6 Pages«<456
The truth about 14 seater Matatu phase out
jerry
#51 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 12:24:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
smallfama wrote:
I have always wondered why we cant have a PPP for bus rapid transport system in NBI which is comfortable, reliable and convenient for personal car drivers....see what they did in Bogota, Colombia here http://www.streetfilms.o...s-rapid-transit-bogota/

Then I realize that Kanjo need the parking money to eat.

Mkulima,

Simple answer. Enterprise...

So many small investors (and their employees) would quickly need to find somewhere else to invest. A BRT would kill the Matatu industry in Nairobi quite quickly.

Rem during MOI days there would be all manner of laws targeting the sector - from speed governors etc - which would always be suspended by the president at the last minute? The reality is that Matatus employ all manner of people across the entire country. Any gava killing this industry would soon find itself very unpopular in no time.

Any student of Public Transportation will tell you that successful transit systems can't be modeled along profit making enterprises. All functioning systems, including the Bogota one shown here are heavily subsidized by the state and can't be left to the whims of capitalism. The sooner we realize that the better off we will be. I think HE Kidero has seen the point, but is being weighed back by populist 14 seater proclamations. (14 seaters however do have a place in the transport ecosystem, like the bicycles in Bogota serving a spoke and hub system, but even they have to be owned by the metro council). And truth be told, what value will a cashless system add to the city passenger apart from ensuring that the capitalist pig gets all his returns, thereby fueling more greed?

"which would always be suspended by the president at the last minute?" I really hated Nyayo for that but then I have never liked politicks!

The cashless system has a lot of value to Uhuru as it will end up with a smooth means of ensuring all taxes are paid/remitted.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#52 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 2:13:40 PM

smallfama wrote:
I have always wondered why we cant have a PPP for bus rapid transport system in NBI which is comfortable, reliable and convenient for personal car drivers....see what they did in Bogota, Colombia here http://www.streetfilms.o...s-rapid-transit-bogota/

Then I realize that Kanjo need the parking money to eat.

haiya, sasa all the others who are not personal car drivers can continue with the uncomfortable, unreliable and inconvenient system. Sad
6 Pages«<456