Ethiopia's Trams
Unrelated to the topic but, nice to watch. These people are testing out Japan's levitating maglev train. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 2/27/2014 Posts: 454 Location: Republic of Enchantment.
Impunity wrote:simonkabz wrote:Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:@Simo, thanks for the photo's. Hope the sir'kal in Kenya take note of what our neighbours are upto. Uhunye surely has to learn to ignore the politicians.
Baba's work is to push for political reforms, Uhunye's should be to develop the country, right now he is not doing his to the expectations Will Kenyans stop stealing lamps and guard rails? I ts not just a Uhunye job. How much does it cost to repair and maintain? His gaament has to stop that, the buck stops with HIM! WHen we suggest vijana watwangwe mbegu mnakataa......when we suggest the banning of Scrap matal industry some fools go to court. The scrap metal dealers comes from the presidents community, he should know how to deal with them. Really ???? Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
The tragedy is that all these years and even now, we in Africa build highways and railways to make importation of finished goods and export of raw materials much easier. In the west, they developed their highways and rails to make importation of raw materials and export of finished goods easier. The other tragedy is that we borrow from the west to develop our infrastructure, in reality we do not yet own these assets until the debts are paid to the last penny
limanika wrote:The tragedy is that all these years and even now, we in Africa build highways and railways to make importation of finished goods and export of raw materials much easier. In the west, they developed their highways and rails to make importation of raw materials and export of finished goods easier. The other tragedy is that we borrow from the west to develop our infrastructure, in reality we do not yet own these assets until the debts are paid to the last penny Very objective assessment! Spot on !
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Jitahidi wrote:limanika wrote:The tragedy is that all these years and even now, we in Africa build highways and railways to make importation of finished goods and export of raw materials much easier. In the west, they developed their highways and rails to make importation of raw materials and export of finished goods easier. The other tragedy is that we borrow from the west to develop our infrastructure, in reality we do not yet own these assets until the debts are paid to the last penny Very objective assessment! Spot on ! it is what it is.... i guess it's a 'tragedy' coz we want to be seen as 'people' too. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
We need corridors..like these >>Lower Mersey Corridor..River Clyde corridor..Thames and Medway port industrial corridor....if we model Mombasa road ..thika road ..lake victoria basin...malindi...in these terms ..we may forget mambo ya Burotis and focus on mid-sized ..talent knowledge service and manufacturing economies ..we are located in the best part of the globe midway between the Far East and Europe in terms of time zoning ..Ndemo has some of these ideas
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
While you were politicking,  trams arrived in ethiopia 
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
kysse wrote:While you were politicking,  trams arrived in ethiopia  Shura haibambi, lakini iko yuu sana compared to our SGR/Strategic Grain Reserve! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
HEINEKEN inaugurates Ethiopia's biggest brewery as part of EUR310mln investment in the countryQuote:With a total capacity of 1.5m hectolitres, the Kilinto brewery is already producing the recently launched Walia® beer together with Bedele® and Harar® beer brands. It is planned that the site will also brew other brands including the flagship Heineken® beer.
Employing around 280 people, drawn from the local workforce, the new facility complements the already established Bedele and Harar breweries; which were acquired from the Ethiopian government in 2011. The EUR110mln new brewery is part of a total EUR310mln investment in the country by HEINEKEN since 2011.
http://www.theheinekenco...eleases/2015/01/1887644
We are only advancing in cheap politics.
 "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
kysse wrote:HEINEKEN inaugurates Ethiopia's biggest brewery as part of EUR310mln investment in the countryQuote:With a total capacity of 1.5m hectolitres, the Kilinto brewery is already producing the recently launched Walia® beer together with Bedele® and Harar® beer brands. It is planned that the site will also brew other brands including the flagship Heineken® beer.
Employing around 280 people, drawn from the local workforce, the new facility complements the already established Bedele and Harar breweries; which were acquired from the Ethiopian government in 2011. The EUR110mln new brewery is part of a total EUR310mln investment in the country by HEINEKEN since 2011.
http://www.theheinekenco...eleases/2015/01/1887644
We are only advancing in cheap politics. Blame it on Jubilee... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
Those are ridiculously low prices In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Would trams solve Nairobi's transport problems? I don't think so not unless they are put on all matatu routes. Matatus are more efficient in ferrying huge numbers of people to many many destinations which trams can't.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
hardwood wrote:Would trams solve Nairobi's transport problems? I don't think so not unless they are put on all matatu routes. Matatus are more efficient in ferrying huge numbers of people to many many destinations which trams can't. Good question. The answer would be , build trams to serve the city center. Say from Muthurwa terminus crisscross all the way to westie and then to Ngara ama another terminus those sides of Thika road and then at Nyayo stadium to serve Mbs road; benefits, -That way no mats in CBD which will also reduce the carbon emissions and noise. -Then make the fares cheap. -This will not send matatus out of bizna and it will not be very expensive to build. -The security problem will be addressed. Hakuna kuogopa hijacks within the city -Extend operation hours mpaka kitu 1AM. na much more
hardwood wrote:Would trams solve Nairobi's transport problems? I don't think so not unless they are put on all matatu routes. Matatus are more efficient in ferrying huge numbers of people to many many destinations which trams can't. Trams would only work for intra-city transport, eg hopping from Kencom to GPO. Nairobi trasport problem is getting the masses from the residential areas to the City.Once people are in the city, they can then solve their movements. I doubt many people would wait for a tram from for example railways bus park to GPO. Its better to walk as the waiting time might be much more than the walking time. Nbi is just too congested to plan. It would be much easier to build a new capital elsewhere with better infrastructure than try to create order our of chaotic Nbi. My 2 rupees. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Wanalipa walimu aje? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
congratulations ethiopia for the lrt. generally speaking, ethiopia is coming from a lower development base and some of the investments its making or getting now are phases kenya has passed. except things like lrt of course. All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
Ethiopia's Trams