yekeyeke wrote:
1) My view is that Nakumatt is expensive for nothing.
2) On the entire thika road, there is no nakumatt, so they are not everywhere. What sort of company builds a store in the middle of a major road? Where are their morals and ethics?
Bure Kabisa.
3)Mimi najivunia kuwa mkenya and i dont like a shop whose agenda and purpose is to support manufactures in SA, UK, name it. Why not stock majority of products made in kenya?
4) Why import honey when you can get local honey? Why cant they do like Equity and EABL and encourage local production, create local jobs and improve the local economy?
5) And do they pay taxes?
6) Are these the type of people you would like to associate with? Where is your concience?
Let's tackle each item here:
1) Yes, they tend to be more expensive but for me far more convenient coz I like to park my car in a safe spot when I go shopping. That's why there is market segmentation. I do shop elsewhere too just that over time I notice most receipts I have are from Nakumatt.
2) Nakumatt (from what I understand) leases space rather than build/buy real estate. This was reported on widely when the Thika Rd branch was demolished + when orengo was shooting his mouth off about westgate. The fool shut up when Westgate owners told him to put up or shut up. What I would like to know is WHO owned the Thika Rd property... (BTW, you do know Uchumi was entangled in some funny real estate deals...)
3) I struggle with the same issue when it dawned on me that KENYANS like 'imported' products! I prefer local (Buy Kenyan, Build Kenya) lakini it is a free country. Nakumatt has tapped into the 'aspirational' Kenyan who wants IMPORTED stuff. Silly? Yes. Mta do?
4) Erm, this one does NOT make sense. Compare EABL to Keroche or Sierra not to a supermarket. Completely different sectors. BTW, EABL does import lots of 'foreign' whiskeys, rums, etc...
As for Equity, please compare to other banks. BTW, Equity is a huge lender to businessfolk who are 'importers' from Dubai & China. This I know for a fact. Many of those mamas with huge bags on KQ/Emirates flights from Dubai are Equity customers.
Why does Equity charge 30% on their loans? They charge 3% to discount a chq. Annualized 50%. Usury, no? Shudn't you be on their case?
5) Ask Michael Waweru. The only people who accused Nakumatt of not paying taxes were MPs. How's that for irony? Many firms use tax credits (BTW, Uchumi is one of them) to reduce or eliminate tax payable. Legal.
6) Well, Nakumatt fulfills a need for me. I recall that unlike many others, they REFUSED to sell pangas in bulk in 2007-8. I know merali & kirubi are crooked so I avoid their products when I can. [Except for listed firms, I dont support moi, ndegwa or kenyatta firms either coz all started from grand theft]
Bottomline: I have no animosity towards Nakumatt coz they are no worse than most large Kenyan businesses. Unlike Uchumi or other parastatals, they don't use GoK (taxpayer) funds. I prefer KenolKobil [yes, I know the biwott connection but I am a member] to NOCK.
I sold off my Uchumi shares when I realized it was an extension of chris kirubi's business NOT run with me (as customer or shareholder) in mind.