16 Pages«<45678>»
Safaricom 1H16 Results net profit up 23%
sitaki.kujulikana
#101 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 2:15:41 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
I rest my case!!!

Hata the new education act inasema we don't force kids to repeat even if they get 36/500 in the exam.

its quite evident its becoming hard to defend this collymore guy.

@MaichBlack Facebook and google have been trying this free internet thing either via balloons or other means, I think facebook signed an agreement to have one of the satellite providers, I think eutelsat to try out beaming the internet via satellite especially to africa.

now go back to the 90's when the mobile phone was still in its infancy, now come back and look at where communication is headed...

of course no one knows the future with certainty, but one can look at the tell tale signs of the past, and before I forget just because one does not agree with your points does not mean they are stupid, it could be the other way, but hey only time will tell.
enyands
#102 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 2:30:44 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.

2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom.

Some times I read certain posts and I wonder if I should reply. No facts at all. No basis.

How do you compare telcom to Safcom??? Unless you just want to type something or you are too young!! You had to know and bribe people to get connected to telcom. If your line had problems, it would take even months to be sorted out and you still had to bribe the person sending the technicians and the technicians themselves. There was zero innovation at Telcom. Absolute zero! No marketing etc.

Now, Safaricom is at totally another level. Innovation - must be the number one company on innovation in the region. Unparalleled marketing. The process at Safaricom must be some of the best in the country. I know someone high up at Safaricom and they explained to me the processes from how they organize groups for product development etc. and I was extremely impressed. You should hear the inside story of the process that was involved to bring MPesa home and you will understand why I am totally amused by some of the statements here!!!

These guys should be running the country!! Trust me! If you gave the Safaricom team the country to run, in 10 years you would not be a 3rd world country!!

Disclaimer: I don't work and have never worked for Safaricom.

I would happily outsource the economic management of Kenya to Singapore or Vodaphone.

sawa @MaichBlack you win, you are the one who has facts and your posts are the only worth ones, plus your mastery of the queen's language matches none.

but as I mentioned what will bring down safcom is its dominance just as the telcom cheerleaders thought the copper wire was the ultimate communication medium, the same way the safcom cheerleaders think that the telephone is the ultimate communication tool. Its the computer that will take this battle not the telephone.

Now since you are the king of facts, why don't you share the inside mpesa story process, of bringing it home, we also want to be mesmerized by the brilliance of the safcom guys.

There is no way there will be advanced form technology anytime soon. The western invented all this phones and communications systems . So as long as ,I repeat,as long as the phones (in form of iPhone 6 ,7 ,8 and samsung galaxy note 1,2,3,6,7,8) and the rest are still being developed and invented ,then there will be no other different form of communication to be advanced soon.
And should any NEW form of communication be discovered apart from cellphones then it will follow that order of western first then here home . Should they disband use of cellphone for computers as you put it ,we should brace ourself for the same a few years after them. They are the masters and keepers of tech(sorry ti say this but it's the sad truth). So we wait and watch their moves and then follow.

As africans we don't reward new inventions .and should someone invent something new, either they get no support from stakeholders ,or community itself won't see that as important . That's why when a boy in pokot was able to make a gun from wood and few metals the AP arrested him and he was sent to 10 yrs in jail . But the same boy of the same age in USA was able to make a gun which senses the owners finger print before being activated ,right now as we speak he created the patent for it and he is a millionaire . See the difference.

Lastly Gaddafi came up with the idea of United States of Africa , also on his flagship project he wanted Africa as a nation we have our own satellite rather than depending on France satellite which is expensive for no reason .Africa pays France $400m a year to use their satellites . Guess what , the French people were the first to invade Libya to throw him out and painted him to be a bad person and his own people killed him.
sitaki.kujulikana
#103 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 6:33:03 AM

enyands wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.

Some times I read certain posts and I wonder if I should reply. No facts at all. No basis.

How do you compare telcom to Safcom??? Unless you just want to type something or you are too young!! You had to know and bribe people to get connected to telcom. If your line had problems, it would take even months to be sorted out and you still had to bribe the person sending the technicians and the technicians themselves. There was zero innovation at Telcom. Absolute zero! No marketing etc.

Now, Safaricom is at totally another level. Innovation - must be the number one company on innovation in the region. Unparalleled marketing. The process at Safaricom must be some of the best in the country. I know someone high up at Safaricom and they explained to me the processes from how they organize groups for product development etc. and I was extremely impressed. You should hear the inside story of the process that was involved to bring MPesa home and you will understand why I am totally amused by some of the statements here!!!

These guys should be running the country!! Trust me! If you gave the Safaricom team the country to run, in 10 years you would not be a 3rd world country!!

I would happily outsource the economic management of Kenya to Singapore or Vodaphone.

sawa @MaichBlack you win, you are the one who has facts and your posts are the only worth ones, plus your mastery of the queen's language matches none.

but as I mentioned what will bring down safcom is its dominance just as the telcom cheerleaders thought the copper wire was the ultimate communication medium, the same way the safcom cheerleaders think that the telephone is the ultimate communication tool. Its the computer that will take this battle not the telephone.

Now since you are the king of facts, why don't you share the inside mpesa story process, of bringing it home, we also want to be mesmerized by the brilliance of the safcom guys.

There is no way there will be advanced form technology anytime soon. The western invented all this phones and communications systems . So as long as ,I repeat,as long as the phones (in form of iPhone 6 ,7 ,8 and samsung galaxy note 1,2,3,6,7,8) and the rest are still being developed and invented ,then there will be no other different form of communication to be advanced soon.
And should any NEW form of communication be discovered apart from cellphones then it will follow that order of western first then here home . Should they disband use of cellphone for computers as you put it ,we should brace ourself for the same a few years after them. They are the masters and keepers of tech(sorry ti say this but it's the sad truth). So we wait and watch their moves and then follow.

As africans we don't reward new inventions .and should someone invent something new, either they get no support from stakeholders ,or community itself won't see that as important . That's why when a boy in pokot was able to make a gun from wood and few metals the AP arrested him and he was sent to 10 yrs in jail . But the same boy of the same age in USA was able to make a gun which senses the owners finger print before being activated ,right now as we speak he created the patent for it and he is a millionaire . See the difference.

Lastly Gaddafi came up with the idea of United States of Africa , also on his flagship project he wanted Africa as a nation we have our own satellite rather than depending on France satellite which is expensive for no reason .Africa pays France $400m a year to use their satellites . Guess what , the French people were the first to invade Libya to throw him out and painted him to be a bad person and his own people killed him.

The telephone will die, the computer will stay on. Currently they are somewhat joined mostly for old times sake, in a marriage whose divorce has already been announced, and the terms agreed, just that lawyer fees have to be cleared and some paper work signed.

I tell you, the telephone is on its death bed, and so are those who rely on the same, how do I put this, its like what happened to the walkman.
enyands
#104 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 6:35:33 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
enyands wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

The telephone will die, the computer will stay on. Currently they are somewhat joined mostly for old times sake, in a marriage whose divorce has already been announced, and the terms agreed, just that lawyer fees have to be cleared and some paper work signed.

I tell you, the telephone is on its death bed, and so are those who rely on the same, how do I put this, its like what happened to the walkman.

Wait a minute sitaki** are you talking about cellphones or telephones
#105 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 7:01:22 AM

The phone and computer have merged. I use my smartphone as a tablet/laptop. My current phone has more memory than my first desktop!
#106 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 7:10:38 AM

The phone and computer have merged. I use my smartphone as a tablet/laptop. My current phone has more memory than my first desktop!

@vvs - That is why I am telling you, you read some of this posts and wonder if you should reply! They are just hilarious!!

Cellphones will die and the computer will win!? Cellphones are basically computers nowadays. Whatever you do on you computer you can do on your phone. And some of the things you can do on your phone cannot be done on your computer.

Or are we back to 1999 and are comparing pentium II and Nokia 3310 (Or those predecessors that had toy car batteries) and wondering which of the two will win the "war"!?
#107 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 7:15:17 AM

@vvs - That is why I am telling you, you read some of this posts and wonder if you should reply! They are just hilarious!!

Cellphones will die and the computer will win!? Cellphones are basically computers nowadays. Whatever you do on you computer you can do on your phone. And some of the things you can do on your phone cannot be done on your computer.

Or are we back to 1999 and are comparing pentium II and Nokia 3310 (Or those predecessors that had toy car batteries) and wondering which of the two will win the "war"!?

No wonder SkyNet plans to take over from humans.
#108 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 7:37:10 AM

People should learn to stick to their lanes. If you don't understand where the telecommunication industry is going, just buy something else
enyands
#109 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 7:50:03 AM

Whoever wants to buy a computer because it's going to be the in thing for future and throw his cellphone that's ok . We can meet somewhere and give me your cellphone .
Aguytrying
#110 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 10:47:40 AM

Ha ha. In fact I would argue it the other way. Phones have become computer like and have taken over some of the functions of computers. Every day phones are catching up to computers. In the end they will co-exist of become the same thing
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#111 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 11:02:41 AM

Can i be allowed to say what most of you are afraid of telling sitaki.kujilikana...?

1. You either know something nobody, even those at the silicon valley, know
2. You are trolling this thread for the fun
3. You are SCHUPID!!
Ali Baba
#112 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 1:41:53 PM

People should learn to stick to their lanes. If you don't understand where the telecommunication industry is going, just buy something else
Zuckerberg will soon be zooming free internet from the moon.And this counter will be like Eveready !!
#113 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 8:01:37 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
Zuckerberg will soon be zooming free internet from the moon.And this counter will be like Eveready !!

His internet dot org was launched in Kenya in Nov 2014, have you used it?

The future of telecoms.....is the internet of everything.
#114 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 8:18:18 PM

Ali Baba wrote:

His internet dot org was launched in Kenya in Nov 2014, have you used it?

The future of telecoms.....is the internet of everything.

Mpesa innovations will sustain us smile
¿
#115 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 9:06:15 PM

#116 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 11:18:32 PM

What is happening at MTN?

The boss of Africa's biggest telecom company MTN is stepping down just weeks after Nigeria fined the company about $5 billion, which is about half its annual revenue.
#117 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 11:39:56 PM

enyands wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
enyands wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Wait a minute sitaki** are you talking about cellphones or telephones

Sitaki has no idea about the evolution of computers from the Turing machines to the main frames, mini computers, micro computers, laptops, notebooks, tablets, smart phones, wearables, nano computers...
sitaki.kujulikana
#118 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2015 12:38:50 AM

let those who have ears hear, the telephone is dead long live the computer.

There is a difference between a telephone and a computer, they could be housed in the same case, or in different, but I am surprised to see those so called fact masters failing to distinguish between a telephone and a computer, or is it that the education system in kenya teaches that a computer is a big box with a big monitor and a big keyboard plus a mouse.

I say again the telephone is on its death bed, and those who rely on the same will go the same way like those who relied on the copper wire.

I hope all of us will be hapa come 2019 and onwards, lets see how those who will have shares in the telephone telcos will fair on.
sitaki.kujulikana
#119 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2015 12:43:46 AM

Aguytrying wrote:

Ha ha. In fact I would argue it the other way. Phones have become computer like and have taken over some of the functions of computers. Every day phones are catching up to computers. In the end they will co-exist of become the same thing

Finally someone who sees the point and the big picture.

But I beg to divert a little, they won't coexist one will have to die, and its the telephone that will be buried in its already prepared grave.
sitaki.kujulikana
#120 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2015 12:47:59 AM

Can i be allowed to say what most of you are afraid of telling sitaki.kujilikana...?

1. You either know something nobody, even those at the silicon valley, know
2. You are trolling this thread for the fun
3. You are SCHUPID!!

I am not trolling the thread for fun and I am sure my SCHUPIDITY level is well within manageable margins.

do not think that those at the valley are not humans, its just guys like you and me who work there, so do not feel inferior to them.