wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

9 Pages«<56789>
Anglo-Leasing Payout
#121 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:02:21 PM

@Swenani....Did you really watch UK's press conference and what he had to say about his report?
#122 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:03:43 PM

@Swenani....Did you really watch UK's press conference and what he had to say about his report?

I have not, What did he say?

#123 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:09:33 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
The President has acted decisively. Corrupt elements within and without government signed away the GoK rights. There was no LEGAL recourse left. We pay now or we pay later at higher interest. Punitively and with all you got, go for the conniving individuals in their personal capacity. Meanwhile, can the Eurobond now take off for serious economic activity based on it to begin.

@Ecstacy, sychophancy can only take you so far. Fair enuf, he has paid to save Kenya, how about he proves that this was a corrupt deal by arresting the corrupt individuals who were involved, reading speaches alone will not fly!!

Everyone who disagrees with a chungwa is njumbiree, sycophant etc. Wise up dude. Arrest them based on what? Obi's orders?? He has called for fresh investigations on this. Why not let them be done then arrest individuals based on actual legally admissible evidence?

So he doesnt even trust the investigation he did while he was charmain of PAC? He spent tax payers money to fly to UK to carry out investigations and now he calls for fresh investigatons!!What has changed?

#Thinkingisnotthatpainfulthewaysomepeopleperceiveittobe#

Simple question, have you read the report?

Yes, and simple question to you have you read it

Below is waht uhuru said in parliament
Mr. Speaker, Sir, what shocked us was that, even within the Attorney-General's Chambers, we were told that is not the preserve of the Attorney-General, but rather he joined the ping- pong of saying: "That is the responsibility of the procuring Ministry." In short, what am I saying? I am saying, to the amazement of our Committee, that a project that was initially supposed to cost the Kenyan Government, Kshs600 million miraculously developed to be a Kshs2.7 billion project. More interesting is that nobody, despite the amount of April 5, 2006 PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES 383 money we are talking about, can tell us how that contract was actually signed. According to the evidence given before us, senior politicians and civil servants denied the fact that they had even heard of Anglo Leasing and Finance Company Limited. Many did not even know where the agreements were signed, according to what they told us. We found it incredible that even in talking to the Treasury, we were told that signing a contract involving Kshs2.7 billion is an everyday affair, and that people can just sign it blindly without knowing what has been presented before them. By any standards, Kshs2.7 billion is no small amount of money. Mr. Speaker, Sir, we have made a number of recommendations that we hope will strengthen some of these institutions to ensure, and I will get to that later on, that this ping-pong that we saw will never happen again in Kenya. I would like to move on to another area, which, to me, is most important. You will recall that I said that this House, in its wisdom, threw out the first report on the basis of expunging of names. The evidence that we received from Mr. Githongo finally gave this Committee the last leg in our stool that completed the circle; a circle involving businessmen, senior civil servants and politicians in our country, who have all along denied these claims by saying they were not aware. Actually, they knew what was going on. Mr. Speaker, Sir, Mr. Githongo told us that he was appointed in January, 2003 to be the advisor to the President on matters relating to corruption and integrity. He made it very clear to us that the President said that this was an issue that he held in high regard and, as such, he was responsible and answerable directly to His Excellency the President. Mr. Speaker, Sir, the evidence given to us indicates that Mr. John Githongo briefed His Excellency the President regularly on matters related to corruption. Actions taken by His Excellency the President also indicate that he was regularly briefed by Mr. Githongo. We saw some senior civil servants being dismissed by His Excellency the President.

Finally, a document was produced to us. This document is available to this House. After many long months of searching by Kenyans, including those of us in the PAC, for who were behind certain companies, a document that clearly indicates who was behind every contract was availed to us. Names were known. Why would individuals go to great length to protect individuals if they were not involved in a scandal? Mr. Speaker, Sir, I wish to refer to one particular individual, whom everybody claimed they did not know. In some of the evidence we have taken a man by the name Mr. Melvyn Kettering kept resurfacing. There were claims that this individual was not known. But it was revealed to us that there were some people who were familiar with Mr. Kettering. When the issue of who Mr. Kettering was raised by His Excellency the President, all those people who knew him claimed that they did not know him, thereby causing the President to instruct Mr. Githongo to investigate and find out who he was. Why did individuals go to such great length to hide the identity of such an individual, if they were not party to whatever that individual was doing? Mr. Speaker, Sir, Mr. Melvyn Kettering, as you will see from our report on page 56, is a director of Dynatech International. This is a company that was involved in the computerisation of the Treasury. You can see that he was also a consultant for LBA International of Scotland, a company which is involved in the procurement of a communication system for the Prisons Service. The same company, of which he was a director, shares addresses with other Anglo Leasing affiliates such as Anglo Leasing Finance Ltd itself. It also shares the same address with Forensic Science Laboratories Inc., and the Sound Day Corporation. Consequently, what the Committee was able to determine was that this is a scam that has been going on, and, we believe, still is going on. We believe more is known about it than has been made public to this Committee, and to the nation at large. Mr. Speaker, Sir, last but not least, the most amazing thing Mr. Githongo informed us was that during the process of procurement of passports, he warned that Anglo Leasing was a company whose directors had previously been involved in other such corrupt practices. No action was taken, purely on that decision alone. It was also clear that companies that deal with procurement of passports are not many as people may say. They are few. As you will see from the illustration at the end of our Report, page 55, of the 18 contracts, Mr. Githongo was able to link the 18 projects to three individuals in particular, namely; Messrs. Anura Perera, Amin Juma, Deepak Kamani and relatives. There are many relatives of Mr. Kamani mentioned there. All those projects were handled by the same individuals. It is, therefore, clear to us that this was not just a one-off thing. This was something that was developed over time and a lot of thought and energy were put up to create a system to continue robbing this country blindly. I have no fear in saying that those individuals have no loyalty to this country but to themselves. They existed in the previous Government and exist in the current one. Unless this House takes appropriate action, they will continue to exist even in the Governments to come.

In summary, When Uhuru was the PAC chairman he claimed to know the faces of Anglo leasing but now out of the blue he has ordered for fresh investigaations

What is the need of paying then doing investigations later,will we get a refund once the investigations have been done?

Sycophancywillbetheendofsomeofus

This money we are paying, is just part of the Anglo-Leasing type contracts so maybe don't assume you are better versed than the author of the report so as to cast aspertions on his motive.

OK, but let us say you do know more, which exact charges for this particular contracts we are now to pay for are you proposing and on who?

Did I claim am better versed than the author of the report.

I just posted a quote from UK's speech when tabling the PAC report in parliament
I post it for you to to read
The evidence that we received from Mr. Githongo finally gave this Committee the last leg in our stool that completed the circle; a circle involving businessmen, senior civil servants and politicians in our country, who have all along denied these claims by saying they were not aware. Actually, they knew what was going on

Teh author knows who was involved in aglo leasing and thus he should also know the charges.I have highlighted for you who should be charged based on the authors report?

#124 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:13:42 PM

We are bound to pay 56b to Anglo fleecing. This warning was given as early as 2007.
n his April 2006 special audit of the 18 security related contracts, the Controller and Auditor General, Mr. Evan Mwai wrote that “through the
eighteen security related supplier/ financier credit contracts/ projects, Government has been committed to spending a total of ... Ksh 56.33 billion. ...The commitments were in the form of Irrevocable Promissory Notes which were given to the credit providers on the dates the respective credit agreements were signed
Among the public officials who should bear responsibility are the............ The network responsible for conjuring up this scam is most likely still embedded in the Government of Kenya, and if nothing is done, Anglo Leasing will happen again; and Kenyans, will yet again, be illegally bound to pay illegitimate debts based on fraud

#125 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:25:01 PM

@Swenani....There was simply not enough to prosecute individuals in court or stop Kenya from paying up, sasa unataka UK afanye nini....btw in the press conference he did indicate that he still stands by his report and the names that were mentioned.
#126 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 5:35:19 PM

@Swenani....There was simply not enough to prosecute individuals in court or stop Kenya from paying up, sasa unataka UK afanye nini....btw in the press conference he did indicate that he still stands by his report and the names that were mentioned.

I have just seen this on Itumbi's wall
5. I stand by my 2006 Anglo Leasing report and believe we have sufficient evidence to prosecute those responsible

https://www.facebook.com...posts/10204375957947441

Taz, I asked a question to Ecstacy, why should he order for fresh investigations? yet he knows the individuals behind Anglo leasing?By ordering new investigations, is he standing by his report and now since he claims there is evidence for prosecution, WHY ORDER FOR FRESH INVESTIGATIONS?

Kihara joni
#127 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 11:02:39 PM

Fact: we lost a court battle so it's only right to pay up, I call it cut our losses in interests and seal future loop holes, just one condition though who is behind the company/companies firms?
#128 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 7:37:12 AM

I wonder why people are complaining of Angloleasing when it is little money.Billions have paid to this Orbit.http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=20947
#129 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:56:56 AM

Dear Mr. President,

I listened to your speech on Friday where you claim to not know who the folks behind Anglo-Leasing are.

Here is a small ka-tip:

https://www.wikileaks.or...les/06NAIROBI944_a.html

Hope you can now roll up your sleeves and do some work for a change.

Your disgruntled citizen

#130 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:04:38 AM

Things not very rosy at the treasuery, some magnets camping at Rotich's office so he signs off the payment, he is demanding a written executive order from the president saying the verbal one was not sufficient.....interesting times!!!!!!
#131 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:17:56 AM

Which magnets?
#132 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:21:11 AM

Which magnets?

They are four of them, as we said earlier, some of this loot inarudi tu hapa Kenya!!!!
#133 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:23:21 AM

Dear Mr. President,

I listened to your speech on Friday where you claim to not know who the folks behind Anglo-Leasing are.

Here is a small ka-tip:

https://www.wikileaks.or...les/06NAIROBI944_a.html

Hope you can now roll up your sleeves and do some work for a change.

Your disgruntled citizen

I listed to his speech kama wewe and i don't recall akisema he doesn't know the people behind Anglo leasing....alisema bado he stands by his report and the names that are in it. Anyway here's the press release that was released last week.

http://www.president.go....-and-universal-satspace/
#134 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:32:54 AM

I hope Rotich will cover himself with proper documentation,approvals and authorizations. Ni hayo tu!
Pedes
#135 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:34:18 AM

Things not very rosy at the treasuery, some magnets camping at Rotich's office so he signs off the payment, he is demanding a written executive order from the president saying the verbal one was not sufficient.....interesting times!!!!!!

Is this the same executive order that got Ruto the Hustler's jet?
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#136 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 11:39:20 AM

I hope Rotich will cover himself with proper documentation,approvals and authorizations. Ni hayo tu!

Remember, as Midiwo said at the rally jana, the new katiba makes the finance boss personally liable if we sign crooked deals.
Cammarada
#137 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 1:03:13 PM

Remember, as Midiwo said at the rally jana, the new katiba makes the finance boss personally liable if we sign crooked deals.

If I were Rotich's kin I would tell him, father/Uncle/neighbour IT IS NOT WORTH IT (read: beyond ur tenure they will come for you as a person). Kwa hayo machache!!
Nandwa
#138 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 3:50:32 PM

kollabo wrote:
Thanks for the clarity @ecstacy. With that background, we should not pay. Eurobond or no eurobond.

Cheers mister.

The Deputy President has categorically said the current GoK has no intention of paying for this. Let us walk the talk when it comes push and shove.

Is this an about turn or am I mistaken!

The President has acted decisively. Corrupt elements within and without government signed away the GoK rights. There was no LEGAL recourse left. We pay now or we pay later at higher interest. Punitively and with all you got, go for the conniving individuals in their personal capacity. Meanwhile, can the Eurobond now take off for serious economic activity based on it to begin.

HAVE OUR LEADERS BEEN HONEST WITH US!
I MEAN THE VISIONARY DUO!

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#139 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:12:25 PM

Which magnets?

They are four of them, as we said earlier, some of this loot inarudi tu hapa Kenya!!!!

four magnets? now we are moving from paying ghosts to paying magnets?
#140 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:24:54 PM

I have this feeling that Kenyans think contracts have issues depending on the amounts involved. I could be wrong.