wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Kenya Airways FY 2014 loss of 4.8bn!!!
mibbz
#101 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 12:08:48 AM

But remember Mumias at 4 to 5 bob looked to have factored in the turbulent times but it went down to ksh 3 and lower. All the same,best wishes to KQ shareholders.Your dreams are valid.
#102 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 2:34:24 AM

mibbz wrote:
Akenyan2014 wrote:
I think all those fears are already factored in the current price hammering. It is true the E-190s doesn't look like a good business philosophy, there were better alternatives. But those old 767s had to be replaced at some point, the earlier the better for lower operation costs. 777's capacity addition needed not be delayed either.
I agree on the capital intensive options taken could prove tough. The govt. might perhaps be called upon to help eg. with taxation headache (not a guarantee though) but eventually things will look up at some point. For sure the govt. cannot watch it collapse, it cannot be a choice to see a national carrier collapse.

I find one big problem is the fuel costs and irreducible wage bill (since a significant portion goes to untouchable key staff such as pilots). The only reservation I have is the fact that of no share ownership by management, perhaps they know recovery could take longer.

South African airways has resorted to the government several times when faced with massive losses.I wonder how much the shareholders are willing to put to sustain KQ. All in all i see a decent hedging profit this year should the situation in Iraq remain status quo and that might just cover most of these negative externalities.
Reliance on government largesse [the extra taxes is stupid but that's government for you] is a double-edged sword since politicians will demand (& get) favors like free flights, jobs for 'their' people and demands for contracts.
The 767s were old but the massive/rapid expansion [not just replacement of 767s] is where it will hurt. A slower, thoughtful expansion would have been better. Add 4-6 planes a year thus managing the need to to hire more staff. In a downturn, the staff will want their wages and goodies and not give two hoots about KQ.
Akenyan2014
#103 Posted : Wednesday, July 02, 2014 3:22:15 PM

mibbz wrote:
[quote=Akenyan2014]I think all those fears are already factored in the current price hammering. It is true the E-190s doesn't look like a good business philosophy, there were better alternatives. But those old 767s had to be replaced at some point, the earlier the better for lower operation costs. 777's capacity addition needed not be delayed either.
I agree on the capital intensive options taken could prove tough. The govt. might perhaps be called upon to help eg. with taxation headache (not a guarantee though) but eventually things will look up at some point. For sure the govt. cannot watch it collapse, it cannot be a choice to see a national carrier collapse.

I find one big problem is the fuel costs and irreducible wage bill (since a significant portion goes to untouchable key staff such as pilots). The only reservation I have is the fact that of no share ownership by management, perhaps they know recovery could take longer.

South African airways has resorted to the government several times when faced with massive losses.I wonder how much the shareholders are willing to put to sustain KQ. All in all i see a decent hedging profit this year should the situation in Iraq remain status quo and that might just cover most of these negative externalities.
Reliance on government largesse [the extra taxes is stupid but that's government for you] is a double-edged sword since politicians will demand (& get) favors like free flights, jobs for 'their' people and demands for contracts.
The 767s were old but the massive/rapid expansion [not just replacement of 767s] is where it will hurt. A slower, thoughtful expansion would have been better. Add 4-6 planes a year thus managing the need to to hire more staff. In a downturn, the staff will want their wages and goodies and not give two hoots about KQ.
Boris Boyka
#104 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 3:15:31 PM

when is the AGM?? @obiero the pilot.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#105 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 8:33:27 PM

The mawingu strategy is spot on. It will take another 2-3 years for the benefits to start showing. Replacement of 767 with 787 has fuel advantages and also bigger depreciation that reduce tax. Replacement of 737 with embraer ensures that there are more frequencies with higher load factors. Replacement of 777-200 with 777-300 introduces more seats, some fuel savings, more belly space and competitive IFE, which is critical on long haul routes. They now need to sort out the VAT matter and we should be good to go.
Omena
#106 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 10:30:10 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
The mawingu strategy is spot on. It will take another 2-3 years for the benefits to start showing. Replacement of 767 with 787 has fuel advantages and also bigger depreciation that reduce tax. Replacement of 737 with embraer ensures that there are more frequencies with higher load factors. Replacement of 777-200 with 777-300 introduces more seats, some fuel savings, more belly space and competitive IFE, which is critical on long haul routes. They now need to sort out the VAT matter and we should be good to go.

The mawingu plan is very well written, but the competition is moving twice as fast with half the baggage and have already right-sized their fleets. In a rasor sharp margin business where every passenger counts to recoup investment, it is still a very tricky road ahead.
Pray
 It’s what you learn after you think you know it all that counts.
#107 Posted : Saturday, July 05, 2014 2:38:18 AM

Omena wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

The mawingu plan is very well written, but the competition is moving twice as fast with half the baggage and have already right-sized their fleets. In a rasor sharp margin business where every passenger counts to recoup investment, it is still a very tricky road ahead.
Pray
Project Mawingu was written by consultants, approved by the Board and implemented by the Management. All 3 parties have NO financial stake in KQ. All 3 benefit from huge fees, per diems, salaries and perks. A slower or less ambitious approach should have been taken which took into account that Kenya's government [which runs JKIA] interests are not aligned with KQ or the country. The Government of Kenya is different from Kenya the State/Country/Nation.

In other words, the Consultants, Brokers, Board, Management and Employees have NO skin in the game. They can and will bail at the earliest opportunity.

Titus after 11 years [and salary, perks, benefits and pension] has left.
Alex will leave after enjoying the same.
The Project Mawingu consultants have been paid & have left.
The Employees will leave.
The Board Members will leave while enjoying free or discounted flights.
The Brokers got paid in cash not shares.
The Banks will be paid in cash or by selling off assets if KQ defaults.

Nani ameachwa? Wewe, wanahisa, ni wewe tu mmeachwa.

Yes, depreciation [non-cash expense] will save on 'taxes' but there is interest [cash] to be paid. Planes have a life of 15-25 yr life so depreciation is approx 4-7% [could be residual or straight-line] ... I have to check how KQ accounts for it. KQ's [cash] interest cost can reduce taxable income [only if there is an Operating Gain [There was an Operating Loss in 2013-14].

KQ's biggest risks are 1) Competition 2) Risk perception of Nairobi as a hub.

Anyway, I could write & write on all this BUT in the interest of brevity I am staying out until I see how 2014-15 is shaping up.
#108 Posted : Saturday, July 05, 2014 7:39:37 AM

Finance costs will be the final nail in the coffin for these dead guys!

Then we can send them to their grave!

And of course afterwards Gova will raise them from the dead...

whiteowl
#109 Posted : Saturday, July 05, 2014 9:33:51 PM

guru267 wrote:

That's funny coz you've never held a funeral service for your own stocks.
xtina
#110 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:21:42 PM

whiteowl wrote:
guru267 wrote:

That's funny coz you've never held a funeral service for your own stocks.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Manze you people need to lay off guru, everyone makes expensive mistakes Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Akenyan2014
#111 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:50:46 PM

Better to stick to the post topic rather that digress to some few individual's portfolios. After the 2013 results, some 'experts' equates its value to zero or less, others still see opportunity. Kindly use Facts,Evidence and figures to convince a position.
Aguytrying
#112 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 4:13:34 PM

what do you call a stock that makes a 10bn loss in 2yrs? 10marks
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Akenyan2014
#113 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 4:30:18 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

@Aguy, Sorry thats a Wrong question
#114 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 5:02:39 PM

Akenyan2014 wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:

@Aguy, Sorry thats a Wrong question

hehe.. people need to relax. if KQ doesnt stir your imagination, invest elsewhere.. ngoja muone vile pesa hutengenezwa
@boris nimeambiwa ni 26th september

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#115 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 7:41:35 AM

AF-KLM issues a profit warning. KLM owns 23% of KQ.
http://www.bbc.com/news/business-28209761
What's KQ likely to do come Sep 2014?
#116 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 8:23:48 AM

KQ can't just win

http://www.nation.co.ke/...704/-/ki8bi/-/index.html
#117 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 9:17:59 AM

For kq to turn into profitability,the staff should be the first casualty which is not happening so i foresee more loss announcements.
Akenyan2014
#118 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 10:30:42 AM

mlennyma wrote:
For kq to turn into profitability,the staff should be the first casualty which is not happening so i foresee more loss announcements.

Can you quantify the staff costs. I am sure for such an industry it is not that significant. The 500 employees could be an expense less than 20% of the total staff cost. For an airline there is no shortcut to costs. If you want profit, there is only one means: Sell more, make more revenues and watch out on forex losses. Have us seen in job adverts on dailies that hiring has never stopped since the last restructuring?
Pesa Nane
#119 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 1:50:10 PM

Hogwash or ???
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#120 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 2:04:52 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Hogwash or ???

Money they don't have and can't afford to pay.