Kenyan Manufacturing
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Alba wrote:masukuma wrote: and lack of excuses and obsession with politics!! I asked once... why hasn't the most 'educated', 'richest' ethnic group in kenya ever had a president or even ministerial position? they are also really poorly represented in gava (supposedly the place that makes 'tribes' richer than others)? tuwache excuses and tufanye kitu... wewe fanya kitu moja wachia siasa wanasiasa!
I have to point out how bogus this paragraph is. The fact that muhindi is succeeding does not preclude others from saying we can do better. Something as simple as alleviating traffic by building better roads can enhance industrialization by making it cheaper to move raw materials and goods around. Are you suggesting that Kenyans cannot demand that gava spend money on better roads? Secondly its not just muhindi who succeeds. There are numerous non-muhindis who have formed succesful industries. What about Tabitha Karanja among others? If we leave siasa alone as you suggest then people should not even bother voting. Why vote when you do not understand the issues? Also the real reason Kenyan muhindi does not openly engage in siasa is because they are too few and in the past there was significant backlash against them in the past. See what Iddi Amin did to muhindi in Uganda. See what Kenyatta did not Pio gama pinto. That was the event that chilled muhindi in Kenya and Uganda. There was an article in the papers a few years ago explaining why Kenyan muhindi does not engage in overt politics. When muhindis feel safe, they have no problem politicking. In Guyana, 4 out of 9 presidents have been Indian. In Mauritius about 5 out of 11 presidents have been wahindi. In America today, 2 out of 50 governors are wahindi. Nikki Haley is a strong candidate to become VP in 2016 and possibly run for president in 2020. She can win even now. Clearly Indians are also obsessed with politics and politicking which has not stopped them from being successful industrialists. These guys succeed in business wherever they are be it America, the UK or Guyana . So the notion that they succeed because they do not engage in siasa is just more bogus nonsense from you. Seriously sometimes I wonder whats going in that brain of yours. With you its just one clueless idea after another. A kick in the nether regions. Wah.
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:hardwood wrote:How have muhindis managed to succeed in manufacturing while nyeuthi hasn't? Muhindi makes nearly everything in kenya - cement, mabati, nails, paint, soap, mkate, cooking oil, toilet paper, school uniforms, tyres, bottled water, juices, ice cream etc etc. They are even some of the largest fruit, vegetable and flower growers and exporters.
So how come muhindi has made it but not nyeuthi? access to capital and an entrepreneurial mindset which is passed down to the children, at least for the older generation. Plus a lack of obsession with land, and exams. Culture: To muhindi a worker feels good he is doing his job. So he will do it well, expecting his reward to be pegged on his performance its almost religious. Its even tied to religion. But for Kenyans, the serikali saidia mentality is what bogs us down. Kibaki asked a very good question, "wewe utakuja saidia serikali lini" even those making money want handouts from the govt. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. @masukuma, does your talk shop have veve-wine? I hear it's good for the throat.
'tycho'(teekoh), or 'teak' in English is a kind of tree that gives hard wood. Probably the hardest timber around. The best summary of this topic is we do not know what meaningful work is that's why Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday only are dedicated to wearing Kenya uniform and drinking some local wine at masukuma's. ...but of course other hard woods can show their samples!
Here's how 'meaningful work' is done: given who we are, and our situation, what do we need to do, to change our situation to what we desire it to be? Changing from who we are to what we want to be entails design, and production/manufacturing.
BTW, Kenyan products aren't supposed to be bought by Kenyans only, they need to be bought by the Indians, Chinese, Russians and the like. That's when they'll be meaningful. Trade is warfare, if you don't achieve parity among the global forces then you'll be vanquished!
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. @masukuma, does your talk shop have veve-wine? I hear it's good for the throat. Maybe it's good for the throat... maybe it's not...if the guy who concocted it got off his butt and started selling it instead of waiting for people to take a pilgrimage to his house to pay homage to his genius...we may know. For crying out loud people sell poisons in bottles christened 2nd generation brews and this 'all natural stuff' wine cannot move from his village/homestead? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
[quote=¿]Can Africa Compete with China in Manufacturing? - https://www.swarthmore.e...titiveness.feb%2021.pdf[/quote] I have a problem with the assumption that Africa and China can be compared in reasonable terms. First of all Africa is a generalization of Nation states without a consistent and unified policy across them, China is one nation state. Africa can't come up with a policy or policies against/with China unless it's on very general terms under AU. Then again if the issue is competitive advantage, only a self defining entity can figure out what to do and it doesn't have to be predefined. It's something that emerges from soul searching. This paper you've shared with us seems to assume we're also striving to keep up with the Jones's. Then, in the world of manufacturing is it China that's involved, or is it Chinese originated corporations? Corporations in my opinion, are very responsible for changing competitive situations. They create new laws more than any parliament does. Governments can only obey corporations. So that question of Africa versus China isn't fair, or even necessary.
tycho wrote:I have a problem with the assumption that Africa and China can be compared in reasonable terms. First of all Africa is a generalization of Nation states without a consistent and unified policy across them, China is one nation state. Africa can't come up with a policy or policies against/with China unless it's on very general terms under AU. Then again if the issue is competitive advantage, only a self defining entity can figure out what to do and it doesn't have to be predefined. It's something that emerges from soul searching. This paper you've shared with us seems to assume we're also striving to keep up with the Jones's. Then, in the world of manufacturing is it China that's involved, or is it Chinese originated corporations? Corporations in my opinion, are very responsible for changing competitive situations. They create new laws more than any parliament does. Governments can only obey corporations. So that question of Africa versus China isn't fair, or even necessary. Good for you.
¿ wrote:tycho wrote:I have a problem with the assumption that Africa and China can be compared in reasonable terms. First of all Africa is a generalization of Nation states without a consistent and unified policy across them, China is one nation state. Africa can't come up with a policy or policies against/with China unless it's on very general terms under AU. Then again if the issue is competitive advantage, only a self defining entity can figure out what to do and it doesn't have to be predefined. It's something that emerges from soul searching. This paper you've shared with us seems to assume we're also striving to keep up with the Jones's. Then, in the world of manufacturing is it China that's involved, or is it Chinese originated corporations? Corporations in my opinion, are very responsible for changing competitive situations. They create new laws more than any parliament does. Governments can only obey corporations. So that question of Africa versus China isn't fair, or even necessary. Good for you. I just laughed when I read the paper... I first thought someone had subscribed to some online joke propagation service.. I counter checked my browser address bar (like 2 times) coz the page I was in looked very much like wazua but the content was rather funny! has ¿ ever considered a career in comedy? some comics on churchill live would really love to have some of his/her mojo rub on them. This is what is classically known as an ever green joke... you can say it as many times as you can and it does not lose it's humour!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:¿ wrote:tycho wrote:I have a problem with the assumption that Africa and China can be compared in reasonable terms. First of all Africa is a generalization of Nation states without a consistent and unified policy across them, China is one nation state. Africa can't come up with a policy or policies against/with China unless it's on very general terms under AU. Then again if the issue is competitive advantage, only a self defining entity can figure out what to do and it doesn't have to be predefined. It's something that emerges from soul searching. This paper you've shared with us seems to assume we're also striving to keep up with the Jones's. Then, in the world of manufacturing is it China that's involved, or is it Chinese originated corporations? Corporations in my opinion, are very responsible for changing competitive situations. They create new laws more than any parliament does. Governments can only obey corporations. So that question of Africa versus China isn't fair, or even necessary. Good for you. I just laughed when I read the paper... I first thought someone had subscribed to some online joke propagation service.. I counter checked my browser address bar (like 2 times) coz the page I was in looked very much like wazua but the content was rather funny! has ¿ ever considered a career in comedy? some comics on churchill live would really love to have some of his/her mojo rub on them. This is what is classically known as an ever green joke... you can say it as many times as you can and it does not lose it's humour!! Ladies and gentlemen, 'intellectuals'.
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. You sound very frustrated these days, hows your "Afya Band" doing? Actually I expected to see you feature on slim possible. I just hope your disappointments are not the reason you are al negative these days. Can you sell? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. You sound very frustrated these days, hows your "Afya Band" doing? Actually I expected to see you feature on slim possible. I just hope your disappointments are not the reason you are al negative these days. Can you sell? well.... I am actually writing from my experiences and not theories. I am not 'negative'... just reality without rose tinted goggles All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:masukuma wrote:murchr wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:hardwood wrote:I think to stimulate local manufacturing we should start with the basics such as shoes, handkerchiefs, socks, shirts, underwear etc. Surely manufacturing these items isn't rocket science. Why export skins and hides to India and china and then import 'fake leather' shoes from them? I was shocked to find that that nearly all the shoes at Bata shops are made in India and China. Does it mean that in year 2016, no single Kenyan can manage to manufacture a handkerchief and we have to import from china? Even the masai shukas are all from china. I concur. We could commence with agriculture-based industries e.g. wine from potatoes (it's done in Scotland), fabrics from cotton and silk farming, etc etc. A young man in Meru is producing wine from Miraa. This thing we call Muratina, Busaa, Kaluvu, (All use natural grown stuff) should have gone industrial by now. bado we are asking/expecting people who are not in those industries to grow them? A product is not a company, a company is not an industry nor is it a market place. Just because you built something does not mean or translate to the whole world falling at your feet. You sound very frustrated these days, hows your "Afya Band" doing? Actually I expected to see you feature on slim possible. I just hope your disappointments are not the reason you are al negative these days. Can you sell? well.... I am actually writing from my experiences and not theories. I am not 'negative'... just reality without rose tinted goggles You are bitter and its very manifest. I guess now you know what they teach at THE is just theory, well....here is reality, you have to walk bear feet nothing comes easy ask everyone who's made it the secret is in the selling not in creating the product. A good example Nexus (the mobile phone). On your FB page I see you have 188 likes (i guess your friends) I also notice someone asking what is this Afyaband.. Now, let me continue advising you, increase activity, January is the month where most people are motivated to work out for starters Wazuans please like @masukuma's Afyabands page https://www.facebook.com/AfyaBand/?fref=ts hopefully one day he shall bring production of this item home and create employment Masukush, facebook upgraded market places so that you can quote your price...haya fanya mambo and am sure many here of goodwill will back you "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:You are bitter and its very manifest. I guess now you know what they teach at THE is just theory, well....here is reality, you have to walk bear feet nothing comes easy ask everyone who's made it the secret is in the selling not in creating the product. A good example Nexus (the mobile phone). On your FB page I see you have 188 likes (i guess your friends) I also notice someone asking what is this Afyaband.. Now, let me continue advising you, increase activity, January is the month where most people are motivated to work out for starters Wazuans please like @masukuma's Afyabands page https://www.facebook.com/AfyaBand/?fref=ts hopefully one day he shall bring production of this item home and create employment Masukush, facebook upgraded market places so that you can quote your price...haya fanya mambo and am sure many here of goodwill will back you Your advice is wonderful and definitely something I have not thought of before... thanks for the great insight. Now let's go back to manufacturing and it's nexus with Kenya. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!