wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

43 Pages«<45678>»
Tumetoka analogue sasa tuko Digital!!!
#101 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 8:56:49 AM

Sasaaa?

Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc.

I had to see this to believe it. TV my goodness.

At least for one day Raila has not been mentioned in a thread....oooops sorry.

And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Aii kweli!

Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV.

I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now.

People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord!
#102 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 8:57:48 AM

It's the media's turn to churn out propaganda. Someone who listened to Royal media's inooro fm this morning told me that they've told their listeners that you need a set top box for each station you want to watch and pay monthly!

Eti you will pay KES.500 monthly to watch tv and this may go up since the set top boxes will only capture particular stations...bushmen mentality!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#103 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:01:29 AM

Sasaaa?

Yaani I never knew that TV can cause such tensions in a country. In the course of a night I've been called a cyber bully, a sat on husband, a 3am drunkard, etc.

And they write in support of each other just like an online petition or something. Alma hates TV we must abuse him one extra time and we'll add 5 years to our lives. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Aii kweli!

Wacha sasa niende gichagi, in the meantime, I will dedicate christmas to the return of TV.

I pray to God today to please please please return TV. Otherwise the hate I will get on this forum will make me very thin indeed. Oh boy, I can see it now.

People hate me oh lord oh lord, help me please oh lord and please give them Papa Shirandula please oh lordy lord!

@alma, until today I didnt knew you are this mature!!!

Not talking Not talking Not talking Not talking

#104 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:06:24 AM

Take it easy guys...
#105 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:07:52 AM

Sasaaa?

honestly impunity I never knew you had a career in comedy. Ladies and gentlemen Mr. look at her backside is lecturing on maturity. Applause Applause

All because he can't watch Antonio Gomez at 6pm...

For the sake of comedians everywhere. NTV please come back on air.

Infact, all these stations should have their licenses withdrawn pronto!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Kweli leo ni leo.
#106 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:10:30 AM

Okay good people let's take a deep breath, its Christmas season. @githundi, I can see you took offence in my earlier comment; my apologies and have a merry Xmas.

Having said that, could someone kindly explain to me why a customer would complain for lack of service from a private company when there are numerous alternatives.

I must admit that am not a fan of local tv. The 9pm news clashes with my all time favourite show. Its called "the smoking gun presents the world's dumbest" on channel 128 and runs daily from 9 to 10 pm.

Finally, let's look at this decision by the media owners logically. Its unlikely that Linus gitahi or wachira waruru would take such a drastic decision without consulting their respective BODs. I don't think any of us can doubt the business acumen behind the success of these three companies. Their owners are sharp businessmen who can't taken the path of self destruction knowingly.

Let us all learn to love kei twenty four and kbc. I know they are ugly and fat but the good looking model ones don't want anything to do with us.

Such is life.
#107 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:22:28 AM

Then why did they switch off? MARKETING OF THE SET TOP BOXES WHEN PEOPLE ARE ON SPENDING MODE.

#108 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:26:34 AM

Okay good people let's take a deep breath, its Christmas season. @githundi, I can see you took offence in my earlier comment; my apologies and have a merry Xmas.

Having said that, could someone kindly explain to me why a customer would complain for lack of service from a private company when there are numerous alternatives.

I must admit that am not a fan of local tv. The 9pm news clashes with my all time favourite show. Its called "the smoking gun presents the world's dumbest" on channel 128 and runs daily from 9 to 10 pm.

Finally, let's look at this decision by the media owners logically. Its unlikely that Linus gitahi or wachira waruru would take such a drastic decision without consulting their respective BODs. I don't think any of us can doubt the business acumen behind the success of these three companies. Their owners are sharp businessmen who can't taken the path of self destruction knowingly.

Let us all learn to love kei twenty four and kbc. I know they are ugly and fat but the good looking model ones don't want anything to do with us.

Such is life.

As a shareholder of 5 shares, I support

consumers be damned. They will watch when the stations come back wapende wasipende.
#109 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:34:38 AM

Media companies ntv , citizen, ktn should have been at the forefront selling set top boxes to ensure their customers migrate to digital. They should learn from safaricom which sells affordable phones to ensure increased data and voice uptake.
#110 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:39:55 AM

I support what the judge said:

“No switch off date will be convenient today, tomorrow or in
the near future. The petitioners should align themselves to the
technology of digital broadcast,” said the judge.

“If the consumers are kept in a blackout, it is only because the
petitioners want the television blackout,” he said in his ruling.
#111 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:44:30 AM

Media companies ntv , citizen, ktn should have been at the forefront selling set top boxes to ensure their customers migrate to digital. They should learn from safaricom which sells affordable phones to ensure increased data and voice uptake.

Kenyan media companies have no interest in content. They have thrived in an environment of feeding us ready made information straight from political parties.

By going digital, this monopoly on information slowly wanes. You can start your own TV station in gishagi without insane amounts of money.

I can assure you, they will want to drag this issue for ever.

Digital is inevitable. It has to happen.

Contrary to the 6 kanu youthwingers on wazua, I don't support their switch for the reason they give, but so that this strange loving relationship that the media has been having with gov't and political psycophants can come to an end.

For that I'm grateful.

Whether they stay of or on, is really a business decision. The issue on who was licensed to give out the broadcasting rights is a political issue.

For now let people learn to live without TV, we may end up having a very peaceful holiday with no politics to fight over.

bird_man
#112 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:49:33 AM

Ala!Si watu wana utoto hapa at times.
The world deadline for analogue to digital switchover is 17th June, 2015.
Some countries did it back in 2006 & 8 years later we are still arguing on whether to switch!

http://en.wikipedia.org/...al_television_transition
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#113 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:55:04 AM

@jagger &impunity

I have the perfect Christmas gift for her.. smile

But honestly we were warned about this.
Kenyans are last minute fellows and the judge knows it.
The Easy FM boss in an interview this morning said that when TZ went Digital,they lost 90% of their customers.It was proper blackout.

He also added that only 400,000 set up boxes have been sold in the country so far.
Compare that no. to our pop.
If we can't buy boxes, we can mingle so lets make use of what is there and move on like the rest.

#114 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 9:56:58 AM

[quote=bird_man]Ala!Si watu wana utoto hapa at times.
The world deadline for analogue to digital switchover is 17th June, 2015.
Some countries did it back in 2006 & 8 years later we are still arguing on whether to switch!

http://en.wikipedia.org/...l_television_transition[/quote]
Timeline for the digital switchover
2006: Netherlands

2007: Andorra, Finland, Sweden, Switzerland

2009: Denmark, Germany, Isle of Man, Norway, United States

2010: Belgium, Croatia, Estonia, Guernsey, Jersey, Latvia, Luxembourg, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain

2011: Austria, Canada, Cyprus, France, Israel, Malta, Monaco, Turkey

2012: Czech Republic, Gibraltar, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Oman, UAE, Jordan, Egypt, Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Syria, Yemen, Portugal,
Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Taiwan, United
Kingdom

2013: Australia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Hungary, Iceland, Kenya, Macedonia, Mauritius, Moldova, Namibia, New Zealand, Poland, South Africa, Zimbabwe

2014: India

2015: Algeria, Belarus, Brunei, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Libya, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Nigeria, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Tunisia, Ukraine, Uruguay, Western Sahara

2017: Chile, Malaysia

2018: Brazil, China, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Russia

2019: Argentina, Bolivia, Colombia, El Salvador

2020: Panama, Peru, Singapore, Thailand,
Venezuela, Vietnam

2022: Paraguay

2024: Cuba

No intention of switching: Laos, North Korea

#115 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:02:45 AM

Sasaaa?

...aiiiii...naku @Impunity...2 years of schooling?!
...@Alma...We love you dude...Enjoy your Christmas!
#116 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:07:15 AM

Just in case you are wondering why the 6 Kanu Youth Wingers were waxing lyrical about my family life, here's the real issue.

This is a business fight between gov't and media houses. Bitange Ndemo is right in the mix of this and the CCK

You can argue whether it is pro Kenya or anti-gov't if you wish, but for business purposes, I would expect any sane business entity to fight for its rights

Since we are so sovereign as we are always being preached to, who sold all the rights to the chinese and why?

This is the real borne of contention and not the red herring of being anti-digital. Unfortunately, this time the media has a upper hand and I think they will use their power to the fullest.

Who will blink first?
#117 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:10:57 AM

#118 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:17:15 AM

@FRM2011 is telling us that we should be OK with media shutting down. I say sawa. Let them shut down and shut up! They're lying to Kenyans. If the brightest wazuan, alma, was fooled whar about the old man in his village?
#119 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:29:59 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/13rod27/-/index.html

The height of lies by these media houses is too high. Govt has not ordered them to shut down, the task force is in place to decide when to do it, watafute uongo zingine
#120 Posted : Tuesday, December 24, 2013 10:33:56 AM

Kenyan media companies have no interest in content. They have thrived in an environment of feeding us ready made information straight from political parties.

By going digital, this monopoly on information slowly wanes. You can start your own TV station in gishagi without insane amounts of money.

I can assure you, they will want to drag this issue for ever.

Digital is inevitable. It has to happen.

Contrary to the 6 kanu youthwingers on wazua, I don't support their switch for the reason they give, but so that this strange loving relationship that the media has been having with gov't and political psycophants can come to an end.

For that I'm grateful.

Whether they stay of or on, is really a business decision. The issue on who was licensed to give out the broadcasting rights is a political issue.

For now let people learn to live without TV, we may end up having a very peaceful holiday with no politics to fight over.

Other than news and a few other programs like Papa n vioja, I hardly watch local TV. They can keep their blackout. Let them protest, it's their constitutional right, and it's also the duty of Jubilee govt to ensure its agenda rolls on, n ensure Kenya keeps pace with the rest of the world. Naomba Sirikali ikae ngumu!