wazua Wed, Jun 10, 2026

11 Pages«<45678>»
obsession with "most expensive"
#51 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 10:50:26 AM

hehehehe.

When I grow up I want to be middle class.

LOL @ Pound.

I use Forward Travellers Pray na kuna watu wanadrive, who keep borrowing me money for fuel!! nkt.
chiaroscuro
#52 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 11:17:43 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
the middle class in kenya is obsessed with expensive products and services.

from - hospitals (child birth), car servicing (the monroes and robs), education (the academies), shopping (the nakumatts).

all these are way too expensive and the odd thing is that, there are relatively cheaper alternatives.
these guys know this and price their products / services very high and are making a killing.

Are you sure?

My local kiosk sells milk at Sh40 while I get the same at Sh31 at Nakumatt...or Uchumi or Tuskys

Why would I pay sh1,000 for servicing my car and then sit there for three hours watching the mechanic, just in case he steals the jacket I keep in the boot and to make sure he fits the parts that I buy; while I can pay sh2,000 and leave the car confident that it will be in "one piece" when I get it back - actually, they pick it from my office and bring it back when done!
#53 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 11:40:18 AM

Anyway, as someone said, kila nyani na starehe zake.
sitaki.kujulikana
#54 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 12:39:21 PM

chiaroscuro wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

from - hospitals (child birth), car servicing (the monroes and robs), education (the academies), shopping (the nakumatts).

all these are way too expensive and the odd thing is that, there are relatively cheaper alternatives.
these guys know this and price their products / services very high and are making a killing.

Are you sure?

My local kiosk sells milk at Sh40 while I get the same at Sh31 at Nakumatt...or Uchumi or Tuskys

Why would I pay sh1,000 for servicing my car and then sit there for three hours watching the mechanic, just in case he steals the jacket I keep in the boot and to make sure he fits the parts that I buy; while I can pay sh2,000 and leave the car confident that it will be in "one piece" when I get it back - actually, they pick it from my office and bring it back when done!

then your local kiosk or the mechanic who steals your parts are not the best alternative, are they ?

the point is you should get the best value at the best price affordable - no need servicing your car at 2000 for the sole reason that the garage chareges are more expensive, or buying milk from tuskys at 31 while you can have it delivered to your house at nearly half the cost, just because its a big hyper market.

if those are your best alternatives, then good - "the nakumatts" was just a representation.
MKWASI
#55 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 12:43:36 PM

@elder those are just my thoughts. I could be wrong. I think basically anyone who can afford not to live in the slums but on the hand can't afford to live in Muthaiga, Runda etc is middle class.

Walalalalala..... from previous definitions, i didnt even need to read twice.. nimejiona pap!! kanyumba kakurent, outskirts za Jiji.... JALOPY! ....Jalopy? woishe my humble KA* is indeed a Jalopy

im a spit away from category:poor?
Yaani umaskini iko hapa na hapa na mimi..doesnt take much: just a single glance & i fall into category poor?

lets do this... lets create a special class and lump the Ndegwas & Kenyattas there.. then we split Upperclass into upper and lower.. move current uppermid to upper class & create new group describing lower upper.. kisha everybody else remaining moves a step up.. Hivyo hata mimi nihepe 'one glance behind to poverty'.
Maskini add them more groups eg Hohehahe, hobelahobela...chakari

i know its late, but if we pass my motion above into bill; nobody will lynch us...

Restructuring at best smile smile smile
MKWASI
#56 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 12:50:25 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Are you sure?

then your local kiosk or the mechanic who steals your parts are not the best alternative, are they ?

Best alternative...a mystery!!! Wacha kuwa Mwiraria...Out of curiosity how long does one take to get and evaluate an alternative?? Some of these items are just miscellaneous...Sheer waste of time to think of alternatives!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#57 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 12:54:18 PM

MKWASI wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Are you sure?

Best alternative...a mystery!!! Wacha kuwa Mwiraria...Out of curiosity how long does one take to get and evaluate an alternative?? Some of these items are just miscellaneous...Sheer waste of time to think of alternatives!!

try tell that to a school or hotel owner or a guy with a fleet of taxis
#58 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 12:58:26 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
MKWASI wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Are you sure?

try tell that to a school or hotel owner or a guy with a fleet of taxis

Are we talking about individual Kenyan 'middle class' or school/hotel/taxi fleet owners?
#59 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 1:01:15 PM

MKWASI wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Are you sure?

picking milk and a minor car service, misses the whole point, there are guys who price their products and services way too high because some individuals consider expensive as equaling better.
it does not necessarily mean that when you go for the expensive you get the best value.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, October 09, 2012 1:03:05 PM

MKWASI wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
[quote=sitaki.kujulikana]the middle class in kenya is obsessed with expensive products and services.

Are you sure?

Best alternative...a mystery!!! Wacha kuwa Mwiraria...Out of curiosity how long does one take to get and evaluate an alternative?? Some of these items are just miscellaneous...Sheer waste of time to think of alternatives!![/quote]
Time within which you can actually make more money than you would save evaluating alternatives.
11 Pages«<45678>»