8 Pages«<45678>
First Day aboard a plane!!! best moment 2015
#101 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:10:24 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Uhondo wrote:
Once took a night flight from MSA to NBO that was quite unnerving in an Embraer E190. The problem with flying at night is the complete disorientation experienced aboard the plane. Its much better when you fly during the day because you can look outside and get some external references (Cloud cover, horizon etc.)When you fly at night you have absolutely no idea which way is up. It gets much worse during sharp banks. One lady seated opposite me closed her eyes (presumably in prayer) all the way from Moi to JKIA.

Infront, besides, behind are all okay BUT opposite? in a plane? Unless its one of those Kisii 7-a-side matatus. smile

Hii ni opposite ya mwafrica yawa, more like beside lakini seperated by the aisle. Si ukimuangalia ako opposite you, ama?

othelo, nice one!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#102 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:17:34 PM

The closest I have ever come to board a plane was when I boarded double Mto the airport to bid farewell to a friend of our cousin who was going to Wajir for an assignment,otherwise I'm used to outreach travel and forward travellers
#103 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:25:59 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
mwanafunzi wrote:
Sometimes back I used those small planes from Wilson to Lokichar. not interesting at all,too tiny and noisy infact it feels like you are in the engine itself. there are no snacks on a 1 hour thirty minutes flight. the turbulence will make you puke even the madondo you ate two years ago. Terrible.

hahahahaaa, thats why you should always empty your bowels and bladders before you board, and always swallow pills called nosic or pregnidoxin, very helpful if you suffer from motion sickness

Na mmepitia mengi sana.
Hii si ile dawa iliitishwo na wazualet mmoja ambaye alienda holiday na mpenziwe, the one who asked for the best method to prevent being pegged?
Sijui aliitwo nani.
Will dig up that thread.

Pierce
#104 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 3:31:30 PM

What i find most interesting even on 10 hr flights is, I do not get the urge to smokeSad
MKWASI
#105 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:08:25 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Uhondo wrote:
Once took a night flight from MSA to NBO that was quite unnerving in an Embraer E190. The problem with flying at night is the complete disorientation experienced aboard the plane. Its much better when you fly during the day because you can look outside and get some external references (Cloud cover, horizon etc.)When you fly at night you have absolutely no idea which way is up. It gets much worse during sharp banks. One lady seated opposite me closed her eyes (presumably in prayer) all the way from Moi to JKIA.

Infront, besides, behind are all okay BUT opposite? in a plane? Unless its one of those Kisii 7-a-side matatus. smile

Hii ni opposite ya mwafrica yawa, more like beside lakini seperated by the aisle. Si ukimuangalia ako opposite you, ama?

othelo, nice one!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

That must have been chida ya kizungu.
shadowinvestor
#106 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:20:12 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:
Ash Ock wrote:
I'm someone who has been flying since I was a kid. Can even remember flying on KQs 707's, DC-8's, and DC-9's which were very VERY loud compared to the airplanes in use today and the only Inflight Entertainment was a movie projector with a screen.

Anyway, for a small understanding of flight, I recommend the following two DVD's. Never looked for them in Kenya but the full DVD's are available online where I got mine.

Otherwise look at the following available online from KLM. Great cockpit videos.

http://www.jetstreamtv.net/flightdeck/

Thanks man, the short clips are very inspiring. Mark you, i have attended the KQ AB Initio Pilot Training Interviews before. I sailed through all the difficult stages, very tough interviews conducted by different bodies, about 4 of them that test reasoning ability, speeds, eye hand coordinations and many more. After struggling to reach the final stage from a group of 100 guys, we were left 18 of us, i was eliminated at that very last stage with no apparent reason. I thought it was because i dont know people, to date, that event still haunts me to date!!!! Everytime i pass by the Eastern Bypass near JKIA and i see planes flying, i just feel so so bad. But i accepted and moved on

Same here, passed all hadi Captains Interview, them buggers even had the audacity to tell me to get a passport AsaP, YOU SHOULD KNOW PEOPLE.
Ngogoyo
#107 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:21:38 PM

XSK wrote:
smile .....now do those unpressurized flights to North Eastern and in your next flight a flight test with a small aircraft!!!

or better still those flights from bossaso to Djibouti to Nairobi. Hakuna seat belt unajishikilia during take off and landing! Its those old Russian planes with Russian pilots. The runway has some "bumps". Never again!! Better stick to KQ everywhere you go, where they don't go - no need to go!

I flew once from a Hargeisa to a small village in mainland somaliland and that ka-airpot was just a land rover under a tree....the flightSad no toilet unpressurized, noisy and the heat down there. Sasa bump kwa hewa was real bumps the kaplane would swayPray
#108 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:28:44 PM

The closest I have ever come to board a plane was when I boarded double Mto the airport to bid farewell to a friend of our cousin who was going to Wajir for an assignment,otherwise I'm used to outreach travel and forward travellers

smile wewe uko mbaya, at least mimi nimeingia eldoret express - nasikia those oxygen bus za coast ni ka ndege, so if you board one the experience is the same, wacha nitafute booking offices zao - naweza jifanya hawker niingie nishukie hapo nyayo stadium.
#109 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:33:37 PM

waa, ati 10 hours in the skies - na hizi un-pressurized flights ni nini, what is the experience between pressurized and those that do not have it.

nasikia some people get sick in the ears, does it have to do with this pressure thing.
#110 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:39:45 PM

waa, ati 10 hours in the skies - na hizi un-pressurized flights ni nini, what is the experience between pressurized and those that do not have it.

nasikia some people get sick in the ears, does it have to do with this pressure thing.

#111 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:42:37 PM

#112 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:43:27 PM

Pierce wrote:
What i find most interesting even on 10 hr flights is, I do not get the urge to smokeSad

For your own health, keep flying.
Ash Ock
#113 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 4:43:29 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:
Same here, passed all hadi Captains Interview, them buggers even had the audacity to tell me to get a passport AsaP, YOU SHOULD KNOW PEOPLE.

I actually got in the nineties but quit before the training started. I decided not to be a pilot even though I love airplanes and flying. Didn't know anybody in KQ then.

My main reason for quitting was when I came from LHR to NBO and since it was pre-2001, I got to sit in the cockpit of the Airbus A310 (5Y-BEN Sad ). It's absolutely boring for eight straight hours once you takeoff and I couldn't imagine spending my life in a cockpit for long hours picking my nose. I was lucky. I went back to my seat and passed out until just before the landing, something the poor crew couldn't do.

About the knowing someone, go through this long long LONG thread. Doesn't seem like knowing anybody nowadays helps.

Kenya Airways AB Initio Pilot Recruitment
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#114 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 5:04:54 PM

kiterunner
#115 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 5:50:02 PM

Hapana paper chaser, haven't done much like guys here,I only try to make a trip as memorable as possible-just like you.
On my Last trip,an egyptian doc fell in love with me on plane.He was so kind,full of stories,I couldnt sleep.parting was such sweet sorrow. lol.
At cairo,another one with 3 wives was pleading that I become his 4th wife. Gave me sweets,sweetened cakes, bought me coffee plus lots of stories on life in egypt.
The biggest favour he did was to allow me lounge (sit/relax) at his place which had very comfy seats and tv as I waited 4 hrs to connect at night.The rest were sitted on cold chairs huko kwa verandah.

Sounds like the falling in love was mutual!

Kiwaru for swenani

I am not egyptian

it was a very early morning flight smile
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Ngong
#116 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 6:38:13 PM

kiterunner wrote:
Hapana paper chaser, haven't done much like guys here,I only try to make a trip as memorable as possible-just like you.
On my Last trip,an egyptian doc fell in love with me on plane.He was so kind,full of stories,I couldnt sleep.parting was such sweet sorrow. lol.
At cairo,another one with 3 wives was pleading that I become his 4th wife. Gave me sweets,sweetened cakes, bought me coffee plus lots of stories on life in egypt.
The biggest favour he did was to allow me lounge (sit/relax) at his place which had very comfy seats and tv as I waited 4 hrs to connect at night.The rest were sitted on cold chairs huko kwa verandah.

Sounds like the falling in love was mutual!

Kiwaru for swenani

I am not egyptian

That was @alpha, utapatizwa guru something!
#117 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 6:39:40 PM

Once at LHR,I met wahindi from Ngara employed as cleaners. Was fun kula stories za ngara.
And yes my nyeuthi skin made them stop me in Vie and Mia to verify my pp and visa properly.
'hi maam you from Africa?' No.I am from Kenya.Please Google Africa.
I can be kichwa ngumu too.

Tip.Stay a distance from a 9ijas at these arpts. Kuna mama alikua amebeba marikiti and gikomba combined,aliniuliza madam where are the planes going to lagos? Na gates are well indicated.
Hajui how I went mia roho safi.

@impunity we sharing stories stop spoiling.

At first I thought it was @chepkel's post smile
otienosmall
#118 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 8:47:34 PM

My first, more than a decade ago on a tiny plane to TZ turbulence were just crazy and felt lots of pressure in my ears during landing. When I later travelled to other longer destinations, the experience was completely different. Large planes have very smooth flight. Interesting I have noted temperatures can be so low outside I have seen temperatures of -80°C on info display screen especially on large planes they kind of cruise at very high altitude. Some trips can be really strenuous - in my college days used to take Kansai-Seoul-Beijing-Dubai-NBO cumulatively 26hrs of flight duration excluding wait time between flights sema kuchoka na kuboeka!
#119 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 9:28:26 PM

my flight home is always memorable and interesting
#120 Posted : Friday, February 20, 2015 9:38:28 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
XSK wrote:
smile .....now do those unpressurized flights to North Eastern and in your next flight a flight test with a small aircraft!!!

or better still those flights from bossaso to Djibouti to Nairobi. Hakuna seat belt unajishikilia during take off and landing! Its those old Russian planes with Russian pilots. The runway has some "bumps". Never again!! Better stick to KQ everywhere you go, where they don't go - no need to go!

I flew once from a Hargeisa to a small village in mainland somaliland and that ka-airpot was just a land rover under a tree....the flightSad no toilet unpressurized, noisy and the heat down there. Sasa bump kwa hewa was real bumps the kaplane would swayPray