wazua Sun, Jun 14, 2026

10 Pages«<56789>»
MATATU SRIKE
#61 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 4:30:09 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

Case in point.. what happened to the Mututho law? When was the last time they were enforced? Do you know why? They are someones cash cow now....

The real question is where were we when this law was being drafted... Oh yes I remember. We were discussing UHURUTORAOMDVD nonsense... Who will save Kenya?

@ bwenyenye, It will cost you more to keep on breaking the law,would it not be wise not to break the law?

I read your long post,may i ask you what would be the most ideal solution?

Enforcement.
#62 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 7:52:24 PM

Elder wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

Case in point.. what happened to the Mututho law? When was the last time they were enforced? Do you know why? They are someones cash cow now....

The real question is where were we when this law was being drafted... Oh yes I remember. We were discussing UHURUTORAOMDVD nonsense... Who will save Kenya?

@ bwenyenye, It will cost you more to keep on breaking the law,would it not be wise not to break the law?

Enforcement.

..read this http://m.autos.aol.com/a...s/?p=9&icid=art_next
#63 Posted : Friday, November 30, 2012 8:02:50 PM

Elder wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
bwenyenye wrote:

Enforcement.

..read this http://m.autos.aol.com/a.../?p=9&icid=art_next take time and also read this http://www.jagranjosh.co...-accidents-1317355922-1 there is a correlation between heavy speeding fines and a lower death caused by accidents rate but we are kenyans peculiar people such cant apply to usSad

itz
#64 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 12:32:54 AM

I always do 9kms in the morning.....had to do 35kms in 2 hrs 15mins!!!

eeh 1km in 3.8min.kwani your second name is usain bolt
alustaadh
#65 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 8:04:00 PM

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! A little bird told me that the government is going to use these traffic laws to force private motorists from their 'proboxes' back into trains and buses.....chekeni tuu watu wa matatu, lakini mukumbuke, wembe ni huo huo. kwahivyo, wekeni vichwa vyenyu maji. It is going to be DAMNED EXPENSSIVE to drive yourself around. Then you will understand why professors in Europe commute to work.
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
#66 Posted : Saturday, December 01, 2012 8:59:04 PM

alustaadh wrote:
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! A little bird told me that the government is going to use these traffic laws to force private motorists from their 'proboxes' back into trains and buses.....chekeni tuu watu wa matatu, lakini mukumbuke, wembe ni huo huo. kwahivyo, wekeni vichwa vyenyu maji. It is going to be DAMNED EXPENSSIVE to drive yourself around. Then you will understand why professors in Europe commute to work.

...as long as they make the transport system efficient haina shida.
#67 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 8:00:46 PM

I fully support the need for change in our road usage rules and etiquette but this new laws are just ridiculous.
Case in point
Careless driving or driving without regard to other road users - Fine not exceeding one hundred thousand shillings (Kshs.100,000)
So if a corrupt policeman/woman decides that you are driving carelessly what evidence do both of you present to the court? Do you think you will get witnesses to back you up against trumped up charges?
Lets get realistic,
1. Most vehicles on the roads are on loan so where will the the guy get cash to pay? Take another loan to service the trumped up charges? Which is easier part with 5k to "pay" for the charges or go to court and risk 100k fine?
2. Which employer will give you time to be attending traffic court cases
3. Are hefty fines and penalties going to make the police less corrupt? Most of this laws are not new, so what will suddenly jolt the police into proper action?

To me this laws were not well thought out. We need a complete overhaul of the traffic system to cover all processes not just on the road user end.
We do not need to reinvent the wheel. Countries like UAE have extremely successful traffic laws and its not because of hefty fines. No police there will chase you around nor will the courts come looking for you for a traffic offense. You will present yourself whether you like it or not.

#68 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 8:28:09 PM

Kratos wrote:
I fully support the need for change in our road usage rules and etiquette but this new laws are just ridiculous.
Case in point
Careless driving or driving without regard to other road users - Fine not exceeding one hundred thousand shillings (Kshs.100,000)
So if a corrupt policeman/woman decides that you are driving carelessly what evidence do both of you present to the court? Do you think you will get witnesses to back you up against trumped up charges?
Lets get realistic,
1. Most vehicles on the roads are on loan so where will the the guy get cash to pay? Take another loan to service the trumped up charges? Which is easier part with 5k to "pay" for the charges or go to court and risk 100k fine?
3. Are hefty fines and penalties going to make the police less corrupt? Most of this laws are not new, so what will suddenly jolt the police into proper action?

To me this laws were not well thought out. We need a complete overhaul of the traffic system to cover all processes not just on the road user end.
We do not need to reinvent the wheel. Countries like UAE have extremely successful traffic laws and its not because of hefty fines. No police there will chase you around nor will the courts come looking for you for a traffic offense. You will present yourself whether you like it or not.

It is the prosecution to prove your guilt by calling witnesses and adducing witnesses.in the absence of that,you are acquitted.Do NOT plead guity.The new fines call for you to always have someone to secure you on bond or cash bail,a good advocate and you win the case and sue the state for damages.
#69 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 8:36:41 PM

Kratos wrote:
Case in point
Lets get realistic,

It is the prosecution to prove your guilt by calling witnesses and adducing witnesses.in the absence of that,you are acquitted.Do NOT plead guity.The new fines call for you to always have someone to secure you on bond or cash bail,a good advocate and you win the case and sue the state for damages.

In this case the corrupt police officer whom you refused to bribe is his own witness. Wouldn't this mean its his testimony verses yours.

#70 Posted : Sunday, December 02, 2012 9:43:21 PM

Kratos wrote:
Case in point
Lets get realistic,

In this case the corrupt police officer whom you refused to bribe is his own witness. Wouldn't this mean its his testimony verses yours.

...we have tried all those thingz,i have been told here more than once that we are a peculiar people and its true,look at what people do when they discover there are no cops mats overlap,kawaida drivers overlap a small situation just becomes hell on earth we lack a sense of morality even the smallest form of morals we dont have...everybody wants to reach first no matter what it takes,this thing has become so embedded into our lives,if we cant follow laws unless we are policed no form of reform can change us...
10 Pages«<56789>»