wazua Tue, Aug 5, 2025

7 Pages«<34567>
Uchumi FY15 Loss of Ksh. 3.42 Bn
#81 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:10:14 AM

HaMaina wrote:
[quote=VituVingiSana]Uchumi is dying a slow death. http://www.businessdaily.../-/ngnn4jz/-/index.html[/quote]

-The list of goods confiscated from Uchumi and are up for auction includes 4,200 tissue papers, 605 cans of Mortein Doom, 129 pieces of Imperial Leather soap, 1,238 packets of Aquafresh toothpaste, 55 units of Del Monte juice, and 176 cans of Tusker beer.

Others are 930 bundles of hair weave, three StarTimes aerials, 63 Keringet water bottles, 164 containers of Blue Band margarine, 36 Kasuku exercise books, 18 pieces of Java coffee, 240 packets of Kericho Gold tea, and 145 bottles of Elianto cooking oil.

I only see 176 items worth my time. The rest are stocks available in any well stoked kiosk.

The total value of all these goods even at retail isn't even close to 2mn.

Me too found this list to be a joker.
I thought of seeing things like Fridges, Washers, Home Theaters, Ovens,Quail eggs,Seng'enge etc.

enyands
#82 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:52:27 AM

HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Uchumi is a reflection of the African culture and how we run our companies.
Run to kill and not create a legacy

Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk?

Boss its in our cultures,try keeping cattle or goats without sleeping with one eye open, or having a shamba boy with a panga and a firimbi to watch over them, and the next kilo of meat you buy will likely be from your shamba.

@sparkly it doesn't have to be said ,it has everything to do with what we see.till even Donald Trump said they steal from their own countries and go hide their loot in their previous colonial masters. So it's a culture that's cultivated and passed from generation to generation
#83 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 2:17:54 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Stop insulting Africans bwana. Which African culture says that you steal from your employer or you run a supermarket like a kiosk?

Boss its in our cultures,try keeping cattle or goats without sleeping with one eye open, or having a shamba boy with a panga and a firimbi to watch over them, and the next kilo of meat you buy will likely be from your shamba.

@sparkly it doesn't have to be said ,it has everything to do with what we see.till even Donald Trump said they steal from their own countries and go hide their loot in their previous colonial masters. So it's a culture that's cultivated and passed from generation to generation

If your cultures teach you to be mediocre, well and good. As for me, I have been taught to be ambitious, work smart, be honest, fear God, all my life. I am 100% African.

Let us shun mediocrity.
HaMaina
#84 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 3:21:37 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

If your cultures teach you to be mediocre, well and good. As for me, I have been taught to be ambitious, work smart, be honest, fear God, all my life. I am 100% African.

Let us shun mediocrity.

That's good to read and hear about, but we are in a country that majority of your tax money can't be accounted for by the county governments who we voted for.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#85 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 4:51:32 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

It is a culture yes, but NOT African!!!

Bob Marley told you guys "Emancipate yourselves from Mental Slavery. None but ourselves can free our minds..." but you never learn. Ujinga is associating every bad thing with Africa and every good thing with the "mzungu".

Ask yourself simple questions like "Was Bernie Madoff an African?"

Are you aware most corruption techniques, economic crimes, pyramid schemes, money laundering, racketeering etc. originate from the west (especially the US of A)?

Do your homework before your inferiority complex confuses you!!!
enyands
#86 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 4:59:54 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Bob Marley told you guys "Emancipate yourselves from Mental Slavery. None but ourselves can free our minds..." but you never learn. Ujinga is associating every bad thing with Africa and every good thing with the "mzungu".

Are you aware most corrupt techniques, economic crimes, pyramid schemes, money laundering, racketeering etc. originate from the west (especially the US of A)?

My respected friend MaichBlack you have mentioned good about stereotyping. I agree. I would love to hear your thoughts about this article

link
#87 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 5:14:09 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Are you aware most corrupt techniques, economic crimes, pyramid schemes, money laundering, racketeering etc. originate from the west (especially the US of A)?

My respected friend MaichBlack you have mentioned good about stereotyping. I agree. I would love to hear your thoughts about this article

link

By the way my post was meant for @Ericsson and people who imagine we are the dark continent and nothing good can come out of Africa.

I read the article on the link a couple of days ago and I must admit it is very thought provoking. We need to come up with solutions to our own problems despite the challenges we face. We are doing something but not nearly enough. It is very painful to use toothpicks written "Made in China". No reason can justify us importing everything including Toothpicks. We call ourselves an Agricultural country but we import fertilizers!!! More than 50 years after independence. Now we are about to enslaves ourselves and our kids by using seeds from Monsanto. I know many people are not aware of the Engineering Monsanto have done to their seeds ensuring that seeds from the harvest if re-planted cannot germinate. Result? A couple of years from now we will have no option but go to Monsanto for seeds. Everything we will be having will not be re-plantable!!! Guess what will happen to the price of seeds!!!

Yes, we need to do more, innovate more, come up with home grown solutions etc. etc. And we should stop complaining about the obstacles that have (actually) been placed in front of us.
#88 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 5:37:37 PM

One more thing @enyands, PhDs, scientists etc in the west don't do research because they are smarter or are more predisposed to research!!! They do it mainly for one reason. Research in the West Pays!!! It pays much better than most other jobs. And it is not your responsibility as the researcher to monetize your invention or research findings in most cases. In a lot of cases, it works in reverse. A company that wants a solution to a certain problem approaches a university, group of researchers or a research institute and "sponsors" research on that specific problem. This money is used to pay the researchers hundreds of thousands or millions of dollars each! Actually, lecturers in the West don't moonlight. You make astronomically much more doing research.

A good number of wazuans have advanced degrees and know very well that in Kenya/Africa, research ends up being just that. Research. Your well bound thesis just gathers dust in the library and once in a while another candidate dusts it as he is looking to further his own research!!!

And you cannot blame the individuals. They live in a county where even toothpicks are imported.

Others innovate, finance and even turn their findings into end products - like energy saving jikos, machines etc, then what happens? The design is copied and everyone re-produces what you researched on for years. You can obtain copyrights and whatever else you want but who is enforcing them???

Unless your kids can eat research findings, and the landlord can accept papers published in peer reviewed journals as rent, you find yourself turning to basic money making ventures before anyone can say "Research"!
#89 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 5:40:04 PM

Genetic Seed Sterilization - By Monsanto and Co.

Now you know. And some thought colonialism ended! It just changed clothes!!!
enyands
#90 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 6:31:58 PM

enyands wrote:
HaMaina wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

link

By the way my post was meant for @Ericsson and people who imagine we are the dark continent and nothing good can come out of Africa.

I read the article on the link a couple of days ago and I must admit it is very thought provoking. We need to come up with solutions to our own problems despite the challenges we face. We are doing something but not nearly enough. It is very painful to use toothpicks written "Made in China". No reason can justify us importing everything including Toothpicks. We call ourselves an Agricultural country but we import fertilizers!!! More than 50 years after independence. Now we are about to enslaves ourselves and our kids by using seeds from Monsanto. I know many people are not aware of the Engineering Monsanto have done to their seeds ensuring that seeds from the harvest if re-planted cannot germinate. Result? A couple of years from now we will have no option but go to Monsanto for seeds. Everything we will be having will not be re-plantable!!! Guess what will happen to the price of seeds!!!

Yes, we need to do more, innovate more, come up with home grown solutions etc. etc. And we should stop complaining about the obstacles that have (actually) been placed in front of us.

MaichBlack having come from where maize is grown, did you know that Kenya seed company with their maize hybrids H685 and the rest have made it in a way that once you harvest you cannot replant it. So our own Africans are doing the same as to what Monsanto are doing.

I think western colonization is much better that our own african leadership colonization, reason being the western don't know some of our cultures (eg mau mau chased British) but when you have your own african Colonizers colonizing you its worse because they know your weaknesses and strength like what's happening now.
#91 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 8:09:59 PM

Kenya Seed have neither the technology nor the patent to the technology to do that. Unless they are acting as distributors for another company.

What I know is that with their seeds, they ADVICE farmers not to replant (apparently for better yield) but if you replant it actually grows!!!

Just read the story in the article above. It's like a science fiction movie. Monsanto and crew can even "switch" off ripening genes and other things which can only be "switched on" by using their fertilizers and other chemicals in very specific proportions. Soma link my friend!
#92 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:11:01 PM

Kenya Seed have neither the technology nor the patent to the technology to do that. Unless they are acting as distributors for another company.

What I know is that with their seeds, they ADVICE farmers not to replant (apparently for better yield) but if you replant it actually grows!!!

Just read the story in the article above. It's like a science fiction movie. Monsanto and crew can even "switch" off ripening genes and other things which can only be "switched on" by using their fertilizers and other chemicals in very specific proportions. Soma link my friend!

Brilliant are the chaps from Monsanto.
enyands
#93 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 9:28:12 PM

They are creeping into the basic rights of human beings -food to make money .I don't call that brilliance I call it greed beyond the level a hyena can reach .
The same time they wanted to patent human genome where if you wanted to know if you have genes responsible for cancer then you pay this "gene company " a good amount of money then they can tell you you have genes that are carcinogenic so stop eating ....eat .... exercise ... a day and all that.
Thank God uncle Robert and his Sotomayor team shut it down and said a human genome structure can't be patented . I was listening to the closing statements and it was applausable

link
#94 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 10:56:48 PM

enyands wrote:

They are creeping into the basic rights of human beings -food to make money .I don't call that brilliance I call it greed beyond the level a hyena can reach .
The same time they wanted to patent human genome where if you wanted to know if you have genes responsible for cancer then you pay this "gene company " a good amount of money then they can tell you you have genes that are carcinogenic so stop eating ....eat .... exercise ... a day and all that.
Thank God uncle Robert and his Sotomayor team shut it down and said a human genome structure can't be patented . I was listening to the closing statements and it was applausable

link

What stopped you from sequencing the genome?
enyands
#95 Posted : Thursday, May 12, 2016 11:31:58 PM

enyands wrote:

link

What stopped you from sequencing the genome?

Common sense that the US judges had when passing the verdict is what stopped me .I can mail you the closing statements. If someone has common sense they will understand you can't patent what's God given right. Vvs do believe cloning human beings for the sake of generating profits to be morally, legally and logical right ???

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
No. 12–398
ASSOCIATION FOR MOLECULAR PATHOLOGY,
ET AL., PETITIONERS v. MYRIAD
GENETICS, INC., ET AL.
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

[June 13, 2013]
JUSTICE THOMAS delivered the opinion of the Court.
Respondent Myriad Genetics, Inc. (Myriad), discovered
the precise location and sequence of two human genes,
mutations of which can substantially increase the risks of
breast and ovarian cancer. Myriad obtained a number
of patents based upon its discovery. This case involves
claims from three of them and requires us to resolve
whether a naturally occurring segment of deoxyribonucleic
acid (DNA) is patent eligible under 35 U. S. C. §101 by
virtue of its isolation from the rest of the human genome.
We also address the patent eligibility of synthetically
created DNA known as complementary DNA (cDNA), which
contains the same protein-coding information found in
a segment of natural DNA but omits portions within the
DNA segment that do not code for proteins. For the rea-
sons that follow, we hold that a naturally occurring DNA
segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible

merely because it has been isolated, but that cDNA is
patent eligible because it is not naturally occurring. We,
therefore, affirm in part and reverse in part the decision of

I can clarify more to you if you need dna classes and if I need help in buying kapchorwa, bamburi ,kk and IM bank I would be glad to be schooled by you. Laughing out loudly
instinct
#96 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 12:04:14 AM

this is an uchumi thread....hallo....
#97 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 12:22:13 AM

instinct wrote:

This is Wazua... hallo...

Mutation happens.

enyands
#98 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 1:17:57 AM

instinct wrote:

Mutation happens.

Genome mutation on wazuaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
HaMaina
#99 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 7:23:34 AM

instinct wrote:

Very True. In my view Uchumi will not fall,especially now that Dr Kipngetich is at the top. One thing that I know for sure is that he is one very thorough and no-nonsence (tribal,corruption,etc,etc) person. At least when he was a lecturer. I wish him all the best.
“You can get in way more trouble with a good idea than a bad idea, because you forget that the good idea has limits.” - Ben Graham
#100 Posted : Friday, May 13, 2016 8:46:09 AM

enyands wrote:
instinct wrote:

Mutation happens.

Genome mutation on wazuaLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly