wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

10 Pages«<56789>»
EAC...TZ in a dilemma???
mkeiyd
#61 Posted : Saturday, November 09, 2013 1:07:09 PM

Being the best in EAC is like being the tallest dwarf! Its to TZ's benefit and our collective benefit to have them in EAC. We really don't have a choice!! People need to understand that while all this apprehension may be justified the world does not care!! I really want TZ, Burundi,DRC, Ethiopia and South Sudan in this union because it makes cents and sense.

@Masukuma. What does the rest of EA do if Tz isn't willing to move forward with speed? Wait til they are ready?
How about the opportunity costs for waiting?
#62 Posted : Saturday, November 09, 2013 3:51:26 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
Being the best in EAC is like being the tallest dwarf! Its to TZ's benefit and our collective benefit to have them in EAC. We really don't have a choice!! People need to understand that while all this apprehension may be justified the world does not care!! I really want TZ, Burundi,DRC, Ethiopia and South Sudan in this union because it makes cents and sense.

@Masukuma. What does the rest of EA do if Tz isn't willing to move forward with speed? Wait til they are ready?

@masukuma, if am not mistaken you are the same guy in a different thread who said india doesnt need every indian fed to go to space. so why should we sit and wait for Tz to make up her mind?
#63 Posted : Saturday, November 09, 2013 6:02:03 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

@masukuma, if am not mistaken you are the same guy in a different thread who said india doesnt need every indian fed to go to space. so why should we sit and wait for Tz to make up her mind?

following

#64 Posted : Saturday, November 09, 2013 7:01:04 PM

mkeiyd wrote:

the rest of the EAC does exactly what its doing... move forward and show commitment to the idea of EAC. at the same time avoid negative speeches that poison the well. say that you are open and that TZ is welcome to join things like single visa and IDs for all EA citizens when its comfortable and that the channels to address their concerns are still open.

aren't you the same person who somehow thinks a state is identical to a human being? sijui self actualization e.t.c. that thinking is also seen in your question i.e. assuming a citizen is synonymous or comparable to a state. EAC is not a chama... its a group of states whose citizens will benefit greatly from ease of doing business across their borders p.s. I did not say hang around waiting for them to get accustommed with the idea but rather ensure that you don't communicate negative speeches. South sudan is with us on some things but not others. We should be careful not to communicate negatively about TZ. its not helping!!

p.s. @harrydre and @mukiri need to stop their fixation on space and rockets... those are products of a process.
#65 Posted : Saturday, November 09, 2013 7:16:08 PM

p.s. @harrydre and @mukiri need to stop their fixation on space and rockets... those are products of a process.

#66 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 3:03:59 PM

smile Laughing out loudly
Wakanyugi
#67 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 5:07:08 PM

Alba wrote:

I once had a teacher in form 1 who told us "Experience teaches fools". Clever people learn from other people's mistakes instead of taking their own lumps.

Ndugu Alba, I must say I find your sweeping statements rather stereotypical and would prefer not to engage with you. Otherwise a good thread may rapidly end up in the gutter.

On the one hand you pretend to speak for all Tanzanians, yet tie their destiny to the actions of a single founding father? So Nyerere was what, prescient?

All I can say is, I hope you are right. In the meantime, for good or bad, the rest of the 'coalition of the willing' move on.

We have a precedence for this in Europe, where UK has insisted on playing the prima dona. We'll see how that ends up in 2015 when they do their referendum on Europe.

My last word on this.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
hindi ni riu
#68 Posted : Monday, November 11, 2013 6:59:05 PM

Alba wrote:
I have a feeling that @Alba is either a TZnian or a fellow from outside East Africa...

U R a Typical Kenyan who does not want to deal with the truth

It is true TZnians think Kenyans are very tribal, but the question is how will Kenyans tribalism back home influence or play a part in TZnians social and political progression??? tribalism is not a physical entity that can be transported and damped. To me the TZnians claims that since Kenyans are tribal will make TZ tribal is fallicious and utter nonesense!!

What a bogus statement. A country’s culture is easily influenced by other countries. Look how American culture continues to permeate into Kenya. When I was growing up there was nobody celebrating American holidays like Valentines day. Kenyan youth are now heavily influenced by black American culture.
Now look at the United States. Foreign cultures have permeated the landscape. People celebrate St Patricks day which is Irish and even Cinco de Mayo which is a Mexican holiday.
In the UK and US, people now eat Chinese food, Indian food, etc. etc.
And you say culture cannot be exported ? Which planet do you live on ?
Havent the Tanzanians exported Bongo Flava to Kenya and did’nt the Congolese export their music to Kenya in the 1970s ?
In Kenya, the culture of tribalism was founded by Kenyatta and since then, every president has been tribalistic. If the East African Federation were to come fruition, it would be so easy for Kenyan politicians to wake up any latent tribal inclinations that Tanzanians might have. Thats what they are afraid of. Kenya might not have been a tribalistic society either if we had a different cadre of leaders. But it was our leaders who awoke our tribal inclinations.

TZ is very corrupt and especially when they are dealing with a foreigner...further more it originates from them not foreigners...Do not preach to us how clean the TZ is..corruption is corruption whether it is carried out locally or internationally.

They may be corrupt but they are surely not as corrupt as Kenya. Again look at the Transparency index. And in Kenya , corruption is a cancer that is literally killing Kenyans

Jeez!!!criminal activities in TZ are rare? my foot!!!We also have the locals in TZ do it albeit in smaller scale than Kenya!

Crime in Tanzania is small time compared to Kenya. Everyone knows that. I am sure you do to. Crime is making Kenya unlivable

This is very foolish of TZnians...A couple of years back Botswana had a similar mentality and the then President Festus Mogae looked further ahead and saw a need for the unavailable expertise and technology which could only be sourced from outside the borders if Botswana had to progress...The locals were against this, but the government went ahead...This got Botswana to where it is now...

It may be foolish but its their country and if they have the prerogative to decide whether they need Kenyans or not. Kenyans have no business telling them whether they can accept Kenyan expertise or not.

TZ chased away Rwandese the other day and there is also a simmering discontent between them and Malawi...What do these events tell you about TZ...they are an island unto themselves and they do not need anyone else!!

Again its their country. If they do not want Rwandese squatters then they can chase them if they want to.

Yea!!Not when South Africa is screwing them right left and centre through the biased SADC and SACU...Kenyas economy is more of an open type which accommodates the modern day capitalsm and is mostly driven by the local people and other investors...

Oh what a joke. Kenya’s economy may be more open but the results do not show it. For the last 10 years or so, Tanzania’s GDP has been growing at about 7% whereas Kenya has been growing at 4.5% . And despite being routed by Tanzania you are still waxing lyrical about Kenya's economy.

TZ is still reeling from the effects of socialism and that is why the locals are still poor with very little disposable incomes...also you do not progress economically when you have a lazy population...never!!!

And you think Kenyans are not poor ?
You think Tanzanians are not progressing ? Oh please tanzania's economy is growing much faster than Kenya.
I do not know whether to laugh or dismiss that.

And TZ may still be reeling from the effects of socialism but Kenya is reeling from tribalism and corruption that is literally killing Kenyans. Just think back to PEV 2007. And we haven’t learned anything. We are still as tribal as ever

@alba. Good arguments, BUT, it seems you expect the other countries to change their ways to "be like" TZ, before TZ accepts to move along. Well....it CAN happen, but with a 0.0000 probability.

“Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
#69 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 8:22:17 PM

#70 Posted : Thursday, November 14, 2013 8:40:19 PM

smile Sawa

10 Pages«<56789>»