Culture
Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
how much do these media houses pay DSTV? Another question - has Unjiru TV switched to ndizito? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Lolest! wrote:It's the media's turn to churn out propaganda. Someone who listened to Royal media's inooro fm this morning told me that they've told their listeners that you need a set top box for each station you want to watch and pay monthly! They should be arrested for peddling lies.... http://digitalkenya.go.ke/migration-does-not-mean-paying-monthly-to-watch-tv
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 972 Location: Home
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:29:06 AMRankaz13 wrote: Not my original thoughts but makes sense all the same: There is a massive conspiracy that has delayed and sabotaged the digital migration in Kenya. The top 4 media players have enjoyed the advantage of countrywide frequency allocation which makes them control the airwaves and billions of advertising revenue. Ask yourself why only these stations have the clearest and most widely available (analogue) signals countrywide despite there being a long list of both new and old media players. The current regime at CCK has been trying to end this but are fought from all directions including being dragged through courts and suffering political interference. The 'holy' Kenyan media want to be left alone to continue as a virtual monopoly. With digital migration all T.V stations (totalling 96 currently) will have the same coverage countrywide, picture and sound quality. Only content will determine popularity and success of the station. That will bring in a lot of competition and that will translate to better services to the public/viewers. There will be an explosion in local productions and new programs against the current foreign soaps and third rate programs. With the cost of set-top boxes set to drop to 1000/= and digital t.v prices set to come down even further, the future can only be brighter. The media owners have withdrawn their signals to signet and startimes hoping to slow down their (signet's & startimes') growth countrywide and buy themselves more time in the status quo. CCK had given the media owners a digital licence to compete with the duo but they couldn't agree amongst themselves about the joint partnership. http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=24350
IMO, the three media houses has succeed to do a campaign for CCK for free. Right now, even those who didn't know anything about the migration, within n beyond Nairobi, are now aware there is sth they are supposed to do to watch TV. All of a sudden, the digital boxes vendors will get Customers. And in the middle of the confusion, those interested in selling them will up their marketing
holycow wrote:#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:29:06 AMRankaz13 wrote: Not my original thoughts but makes sense all the same: There is a massive conspiracy that has delayed and sabotaged the digital migration in Kenya. The top 4 media players have enjoyed the advantage of countrywide frequency allocation which makes them control the airwaves and billions of advertising revenue. Ask yourself why only these stations have the clearest and most widely available (analogue) signals countrywide despite there being a long list of both new and old media players. The current regime at CCK has been trying to end this but are fought from all directions including being dragged through courts and suffering political interference. The 'holy' Kenyan media want to be left alone to continue as a virtual monopoly. With digital migration all T.V stations (totalling 96 currently) will have the same coverage countrywide, picture and sound quality. Only content will determine popularity and success of the station. That will bring in a lot of competition and that will translate to better services to the public/viewers. There will be an explosion in local productions and new programs against the current foreign soaps and third rate programs. With the cost of set-top boxes set to drop to 1000/= and digital t.v prices set to come down even further, the future can only be brighter. The media owners have withdrawn their signals to signet and startimes hoping to slow down their (signet's & startimes') growth countrywide and buy themselves more time in the status quo. CCK had given the media owners a digital licence to compete with the duo but they couldn't agree amongst themselves about the joint partnership. http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=24350 So they were also given a license to compete but individual greed couldn't allow them to go digital? And now they are blackmailing kenyans?
http://digitalkenya.go.ke/what-s-digital-transition/signal-distributorsWho are the signal distributors in Kenya?The two licensed signal distributors are: 1. Signet, a subsidiary of the public broadcaster, Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC) licensed in 2009 2. Pan-Africa Network Group (Kenya) Co. Ltd which is privately owned was licensed in 2011. What are the functions of signal distributors?
General Functions of a signal distributor in our Digital Terrestrial Television (DTT) framework shall include but not limited to the following: - Establishment, operation and management of Multiplexes, Transmission sites, and subscriber management system - Manage multiplex systems -Distribute multimedia services to consumers on behalf of broadcasters - Provide billing systems. What are the obligations of signal distributors? -Sell capacity to licensed broadcasters(carrying capacity / signal/ channel availability ) -Enter into contracts with broadcasters for provision of content to the signal distributor -Filing of tariffs with the regulator. This are the tariffs levied to content providers -Ensure availability of SLA with broadcasters -Ensure adherence with the broadcasting laws of the land
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
masukuma wrote:how much do these media houses pay DSTV? Another question - has Unjiru TV switched to ndizito? I thought its DSTV that should pay them for premium content - hi unjiru haionekani in the neighbourhood, they might be among the dissenting players.
holycow wrote:#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2013 10:29:06 AMRankaz13 wrote: Not my original thoughts but makes sense all the same: There is a massive conspiracy that has delayed and sabotaged the digital migration in Kenya. The top 4 media players have enjoyed the advantage of countrywide frequency allocation which makes them control the airwaves and billions of advertising revenue. Ask yourself why only these stations have the clearest and most widely available (analogue) signals countrywide despite there being a long list of both new and old media players. The current regime at CCK has been trying to end this but are fought from all directions including being dragged through courts and suffering political interference. The 'holy' Kenyan media want to be left alone to continue as a virtual monopoly. With digital migration all T.V stations (totalling 96 currently) will have the same coverage countrywide, picture and sound quality. Only content will determine popularity and success of the station. That will bring in a lot of competition and that will translate to better services to the public/viewers. There will be an explosion in local productions and new programs against the current foreign soaps and third rate programs. With the cost of set-top boxes set to drop to 1000/= and digital t.v prices set to come down even further, the future can only be brighter. The media owners have withdrawn their signals to signet and startimes hoping to slow down their (signet's & startimes') growth countrywide and buy themselves more time in the status quo. CCK had given the media owners a digital licence to compete with the duo but they couldn't agree amongst themselves about the joint partnership. http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=24350 Just like the CMA vs the brokers saga...resisting change and in the process hurting the common mwananchi.... possunt quia posse videntur
alma wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:Sasaaa? Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc. I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness. At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry. And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Aii kweli! Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV. I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now. People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord! @alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!! honestly impunity I never knew you had a career in comedy. Ladies and gentlemen Mr. look at her backside is lecturing on maturity. All because he can't watch Antonio Gomez at 6pm... For the sake of comedians everywhere. NTV please come back on air. Infact, all these stations should have their licenses withdrawn pronto! Kweli leo ni leo. Wahenga wa coast walisema if you are in a pit you should stop digging in! They were wrong,No? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
C&P
Under digital broadcasting, rather than each broadcaster investing in their own signal distribution, most countries including Kenya have opted to license shared signal distributors separate from content broadcasters.
The move has lowered the entry to broadcasting as all one needs to be a TV broadcaster currently is content, either a link to a signal distributor or space at the signal distributor and a leased channel. The total cost comes down to less than KSh. 100,000 a month.
The first of two signal distribution license was issued to Signet, currently operating under state owned Kenya Broadcasting Communication. Local broadcasters bidded separately for the second distributor and lost to the Pan African Group. Ministry of Information and Communication Permanent Secretary, Dr. Bitange Ndemo says he advised local broadcasters to form a consortium to bid for the second license, but they disregarded his advice. After losing the bid, the local broadcasters came together and have been lobbying the government for a joint third license.
Magigi wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:Sasaaa? Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc. I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness. At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry. And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Aii kweli! Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV. I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now. People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord! @alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!! ...aiiiii...naku @Impunity...2 years of schooling?! ...@Alma...We love you dude...Enjoy your Christmas! I didnt know that I wrote "I didnt knew" Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Magigi wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:Sasaaa? Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc. I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness. At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry. And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Aii kweli! Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV. I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now. People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord! @alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!! ...aiiiii...naku @Impunity...2 years of schooling?! ...@Alma...We love you dude...Enjoy your Christmas! I didnt know that I wrote "I didnt knew" Blame it on the predictive text input on your iphone...
jaggernaut wrote:Impunity wrote:Magigi wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:Sasaaa? Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc. I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness. At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry. And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Aii kweli! Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV. I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now. People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord! @alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!! ...aiiiii...naku @Impunity...2 years of schooling?! ...@Alma...We love you dude...Enjoy your Christmas! I didnt know that I wrote "I didnt knew" Blame it on the predictive text input on your iphone... Its more of hasira due to over-mature @alma. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
kysse wrote:@jagger &impunity I have the perfect Christmas gift for her.. But honestly we were warned about this. Kenyans are last minute fellows and the judge knows it. The Easy FM boss in an interview this morning said that when TZ went Digital,they lost 90% of their customers.It was proper blackout. He also added that only 400,000 set up boxes have been sold in the country so far. Compare that no. to our pop. If we can't buy boxes, we can mingle so lets make use of what is there and move on like the rest. So why punish the 400k kenyans for being digital compliant? Also add all the dstv, gotv etc subscribers who have been given a black out?
jaggernaut wrote:kysse wrote:@jagger &impunity I have the perfect Christmas gift for her.. But honestly we were warned about this. Kenyans are last minute fellows and the judge knows it. The Easy FM boss in an interview this morning said that when TZ went Digital,they lost 90% of their customers.It was proper blackout. He also added that only 400,000 set up boxes have been sold in the country so far. Compare that no. to our pop. If we can't buy boxes, we can mingle so lets make use of what is there and move on like the rest. So why punish the 400k kenyans for being digital compliant? Also add all the dstv, gotv etc subscribers who have been given a black out? I think someone's ass need to be sued! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
So, the 3 media houses are to distribute their free to air channels through foreign owned companies based in Kenya or through the Government owned one..... If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
C&P If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
Impunity wrote:Magigi wrote:Impunity wrote:alma wrote:Sasaaa? Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc. I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness. At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry. And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Aii kweli! Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV. I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now. People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord! @alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!! ...aiiiii...naku @Impunity...2 years of schooling?! ...@Alma...We love you dude...Enjoy your Christmas! I didnt knew that I wrote "I didnt knew"
I'm just content with no surprises from KPLC.
symbols wrote:I'm just content with no surprises from KPLC. Ditto! So am i. Tv is mind numbing in the light of prospective mind sharpening discussions.
Culture
Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!