wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

11 Pages«<45678>»
Pre-University NYS Veterans Corner
#101 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 3:51:10 PM

....also waiting!!!!!!
#102 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 4:28:54 PM

.... Kagizzard.... Kwani umesahau? We are waiting boss!
Mpenzi
#103 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 4:31:18 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
@ mpenzi,

looks like you were not in the last lot...wendz is right...

this is what happened,

after the passing out parade the pre-uni kamneiz were advised that they would represent the university community in the first nyayo era (actually error) celebrations which were to be held on 1/10/1988 in Nyayo stadium...it was an occassion which was going to have so many groups and organisations represented in a grand march along with the military...

The last lot to NYS went in 1989 (ie Form 6, 1988).

But I agree that the chaos that happened were in relation to Nyayo Era celebrations in 1988.
#104 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 4:33:27 PM

and waiting........

ama unaandika 1st draft for review before posting it here?
gohill
#105 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 5:22:01 PM

Hii kaigangio BK. I've been waiting for that continuation mpaka i had to go. Enjoy ur wkend guys.
Wakanyugi
#106 Posted : Friday, April 01, 2011 8:30:52 PM

This thread brings back memories:

Recently I was chatting with an NYS security guy at a certain Ministry and I asked him what happened to the 'Nyawira' (green foliage cap). Apparently it got retired, as did the shovel. They dress very well now.

The first thing I recall was being told what the letters NYS on the front and back stood for 'Nongwe Ya Serikali' 'Ndani Ya Seng'enge.'

I was in Chatu company, known as the crooks barrack, yaani the guys who came late, or almost didn't show up. We didn't really care what they could to us. But somehow we ended up becoming very good friends with our Afandes. Including Afande Musyoki, who used to wake us up by yelling 'Askari up!!!! Mutalamba Kioko nawambia. Sikufichi!"

Here is a test: Who used to say this (usually during those visiting lecturer events):

"Haya kaeni Chini. Toa kichwa, kofia ipate hewa!!"

By the way I never figured out why we were sent to NYS, it seemed like such a waste. If anybody ever does let me know.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Tommy
#107 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 6:39:48 AM

@kangangio, i am also waiting.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Prime
#108 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 10:57:59 AM

Tommy wrote:
@kangangio, i am also waiting.

We are many here!
#109 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 11:29:53 AM

Since now I get what our gukaz are talking about , Our pastor who passed the NYS Once told us that they used to eat lots of Njugu karangas to test if the 'microphone' was in operation.

He told us the cold in Gilgil was so much that , 'microphone ' inapotea au inashrink to negligible size .
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
innairobi
#110 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 11:32:33 AM

Hii Kaigangio ni bure kabisa. We are waiting for this story.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#111 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 12:00:33 PM

Just passed by the old gate of Tumaini NYS camp along the new Ol-Kalou-Lanet road and i think i saw the ghost of that evil old man, Gen China (Waruhiu Itoote).
phantom
#112 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 4:10:29 PM

mukiha wrote:
Mwende wrote:
av heard lot of storoz about that place...why was it scrapped again? we should have been given a chance too...

It was never "scrapped"; it died away quietly when the first 8-4-4 lot finished form 4.

I never went there; I found a way around it.... long story.... but I know a guy who drunk two bottles of chili-sauce and did 50 push-ups then went to the nurse. She diagnosed elevated temperature, high blood pressure and high heart rate. They guy was "acquitted" on health grounds and allowed to go home immediately.

He thinks he managed to cheat the system; but I think they were afraid of what he might do next... perhaps the acquittal was on psychological considerations - the guy deemed suicidal.

ha ha ha i believe that's you @mukiha
Your boss's job is to give you a job. Its your job to make yourself rich
Tommy
#113 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 5:31:36 PM

sasa kagangio ana bow(ama ni arrow) why this suspense. ABK
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#114 Posted : Saturday, April 02, 2011 7:38:47 PM

Just passed by the old gate of Tumaini NYS camp along the new Ol-Kalou-Lanet road and i think i saw the ghost of that evil old man, Gen China (Waruhiu Itoote).

he was evil? Tell us more, and dont keep us waiting like Mr emondo
#115 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 5:53:54 PM

sorry wazuas i am back...here we go...

....for those of us who were at the main gate, we already had an edge that never was as we had already captured three enemies...the prison/cells guards...they could not offer even the smallest level of information as they had no prior knowledge of what was happening...the main gate was securely locked and the guards did not have the keys except for the cells..the high fence was a sure containment measure. There was no way therefore one could leave the camp through the gate or over the fence...

elsewhere (on the extreme eastern and western side of the camp), the only other outlets from the camp were staff houses for the non-uniformed staff...these areas were a no go zone as they were heavily guarded by the enemy as they were the custodians...

on the north western side of the camp was KA, ammunition grounds...this was a fertile ground for one to have his or her head blown off first without a second thought, so nobody would risk...it would be less riskier dealing with the regulars and ncios than dealing with the mad army personnel near or around the ammunition battalion...

the north eastern side of the camp was a much bigger pass but required no heavy guarding...why? this was the playfield for the anti-stock theft unit squads and presented a very risky ground...

the combat soldiers from both sides knew these facts far too well, and as such we either fought to death or made peace...we chose the former...

A strategy had to be formulated very first as we did not know what the enemy at the sewage treatment pods were doing and where they would attack first... at the gate there was about 250 pre-uni. Colleagues singing the war cries and showing how brave we were...

a couple of them were dispatched to go and warn the other colleagues who were in the barracks at the time and instruct them either to join the combatants or get out of those barracks and run for their safety....a couple of them decided to join the combatants, but chose the areas near the drill grounds as their main operation base...

that accomplished, another bunch of guys were dispatched to go to the ladies barracks with instructions to get them out and have them go to the fenceline facing the ammunition grounds...this was safer for them than anywhere else in the camp...

This last action or command came a little too late for when we started advancing towards the drill ground to join our other colleagues for full combat, and just before the messengers to the ladies barracks disappeared into nearby thickets around a bushy path near the cells, that is when it happened....

Mpenzi
#116 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 8:51:02 PM

@ Kaigangio, clearly you are enjoying keeping guys in suspense. Btw have ever considered writing a novel?
story teller
#117 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 8:52:26 PM

This last action or command came a little too late for when we started advancing towards the drill ground to join our other colleagues for full combat, and just before the messengers to the ladies barracks disappeared into nearby thickets around a bushy path near the cells, that is when it happened....

@kaigangio, keep on going...but people be warned, the worst part is yet to come...i don't think i can ever forgive those nys/antistock guys for what they did.Every time i think about it,i get nightmares.
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
Tommy
#118 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 8:59:16 PM

what an orator
For Sport
#119 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 9:14:02 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
sorry wazuas i am back...here we go...

that is when it happened....

ehe? we're dying here
story teller
#120 Posted : Sunday, April 03, 2011 9:17:50 PM

When i hear pple constantly complain about Kibaki,i get the feeling that they don't know how far we have come from the Moi "error". The actions taken on that fateful day changed the lives of hundreds of very innocent university students for ever..and as usual, it was all hushed up like nothing happened, the greatest violation of human rights abuses ever visited on us.

@Kaigangio, please continue..
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.