wazua Sat, May 2, 2026

7 Pages«<4567>
Noise Ban
B.Timer
#51 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 2:41:00 PM

@Jangwa

May I support you on this unreservedly!

There should be only one criteria to determine what passes muster and what doesnt. So far we understand the yardstick is - any sound heard beyond 30m.

Double standards could compell one to challenge the law as discriminatory.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Nijjo
#52 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:28:00 PM

Kusema ukweli this ban imetokea wapi? I mean arent we accustomed to the noise the mwadhini makes in the cox.. mat na hewa,pia personal vehicles na noise?? Tafadhali Tafuteni njaro ingine ya kumanga doh.. this is 2 obvious!!!!

Taking it slow is a wise cautious move.
#53 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 4:57:00 PM

...what will happen to those blacksmiths who do their work in the open to feed their families.
#54 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:22:00 PM

The better approach would have been to create noise free zones. Certain functions eg industries,airports must emit noise otherwise how else will they function. Residential areas,schools and hospitals can be declared as noise free zones. Certain parts of the cbd like parliament should also be noise free

#55 Posted : Monday, November 23, 2009 6:30:00 PM

Can a woman who is defending herself from being raped be arrested for shouting RAPE at the top of her voice?

Or shouting MWIZI when a thief (probably in cahoots with CCN askari) tries to grab your purse/wallet?

Or calling a politician PUMBAVU...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#56 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 4:06:00 AM

@All....I urge you yet again to get a copy of the regulations and read them. All the issues causing concern here are well taken care of in the regulations.

For example,@VVS,section 7 talks about Exemptions,and says:

'These Regulations shall not apply to
(a) the emission of noise for the purpose of alerting persons to the existence of an
emergency;
(b) the emission of noise in the performance of emergency response;
(c) the emission of noise in connection with the protection of the health and safety of
residents or their property during emergency conditions;
(d) warning devices necessary for the protection of public safety,such as police,fire and ambulance sirens,and train horns; or
(e) Parades and national celebrations.

Please get your free copy here and read it:
http://www.nema.go.ke/in...p;gid=149&Itemid=35

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
Kamaa
#57 Posted : Tuesday, November 24, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@ magigi

yesterday i happened to pass through gikomba market and i didn't believe it...

it was not like it..!

no more 'koroga koroga mali yote ni ya kumi...'

i mean there has to be exceptions lest they become hooligans...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#58 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 9:51:00 AM

Now Matatus want to go on strike because they have been asked to lower the volumes of their music systems!
#59 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 10:17:35 AM

I really do not understand what this fuss is all about.

This is Kenya. Let us just comply with the law, it is already a law, for a couple of years and then go back to making "Noise".

Hon Michuki is not going to last in this Environment back water Ministry for ever. He will soon be posted to Energy and have his energies fully utilized enforcing all motor vehicles be switched off while refuelling at Petrol Stations.

So folks. Relax. Do not blow a vein.

My penny thougts.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 1:01:33 PM

Finally a hubby-frindly law- hata ukiingia nyumbani in those odd hours when it is not clear whether the night is ending or when the day is beginning, bibi asikupigie kelele na sauti >30 db.

Very nice, this NEMA law.
7 Pages«<4567>