wazua Sun, Nov 16, 2025

7 Pages«<4567>
SCOM at Kshs. 4
#101 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:41:01 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
@ Much Know. What's your source? These figures look like they are the figures for registered SIM cards?

A little knowledge is a dangerous thing...

Remember, Much know's logic states

Essar=YU=Vodaphone=kenya petroleum refinery...

LOL
#102 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:43:05 PM

@mlefu - I love it... I used cybercafes to call USA... Now I use my simu when I want, where I want...

Pole... lakini cybercafes offering international calls are screwed!
#103 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:50:59 PM

as for those using sim card numbers to equate them to users, i have a number for all networks but the last time i remember using my zain line is before 'massaa ya kubamba' came into existance.
#104 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:53:03 PM

where will all the money used to make calls go to..the last time i loaded credit is like a week ago...before that it used to be hourly.. how does that affect the economy?
#105 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:57:02 PM

mlefu wrote:
where will all the money used to make calls go to..the last time i loaded credit is like a week ago...before that it used to be hourly.. how does that affect the economy?

BUY EABL shares!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#106 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 2:03:47 PM

because the calling rates are lower people will tend to call more minutes. as expllained earlier, this is called elasticity in demande where by when the price goes down more people tend to by the product which in some cases leads to more sales.
in saf's case iits not certain but we cannot rule that option out.
#107 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:06:12 PM

Sober wrote:
because the calling rates are lower people will tend to call more minutes. as expllained earlier, this is called elasticity in demande where by when the price goes down more people tend to by the product which in some cases leads to more sales.
in saf's case iits not certain but we cannot rule that option out.

I think we can safely rule that out with scratch card dealers complaining about 60% drop in sales volumes...
#108 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:19:03 PM

@Sober,
Fish cake!!......We all know that the younger the monkey the longer the tail.Now you want to apply it here??
#109 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:31:53 PM

The figures i gave are factual, September 15th Safcom controls 82% of the market with 13.8mill, Zain with Paltry 1.9mill. August 31st figures were discussed extensively (sorry for those with poor memories, obviously had problems learning at school) Safcom was 13.4mill, Zain 1.39mill, Yu 445K, Orange 250K. There were soo many comments on the figures(for example orange) you have to wonder how so very dense someone is to forget such simple figures, pole kwako.

Anyhow found some links, the BD article actually has the table i saw.

September 15
http://www.businessdaily...6/-/1ghvhg/-/index.html

August 31
http://www.itnewsafrica.com/?p=8798

I dougt the figure will change much, most people must have registered.
#110 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:37:41 PM

The figure i gave are factual, September 15th Safcom controls 82% of the market with 13.8, Zain with Paltry 1.9. August 31st figures were discussed extensively (sorry for those with poor memories, obviously had problems learning at school) Safcom was 13.4, Zain 1.39, Yu 445K, Orange 250K. There were soo many comments on the figures(for example orange) you have to wonder how so very dense someone is to forget such simple figures, pole kwako.

Anyhow found some links, the BD article actually has the table i saw.

September 15
http://www.businessdaily...6/-/1ghvhg/-/index.html

August 31
http://www.itnewsafrica.com/?p=8798

I dougt the figure will change much, most people must have registered.

Einstien, these numbers you have quoted here of Orange 250k etc were for 25th August, a week before closing.

LOL
#111 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 4:11:04 PM

I think we can safely rule that out with scratch card dealers complaining about 60% drop in sales volumes...

@KulaHeppy,

Where are you guys getting this 60% figure from? This is the second time I'm seeing it quoted.

alikujia
#112 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 4:52:15 PM

mlefu wrote:
Airtel has really really #$%^& me big time, CCK and my lawyer said i had no grounds to sue them..still i wish someone wld do it....
VOIP business is now dead and buried..wtf, my cost to india was 2bob, i used to charge 8 bob, airtel cost to india is 1bob..the idiots are charging 3 bob...worse than Nyamu ya ruguru!!!!

Pole sana. very revealing, how this isnt just a battle of the corporates
#113 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 5:09:22 PM

@2012, wacha propaganda machinery this is porojo machinery. Revenue from the highend is down (including the 200k or so post paid) but middle end and low end is up. You will be amazed on the data of the 100/- card, data will be public soon. Its onething to load a 20/- card and make 2minutes of calling and another to load 100/- and make a week of meaningful calls at 2/-.
#114 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 5:52:35 PM

@2012, wacha propaganda machinery this is porojo machinery.

My friend I was just asking whether this 60% drop is real or imagined because I discovered there are some wazuans with very creative imaginations.

Anyway let's debate this further; Zain reduces their call rates to 3/- to all networks, Scom reduces to 2/- within scom and 3/- to other networks. Question is, why would I migrate from scom and most of the calls I make are to scom?

Secondly, we all know that Zain/Airtel's current strategy is not sustainable, so what happens after they gets or fails to achieve their targeted market share?

#115 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 6:03:21 PM

@2012, wacha propaganda machinery this is porojo machinery.

My friend I was just asking whether this 60% drop is real or imagined because I discovered there are some wazuans with very creative imaginations.

Anyway let's debate this further; Zain reduces their call rates to 3/- to all networks, Scom reduces to 2/- within scom and 3/- to other networks. Question is, why would I migrate from scom and most of the calls I make are to scom?

Secondly, we all know that Zain/Airtel's current strategy is not sustainable, so what happens after they gets or fails to achieve their targeted market share?

This perceived drop of 60% of sales is numbers coming out of the scratch card dealer fraternity...ask around...

Dont migrate from Safcon to anywhere. But rem, where you paid 8 bob you now pay 2 bob. Unless you're talking 4 times as much as you used to, revenues will never be the same again. Ever.

Price war is unsustainable? That one, I think we will discuss a year from now...when interconnectivity goes to 1 bob range, as requested by Zain, Yu and Orange. You may be right, 3 bob may be too high!
#116 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 6:14:21 PM

And some still say KK is the most discussed stock!
mwanahisa
#117 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 6:17:15 PM

Bring it on. By the way does anyone have figures on charges in other jurisdictions especially those with basement level tariffs - perhaps India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and China? It seems we are heading there.

Interestingly, I looked at charges for data plans charged by MTN in South Africa and they are a lot more expensive than our current offers!
#118 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 7:38:52 PM

mlefu wrote:
Airtel has really really #$%^& me big time, CCK and my lawyer said i had no grounds to sue them..still i wish someone wld do it....
VOIP business is now dead and buried..wtf, my cost to india was 2bob, i used to charge 8 bob, airtel cost to india is 1bob..the idiots are charging 3 bob...worse than Nyamu ya ruguru!!!!

Pole Bwana Mlefu. Pray Pray . It is just that bad things happen to good people. Trusting you are good now.
#119 Posted : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 11:54:27 PM

Now i can call landlines from my safcom cell, heck i can even call zain and yu dudes
#120 Posted : Thursday, September 30, 2010 1:36:17 AM

Bottomline: THANK YOU AIRTEL... for 'persuading' safaricom to see the light!