Culture
The 5 birrion
Bigchick wrote:murchr wrote:[quote=Kisero]I have just gone through a copy of the audit report on the Ministry of Health by Mr Bernard Muchere of the Internal Audit Directorate of the Ministry of Finance, currently posted at Afya House.
The auditor liberally uses phrases such as “red flags”, “possible fraud schemes”, and “possible double payments”.
My honest view is that for an audit as important as this, and considering the political furore it has generated, it falls short of the very high audit thresholds expected, especially when you are alleging the theft of billions of shillings from public coffers.
I expected to see clear statements of findings backed by documentary evidence. For example, when you allege double payment to a supplier, you must show payment vouchers, goods-received notes, or wire transfer instructions to show that the supplier was indeed paid twice.
Still, the auditor has given juicy insights into the shenanigans that go on during end-of-the-year procurements when funds have to be shuffled between votes and the Integrated Financial Management Information System (Ifmis) manipulated to pay well-connected suppliers.
What you see is a mad rugby-style scram to empty the vaults before the end of the financial year. Most revealing in this regard is a payment of Sh200 million that was made to Estama Investments Ltd on the last day of the financial year — June 30, 2016. The LPO was raised on the same day. How can you start and complete such a process in a single day? Incredible.
These are the exploits of a tiny elite in the government that has mastered the game of manipulating Ifmis in order to smash and grab the public purse. In Ifmis jargon, the term used is “procure to pay”, which describes a process that starts from the requisition by user departments and takes you through several stages, each requiring specific passwords — from raising an LPO, raising the so-called goods-received note, matching these documents with supplier invoices, flagging for payment, approving payment, and finally effecting the payment.
The fact that Ministry of Health officials were able to procure to pay in one day shows that what we are dealing with is a clique of individuals who collectively possess multiple passwords to enable them to initiate and complete transactions in Ifmis. Or was it a case where one superuser with a high-level password was allowed to override the whole system? http://mobile.nation.co....7814-2w03w8z/index.html[/quote] @Muchr be my Baba. Read it for me and give summary. Had money been stolen or not? Treat mine as pure udaku. But I have checked IFMIS and sundale ltd has so far been paid 270mn by KEMSA. We need to protect uthamaki during these difficult times and raira will nefa be president.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
@FRM2011 Paid for goods delivered or not?What does your udaku say? For me the bad thing about Sundale is to align themselves with the disadvantaged groups and maybe being related to Muthamaki.(Its Morally wrong). On the other hand I would also wish to point out that maybe few women disadvantaged or otherwise would have been able to service the orders given the capital outlay required. Theft will be if no goods were delivered. About payments on same day when order is done,let me say from my little interaction with government suppliers,there is usually a mad rush on the last day of the financial year before unused funds are returned.Nothing new there.Even small orders of toners worth 120k will be treated the same way.Poor working system of the government department plus ukora hapa na pale. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
I think we are mixing issues - Sundale is owned by a woman... she qualifies as a person disadvantaged.. Her... Maggie.. My Mum... Shebesh... Mama Mboga. the assumption in law is that if you a youth (under 35) or a woman (any age) or a person with disability <--- you qualify.Why are you expecting her not to exploit that? Why? because she is 'good'? or 'nice'? it's a loophole. Jomo wa Maggie is a YOUTH!! Fix your laws... the worst thing you can be is a 50 year old Kikuyu man in Kenya... regardless of the fact that umejaa funza kwa miguu you are not disadvantaged. Pesa ya Muthamaki sio zako just because you chucked from the same womb... uliza kaka za kibaki Halafu you will hear people saying... Oh! hakusaidia Brother yake... Oh! I think we should focus our outrage on akina Estama. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Bigchick wrote:@FRM2011 Paid for goods delivered or not?What does your udaku say?
For me the bad thing about Sundale is to align themselves with the disadvantaged groups and maybe being related to Muthamaki.(Its Morally wrong).
On the other hand I would also wish to point out that maybe few women disadvantaged or otherwise would have been able to service the orders given the capital outlay required.
Theft will be if no goods were delivered.
About payments on same day when order is done,let me say from my little interaction with government suppliers,there is usually a mad rush on the last day of the financial year before unused funds are returned.Nothing new there.Even small orders of toners worth 120k will be treated the same way.Poor working system of the government department plus ukora hapa na pale. You have hit the nail on the head Bigchick I remembered a quote a read somewhere "the biggest trick that the devil has played is convincing people he does not exist".I was recently asked to tender for one of these things then I saw the requirements. Of course the Women, Youth and Disabled registered at the Ministry of something was the top one. Now reading the technical part was an eye opener. There was no way they were going to get anyone to do the job they wanted. Absolutely no way. I was told not to worry about little details. Then it occured to me. The trick is simple Invite proposals from the so called "disadvantaged" groups. There must be a quota or something. The guy creating the tender knows very well that few if anyone would qualify for such a tender. Go create a company or buy one of those shelf companies you can get from brokers. Get a few fellows to sign off as your employees or consultants Send your proposal and yours will be one of the few if any that can even get the technical requirements. And walla a company named Everlasting Spirits of Joy wins the tender. The corruption does not start at the buying or selling of services, it starts from the fellows creating the tender documents. Just look at the names of the people who got the tenders in the documents on this thread and tell me how any of them qualifies to be disadvantaged. Corruption is a cartel. It starts from the meeting about needing service X, to the creation of the tender documents, to the delivery of mobile clinics that have been immobile for 1 year and have no hope of ever being mobile. Ask Kabura. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
murchr wrote:[quote=Kisero]I have just gone through a copy of the audit report on the Ministry of Health by Mr Bernard Muchere of the Internal Audit Directorate of the Ministry of Finance, currently posted at Afya House.
The auditor liberally uses phrases such as “red flags”, “possible fraud schemes”, and “possible double payments”.
My honest view is that for an audit as important as this, and considering the political furore it has generated, it falls short of the very high audit thresholds expected, especially when you are alleging the theft of billions of shillings from public coffers.
I expected to see clear statements of findings backed by documentary evidence. For example, when you allege double payment to a supplier, you must show payment vouchers, goods-received notes, or wire transfer instructions to show that the supplier was indeed paid twice.
Still, the auditor has given juicy insights into the shenanigans that go on during end-of-the-year procurements when funds have to be shuffled between votes and the Integrated Financial Management Information System (Ifmis) manipulated to pay well-connected suppliers.
What you see is a mad rugby-style scram to empty the vaults before the end of the financial year. Most revealing in this regard is a payment of Sh200 million that was made to Estama Investments Ltd on the last day of the financial year — June 30, 2016. The LPO was raised on the same day. How can you start and complete such a process in a single day? Incredible.
These are the exploits of a tiny elite in the government that has mastered the game of manipulating Ifmis in order to smash and grab the public purse. In Ifmis jargon, the term used is “procure to pay”, which describes a process that starts from the requisition by user departments and takes you through several stages, each requiring specific passwords — from raising an LPO, raising the so-called goods-received note, matching these documents with supplier invoices, flagging for payment, approving payment, and finally effecting the payment.
The fact that Ministry of Health officials were able to procure to pay in one day shows that what we are dealing with is a clique of individuals who collectively possess multiple passwords to enable them to initiate and complete transactions in Ifmis. Or was it a case where one superuser with a high-level password was allowed to override the whole system? http://mobile.nation.co....7814-2w03w8z/index.html[/quote] This Kisero guy must be one of the 36 bloggers The reason why the auditor said "possible fraud schemes" and "double payment"is because 1.The Ministry of health paid for food rations which were received by KEMSA yet similar food rations were also paid by KEMSA through the global funds-All these were revceived and stored by KEMSA including the ones paid for by the ministry(if any). 2. MOney meant for free maternity which was supposed to be transferred to counties and other government institutions as grants were diverted to other uses. ;How the hell does he go ahead to blame this on a tiny elite of government people?Yaani we blame unknown group of people for somebody's mistakes and negligence? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/8/2013 Posts: 4,068 Location: At Large.
masukuma wrote:I think we are mixing issues - Sundale is owned by a woman... she qualifies as a person disadvantaged.. Her... Maggie.. My Mum... Shebesh... Mama Mboga. the assumption in law is that if you a youth (under 35) or a woman (any age) or a person with disability <--- you qualify.Why are you expecting her not to exploit that? Why? because she is 'good'? or 'nice'? it's a loophole. Jomo wa Maggie is a YOUTH!! Fix your laws... the worst thing you can be is a 50 year old Kikuyu man in Kenya... regardless of the fact that umejaa funza kwa miguu you are not disadvantaged. Pesa ya Muthamaki sio zako just because you chucked from the same womb... uliza kaka za kibaki Halafu you will hear people saying... Oh! hakusaidia Brother yake... Oh! I think we should focus our outrage on akina Estama. meanwhile Estama has been linked to James Mwangi of Ekwete.That Makanga Ngari is a Manager at 4 ways Towers branch of the bank. When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders. Love is beautiful and so are those who share it.With Love, Marriage is an amazing event in ones life time, the foundation of joy, happiness and success.
Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Bigchick wrote:When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Looking at scandles and business deals that goes on in Kenya, I am always perplexed at this. Including that latest land scandal huko USIU. When can one say enough is enough let me relax and enjoy my wealth In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Angelica _ann wrote:Bigchick wrote:When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Looking at scandles and business deals that goes on in Kenya, I am always perplexed at this. Including that latest land scandal huko USIU. When can one say enough is enough let me relax and enjoy my wealth Your househelp is probably wondering why you can't stop working and enjoy your wealth! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Bigchick wrote:When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Looking at scandles and business deals that goes on in Kenya, I am always perplexed at this. Including that latest land scandal huko USIU. When can one say enough is enough let me relax and enjoy my wealth Your househelp is probably wondering why you can't stop working and enjoy your wealth! Not really...I think we are all different...What we are seeing is insatiable greed,you cant even explain it with words. Gluttonous behaviour. possunt quia posse videntur
When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Your question reminded me of a book I read somewhere - it had a test/activity that went something like this Quote:Let’s play a game.
Pick a number. This number is an amount of money you want to spend in the next 12 months. It should be a number that at least satisfies all your wants and needs for the next year but isn’t greedy.
Imagine that any number you write, as if by magic, will be yours to do with as you wish without further conditions. You can write any amount you want as long as you aren’t greedy.
Choose the amount you want and write it down:
$ ___________________
Take sometime to do this then read this https://s16.postimg.org/8lw3f8xqt/page1.png
and https://s12.postimg.org/jndxdgebx/page2.png
It's not a state of MONEY it's a state of MIND!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
maka wrote:Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Bigchick wrote:When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Looking at scandles and business deals that goes on in Kenya, I am always perplexed at this. Including that latest land scandal huko USIU. When can one say enough is enough let me relax and enjoy my wealth Your househelp is probably wondering why you can't stop working and enjoy your wealth! Not really...I think we are all different...What we are seeing is insatiable greed,you cant even explain it with words. Gluttonous behaviour. they are just channeling their greed for success and wealth (which isnot bad)the wrong way by stealing without stop
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:maka wrote:Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Bigchick wrote:When is money ever enough?With over 10M in monthly salo Jimmy still needs tenders.
Looking at scandles and business deals that goes on in Kenya, I am always perplexed at this. Including that latest land scandal huko USIU. When can one say enough is enough let me relax and enjoy my wealth Your househelp is probably wondering why you can't stop working and enjoy your wealth! Not really...I think we are all different...What we are seeing is insatiable greed,you cant even explain it with words. Gluttonous behaviour. they are just channeling their greed for success and wealth (which isnot bad)the wrong way by stealing without stop Thats ok let them steal.. possunt quia posse videntur
masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! Blue is what makes any woman qualify for such tenders without proving a thing. as @masukuma says let us look at the laws and not prejudice individuals/people unnecessarily!!!!!! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! Blue is what makes any woman qualify for such tenders without proving a thing. as @masukuma says let us look at the laws and not prejudice individuals/people unnecessarily!!!!!! if we treated women better as a society we wouldn't need to have such laws. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! Blue is what makes any woman qualify for such tenders without proving a thing. as @masukuma says let us look at the laws and not prejudice individuals/people unnecessarily!!!!!! In law, the whole clause, section, Act can never be read independently.It has to read dependently.....tuache jokes priss...Hii mambo ya subjective interpretation and application of law to suit our interests should stop. Otherwise,Mark zuckerberg can come and register a company in partnership with a local contractor below 35 years and claim they are disadvantaged youth. Quote:"youth" means persons who have attained the age of eighteen years but have not attained the age of thirty-five years. Quote:Notwithstanding the foregoing, a foreign contractor may apply benefit from the preference and reservation scheme where it enters into a joint venture or subcontracting arrangements, as evidenced by written agreement, with a local contractor, where the local contractor has a majority share. Infact under AGPO, anyone can apply as long as they are citizens or local contractors Quote:These Regulations shall apply to procurements by public entities when soliciting tenders from the following target groups- (a) small enterprises; (b) micro enterprises; (c) disadvantaged groups; (d) citizen contractors; (e) local contractors; or (f) citizen contractors in joint-venture or sub¬contracting arrangements with foreign suppliers. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Swenani wrote:masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Disadvantaged group as per the act Quote:"disadvantaged group" means persons perceived to be denied, by mainstream society access to resources and tools which are useful for their survival in a way that disadvantages them, or individuals who have been subjected to prejudice or cultural bias because of their identities as members of groups without regard to their individual qualities, and includes enterprises owned by women, the youth and persons with disabilities; Now, between our Guka(Man) and Waiguru(woman) who is disadvantaged as per the above defination? the guka is toast! Blue is what makes any woman qualify for such tenders without proving a thing. as @masukuma says let us look at the laws and not prejudice individuals/people unnecessarily!!!!!! In law, the whole clause, section, Act can never be read independently.It has to read dependently.....tuache jokes priss...Hii mambo ya subjective interpretation and application of law to suit our interests should stop. Otherwise,Mark zuckerberg can come and register a company in partnership with a local contractor below 35 years and claim they are disadvantaged youth. Quote:"youth" means persons who have attained the age of eighteen years but have not attained the age of thirty-five years. Quote:Notwithstanding the foregoing, a foreign contractor may apply benefit from the preference and reservation scheme where it enters into a joint venture or subcontracting arrangements, as evidenced by written agreement, with a local contractor, where the local contractor has a majority share. Infact under AGPO, anyone can apply as long as they are citizens or local contractors Quote:These Regulations shall apply to procurements by public entities when soliciting tenders from the following target groups- (a) small enterprises; (b) micro enterprises; (c) disadvantaged groups; (d) citizen contractors; (e) local contractors; or (f) citizen contractors in joint-venture or sub¬contracting arrangements with foreign suppliers. sasa.. nani anatakikana kuInteprete PPOA act? the entrepreneur? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Culture
The 5 birrion