wazua Thu, Dec 26, 2024

11 Pages«<45678>»
Syokimau Railway Line
#101 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 8:09:01 PM

Blackberry wrote:
What was the occupancy of the train today?

the morning Train is fast filling up.... Im yet to catch the 17.20 NKTTest!!!!( Gosh do the train managers think everyone works around the railway station....NKT!!
The last train out of town@8.45 is virtually empty....NKT!

Do we have light in those trains now that they run into the night?
Do we have pipa takataka at the corner somewhere?
Do we have cleaners at each station turns to clean the cabins?
Is the journey lasting 25 minutes as promised by the prophet of dooms?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#102 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 8:14:38 PM

sentinel prime wrote:
so this thing is traveling empty ....seems Kenyans have yet to realise "utamu wa gari moshi" with their queer traveling habbits.

me thinks the few passengers should be made to pay for the remaining empty seats.we can't have this thing make a loss! :)

Peculiar kenyans! They would rather pay 70bob and get stuck in the traffic jam for 3 hrs while breathing in toxic fumes than take the train and pay 100bob to get in town in 30mins jamfree.

Indeed...but trust the govt to induce some incentives to make this thing profitable...keep watching. Just read on the BD that the train's engine failed today. Efficiency really lacks in Kenya.

They are actually running a LEASED 25 year old engines from SA.
Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

#103 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 10:06:19 PM

Morning misadventure as new city train stalls
http://www.businessdaily.../-/mebpydz/-/index.html

Didn't someone talk of (un)reliability?
#104 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2012 10:27:35 PM

Kibaki's 'legacy'...
maina20
#105 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:06:52 AM

u are right, now am sure guys will start believing us... painting a donkey does not make it a horse. The idea of 3hrs jam is hoax, i use that road daily and 30min is enough to town.... from next week when schools close till Jan, 15minutes is enough...this middle class idea is just not working.....
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#106 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 8:24:56 AM

maina20 wrote:

u are right, now am sure guys will start believing us... painting a donkey does not make it a horse. The idea of 3hrs jam is hoax, i use that road daily and 30min is enough to town.... from next week when schools close till Jan, 15minutes is enough...this middle class idea is just not working.....

Anyone in that train currently? Please sent us a wazweet!!!

#107 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 1:05:45 PM

The trains are prone to breakdowns at very in accessible places...so if you are to use them you shld be aware of that fact .... But the syokimau train is under very good management if it stalls the management takes very little time to salvage the situation unlike the other routes where it can take hrs or even abandonment(passegers are forced to search for alternatives) until the following day.

The New promotion is really increasing the number of people Using the train..I think it was a bright Idea....they might make the promotion permanent.I.e 100/= return.

eboomerang
#108 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 1:54:58 PM

Same old way of fixing things on the surface while gaping holes are glaring.
Aguytrying
#109 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2012 4:59:55 PM

selah wrote:

The trains are prone to breakdowns at very in accessible places...so if you are to use them you shld be aware of that fact .... But the syokimau train is under very good management if it stalls the management takes very little time to salvage the situation unlike the other routes where it can take hrs or even abandonment(passegers are forced to search for alternatives) until the following day.

The New promotion is really increasing the number of people Using the train..I think it was a bright Idea....they might make the promotion permanent.I.e 100/= return.

plus free parking! i wish i lived there
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#110 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 9:35:46 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
selah wrote:

If I park my car there for a whole week will they tell?

#111 Posted : Friday, November 23, 2012 9:47:08 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
selah wrote:

If you parked your car at JKIA for a whole week would they tell?
#112 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 10:27:19 AM

Aguytrying wrote:
selah wrote:

If you parked your car at JKIA for a whole week would they tell?

Yes, the day you pass the gates, even the supermarkets and malls.

eduu
#113 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 12:32:28 PM

I used the train yesterday from Town at 5.30pm. Have to say the ride is smooth. The passangers were few for peak hour, around 50.
I think the current price makes sense 100/= return and free parking. Maybe they can retain the 100/= return and charge 50/= parking until people are completely hooked to the service.
If you're alone that would be 150/= a day, parking alone is 140/= so it would make economical sense. A couple would be 300 which still is reasonable but for a family of more than 3 it makes no sense and is worse at the 240/= return with 100 parking.
I enjoyed the ride but some Kenyans have it rough. The whole route is full of slums. Not a good viewing.
Pesa Nane
#114 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 5:02:18 PM

To pull numbers and attract record earning, charge mbao (Sh. 20) and:
1. Sell Sh. 100 raffle tickets to win a million (main draw in 2030)
2. Introduce 'sms kibaki legacy' to 8040 and win a million @sh. 80 per sms (main draw 2030).
3. Introduce train ride political rallies
4. How about 'the BIG question' as seen on every news bulletin in all media stations?

This is all informed by kenyans love for 'free' millions and matters politics.
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#115 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 8:22:51 PM

eduu wrote:
The passangers were few for peak hour, around 50.

How many cabins was the engine pulling in total?

eduu
#116 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 9:24:55 PM

eduu wrote:
The passangers were few for peak hour, around 50.

How many cabins was the engine pulling in total?

---
Not many, maybe 6 or 7 but they are huge.
#117 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 10:47:23 PM

eduu wrote:
I used the train yesterday from Town at 5.30pm. Have to say the ride is smooth. The passangers were few for peak hour, around 50.
I think the current price makes sense 100/= return and free parking. Maybe they can retain the 100/= return and charge 50/= parking until people are completely hooked to the service.
If you're alone that would be 150/= a day, parking alone is 140/= so it would make economical sense. A couple would be 300 which still is reasonable but for a family of more than 3 it makes no sense and is worse at the 240/= return with 100 parking.
I enjoyed the ride but some Kenyans have it rough. The whole route is full of slums. Not a good viewing.

You forgot to factor in the fuel consumption on M-road. On the slums....I understand there's a plan to have it demolished since they are living on railway land and in the future the trains are expected to be electric.
Kausha
#118 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 12:25:35 PM

Commuter rail service is an important and much required service for Nairobi at this point in time. I will stick my neck out as a prophet of doom. The syokimau train service is a farce will struggle to remain alive in it's current state. To me it's a conduit for people to literally chew tax payer dime - campaigns have kicked off. I have been there and used the train and these are my observations;
1. It's the same old trains repainted and the couches sitting reconfigured. This is a far cry from what you expect when you hear commuter train transport. If you have used the tube in London, Gautrain in Jozi or Dubai Metro then you get my drift. Those trains are very old and sooner or latter expect money problems and prolonged breakdowns. Someone said when you paint a donkey black and white, it doesn't make it a zebra.
2. The positioning of the station is a joke and a big one. It's on the wrong side of the road and in the middle of nowhere away from the populated areas and matatu stops. There is no overhead pedestrian crossing meaning even kids will not use that train from Syokimau. The reason why it's empty is because you must really hate your life to alight at that station after 6.30pm UNLESS you have a car. Given the location, I would rather drive to nairobi anyday, the train station is just before Mabati Rolling Mills and a 2 kilometers from the JKIA interchange.
3.A commuter train service is an end to end scheduled service. They should have completed the other 1-2 stations and the nairobi railway station and launched a scheduled full day service with clear timetables. One train from an odd location to the nairobi station will struggle to attract passengers.
4. The syokimau station is also too grandiose and a waste of funds, 30% of that building and space is what is required at that end. Compare the grandeur and the museum nature of Nairobi Railway station. Shouldn't Most of that money have been spent on Nairobi railway station.
5. The 1B cost of that station suggests there was little cost benefit analysis done. I certainly believe it would cost just about 1B to put a flyover at Nyayo stadium roundabout and the effect as Thika Road has showed us would be huge. KR should get a more cost effective station model and roll out a complete commuter train service and please position it in the midst of people. They should have built that station at Mlolongo or Athi river with small scalable stations at Mlolongo, Safaricom Call center, JKIA Resort Club, City Cabanas, GM, Industrial area and finally into Nairobi Railway station. They would then charge their 100bob return with ease.
mazingira
#119 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 1:43:06 PM

Kenyans ...wake up please... thank whoever implemented this thing ... its great and its traffic of the roads ... just keep the stuff clean and maintain quality ... if you drop the prices too much ...vandals and riff raff , pick pockets and hooloigans will be all over the line. This is a pilot project let it suceed and then maybe the msa -- nairobi -- malaba / eloret --- kampala lines ...we need to get the roads clearer and moving and this is the only way. so what if its a little more expensive , what about the toll it takes on you to get to work by road or in a squashed stinking matatu . So what if you stand for 15 minutes ...wake up kenyans and stop cribbing
Blackberry
#120 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 3:27:55 PM

[/quote]

plus free parking! i wish i lived there [/quote]

[/quote]

If you parked your car at JKIA for a whole week would they tell?[/quote]

Yes, the day you pass the gates, even the supermarkets and malls.
[/quote]

Chunga sana. Ati after 10pm all vehicles are towed to Railway yard. wherever that is

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.