wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

12 Pages«<56789>»
Konza City featured on K24 all week this week
a4architect.com
#121 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2012 9:06:59 PM

jamplu wrote:
@a4architect.com please lets not talk about planners they cannot reverse the mess in mavoko the place would have been better if it had been left bare for the giraffes and zebras to graze around as they used to before.
I think bwana architect you can enjoy the opportunity for you since you are in the real estate business make your money and move on those of us who'll be interested in moving to Konza can move to konza wale wengine can remain in Nairobi.
Next chapter lets talk about Isiolo I think you'd better see the ministry handling the project and make sure they don't buy the land !!

@ jamplu.Previous planners around Nairobi before 2002-2005 were not qualified.Thats how chaos in planning came about. Now they are all registered planners with good credentials. I know most of them personally.

This is a discussion aimed to shape our minds and assist policy makers make the best decision on using our tax payer money-no one is right or wrong.

Our tax payer money is involved so we have a right to inquire into its use.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#122 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2012 9:08:29 PM

I visited the Konza website and anyone who has visited it would agree with the sceptics here. It appears more like Tatu city- a place to live, work and play. They give no emphasis to IT. However, I see no problem with govt involvement in Real Estate. Govt spending spurs investment. Is Konza the first city to be constructed with govt assistance? Konza as a real estate project will be successful. Am not sure about the IT part...I am a Land Economist by training too
#123 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2012 9:13:34 PM

Deleted
a4architect.com
#124 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2012 9:15:24 PM

@ l olest..good to know you are a land economist.
Govt spending in infrastructure spur investment.
Govt spending in buying land to sell to its own citizens is competition with its citizens.
It can result to inflation/excessive printing of currency and the high land prices due to hoarding effect/scarcity and speculation result to lower productivity on citizens=poverty.

My arguments are not cast in stone so feel free to counter-argue .
#125 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2012 10:03:34 PM

@jamplu unless you are getting hybrid planners also in Konza, the same guys you are talking about in mavoko will be in Konza. The same people who are supposed to ensure that laws and bylaws are followed now in Nairobi will be the same guys at Konza. Unless of course even that you will import.

Nairobi's problem has never been planning. It has been governance. The very same people now telling you to go to Konza, are the very same governors and managers that have failed in Nairobi. These include Proffesors Ndemo and Kiamba.

The reason why I'm against this whole concept is this notion that new cities change how people work.

When London had a serious problem with drainage, they did not move the city somewhere else, they came up with the engineering marvel that is the sewage system in London.

When Paris had a trash problem, they did not create another city, they fixed the problem the best they could and are still doing the same.

When Kenya has a problem, the technocrats decide to create a whole new cities with the same managers who messed up the first city, In the hope that things will be different.

Think Big doesn't mean sweep problems under the carpet.

As long as there is no ICT component in Konza, it will be competing against Tatu. Now I want to wager which of the two will be a better city.
a4architect.com
#126 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:00:02 AM

@alma..very true

Malaysia had to move the Headquarter of Government to the new city, Putrajaya.
Majority of Putrajaya residents are civil servants.
The city was funded through oil sale proceeds by Petronas.

Oil money and moving of Government Hq to Putrajaya has made the city to thrive.

Unfortunately, after 10 years, the city is still not a thriving business capital.

Businessmen will be attracted when factors of production are lowered.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putrajaya

In 2002, a high speed rail link called KLIA Transit was opened, linking Putrajaya to both Kuala Lumpur and KL International Airport in Sepang. However, construction of the Putrajaya Monorail which was intended to be the city's metro system, was suspended due to costs. One of the monorail suspension bridges in Putrajaya remains unused.

In 2007, the population of Putrajaya was estimated to be over 30,000, which comprised mainly government servants.

http://www.malaysian-exp...-putrajayaGoodMove.html

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/11831

http://www.nytimes.com/2...?_r=1&pagewanted=all
GGK
#127 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:45:04 AM

Am happy to see Wazuans having a go at Konza. I struggle to appreciate the whole concept other than it is Nyandemo's (et al) scheme to hype an idea for them to cash in speculation on land prices.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
a4architect.com
#128 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:52:16 AM

@GGK..thanks.
Malaysia's Putrajaya was funded by Petronas, Malaysia National Oil company.
It was further supported by Govt moving its HQ from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya.

http://offshoreman.net/o...l-and-gas-jobs-blog/312

Konza City can be successful if Ministry of Info can seek funders such as NSSF, National Oil,'Turkana Oil', Universities e.t.c as opposed to direct cash from treasury.
#129 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:57:43 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
@GGK..thanks.
Malaysia's Putrajaya was funded by Petronas, Malaysia National Oil company.
It was further supported by Govt moving its HQ from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya.

http://offshoreman.net/o...l-and-gas-jobs-blog/312

Konza City can be successful if Ministry of Info can seek funders such as NSSF, National Oil, Universities e.t.c as opposed to direct cash from treasury.

Is funding the problem or the projects viability? Why can't Kenyans do things in their own way, do we have to copy and paste what others are doing? Shouldn't National Oil be thinking of transforming itself to Saudis Aramco? By the way, have you seen the automation in Aramco. Do some research and you will notice we have a long way to go. It is my believe that Americans succeed because they seek to do things differently and in their own way...notice they even changed the queens language.
#130 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:09:04 AM

It doesn't matter if you do things your way or another person's way. If it is the wrong way it is the wrong way.

Now saying we don't want to copy and paste is rather strange. Considering that we wish to copy and paste other country's technology cities

There has to be an extra reason why Konza is using public funding.

If it is because Nairobi cannot attract investors because of fire hoses, then the problem is not Nairobi, the problem is bureaucrats who don't follow laid down regulations which are going to be copied in Konza. so instead of creating a new city, then fire the bueracrats.

If the problem is lack of ict talent, then don't create a city, work with the ministry of education to come up with a working model to churn out it guys.

We are solving the wrong problems here.

What is the problem being solved at Konza? lets start there. Otherwise we might as well allow the ministry of transport to start a matatu business since matatus are a menace.
#131 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:18:35 AM

It doesn't matter if you do things your way or another person's way. If it is the wrong way it is the wrong way.

Now saying we don't want to copy and paste is rather strange. Considering that we wish to copy and paste other country's technology cities

If it is because Nairobi cannot attract investors because of fire hoses, then the problem is not Nairobi, the problem is bureaucrats who don't follow laid down regulations which are going to be copied in Konza. so instead of creating a new city, then fire the bueracrats.

If the problem is lack of ict talent, then don't create a city, work with the ministry of education to come up with a working model to churn out it guys.

What is the problem being solved at Konza? lets start there. Otherwise we might as well allow the ministry of transport to start a matatu business since matatus are a menace.

1. Is creating an ICT park wrong?

2. We all complain that doing business in the city is unbearable the man hrs lost in traffic are just too much, one way of solving the issue is decongesting, now if govt proposes some zoned area on the opposite direction of the city, what is so wrong with that?

3. Well well...If we lack talent and 18 local and international universities want to set up talent incubators what is so wrong with the govt facilitating that? Again, do you believe the likes of seven seas craft silicon and cellulant would be attracting business across Africa without the talent?

May be if we try to answer the above questions we will move on with a sober debate.
jamplu
#132 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:25:22 AM

@jamplu unless you are getting hybrid planners also in Konza, the same guys you are talking about in mavoko will be in Konza. The same people who are supposed to ensure that laws and bylaws are followed now in Nairobi will be the same guys at Konza. Unless of course even that you will import.

Nairobi's problem has never been planning. It has been governance. The very same people now telling you to go to Konza, are the very same governors and managers that have failed in Nairobi. These include Proffesors Ndemo and Kiamba.

The reason why I'm against this whole concept is this notion that new cities change how people work.

When London had a serious problem with drainage, they did not move the city somewhere else, they came up with the engineering marvel that is the sewage system in London.

When Paris had a trash problem, they did not create another city, they fixed the problem the best they could and are still doing the same.

When Kenya has a problem, the technocrats decide to create a whole new cities with the same managers who messed up the first city, In the hope that things will be different.

Think Big doesn't mean sweep problems under the carpet.

As long as there is no ICT component in Konza, it will be competing against Tatu. Now I want to wager which of the two will be a better city.

@Alma lets import the hybrids you talking about if they do exist!!

a4architect.com
#133 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:29:13 AM

@alma..vey true.
It boils down to feasibility.

Lamu port is feasible coz of Turkana,S.Sudan oil.

Isiolo town is feasible coz of oil prospects.

These can attract funding form other sources apart from treasury.

Konza project as a residential town is feasible and can attract funding from private sector.

Konza project as high rise city is not feasible, thereby requiring need to fund directly from treasury.
a4architect.com
#134 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:40:09 AM

Its not wrong if right methods are used to develop a commercial park.Sameer along Msa road has developed one. EPZA Kitengela have another.

2. We all complain that doing business in the city is unbearable the man hrs lost in traffic are just too much, one way of solving the issue is decongesting, now if govt proposes some zoned area on the opposite direction of the city, what is so wrong with that?

Its not wrong for Govt to zone Konza. All the Govt needs to to is to Zone Konza into a commercial city even without buying the land. Zoning controls ride over ownership i.e if an area is zoned educational commercial,all land owners have to comply.
Govt does not have to buy the land first to effect the zoning controls.

3. Well well...If we lack talent and 18 local and international universities want to set up talent incubators what is so wrong with the govt facilitating that? Again, do you believe the likes of seven seas craft silicon and cellulant would be attracting business across Africa without the talent?

The 18 universities can look for land at Konza that Govt has already zoned as educational,negotiate with the land owners and set up their universities without Govt buying the land for them then reselling.Islamic Uni, Daystar, Kampala uni have already done that in the Konza neighbourhood.

May be if we try to answer the above questions we will move on with a sober debate.

#135 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:42:53 AM

That is a great idea past its time. We have to. What we are having here is a debate on the quickest way there.

My view is that 300k spent on buying a plot would be better spent on educating or funding another iHub in Kisumu. Invest in the mind first, they will build their own houses.

2. one way of solving the issue is decongesting,

Those who've ever been to ADD know that Nairobi is one of the best planned cities in Africa. The issue is not the planning, the issue with nairobi has always been implementation.

Look at all the unplanned, unregulated buildings and roads in this city. It is the fault of those who are charged with the duty to ensure that bylaws, planning laws and others are followed.

Are they doing their work?

I say again, unless you solve the problem in Nairobi, it will be transported to Konza.

3. seven seas craft silicon and cellulant would be attracting business across Africa without the talent?

First the three you have mentioned were not started in Konza so just showing you don't need Konza to do IT.

Second, these 3 cannot fill up Times Tower, let alone 5000 acres.

Lastly, the idea of attracting BPO companies is strongly against an idea of developing ICT talent. Look at the ones in Kenya right now...They hire call centre workers and typists.

We have a gov't signalling that we wish to be cheap labour. That is very very dangerous. We wish to have a Kenyan with the next Facebook, not a town of call girls.

I'm strongly of the opinion that gov't funds would have been better used in growing strong IT talent.

Education, laws and financing to entreprenuers in this sector will go a long long way.

I want you to quote me on this in a few years.

After Konza is finished, the ict companies that are Kenyan owned will have their companies somewhere in Tatu city, Ngong Road, Juja Road rather than Konza. Please quote me anywhere and everywhere you wish.

I challenge the ICT Board again not to go to another seminar abroad spending public funds but to fund someone like Idd Salim or the Akira Chix. They will build Konza on their own.

As you mull all that, did you know that in Cambridge the IT companies there are mostly housed in wooden buildings?

You don't hear the Gov. of Massachusetts insisting that the state build modern high rises. The state instead invests in the fire department to make sure those wooden houses don't burn to the ground.

Once they make some money, the IT companies build their own houses not the Governor.

Solve the problem. That is thinking BIG.
jamplu
#136 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 8:52:46 AM

@Muchr My take on item 3. There is talent in Kenya I know this because I have been involved in nurturing this talent. I know the 3 companies you have mentioned and i know their abilities because I compete with them ...they know their stuff as well. The problem with some people is they will only believe there is capacity when they see another SAP or a microsoft dynamic like product from kenya we don't need that if you look and the trend the small start-ups are taking is that of solving the problems kenyans face if someone thinks there are no solutions go to iHubs rolodex and see the list and i picked one company http://www.icontrace.com/ a farmer doesn't need adobe as someone was suggesting we buy adobe they need such a solution as offered by that small company there.
#137 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 9:04:06 AM

@jamplu I believed my father was a large scale maize farmer with his 100 acres until I saw a small scale farmer in the US with 10,000 acres. I said small scale.

Same case with ICT. We have to scale up to be considered an IT hub. Not 300 people at iHub. They can't fill a floor at facebook hq.

You can't scale up with buildings, they have finite space. You can scale up with the mind, it is infinite. Lets invest in the minds of Kenyans. All of them not those blessed enough to pay a monthly fee at iHub.

Let's get serious here.
a4architect.com
#138 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 9:47:59 AM

@alma..true.The mind is infinite.
The reason why Nairobi lowers cost of production for ICT sector is coz the venture capitalist living in Runda can meet with the start up developer who lives in a 10x10 at Kangemi.

Likewise, a Nairobi venture capitalist will also be able to meet a Nakuru or Mombasa based start up developer well in Nairobi.

Accommodation in Nairobi varies greatly from the Ngara 300 per nights to Serena 30,000 per night.

Nairobi serves all classes of people. You can have lunch at the lowest price next to Serena hotel.

This accelerates growth in ICT start ups whereby the Kangemi developer will be productive enough to generate wealth which will propell him to live in Runda.

Nairobi as a city and Hub will eventually extend till Konza over time as railway systems and other efficient transport methods link the two.

Konza as a city will take time before it can cater for the needs of diverse economic classes as Nairobi does.

Since rents will all be high, productivity will be high too hence ICT investors will prefer wherever they can produce at lower costs.

ICT sector is also peculiar in that work can be done in the cloud, without necessarily having to meet face to face, thereby allowing programmers to work in remote locations which they deem affordable.

A good example of this is the Malaysian Putrajaya city which has still not been able to lower production costs for business people even after 10 years of existence.
jamplu
#139 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 9:53:53 AM

@jamplu I believed my father was a large scale maize farmer with his 100 acres until I saw a small scale farmer in the US with 10,000 acres. I said small scale.

Same case with ICT. We have to scale up to be considered an IT hub. Not 300 people at iHub. They can't fill a floor at facebook hq.

You can't scale up with buildings, they have finite space. You can scale up with the mind, it is infinite. Lets invest in the minds of Kenyans. All of them not those blessed enough to pay a monthly fee at iHub.

Let's get serious here.

@alma there is saying where i come from that you don't climb a tree from the top you start from the bottom. ihub and the rest of the incubation centers is our starting point. what if each of the 300 leaving ihub each started a start-up and assume 150 of them failed we have 150 start-ups what if each employed 10 that == a growing ICT sector and your Konza city will be filled up in 10 years
Lets look at your facebook example how many people started it or even Apple and the rest with large campuses these started in dorm rooms and garages.

Most of the IT companies are no longer waiting for graduates with 100% capacity they have stepped up by training new entrant so stop thinking nothing is happening in terms of building capacity.
eco
#140 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2012 10:14:24 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
@alma..true.The mind is infinite.
The reason why Nairobi lowers cost of production for ICT sector is coz the venture capitalist living in Runda can meet with the start up developer who lives in a 10x10 at Kangemi.

Likewise, a Nairobi venture capitalist will also be able to meet a Nakuru or Mombasa based start up developer well in Nairobi.

Accommodation in Nairobi varies greatly from the Ngara 300 per nights to Serena 30,000 per night.

Nairobi serves all classes of people. You can have lunch at the lowest price next to Serena hotel.

This accelerates growth in ICT start ups whereby the Kangemi developer will be productive enough to generate wealth which will propell him to live in Runda.

Nairobi as a city and Hub will eventually extend till Konza over time as railway systems and other efficient transport methods link the two.

Konza as a city will take time before it can cater for the needs of diverse economic classes as Nairobi does.

Since rents will all be high, productivity will be high too hence ICT investors will prefer wherever they can produce at lower costs.

ICT sector is also peculiar in that work can be done in the cloud, without necessarily having to meet face to face, thereby allowing programmers to work in remote locations which they deem affordable.

A good example of this is the Malaysian Putrajaya city which has still not been able to lower production costs for business people even after 10 years of existence.

@a4architect I can't agree more. If GoK ever gets Konza built up, and they can, it will just be a piece of real estate, not necessarily an ICT Hub. Many of the ICT startups in Kenya may not even afford the rents or mortgages for the office space and residential accommodations in the 'new city'. The Sameer Park vacancy rate up to now should serves as a lesson, unless they are looking for foreign players like Google. Instead of committing billions to buy land in Konza, GoK would rather have invested in an ICT oriented University Campus or College and develop talent and skills in Kenya that are already evident in the Apps and Solutions being developed daily in the country. ICT Hub is in the mind, not in a sky scrapper. The former precedes the latter.