wazua Thu, Aug 7, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Janet Kanini Ikua
#101 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 9:29:55 PM

So what is coming out is that if it hits Level 4 you are done? Like nothing really can change? You can never be healed completely?
#102 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 9:56:39 PM

So what is coming out is that if it hits Level 4 you are done? Like nothing really can change? You can never be healed completely?

Its the message that i get. Start parking and get ready to check out.
#103 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 10:15:24 PM

No words.Her story gave me hope of total healing for Cancer.Sad indeed.

I happen to have schooled with her sister and so I called her before the story hit mainstream media.Imagine she told me she had also got the news from Social media so she could not confirm.

Sad. Very sad.
By the way the way the sister you schooled with was her elder or younger sister?

Elder ofcourse! You want to calculate my age??

She was the last born(if I remember well) of 3 very lovely sisters.

May she RIP.

Thanks.

She really had energy in her last few days.
So sad.

The sis told me she was down from early feb,she was admitted beginning of March and had started a different kind of treatment.She has been weak but the death was rather sudden early this morning.
The family (mum and sis) were devastated to learn of her demise from social media.

Given that it was reported she had healed completely, is it that the cancer recurred or was it not healed fully in the first place? Might you know?

From the brief conversation its like the medication and its side effects are what took her down.She has been on continuous medication ever since she came from India and had grown very weak over time.

Ditto!
She said there was a medication which was supposed to be taken for max 7 days only but she tool for 7 whole months back to back.
Sijui it was painkiller or something...watch Rubadiri's.

#104 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 10:28:20 PM

Euge wrote:

In India the huzzy was told Janet had like between 6months to 5 years to live...she was strong enough and managed 2.5 years.

I have never felt this sad in recent times...the last time I felt the same way was when Abgela Chibalonza passed on suddenly!

#105 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 10:32:06 PM

.... pray.
Actually at stage 4 you are given 6 months min.
Janet's courage,determination,diet faith pls being loved kept her strong and going.
What to say now..
It's over, but her legacy lives on.
Very inspiring and encouraging listening to her.But she's gone and I am broken too.
RIP.Bye.
#106 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 10:48:30 PM

.... pray.
Actually at stage 4 you are given 6 months min.
Janet's courage,determination,diet faith pls being loved kept her strong and going.
What to say now..
It's over, but her legacy lives on.
Very inspiring and encouraging listening to her.But she's gone and I am broken too.
RIP.Bye.

Early this year when I saw her on Cathy Kiuna's show, I sensed danger...and my heart missed.I am sure I cried.
She was not what we know.
She was alive purely by grace.

#107 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 10:55:29 PM

My grandma was diagnosed with Cancer of the Oesophagus in early 2016.We were not told what stage or maybe I did not ask.We took her to Kijabe and they said at her age and location of the cancer Chemo and radio were out.They inserted a stent on the oesophagus and she continued with her life.Last month she developed eating problems where nothing could go down her tummy.We went back and a second stent was inserted as the cancer had overgrown the first stent.

Save for that she is ok. Eating well (liquid foods) and no pain at all.We thank God for that.

This has got me thinking, could there be another way of managing cancer without surgical intrusion,chemo or radio?It seems like once medication begins one goes downhill very fast.
Dahatre
#108 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 11:24:33 PM

Pretty much if it is a tumor.
Here are the stages:

Stage 0=Abnormal cells are present but have not spread to nearby tissue. Also called carcinoma in situ, or CIS. CIS is not cancer, but it may become cancer.

Stages I-III=Cancer is present. The higher the number, the larger the cancer tumor and the more it has spread into nearby tissues.

Stage IV=The cancer has spread to distant parts of the body.

Source

Dahatre
#109 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 11:28:46 PM

Early this year when I saw her on Cathy Kiuna's show, I sensed danger...and my heart missed.I am sure I cried.
She was not what we know.
She was alive purely by grace.

On Victoria's show she knew. She said that she was in remission but that the word remission was always associated with recurrence, so she stopped googling info.

Anyway we obviously loved her and she is still teaching us. The sad part is that her own Dad the late Dr. Mwiva also died of same.
Mainat
#110 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 11:32:41 PM

Pole kwa familia yake.
My take. Mkiambiwa ni level 4,pls pls, don't torture yourselves with the treatment. Hakuna haja, just prepare yourselves and the patient and then wait maybe with painkillers.
PS: Been through it thrice with very close relatives. I think doctors misadvice
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#111 Posted : Sunday, April 02, 2017 11:36:07 PM

Euge wrote:

That gives credence to the below sermon I once listened to and really thought deeply about the whole topic of death.

http://nairobichapel.net/death-dying/
#112 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 12:06:47 AM

Euge wrote:
[quote=washiku]So what is coming out is that if it hits Level 4 you are done? Like nothing really can change? You can never be healed completely?

That gives credence to the below sermon I once listened to and really thought deeply about the whole topic of death.

http://nairobichapel.net/death-dying/[/quote]
@

Would love to listen but sometimes you want to avoid what hurts you the most.
Maybe 10 yrs from now.

Rongla
#113 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 12:30:48 AM

Well Survival rates for Lung cancer is very low, even in developed countries.
I guess the problem lies with treatment Kenyans go for in India. Doctors in India continue treatment even when they know very well the patient wont recover.Which is a shame and a waste of resources.
I know in UK, Doctors tell patients how long they got to live. At this stage they actually shift from treatment to pain and end of life management. Just to make you comfortable
Wororo
#114 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 7:12:45 AM

My grandma was diagnosed with Cancer of the Oesophagus in early 2016.We were not told what stage or maybe I did not ask.We took her to Kijabe and they said at her age and location of the cancer Chemo and radio were out.They inserted a stent on the oesophagus and she continued with her life.Last month she developed eating problems where nothing could go down her tummy.We went back and a second stent was inserted as the cancer had overgrown the first stent.

Save for that she is ok. Eating well (liquid foods) and no pain at all.We thank God for that.

This has got me thinking, could there be another way of managing cancer without surgical intrusion,chemo or radio?It seems like once medication begins one goes downhill very fast.

@bigchick your grandma will leave for a longer time than a person undergoing chemo sessions...

From my observations, what I discovered is that chemo weakens one and don't forget cancer is ones body attacking itself.

So after chemotherapy sessions cancer becomes more aggressive, brutal and ruthless.

I believe even biopsy really makes the cancer to regroup and perhaps even relocate... Then attack with so much brutality until it kills itself thru the hosts death.
Wororo
#115 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 7:23:43 AM

Dahatre wrote:

Here are the stages:

Stage 0=Abnormal cells are present but have not spread to nearby tissue. Also called carcinoma in situ, or CIS. CIS is not cancer, but it may become cancer.

Stages I-III=Cancer is present. The higher the number, the larger the cancer tumor and the more it has spread into nearby tissues.

Source

True but some other forms simply have like two main stages.

Stage 1 & 4 - because the transition between stages 1 & 4 is quite drastic due to its original attack organ eg liver.

Liver cancer transition quite fast between the 4 stages since liver is a vital organ which receives lots of blood and the blood system is what cancer cells use to migrate/regroup.

Liver is like a hub in this case. Anytime a cancer cell can be transferred to a different part of the body and start at one new cancer colony!

Actually the cancer stages are defined by the size of the tumor and the potential of the cancer cells to be moved from an infected region of the body to unaffected region.

Quite scary I must say.
#116 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 8:24:43 AM

come on guys... you need to take a stab at it... kama option iko... you must take a shot at it! whatever your motivation. hii ni maisha bwana!
#117 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 9:54:44 AM

New pain: in 2013 I lost a childhood buddy to stomach cancer and even posted the same here. Last month I lost a nephew to breastfeeding cancer and the pain and sadness is immense. The boy was 23 and hap lived with the lump on his left breast for a long time until it became painful around Dec 2016. Late Feb is when diagnosis was started and by the time the results were out he didn't survive for a week. My take: diagnosis is key.
#118 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 10:13:13 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
New pain: in 2013 I lost a childhood buddy to stomach cancer and even posted the same here. Last month I lost a nephew to breastfeeding cancer and the pain and sadness is immense. The boy was 23 and hap lived with the lump on his left breast for a long time until it became painful around Dec 2016. Late Feb is when diagnosis was started and by the time the results were out he didn't survive for a week. My take: diagnosis is key.

There's breastfeeding cancer? Does it get passed on to the baby?

tnai9
#119 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 10:47:47 AM

Cancer is a deadly disease and when your diagnosis is stage 4, there isn't much medically to be done and this cuts across all cancers because the cancer cells have spread to distant organs. Paliative care/end of life support is recommedned. But further, cancer in the vital organs is more deadly and as someone said, complications from chemo and reduced immunity(Chemo kills cancer cells and normal cells) is really a challenge. I lost a bro to cancer of the gall bladder early this year, he was diagnosed in stage 4 and passed on one month after diagnosis from an infection he picked after insertion of a stent in India. His liver and kidneys wouldn't withstand chemo and then experienced multiple organ failure(blood poisoning) coz the liver wasn't functioning. Oncologists in the country sometimes tell you the truth, like my bro they advised against the India trip, but family decided to try.
Critically early diagnosis is very important, but its not possible in most cancers because cancer can affect any organ of the body.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#120 Posted : Monday, April 03, 2017 10:48:19 AM

Wororo wrote:
Dahatre wrote:

Here are the stages:

Source

True but some other forms simply have like two main stages.

Stage 1 & 4 - because the transition between stages 1 & 4 is quite drastic due to its original attack organ eg liver.

Liver cancer transition quite fast between the 4 stages since liver is a vital organ which receives lots of blood and the blood system is what cancer cells use to migrate/regroup.

Liver is like a hub in this case. Anytime a cancer cell can be transferred to a different part of the body and start at one new cancer colony!

Actually the cancer stages are defined by the size of the tumor and the potential of the cancer cells to be moved from an infected region of the body to unaffected region.

Quite scary I must say.

WHAT IS CANCER?

In layman''s language please.
Thanks