Investor
Economy
CBK MPC Meet!!!
Rank: Bona-fide Joined: 11/2/2011 Posts: 191 Location: Nairobi
hisah wrote:holycow wrote:No change, 18% it is. 18% for 6 months stuck there with supa glue! Meanwhile inflation has been trickling down for 5 months running.
Who's fooling who?
Who's running treasury. Wait for it....
International Mothers & Fathers... Welcome KE to servitude. Hope you enjoy your economic prospects for the year. Wasn't it obvious that it would stick at 18%? BBK reduced its base lending rates let's wait and see whether ROAR or Member will follow suit.. Follow us on Twitter @genghiscapital “Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
hisah wrote:But when CBR is lowered 600bps in one move, just buy stocks even paka?! I have a feeling they will pull this stunt in H2, hold it there for like 3 months,& then.....ofcourse raise it back to 17.999% .By this time some folks will be smiling all the way to the bank. Enough money will have been made for the elections Title of the movie.."Only in Kenya" @SufficientlyP
Rank: Bona-fide Joined: 11/2/2011 Posts: 191 Location: Nairobi
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:hisah wrote:But when CBR is lowered 600bps in one move, just buy stocks even paka?! I have a feeling they will pull this stunt in H2, hold it there for like 3 months,& then.....ofcourse raise it back to 17.999% .By this time some folks will be smiling all the way to the bank. Enough money will have been made for the elections Title of the movie.."Only in Kenya" Follow us on Twitter @genghiscapital “Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” Steve Jobs,iGenius
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/26/2012 Posts: 985 Location: Dar es salaam,Tanzania
“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
GenghisCapitalLtd wrote: BBK reduced its base lending rates let's wait and see whether ROAR or Member will follow suit.. When and by how much? Banks are really feeling the heat of high interest rates. Private sector credit growth is still declining (declined to 24.04% in March 2012 from 26.05% in February 2012)
Rank: Chief Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 6,779 Location: Black Africa
Uganda's central bank cut its key lending rate by 100 basis points to 20 percent on Friday, citing a steady easing of price pressures, and said further cuts would be needed to spur private credit growth and boost output. http://af.reuters.com/ar...s/idAFJOE85008120120601
Will Ndung'u follow suit? GOD BLESS YOUR LIFE
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
Perhaps its time MPC slashes down the CBR by some modest points. Inflation am for the month in May went down to 12.22%, the sixth straight month it is edging closer to single digit level. "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
GGK wrote:Perhaps its time MPC slashes down the CBR by some modest points. Inflation am for the month in May went down to 12.22%, the sixth straight month it is edging closer to single digit level. I think CBK will only slash rates when inflation is single digits.. I think the KES downward spiral has got them a little spooked!! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
these are deep in the woods yaani like deep deep kabisa, they are so roasted. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad!
mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad! Like what?
Rank: Member Joined: 8/17/2011 Posts: 207 Location: humu humu
Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% Yes hold at 18. Very uncertain times these are.. we have to give cbk credit though.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad! Like what? KES, Inflation, Private sector credit growth, current account, energy cost, … … and whats your logic for HOLD @18pc?
mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad! Like what? KES, Inflation, Private sector credit growth, current account, energy cost, … … and whats your logic for HOLD @18pc? To tame inflation mostly. We can resume growth (QE) in Q4 or Q1 2013.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad! Like what? KES, Inflation, Private sector credit growth, current account, energy cost, … … and whats your logic for HOLD @18pc? To tame inflation mostly. We can resume growth (QE) in Q4 or Q1 2013. No use blowing up our economy fundamentaly in the longrun for the sake of short term inflationary growth via sustained monetary expansion.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:mwekez@ji wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:HOLD! @18% ... otherwise things will get elephant, thick, baaaad! Like what? KES, Inflation, Private sector credit growth, current account, energy cost, … … and whats your logic for HOLD @18pc? To tame inflation mostly. We can resume growth (QE) in Q4 or Q1 2013. No use blowing up our economy fundamentaly in the longrun for the sake of short term inflationary growth via sustained monetary expansion. Tru tru
Will CBK cut CBR by 50 or 100bps to test the waters? Trade deficit, KES weakness and inflation are the major barbs for them. If the rate is cut by 200 bps, my EURKES trade would work out very well towards 150/- by Dec 2012. For now 18% will again be maintained. CBK is stuck between a rock and a hard place. Tough choices for the economy to stay afloat... $15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2010 Posts: 2,221 Location: Sundowner,Amboseli
Borrowers holding their breathe for QE, savers would only which for the opposite! Currently a savers market! @SufficientlyP
Investor
Economy
CBK MPC Meet!!!