wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

89 Pages«<6364656667>»
Is Taking a Mortgage the WORST Decision Ever??
Spikes
#641 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 8:13:59 AM

Simple algebra. Since P is known and Y is also given find X.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#642 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 8:41:12 AM

Spikes wrote:
Simple algebra. Since P is known and Y is also given find X.

Then X = Y-P

Spikes
#643 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 8:48:29 AM

Ha ha ha..... nope. You make me feel like laugh!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#644 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 8:57:43 AM

enyands wrote:
@tpk kindlt what bank did you use . I want to go talk to them

Kuscco Housing Fund

#645 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 9:07:21 AM

TPK paid an amount P= x(loan repayment)+y(lumpsum, at least 100k)

The guy needs to tell us what x is per month to settle this debate

No, he also need to tell us whether he works for the UN or Sells dope!

TPK
#646 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 9:08:46 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
TPK wrote:
I took a Kshs 7 Million 15 year plot purchase and construction loan from Kuscco Housing Fund in Jan 2010 at a fixed interest rate of 14% and constructed a 4 br maisonette+SQ within 12 kms of CBD. I was not going to sit and wait for the loan to run the full tenor as I was scared of the interest payments, so I had to make lumpsum prepayments of whatever amounts even 100k.

I just cleared it last month and in total, I have paid slightly over 10 m over the 6 year period. The current selling price of the house is about 14 M. Who says a mortage does not make sense? Just ensure you look for the right financier who will not hike rates any howly and ensure you prepay as much as you can.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

So, Interest rate is 14% p.a. Principal is KShs. 7,000,000.00 and repayment period is 15 years (or 180 months).

From simple calculation, you are supposed to pay KShs. 93,221.90 every month for 15 years.

When you pay "LUMP SUMS" of KShs. 100,000.00 monthly, you are actually doing nothing.

Very sad @dunkang. This guy is lying to us in broad daylight. For a 7,000,000 loan at a fixed rate of 14%, even if he was paying 100,000 from month one without fail, it would take 12 years to complete the loan. And he is talking about 6 years?? Half the time???

@TPK - If you are trying to prove a fact, don't use lies. Use facts and actual figures. Throwing around figures and the underestimating the payment period by half is not even remotely forgivable. Ile kitu wazuans wanajua sana ni hesabu!!! Kwanza hesabu za pesa!!!

He said even 100k. Meaning those were the least "lumpsums" he paid. Meaning most other times it was more. It's possible what he did, you just need a good income and financial discipline

Thank you sir. This is exactly what I meant - to emphasize that even a small prepayment can have a significant impact on total interest paid. Of course I had to pay more than 100k to cut down the repayment period by 9 years. The lumpsum prepayments over the six year period were about KES 3.5 m.
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
#647 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 9:15:06 AM

Kwani how much do wazuans make? I thought wazuans make 500K+ per month!
TPK
#648 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 9:17:08 AM

I am employed on a 8-5 pm job in the bean counting profession. However I started a side hustle (consultancy) at the same time of accessing the mortgage. The business took 3 years to stabilise and I can now say it one of the sources that really helped to generate the cash flows to support the lumpsum payments. We had to make adjustments as a family in that missus had to resign her full time secure (but not so well paying) job to run the side hustle and manage it on a day to day basis. Others are like foregoing a holiday in Dec and using year end bonus to prepay. The message is that you dont need to be an MP or pull a heist to get funds to prepay. When you are getting into a mortgage you must have a plan on how you will accelerate payments.

As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
enyands
#649 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 11:09:27 AM

Applause
TPK wrote:

I am employed on a 8-5 pm job in the bean counting profession. However I started a side hustle (consultancy) at the same time of accessing the mortgage. The business took 3 years to stabilise and I can now say it one of the sources that really helped to generate the cash flows to support the lumpsum payments. We had to make adjustments as a family in that missus had to resign her full time secure (but not so well paying) job to run the side hustle and manage it on a day to day basis. Others are like foregoing a holiday in Dec and using year end bonus to prepay. The message is that you dont need to be an MP or pull a heist to get funds to prepay. When you are getting into a mortgage you must have a plan on how you will accelerate payments.

Applause now this makes sense. Though you didn't day wussy bank you used
#650 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2015 11:11:20 AM

enyands wrote:
Applause
TPK wrote:

Applause now this makes sense. Though you didn't day wussy bank you used

Wussy!!d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
89 Pages«<6364656667>»