in the English language (like the difference between Almah & Betula when you read Isaiah 7:14)
#138 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 10:34:32 PM

Apricot wrote:
What is the mechanism or physics that allows 'information' to travel back in time to a gifted medium?

We have all heard of those people we call prophets - Koitalel, Syokimau etc who predicted the coming of the white man and the rail.

My experience

A few years ago, I was working at a company that seemed to be doing very well. Upward trajectory was the norm hitting targets and all. So when a colleague came to me one day and told me that he's looking for another job because "this company is not doing good", I could not believe it. I asked him why he said that and he told me that he visited a Buddhist priest (Buddha) out of town who told gave him the prophesy.

Honestly, I laughed it off. But I didn't dismiss him because it would have been rude and disrespectful.

A few months down the line, the company lost the largest client, the panic in mgt was intense I mean you could feel it. We had a town hall meeting and the CEO announced the news explaining that loosing the account meant that we would loose 5% in earnings. They tried to express some optimism saying that we shall get new clients but....that didn't happen, the prospective clients chickened out and delayed, the others started delaying their renewal of contracts. My colleague came to me and said..."see, all this was predicted by Buddha". Anyway, long story short my then employer was later acquired by a competitor and people lost jobs because of redundancy.

So back to my question what is the science that allows 'information' to travel back in time to a gifted person? Are some of our brains an antenna of sort?

Here is how I would view such an outcome. Assuming no prediction is made by any medium, is it likely for such an outcome to happen (successful company losing a major client)? If the answer you give is very likely, then I have no reason to believe the medium had access to special information. Anyone can make that prediction and immediately gain a 50% chance of their prediction happening. You did not tell us whether the medium predicted the time and how exactly the business would suffer loss. His/her probability is none-zero, so the antenna hypothesis is nullified.

Fair enough, we could say that the medium played a 50% probability theory. That medium also foretold this dude that he would not marry the woman he was dating, that was before the company issue came up so my conclusion to that was he may have made his mind because of that.

Anyway, after the company issue went down, i have been investigating alot and i have realized that even cops in kiash land use psychic detectives to solve crime.

@hamburglar would like to see it as foolishness but there are many cases of unexplained things like what you've referred to.

I was reading Ian Henderson's Man Hunt In Kenya as provided in a link in wazua by Foz00.(Hendreson is the guy who led the operation for the capture of Dedan Kimathi)

Henderson is dismissive of African(Kikuyu) beliefs...mugumo(fig) tree sanctity, witchdoctors etc. He seems to opine that they're backward, useless beliefs

So he wins over different Mau Mau leaders and soldiers in the Aberdares to his side in his strategy to isolate Kimathi.

One day, while hunting for General Kahiu Itina, they encounter the strangest thing. They find Kahiu Itina's squad in a traditional prayer session guided by a medicineman, King'ori.

Gati, the man in charge of the attacking gang, points his gun at the group. King'ori directs the group not to flee but co-operate with the invaders because he had dreamt the previous night of a band that would come to save them. Kahiu Itina's gang became docile and harmless even fetching the ropes by which they were bound with!

Why? Because they had listened to King'ori's prophecy! Henderson confirms later, by separate interviewing that indeed King'ori had prophesied the coming of saviours!

Later, Henderson visits King'ori in prison. King'ori predicts that Kimathi will be arrested "in the tenth month before the rains for millet planting begin"

That was April 1956. Henderson did not think it would take that long to arrest Kimathi. He found it laughable. But Kimathi was only arrested on October 21 1956.

unlike repeatable things... the supernatural is obscure! it never really happen infront of everyone and in a predictable manner! does it exist? I don't know! but it doesn't help it's case by remaining obscure...
Apricot
#139 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 10:55:52 PM

Apricot wrote:

My experience

unlike repeatable things... the supernatural is obscure! it never really happen infront of everyone and in a predictable manner! does it exist? I don't know! but it doesn't help it's case by remaining obscure...

Exactly. And the really "big" miracles that we now have been instructed to have faith in and believe seem to only happen 2000 years ago and earlier. Why don't they ever happen in modern times? Yes, supernatural does not help its cause by staying obscure. Yet we can show evidence of an electron at any given time even though one cannot see it with naked eyes! repeatability.
#140 Posted : Monday, March 20, 2017 11:18:41 PM

Apricot wrote:

My experience

Exactly. And the really "big" miracles that we now have been instructed to have faith in and believe seem to only happen 2000 years ago and earlier. Why don't they ever happen in modern times? Yes, supernatural does not help its cause by staying obscure. Yet we can show evidence of an electron at any given time even though one cannot see it with naked eyes! repeatability.

Having a vision is something repeatable. The 'supernatural' is something that may be natural but whose relations and significance belong to a mythical world.

For example, the crossing of the red sea and drowning of Pharaoh's men is a symbol for a complete seperation of a people from each other.

The miracle is the seperation. The vision is the decision to seperate.