Stupid university of nairobi boy
#51 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 12:57:14 PM

Elder wrote:
bkismat wrote:
sanity wrote:
Sober wrote:
not buying, if they are bright then. why didnt they pass and go through JAB? this is exemption to public universities that dont have such schemes.

This thinking is too pedestrian for a university graduate...these programmes gave an opportunity to those who may have missed JAB admission for whatever reasons...

The main reason for missing JAB is missing the cut off. It is as simple as that.

True. But I know of two students who went module II because they did not want to `waste` their gap year. Having said that most students if they meet JAB requirements for the degrees of their choices don`t go module II. And apart from the two above all module II I know missed out on the JAB admission.

@Elder,
It is very clear when you join module 2 so as not to time, at THE you are allowed to become a regular student when in 2nd year of your study bora you qualified for that course in the 1st place!!!!!

that is less than 2% university population. very few do that because of saving a year. if you are to practice for 50 years what will saving one year help. Nothing!
#52 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 12:57:30 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
Sober wrote:
not buying, if they are bright then. why didnt they pass and go through JAB? this is exemption to public universities that dont have such schemes.

we don't fail exams because we are brainless...there are many other factors...

just tell me why isn't every graduate that has gone through the university education and admitted through JAB,not having a Phd qualification

cos nature or the system has a way of sieving. what is also called merit..
so there are drop outs in class 4,5,6,7,8 others procees to form 1 where merit plays again.. others drop out at form 2,3,4 after that.. merit is called in again. this time its called JAB...later others do post grad, phd, proffs..

UMEWAHI SIKIA MODULE II ya professorship???

Now tell me Kaiganjo.. what does brains have to do with 500K per year to do medics.. alot of poor fellas are left behind..

Module two is a way of universities struggling to keep afloat at the expense of the rich(need their money) and the brained (who are locked out to create room for the wealthy)...

anyway not to be hard on module 11 students..i know most of the brains that leave O-levels with B and above can actually do those competitive courses.. its the capacity at our universities that stop them, there fore the 'merit system'... but module 11 only favours the rich. Forgeting the unlucky villager who fell sick or lacked exam fees, and got a C- instead of his A

thanx pound...now explain that to sober and any other member who feels that module ii is for the brainless rich...
#53 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 12:58:53 PM

The problem with public uni JAB students is they have extreme feelings of self importance. They feel powerful.

cos you are module two ama?

No I was a JAB student at UoN, but i never stoned motorists!

....your initial point???....bold in red above!!!!!

Impunity at its best; talking in third person.
#54 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 1:19:20 PM

@Elder is a very youngman, 23 utmost!
The devil is in the detail, the detail is in the signature.
From ROTTEN.COM to things and ow to someone throwing a youthful jive!

#55 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 1:54:42 PM

@Elder,
It is very clear when you join module 2 so as not to time, at THE you are allowed to become a regular student when in 2nd year of your study bora you qualified for that course in the 1st place!!!!!

Did not know that was possible.

On the murdered watchmen (putting on my Wazuan conspiracy hat) any chance that they saw one Keino meet her end some time back and they are now conveniently out of the way?
#56 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 2:32:03 PM

StatMeister wrote:
Considering a PHd in Kenya costs 21+ years in school (24+ if you include baby class, pre-unit & nursery), then education is as much a measure of patience, opportunity and money as it is of sharpness

21 years from primary to Phd in Kenya? Are you kidding me? You obviously haven't been anywhere near UON.

Primary to First degree - 8 + 4 + 4 (Or more) = 16 years (excluding baby class, pre-unit & nursery). From your assertion, that leaves 21 - 16 = 5 years. 5 years to do both masters and Phd? Not likely.

I know there are some universities that are desperate enough to be seen graduating masters and Phd. students and are willing to cut corners, but at a place like UON, they can't allow that to happen.

If you want to do a masters and a Phd at UON - especially in a technical field - and 5 years is all the time you have budgeted, you will be one disappointed son of a gun. It takes some people 7 yrs+ to clear their Phds. Enda kwa graud uone maneno.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 3:24:31 PM

What im most worried about is Uiversities losing their identity...

sasa can i ever approach a lawyer from KU, or a doc from JKUAT..

they should focus on what they traditionally are good at

Engineers from JKUAT
Docs and Liers.... sorry lawyers from UoN
Finance and arts from KU
Agriculturalist from Egerton

etc etc.. hii maneno ya everybody teaching everything is BOGUS
tmatekwa
#58 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 3:29:39 PM

Dr. murenj was right in his last post. UNDERGRADUATE S ONLY KNOW LYNCHING AS THE BEST PROBLEM SOLVING TECHNIQUE
Ms Mkenya
#59 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 8:27:43 PM

Sober wrote:

How wrong can you be? I personally passed well but was picked to do sthg i never liked. So i did a diploma of my choice, got a job then went to do my choice of a program under module 2. Pls note i acquired more than the required marks for the program i eventually took but JAB would not change it!
....above all, to stand.
#60 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 11:00:03 PM

Uwongo mwache! This commercialization of education is the worst thing that was introduced in Kenya. I don't intend to say that Module II (or Parrallel or self sponsored or etc) should not be given a chance to study, all i want to say is that the rich in Kenya are taking advantage of this.

It is wrong to call module II (or whatever) 'buying' of degree, yet we who have studied in public universities have seen USELESS JAB students graduating with passes, while the non-JAB, graduate with 2nd Class upper or even better (only in Arts, never in Engineering).

All in all, in the Kenyan laws, A c+ is enough, for you to study a Degree. KWELI AU RONGO?

7 Pages«<4567>