jasonhill wrote:@Drunkard: http://money.cnn.com/201...worth.fortune/index.htm
http://www.usatoday.com/...5-cnbc-ivy-league_N.htm
You have a Stanford graduate degree, right? Right? Maybe you can also CITE some articles to back up what you are saying. To give you once little ounce of credit, however, yes, Goldman prefers looking at Ivy League, but again, that guarantees nothing, and is a preference. And most GS employees did not go to an Ivy League school. What they don't tell you is that the IL employees that they do have are mostly already connected before they even went to secondary school. Old money... it's the same around the world. Best, Hill I don't have to prove anything about myself, you don't even know where I work and what I do, we're not taking about me, we're talking about you, you're the one advicing people here not me, you're the one hiring people not me, you're the one who said your a former JP vice president not me, you're the one who is so American that he has lost his last name not me, I am just drunkard who happen to have been to some fancy schools and don't care much about it, what I care about now is exposing how fake you're.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Drunkard wrote:jasonhill wrote:@Drunkard: http://money.cnn.com/201...worth.fortune/index.htm
http://www.usatoday.com/...5-cnbc-ivy-league_N.htm
You have a Stanford graduate degree, right? Right? Maybe you can also CITE some articles to back up what you are saying. To give you once little ounce of credit, however, yes, Goldman prefers looking at Ivy League, but again, that guarantees nothing, and is a preference. And most GS employees did not go to an Ivy League school. What they don't tell you is that the IL employees that they do have are mostly already connected before they even went to secondary school. Old money... it's the same around the world. Best, Hill I don't have to prove anything about myself, you don't even know where I work and what I do, we're not taking about me, we're talking about you, you're the one advicing people here not me, you're the one hiring people not me, you're the one who said your a former JP vice president not me, you're the one who is so American that he has lost his last name not me, I am just drunkard who happen to have been to some fancy schools and don't care much about it, what I care about now is exposing how fake you're. You've made me feel like Barack Obama, in that it seems that you are demanding my birth certificate!  Would that and a JP paystub/pay advice please you? Best, Hill
Wazua meets mashada..... Ehhh kumbe diaspora earn pesa kama ujinga. Wacha I take my 50K salo (Kenya shillings that is) away from this thread.
Nabwire wrote:Thanks for your input Accel. I dont think I explained myself well, I am already in the US pursuing my undergrad, so going back to Kenya, finishing the undergrad and coming back to the US is out of the question. Thats the reason why i'm at a crossroads, if I leave the US, I dont plan on coming back for school, anyone who has schooled in the US knows how tough life is for a student. Thats why I will either finish my schooling, get a good job then eventually head back to Kenya, or just head back to Kenya without the diploma, those are the choices on the table. About Goldman, I thrive under pressure, I dont think they can put me through more stress than I have already been through as a student. Plus worst case scenario, if I burn out, I still would have Goldman freaking Sachs on my resume, its a win win!!! Thanks but im not changing my major, Finance all the way. That is not what I was suggesting Nabwire. All I was saying is that there are many ways of achieving what you want. What I am against is incurring huge debts in the process. See link below http://www.nic-bank.com/...te/About-NIC/Management - the finance director is 32 yrs old. Look at his profile and what he has done to get where he is. In my estimation, this guy does not need to go to Goldman Sachs or JP Morgan as he is on his way to becoming the MD of a leading bank way before his 40th birthday. I have known the guy since 1998. His resolve to go to Harvard was obvious and he never showed any outward signs of struggling to get financing. I have no doubt that if you have the innate qualities to succeed in your preferred career choices, you will find it very easy to get the funding to attend whichever school you desire to attend. From the look of responses on this forum, you are researching in the wrong place. I would suggest that you get a very high GPA, get internship in GS, JPM, Citibank or any other top financial services company. Impress during the internship and while there apply to get into the top 5 business schools. A good undergrad research project coupled with internship at some of the bigger companies could go some way into getting you an MBA place in the top schools. Option 2. Score at least 750 in the GMAT and apply for a place in your preferred school. If you come back here with questions on how to get financing, I will start thinking that you are not cut for the kind of challenge you are pursuing. And btw Nabwire, I am supremely qualified to dispense this kind of advice having experienced the corporate world in both sides of the globe.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick 
quicksand wrote:@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick  I graduated in 2000. He graduated in 2001 and immediately joined PWC. I could be off my max 1 year which would make him 33. His career profile is typical of someone who is in a hurry (Tom Mboya was the other Kenyan described as a man in a hurry. Note his 3 job changes in Barclays. About the masters degrees, it would seem that he did 2 in 3 years. See more details on Linkedin http://www.linkedin.com/...fps_PBCK_joseph+mutugu_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*1_*2_*1_Y_*1_*1_*1_false_1_R_true_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2_*2&pvs=ps&trk=pp_profile_name_link
quicksand wrote:@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick  If this is true then the guy has been running through life while the rest are walking. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
M.Sc. in Financial Economics (OXFORD) This is a one-year taught graduate degree course that provides training in the tools of financial economics sought by financial institutions, companies and public organisations. It combines a rigorous academic core with tailored practical application, designed in consultation with leading financial recruiters. Our students are placed within top investmment banks, financial consultancies, and government finance ministries. This course combines: The intellectual rigour of a graduate programme with the delivery of a business school. Thorough grounding in economics with practical applications to finance. Quantitative training in finance with sound theoretical principles. A global alumni network and a first-rate careers service. Collegiate structure within one of the world’s great universities. A state-of-the-art business school within an ancient university. This course is run jointly with the Saïd Business School. More information can be found on the course webpage. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
bkismat wrote:quicksand wrote:@accelriskconsult: 32? Is it a typo cause it does not add up. You typically finish a bachelors at 23 or 22. How did he do a Masters at Oxford, another Masters from Harvard and squeeze in 8 years working experience with PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Deloitte Consulting and Barclays Bank of Kenya? Must be a genius or older than 32. I am feeling woefully inadequate by this yardstick  If this is true then the guy has been running through life while the rest are walking. Look at the link given above and let me know what you think. And btw James Mworia, MD Centum also has some impressive credentials garnered over a very short time period.
Gentlemen please lets put egos aside, no one has to prove anything. This post is about what choices to make a) go back to Kenya without a degree b) get a degree by paying through the nose Please note that I am not interested in going to a State, I have worked way to hard to end up being mediocre, I know im biased but thats how I feel. No matter how many articles are written, its a fact that an Ivy league takes you further in life, period!! Please show me a Warren Buffet, a Bill Gates, a Barack Obama who went to State and made it big? Do you think Obama would have made it to Presidency if he didnt have Harvard and Columbia under his belt? Do you think the people who make the world go round would have looked at him twice with a State? Lets get past Ivy league is not important, because it is!!! And there are holes in the 2nd link that Hill posted, showing that an Ivy really is important
From an undergraduate perspective, the primary advantage of Harvard or Yale is the connections that college creates between the students and their peers," Eberman explains. "Those connections can be quite valuable over time when it comes to jobs and salaries."
Please note that most Ivy Leaguers are more interested in starting their own businesses, yes you also want to be employed but it will not be a lifelong endeavour. Thats why the Alumni network is important. And plus, all the top people at GS, JP, Citi etc etc I can bet are Ivy, I am willing to bet my left kidney for that. So the salary comparisons are maybe at a Junior level, but at the senior level there is no comparison, I stand corrected.