Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY17
What would be the difference between 'the cause of the outage' and 'the root cause of the outage'?Root cause sounds like it was an illness? maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote]
maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP Reflection Eternal
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,701 Location: NAIROBI
Flo-ology wrote:maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP Who takes over/buys/becomes the new owner of MPESA? Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
How will that help if that service runs behind the other services on the same network..ie MPESA powered by Safcom.. Quote,A chain is as strong as its weakest link unquote,.thanks to the Duke of Kabeteshire for this quote. Flo-ology wrote:[quote=maka] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP
Ericsson wrote:Flo-ology wrote:maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP Who takes over/buys/becomes the new owner of MPESA? All mobile money services de-linked from telcos. MPESA, Airtel Money etc to be accessed seamlessly on any local network. who takes over?: Vodafone/ Safaricom holding company can still own the spin off or alternatively offer it to the market to a willing buyer. Same precedence will apply to Airtel Reflection Eternal
Chaka wrote:How will that help if that service runs behind the other services on the ssne network..ie MPESA powered by Safcom.. Quote,A chain is as strong as its weakest link unquote,.thanks to the Duke of Kabeteshire for this quote. Flo-ology wrote:[quote=maka] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP @Chaka totally independent i.e. can be accessed from any network(Safaricom,Airtel, Telkom etc). MPESA becomes just an app/it is already an app Reflection Eternal
Flo-ology wrote:maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP Unfortunately at this point there's nobody who can tell safaricom what to do. Airtel used to cry out for gava to intercede and break the monopoly, but people said they were just being bitter. Now that monopoly boat has sailed a long time ago and we have to reap what we've sowed. Only thing you can do now to ease the pain is to buy their shares
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,532 Location: nairobi
Mike Ock wrote:Flo-ology wrote:maka wrote:[quote=HaMaina]How can the whole Safaricom network go down, especially the mpesa link without some kind of explanation from at least Bob C. Take a look at @SafaricomLtd's Tweet: https://twitter.com/Safa...856466713088536576?s=08[/quote] I now support calls for safaricom and MPESA breakup. You can imagine the impact of today's downtime to the economy. Hope Parliament and CA will do something ASAP Unfortunately at this point there's nobody who can tell safaricom what to do. Airtel used to cry out for gava to intercede and break the monopoly, but people said they were just being bitter. Now that monopoly boat has sailed a long time ago and we have to reap what we've sowed. Only thing you can do now to ease the pain is to buy their shares LOL. @ock HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
As a gesture for yesterday's outage safaricom says sending money via mpesa from tonight midnight to tomorrow midnight is free Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? The transaction and call fees you would have made yesterday plus the free sending via MPESA you are doing today = Lost Revenue "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? The transaction and call fees you would have made yesterday plus the free sending via MPESA you are doing today = Lost Revenue Thanks, now i understand. Lost revenue vs fixed costs etc In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Member Joined: 5/30/2016 Posts: 217 Location: Talai
Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. REMEMBER.. Meaning today they have made over 2.6billion and tomorrow 2.6billion.........the rest is history they ain't losing anything.. and still tomorrow they are giving back to by sending money via mpesa absolutely free the all day... this thing is KING Watch and Listen and Live
ARAP CHARLES wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. REMEMBER.. Meaning today they have made over 2.6billion and tomorrow 2.6billion.........the rest is history they ain't losing anything.. and still tomorrow they are giving back to by sending money via mpesa absolutely free the all day... this thing is KING KESHO THERE WILL BE HISTORIC TRANSFER OF MONEY VIA MPESA... MY GUT FEELINGS.. Dear Customer, thank you for choosing Safaricom. In appreciation, sending money with M-PESA will be free tomorrow 26-04-2017 starting 12:00am to 11:59pm. Watch and Listen and Live
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,532 Location: nairobi
ARAP CHARLES wrote:ARAP CHARLES wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. REMEMBER.. Meaning today they have made over 2.6billion and tomorrow 2.6billion.........the rest is history they ain't losing anything.. and still tomorrow they are giving back to by sending money via mpesa absolutely free the all day... this thing is KING KESHO THERE WILL BE HISTORIC TRANSFER OF MONEY VIA MPESA... MY GUT FEELINGS.. Dear Customer, thank you for choosing Safaricom. In appreciation, sending money with M-PESA will be free tomorrow 26-04-2017 starting 12:00am to 11:59pm. Hehe. Kenyans will crash this thing again! Sema volumes HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
obiero wrote:ARAP CHARLES wrote:ARAP CHARLES wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. REMEMBER.. Meaning today they have made over 2.6billion and tomorrow 2.6billion.........the rest is history they ain't losing anything.. and still tomorrow they are giving back to by sending money via mpesa absolutely free the all day... this thing is KING KESHO THERE WILL BE HISTORIC TRANSFER OF MONEY VIA MPESA... MY GUT FEELINGS.. Dear Customer, thank you for choosing Safaricom. In appreciation, sending money with M-PESA will be free tomorrow 26-04-2017 starting 12:00am to 11:59pm. Hehe. Kenyans will crash this thing again! Sema volumes Will withdrawing be free as well? What about paybill transaction charges?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? The transaction and call fees you would have made yesterday plus the free sending via MPESA you are doing today = Lost Revenue Incorrect. That is the volume of transactions, not revenue or profit. The money belongs to parties exchanging it, not Safaricom (save the small facilitation fees). If they had lost anything close to that amount it would mean they have yearly revenues of over 600 billion (approximately). That is a 3rd of Kenya's GDP. Implausible. This is Wazua for God's sake, an economy/business minded forum, separation of obvious concepts like this should be self evident surely?
quicksand wrote:murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? The transaction and call fees you would have made yesterday plus the free sending via MPESA you are doing today = Lost Revenue Incorrect. That is the volume of transactions, not revenue or profit. The money belongs to parties exchanging it, not Safaricom (save the small facilitation fees). If they had lost anything close to that amount it would mean they have yearly revenues of over 600 billion (approximately). That is a 3rd of Kenya's GDP. Implausible. This is Wazua for God's sake, an economy/business minded forum, separation of obvious concepts like this should be self evident surely? True, It is not clear whether the parties involved will later sort safaricom for its platform(in commissions) Watch and Listen and Live
ARAP CHARLES wrote:quicksand wrote:murchr wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Ericsson wrote:Safaricom is estimated to have lost sh.2.6bn during yesterday's outage. Lost how? The transaction and call fees you would have made yesterday plus the free sending via MPESA you are doing today = Lost Revenue Incorrect. That is the volume of transactions, not revenue or profit. The money belongs to parties exchanging it, not Safaricom (save the small facilitation fees). If they had lost anything close to that amount it would mean they have yearly revenues of over 600 billion (approximately). That is a 3rd of Kenya's GDP. Implausible. This is Wazua for God's sake, an economy/business minded forum, separation of obvious concepts like this should be self evident surely? True, It is not clear whether the parties involved will later sort safaricom for its platform(in commissions) Which parties involved? The only parties involved is Safaricom and sender. Note that this applies to MPESA transfers/sending to a registered MPESA user. Doesn't apply to pay bill etc Reflection Eternal
Investor
Stocks
Safaricom HY17