wazua Thu, May 7, 2026

21 Pages«<34567>»
Memories are made of this
#41 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 2:55:00 PM

my ribs still achin with laughter.. cannot forget the school parade where 'fees' defaulters would loudly be called out with the teacher stoppin every now and then after a particular name ' wewe kwanja mama yako aliniambia ataleta pesa last term. iko wapi?' woe unto you if it happened to be a 'milkl' day n you were on the list. there were also those paros who would pack their kids plain ugali to be accompanied by the expexted 'nyayo milk. then at lunch time mnasikia 'kifunguo ya store haipatikani' the frustration..
#42 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 2:59:00 PM

@Mpenzi

Its true and he was called Ndegwa so we started calling him Ndegwa-ngurwe.... then it had ingianad (you feel the flow of the word...its like a someone's real name) so nicely we got so used like it was his name.... so one time,one boy went to ask for permission and he said 'Excuse me Mr. Ndegwa-ngurwe...... ' need i elaborate what happened after that??? we just saw his shirt,sweater,socks flying all over!!!!

By the way,were you guys nick-naming your teachers? We used to be notorious!!! Ok. the boys,let me say.

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
254.co.ke
#43 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 3:00:00 PM

Also there was this kid game,where 2 or more could pinch on each other half-clenched fist. Went like this...ngunyiri mara eh twakunyaneire eh kunyukia kabia ku nyu! Whatever that meant,i donno mpaka leo. And who remember how we used to know who amongst the spoilt kid has farted?
Marty
#44 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 3:07:00 PM

talk of farting and u remind me of some crazy lady teacher in primo. Whenever she could smell fart,she'd tell us to go and nusa each other outside and return having identified the culprit. Woe unto the culprit....6 of the best...

..wise as a serpent,humble as a dove
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Feish
#45 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 4:33:00 PM

and the 'Monitor' Haki there was this lady who really hated me and you know there are those words i dint know either in english or swahili. immediately the word comes out of my mouth she would give me the 'Monitor' or tell the person who had it to give me. To know how it went on the duty master would ask who had the thing in the morning.... Then who did you give. the chain would go on like that and it would appear i had the 'monitor' like 5 times a day. you can imagin the punishment i would get

life is an endless adventure
nyangao
#46 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 9:15:00 PM

There was this game boys played called mute wa arume,where u had to have a piece of timber o'wise u'd receive a beatin from the others.now when other ihii were introducin the game to me,i quickly got in not knowin what it was all about. The moment we crossed the little finger(sign signifyin tat the game had commenced) i was lashed with thafai (a plant that causes itchin on contact) at the back side of the knees (very sensitive) i was unable to touch that area for a day n boys who did tat to me got a thorough thrashin on their behind after kuwastaki kwa 'mami'. There is this kitendawili 'thafuria hohojeku' answer being 'itina ria athuri' which we shouted when a male passed by n one of us could conveniently shout the answer (quite a safe distance from whe passer by

hey
Shotgun
#47 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 10:02:00 PM

Hehehehe. You guys cracking me up!

Rem a few memories in my childhood when we had to go kuriithia (kuchunga ngombe) the whole day and were given packed lunch in the famous Kimbo plastic so that we don&rsquo;t have to go back home before dusk&hellip;.. The food didn&rsquo;t last 2 hours&hellip; by 11am it was all gone. Now the hustle was to get food at lunch hour where all weird ways of getting food were put into action&hellip;. From stealing sugarcane from peoples farms,scavenging for reject breads (used to call them jakurus) in a nearby bakery to even beba-ing some mkebe with moto ( I think used to be called Kibuu or something) to roast stolen maize&hellip;.

Good old days.
#48 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2009 10:24:00 PM

Wa! Most hilarious in the recent past! Wendz naona thoz cows were ua worst nightmare gosh! @nyangao u must hav been very naughty,bt hunishindi. On satoz we used to go fetch water,all village kidz. There waz a big forest we would start with,playing with 'theru'(monkeys). Next we ride on the vibuyus 4lyk 4hrs till they all toboka. Njaa? We go to the chania valley,uproot ngwace n nduma n escort with roasted MOLES! The kamzee who used to trap the moles (RIP) used to find all his traps uprooted by us as we searched 4the delicacy. Afte swim in the chania. Jioni no water,si vibuyu had tobokad asubuhi! Viboko.

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
Jacy26
#49 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2009 5:33:00 AM

Wow,this thread is the most hilarious of them all. Seems like we all have the same kind of history,mostly from the village. What will happen to our kids now?

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
Jacy26
#50 Posted : Friday, March 13, 2009 5:34:00 AM

Wow,this thread is the most hilarious of them all. Seems like we all have the same kind of history,mostly from the village. What will happen to our kids now?

I will praise thee,O Lord my God,with all my heart: And I will glorify thy name forever more. Psalms 86:12
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
21 Pages«<34567>»