Hmmm... Could the elephant be planning what Vodacom is attempting in SA. I remember Collymore mentioned something like this in a recent BD article.
Vodacom gets a licence to sell insurance -
http://bit.ly/u3mJMK Since CIC is the only micro-insurance firm in KE at the moment does that mean they'd be partnering... Just thinking aloud. If that is the case then CIC should be a hot stock soon!
Quote:Vodacom has secured a licence from the Financial Services Board (FSB) to begin selling insurance products directly to its customers as it seeks to broaden its portfolio and expand its revenue streams in a maturing mobile market.
Vodacom finally lifts lid on insurance play -
http://bit.ly/IVFZRs
Quote:Would you like some insurance with your broadband bundle?
Six months after TechCentral revealed in December 2011 that the company intended to get into the insurance game, Vodacom has finally provided a few details about its plans after it was awarded short- and long-term insurance licences by the Financial Services Board that allow it to underwrite and sell insurance products.
And the mother of all... wait for it...
Quote:In an interview with TechCentral in May, Vodacom Group CEO Pieter Uys said the company might even seek its own banking licence from SA regulators if its M-Pesa mobile payments system takes off in the way it expects it will in the next few years.
So, will the elephant also go the same way i.e. insurance plus banking since Mpesa is already a success in KE unlike in SA where it is just beginning?
Let the debate begin

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!