Investor
Economy
Safaricom should sue CCK..period.
why are you guys still on this topic, YOU ALL SUCK, why are you talking about this stuff anyway LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
NO NO NO - this is outrageous! Not only should Safaricom sue, shareholders should consider suing Nkt!
@Jaguar, thanks for the link. I was there earlier though and they had only uploaded the first one, not the more draconian ones. How can they even dare mention the name of EU & US legislation, such bias can only exist in a third world country.
What CCK has done in the Tarrif Regulations 2010 is define a class of service called regulated service that denote all services rendered by a monopoly (irregardless of whether abuse of monopoly has occured) and then they RUN THEM FROM CCK - CCK requires notice, CCK can set the tarrif, CCK approves it, etc - AND ONLY FOR ONE PLAYER
Shame shame shame I can't believe they can even claim, in the purpose and object, to protect interests of investors, or provide market incentives, or promote fair competition?
In fact I guarantee this legislation will eliminate genuine competition, reduce shareholder value, destroy employment, and affect the profits of wider Safaricom partners - Bure Kabisa!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
Guys supporting this rules are crazy!You have 4 options and yet you want to complain & complain about one.Nyinyi ni kama those wazees who get into a crunked matatu & complain about the music! Lets face it, Kencell started out same time as Safaricom and in fact had more subscribers.While they were busy re-branding Safaricom was busy developing & testing mpesa.Right now, as Safaricom is selling Bambanet modems, Orange still wants you to buy a headset kama ya ofisi to connect to the internet!And you wanna complain??Whose fault is it that they cant market their services as well as Safcom?Even if the price of YU came to 1sh,would you move there with no Mpesa?Price is irrelevant now.People are after service....applicable services. This is a dangerous precedence.When KDN was digging fiber all over Kenya 2yrs ago, all ISPs were beefing up their Vsat equipment etc.Now KDN carries over 70% of Kenya's internet traffic.Will they be clamped too? The real monopolies are KPLC,Kengen,Oil Cartels etc.We should not waste time clamping down on the biggest employer & taxpayer with no proof of monopolistic tendencies. Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
@Mlefu and Djin: The history of mobile telephony in Kenya is well documented, the innovations of Safcom in the Kenya market are well documented, that the growth of Safaricom has been phenomenal is not in doubt. so is Safcom's contribution to general economic growth.
When all is said and done the competitors are left envious of Safaricom. The contribution. I feel this company should be protected! About quality I feel this forum cannot pass a more fair verdict than the 17m subscribers.
Whereas Zain/Celtel/Kencell is a speculation shop, Safcom is seriously innovative and creative, Telkom entered the market knowing too well the task ahead was monumental.
Fast forward, Telkom Kenya (Orange) claim they were duped by GoK, then GoK through CCK wants to placate this complaint by "leveling the playground" whereas Safaricom had an almost 10 year head start.
If there are specific cases where Safaricaom has abused its dominant position in the market, these should be laid bare for all to see. For instance Microsoft bundled its browser with the OS. This was seen as anti competition. Windows being the dominant OS, thus locked out browser vendors from the market. Where is the proof of abuse of dominance?????
Jaguar wrote:"absolutely against clause requiring 90 days tarrif change approval/notice for dominant player"....this applies to all operators....... Jaguar you quoted the regulations stating that..... "7. (1) A licensee who wishes to review the tariffs for a regulated service shall file an application for approval of the review with the Commission in the prescribed manner, at least ninety days before the proposed review is intended to come into effect"Jaguar you are wrong. Read the definition of 'regulated services' and you will see the requirement for 90 days notice before review of tariffs applies only to dominant player: “regulated services” means a service offered or supplied by a licensee—
(a) in a market or market segment that is uncompetitive or
(b) where the licensee has been declared dominant in the relevant market or market segment;
“uncompetitive market” means market or market segment in which there is no competition in the provision of service or in which consumer choice of service provider or service is either absent, limited, impeded, obstructed or constrained.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/7/2007 Posts: 263 Location: humu humu
@all, no one is asking people to move from safariCON. All we need is lowest interconnection charges or zero interconnection charges. SafCON can keep its millions of subscribers and keep adding more, and charge its customers whatever charges they want. Lower interconnection charges is going to happen no matter how much noise safCON or its die hard fans make
Jaguar wrote:@all, no one is asking people to move from safariCON. All we need is lowest interconnection charges or zero interconnection charges. SafCON can keep its millions of subscribers and keep adding more, and charge its customers whatever charges they want. Lower interconnection charges is going to happen no matter how much noise safCON or its die hard fans make @Jaguar, I trust you can be objective, whether you are party to YU or not. No one here is talking about interconnect, they are set by CCK, and apply to all parties uniformly. Then again it's impossible for CCK to make interconnect zero as there are direct/admin costs to terminate a call. Otherwise providers would start by making on-net calls ZERO first. Then zero (on-net) plus zero(interconnect) == everyone makes losses
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/11/2007 Posts: 1,680 Location: nairobi
safaricom has a case and i will help them win..i believe the know-how stated here beats whatever the small players have in mind* if they have any..love Wazua
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/21/2010 Posts: 4 Location: nairobi
According to me, safaricon is just the worst option not the better option for customers. I was a post paid customer for over five years. I was not receiving calls at my office in high ridge. I complained several timess. The answer was that there is a tall building at Diamond Plaza and our mast does not have line of sight. I was unable to receive or make calls from town centre. The answer was our that system can not take the number of calls being attempted at a time. Finally I cleared the bills and returned my number. Made several attempts to get back my deposit of Kes 4,000=, No response even after several verbal and written complaints. It is really a worst option for customers.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/26/2010 Posts: 108 Location: Jabini
now very soon we shall be able to change providers without losing our phone numbers.......now that is a major blow to sufferingCON! however I wonder how the other services for each player will be affected.... (Daily Nation 6 May 2010) pg 31
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
@all, the beneficiary of all this will be THE SUBSCRIBER. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
@muganda, no interconnection charges in kenya will not be a worl's first. Sri lanka operated with no interconnection charges untill early 2010 when they introduced 0.60 cents charge due to deadly price wars. I'm sure if you dig deeper you will find more countries with no interconnection charges. Personally i don't see number portability being effective in kenya. There is an article in business daily concerning number portability.."CCK had initially proposed a reference database fee of Sh1,000 to offset set-up and upgrade costs, but operators have argued that it would itself act as a barrier to subscriber movement. Other than the registration fee, subscribers will pay an extra Sh2 above the normal tariffs – to offset database query and one time porting or migration costs. Switch from one network to another will also not be automatic, but will take a maximum of three days. For example, in Pakistan, Service Provider Number Portability (SPNP) was established in March 2007, but to date only 2.5 million subscribers have ported from a total of 97 million cellphone users."
@centrebolt, number portability is more difficult than replacing a lost I.D card in the 90's, or changing the centrebolt of a Boeing 747, just do some research on it and you will realize it is a waste of government cash, maybe cash for the contract has been chewed already hence the noise, A New Kenya
I have read that there will be a one off charge of 1k for portability proposed by CCK.Whose gonna pay that? and sh.2.00 extra charge on call tariffs. So what's the noise all about,as far as I'm concerned the status quo persists.I think our broke GOK is just trying to earn some easy cash. The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
@Much Know, you just took the words from my mouth. Why pay 1K when you can get a simcard for 20bob and a cheap dualsim phone @2500/? And that is not enough, you end up paying 2bob more for calls...this number portability contact has already been awarded
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
@Jaguar, they are called OPTIONS!!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
@Masukuma
You are wrong about this benefiting the subscriber...
Please read the statements by @Brewer.. As far as I can tell, the rules will make it MORE difficult for Safaricom to review its charges downwards. They will have to make an application 90 days beforehand (probably to allow the small potatoes to strategise on how to react) and their application may be denied.
The only way to make Safcom review their prices is to either move or for the small potatoes to come up with products that will compell us to move.. i moved from Kencell to Safcom coz of Mpesa.. Even now I can't find Zap agents.
@mozenrat, "the rules will make it MORE difficult for Safaricom to review its charges downwards"...Really????? There used to be a competition on 98.4 capital fm's the jam afternoon show called fact or bullcrap...your statement is b......p
I think mobile number portability is the best thing that will happen to Kenyan Mobile phone users and the reason safaricom is resisting the move and the strange coalition of Orange-Yu-Zain. I had to port my number in March 2009 from one provider to another because the competitor had the infrastructure to connect me to ADSL without the need for a fixed line unlike my provider then. Besides i could get guaranteed speeds of 10MBit/s for about Ksh 2,500 per month. This is what i had to do: Go to the mobile provider of choice, fill in some forms and make sure i utilize all the credit on the previous provider sim card as i will lose it. I got a new sim card from my provider of choice. I had to wait for 24hrs for the migration after which i had to insert my new sim card and i had migrated to a new provider but maintained my number. This is very important for those people who have some emotional attachments to their lines and would never lose their numbers even when they have to migrate to a new provider who is offering better deals. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
Investor
Economy
Safaricom should sue CCK..period.