wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

15 Pages«<34567>»
Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake
yekeyeke
#81 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 7:05:35 PM

Kinyash

Well put. I could not agree more. I trust that Mukiha and waithaka and other wazua clones of the same kind have read your lost...

But like the Nyayo era grabers, they will not accept that the expansion and construction of these roads was a good thing....

Its a very sad day for kenya in deed.
msotoville
#82 Posted : Monday, July 19, 2010 7:14:15 PM

kinyash wrote:
....The Eastern by-pass is going to divert a lot of traffic from Thika Road. They have done very good progress except the three bridges in between Ruiru and Kangundo Road. The fly-over Kangundo Road is progressing well. Most of the flower farms delivering flowers to the airport are now using this bypass and anyone heading to the airport. The government needs now to work on the southern By-pass and the journey to the city will reduce in terms of time.

@Kinyash.

Going by @yekeyeke's report, 9% of the traffic into town is via private vehicles while 49% is via public transport.

Trucks from the flower farms constitute the paltry 9% - fact is if you are bila ride, you still connect to M-Rd via the CBD, the resultant effect being (you guessed it) JAM.

I'm still lost on where thou dost derive-eth the justification to lay down a friggin fortune in tarmac which only caters for a fraction of the problem (9%).
So nice that its nasty, so bangin' its busting,
So slick that its sick, so dope its disgusting!
kinyash
#83 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 10:11:49 AM

The bypass joins Outering at Airport North Road and continues to City Cabanus where it joins Msa Road. The construction towards Mombasa Road stopped somewhere in the Embakasi Garisson. I understand there are still some issues to be sorted on where it should pass. In it's original design, part of KQ's Pride Center land will be affected i.e.a borehole, the current gate and part of the parking. But they seem to have started some activities from the junction of Embakasi village/north Airport road i.e.the corner where Tuskys are putting up a shopping mall. It will be a dual carriage to Msa Road from that junction or 5 KM from Msa road. This will definitely ease a lot of traffic that comes to town and have no business there. You can imagine when coming from Thika and going to the airport we don't have to get into the city.
sheep
#84 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 10:39:21 AM

There is news of thika road stalling due to gok and world bank wrangles.

We waited so long for the Mombasa road promised "8 lane superhighway" They did massive excavations and we believed the hype...what they have built is a joke...up to now they havent completed 8 yrs and counting....

lets wait for vision 2130.

The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#85 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 11:32:12 AM

yekeyeke wrote:
Kinyash

Well put. I could not agree more. I trust that Mukiha and waithaka and other wazua clones of the same kind have read your lost...

But like the Nyayo era grabers, they will not accept that the expansion and construction of these roads was a good thing....

Its a very sad day for kenya in deed.

Surely, @yekeyeke, you cannot compare me to Nyayo "Error" grabbers.

As I suggested earlier; let's discuss issues without resorting to insults.

I demand an apology.
yekeyeke
#86 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 12:33:43 PM

Mukiha.

Hakuna Appology. Like that Nyeri guy (you know who) Kubali makosa iko.
#87 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 12:51:55 PM

yekeyeke wrote:
Mukiha.

Hakuna Appology. Like that Nyeri guy (you know who) Kubali makosa iko.

I am not asking you to apologise for the views you hold about the road construction.

I want an apology for likening me to a nyayo era grabber. That was uncalled for.
Kamaa
#88 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 12:56:27 PM

na hii yekeyeke ni nani...?
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
yekeyeke
#89 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 12:58:03 PM

@ Mukiha
Okay. Hiyo ya grabbing ni makosa. Appologies are in order.
yekeyeke
#90 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 1:10:28 PM

@Kamaa

Yekeyeke ni mimi tu. Hakuna Mwingine popote.
Blackout
#91 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 2:11:07 PM

am new here, but if u ask for my 2 cents...I think we dont have a choice with this mistake in our hands- Thika Rd expansion? Or do we? I dont think so.....
but I surely hope all will turn out well
whynow
#92 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 2:37:18 PM

Someone please explain why Machakos turnoff-Rironi bound vehicles will pay toll charges once the new roads are complete yet all other new roads are toll-free. Dont those guys also pay taxes.
callaspade
#93 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 5:19:37 PM

...you cannot bring in mombasa road into the equation before you understand how it is/was meant to work .
...the diversion at St James hospital comes out through langata road into ngong forest out to the karen dagoretti(KICHINJIO) THEN off the turning before Alliance(which takes you to mau mahiu road) or better continue to the bypass near Kikuyu.
....still on mombasa road,there is meant to be an overpass from bunyala landing near chiromo.this is the road above uhuru highway that goes to the interchange past musuem hill ....which was being discussed yesterday in the business daily(russian connection).
...you do not need to expand the roads within the city to ease jams.all this roads just need links and are eventually linked to Thika road.simple

msotoville
#94 Posted : Tuesday, July 20, 2010 11:24:15 PM

The links will help @callaspade.

But I think unless you address the mad rush to/from the city between 6-10am and 5-8pm, even if we expand Thika Road in layers, wacha hiyo lanes, ni bure tu!

I refer (yet again) to @yeke's report...
By 2007, there were 23 cars to every 1000 peeps.

Nbi's population had ballooned to 6.76 milli by 2005.

42% ride/walk to work, 49% take a mathree/train while 9% drive to work. 12,000 matatus account for 82% of all commuters barreling back and forth between mtaas and CBD.
2 COMMUTER TRAINS OPERATE IN THE MORNING AND EVENING (1 TRIP EACH) AND ACCOUNT FOR 1.5% OF ALL COMMUTER TRAFFIC.

Here, the appraisal admits the 14/25 seater matatus are both unreliable, chaotic and fatal and further recommends Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) and Light Rail Transit (LRT) as the ULTIMATE solution.

Methinks this report admits shingo upande that the expansion of Thika Road is a stop-gap measure.

Imagine, a temporary solution with 67 billion KES price tag? Duh!....What a bright idea!
mozenrat
#95 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 9:41:12 AM

The mad rush is being addressed by companies moving out of the CBD (albeit for a different reason - parking). What is now required of the Govt is to get rid of these points of confluence by creating links to the outskirts that do not require drivers to pass through the city i.e. bypasses...

Thousands of people working on Mombasa Road come from Thika road side and all have to drive through the city, ditto Waiyaki Way... If we got rid of these bottlenecks, we wouldn't even need to expand the highways as much...
Horton
#96 Posted : Wednesday, July 21, 2010 10:27:12 AM

Your missing the point. The road is not merely for thika. It connects to the northern corridor
msotoville
#97 Posted : Friday, August 06, 2010 6:24:02 PM

mozenrat wrote:
The mad rush is being addressed by companies moving out of the CBD (albeit for a different reason - parking). What is now required of the Govt is to get rid of these points of confluence by creating links to the outskirts that do not require drivers to pass through the city i.e. bypasses...

Thousands of people working on Mombasa Road come from Thika road side and all have to drive through the city, ditto Waiyaki Way... If we got rid of these bottlenecks, we wouldn't even need to expand the highways as much...

Dude,

Those companies moving out of the CBD's will de-congest the CBD. Lakini, for commuters using public transport (and trust me, they are a dime a dozen), they'll still have to connect via CBD. These unfortunate souls account for 49% of the problem. The lucky cheps with rides who can happily bypass the mess constitute a paltry 9%.

subzero
#98 Posted : Friday, October 08, 2010 5:14:12 PM

i see most guys agree with this post that was discussed sometime last year .

http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=1605
mozenrat
#99 Posted : Friday, October 08, 2010 9:45:26 PM

msotoville wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

Dude,

Those companies moving out of the CBD's will de-congest the CBD. Lakini, for commuters using public transport (and trust me, they are a dime a dozen), they'll still have to connect via CBD. These unfortunate souls account for 49% of the problem. The lucky cheps with rides who can happily bypass the mess constitute a paltry 9%.

Dude/dudette..

How can you quote me and fail to see that you've just repeated what I've written in the second paragraph???
msotoville
#100 Posted : Saturday, October 09, 2010 8:29:42 PM

@ Monzerat

Dude/dudette..

How can you quote me and fail to see that you've just repeated what I've written in the second paragraph???

Boss/Madam,

The second para, you refer to the "my car" clique who, courtesy of the frenzied construction blossoming all over, have options up the wazoo.

I refer to commuters dependent on public transport who are not so well endowed with options.

And if the perennial jams at Yaya/Ngong Road/M-Road/Westie are anything to go by, Businesses who hightailed it to the burbs are just compounding the problem.