wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

16 Pages«<34567>»
Safaricom 1H16 Results net profit up 23%
#81 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 10:05:01 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
When I hear somebody blame Safaricom for sijui dominance and huge profit making, I refer to the African culture of jealous! You claim safaricom is overcharging so who is undercharging or charging fairly? Who has this scale of fair charges? Its dominant yes, it has performed well in class as the top student... Keep up safcom don't loose your position 1 Dominate to 99% then go regional. Safaricom brought us the a whole flexibility from purchase of lines, phones, scratch cards of low denomination, okoa jahazi, mobile money transfers, Lipa na mpesa,....the list is endless. This has meant investment of time and money.....All this time this prostitutes (Airtel/Kencell/Orange.e.t c) were moving around changing names and men at expensive rates and NO innovation. Why are people wishing safaricom bad?

Tell them @Boris! When you read some of the posts here, you would be forgiven to imagine the person posting it has just landed from Kandahar and is posting at the airport after seeing the name Safaricom for the first time somewhere.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#82 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 1:11:43 PM

so exactly guyz what did Bob say about the way froward.IN the whole meeting he said nothing.Or isit top secret?Nothing touching on the masses.Or has innovation died?And please DONOT tell us about 2G and voice.
you need to look at the Global telkom landscape and you will see its all about DATA,DATA,DATA and more DATA
#83 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 2:18:07 PM

Ericsson wrote:
@kawambui;
Voice call through data quality is very very poor.
2G gives a very clear voice and is the preferred and recommended in the ITU standards.
Technology of 2G and 3G is different.
That is why any mobile phone normally has both true voice and data capabilities for the case of smart phones.
The antennas are also different for 2 and 3/4G

What about WhatsApp, Viber and FaceTime? Sometimes, my WhatsApp calls sound better than my regular voice calls especially on Safaricom! Isn't WhatsApp reliant on 3G/4G? [Though to save data, I often use WhatsApp when I am on a good wifi]

A whatsapp call is digitally encoded, compressed and then some advanced noise filtration algorithms and other electronic black magic applied. You have seen a divx video, or even these new youtube videos that are high quality but have little delay compared to youtube of a few years ago? Same principles behind the scenes.
Now with normal calls, some of them are analogue, esp with a method called TDM (time division multiplexing)..others are digital (Wide CDM coded division multiplexing)..but this cannot match the sheer processing power the backend infrastructure of whatsapp or even the cleverness of the processing.
enyands
#84 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 2:21:57 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
When I hear somebody blame Safaricom for sijui dominance and huge profit making, I refer to the African culture of jealous! You claim safaricom is overcharging so who is undercharging or charging fairly? Who has this scale of fair charges? Its dominant yes, it has performed well in class as the top student... Keep up safcom don't loose your position 1 Dominate to 99% then go regional. Safaricom brought us the a whole flexibility from purchase of lines, phones, scratch cards of low denomination, okoa jahazi, mobile money transfers, Lipa na mpesa,....the list is endless. This has meant investment of time and money.....All this time this prostitutes (Airtel/Kencell/Orange.e.t c) were moving around changing names and men at expensive rates and NO innovation. Why are people wishing safaricom bad?

Tell them @Boris! When you read some of the posts here, you would be forgiven to imagine the person posting it has just landed from Kandahar and is posting at the airport after seeing the name Safaricom for the first time somewhere.

Does anyone remember the lowest denomination of scratch card kencel used to have was 300 while safaricom was 50 or even 20.anyone who had kencel was regarded mdosi wa estate? So who were kencel targeting ? Only rich and corporates ? So why whine now ? Continue sticking with the corporates while safcom goes to main street . They started the game of taking kenyan majority kwa kijiko so what's the big deal? This is just garbage .

Reminds me of how usa (in this case ill give them prototype kencel)and China ( safcom). USA in those years only traded with Europe and rich countries. They never saw Africa and other 3rd world's to be anything.China rose from nowhere and saw potential on third world's and now wanamelemeta nyeupe kama pamba.so in usa politics now the Republican presidential candidates are busy bashing China of unfair business practices and currency manipulation .exactly what kencel/airtel are doing right now.
#85 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 5:55:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.

2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom.

Some times I read certain posts and I wonder if I should reply. No facts at all. No basis.

How do you compare telcom to Safcom??? Unless you just want to type something or you are too young!! You had to know and bribe people to get connected to telcom. If your line had problems, it would take even months to be sorted out and you still had to bribe the person sending the technicians and the technicians themselves. There was zero innovation at Telcom. Absolute zero! No marketing etc.

Now, Safaricom is at totally another level. Innovation - must be the number one company on innovation in the region. Unparalleled marketing. The process at Safaricom must be some of the best in the country. I know someone high up at Safaricom and they explained to me the processes from how they organize groups for product development etc. and I was extremely impressed. You should hear the inside story of the process that was involved to bring MPesa home and you will understand why I am totally amused by some of the statements here!!!

These guys should be running the country!! Trust me! If you gave the Safaricom team the country to run, in 10 years you would not be a 3rd world country!!

Disclaimer: I don't work and have never worked for Safaricom.

I would happily outsource the economic management of Kenya to Singapore or Vodaphone.
#86 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 6:00:34 PM

quicksand wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@kawambui;
2G gives a very clear voice and is the preferred and recommended in the ITU standards.
That is why any mobile phone normally has both true voice and data capabilities for the case of smart phones.

What about WhatsApp, Viber and FaceTime? Sometimes, my WhatsApp calls sound better than my regular voice calls especially on Safaricom! Isn't WhatsApp reliant on 3G/4G? [Though to save data, I often use WhatsApp when I am on a good wifi]

A whatsapp call is digitally encoded, compressed and then some advanced noise filtration algorithms and other electronic black magic applied. You have seen a divx video, or even these new youtube videos that are high quality but have little delay compared to youtube of a few years ago? Same principles behind the scenes.
Now with normal calls, some of them are analogue, esp with a method called TDM (time division multiplexing)..others are digital (Wide CDM coded division multiplexing)..but this cannot match the sheer processing power the backend infrastructure of whatsapp or even the cleverness of the processing.

Is Voice [over TDM & CDM] doomed?
Why add 2G instead of 4G base stations?
Can regular voicecalls be carried on data? [Make a call and it uses data not TDM/CDM].

Apparently a large US firm (T-Mobile) offers calls on both data & 'regular' base stations. Can this work in KE?

Can Zuku compete vs Safaricom for voice services?
Can Zuku partner with Orange/Airtel to provide a different model?
innovator
#87 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 9:32:27 PM

quicksand wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@kawambui;

Is Voice [over TDM & CDM] doomed?
Why add 2G instead of 4G base stations?
Can regular voicecalls be carried on data? [Make a call and it uses data not TDM/CDM].

Apparently a large US firm (T-Mobile) offers calls on both data & 'regular' base stations. Can this work in KE?

Can Zuku compete vs Safaricom for voice services?
Can Zuku partner with Orange/Airtel to provide a different model?

@vvs you have a point and for sure interesting times ahead. Watch helios interested in both zuku and orange.
#88 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 9:47:06 PM

@innovator - I think Helios (African firm) would be a great strategic investor in Orange. With the investment in Zuku, they can offer Triple Play with TV, internet and phone services.

Who needs fixed lines anymore except businesses? It makes more sense to offer a combination of wifi calling & mobile (using base stations) for Orange/Zuku. I noticed that my phone detects Zuku Hotspots in some areas so Orange/Zuku can use these hotspots to carry calls as @quicksand explained.

I came across this firm (in the US) as well.
https://republicwireless...-tMCMzjiiHrARRoCigHw_wcB
#89 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2015 11:28:28 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
so exactly guyz what did Bob say about the way froward.IN the whole meeting he said nothing.Or isit top secret?Nothing touching on the masses.Or has innovation died?And please DONOT tell us about 2G and voice.
you need to look at the Global telkom landscape and you will see its all about DATA,DATA,DATA and more DATA

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly

You don't talk about products that are under development or are yet to be developed. If you do, you give competitors an advantage. Products under development should be kept top secret and then you ambush everyone. Before the competitors can respond, you have taken a stranglehold of the market!!!

Which of the Safaricom products - from MPesa to Mshwari, Okoa Stima and everything in between - were you given the information in advance??

Infrastructure on the other hand you can announce because people will see it being developed anyway. It can't be kept a secret!
watesh
#90 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 2:40:48 AM

Ericsson wrote:
@VituVingiSana
2G coverage is being increased for;
To cater for the increase in number of subscriber hence more voice calls.
To improve on call quality.
To improve on MPESA reliability since it's an SMS based application

Can somebody really surf on a 2G network?

With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior?

???? investing in 2G?are the masses on voice?people are on social media and all this web 2.0 stuff which really need fast internet.is he loosing touch with reality.so exactly what did he say about safcom future.

4 million smartphones on the network while voice its 23 million. Plus if they dont invest in voice, quality goes down and Communication Authority is on their throats for free billions to buy expensive wallets
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#91 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 3:05:43 PM

Laughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudlyLaughing out loudly

You don't talk about products that are under development or are yet to be developed. If you do, you give competitors an advantage. Products under development should be kept top secret and then you ambush everyone. Before the competitors can respond, you have taken a stranglehold of the market!!!

Which of the Safaricom products - from MPesa to Mshwari, Okoa Stima and everything in between - were you given the information in advance??

Infrastructure on the other hand you can announce because people will see it being developed anyway. It can't be kept a secret!

wow.how many results release have you attended.even equity told us when they were doing regional expansion,KQ(ouch)told us they were going to buy new planes.so we actually donot know what the future holds for safaricom.so we are just investing blindly hoping that the next financial results will be good.try this silence game on fortune 500 companies and you will see fire.putting investors in the dark isnot the way to go.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#92 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 3:09:45 PM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@VituVingiSana

With EDGE that is 2.5 and above.. I believe will do but very slow. Do u ever see E on your smart phone when you go interior?

???? investing in 2G?are the masses on voice?people are on social media and all this web 2.0 stuff which really need fast internet.is he loosing touch with reality.so exactly what did he say about safcom future.

4 million smartphones on the network while voice its 23 million. Plus if they dont invest in voice, quality goes down and Communication Authority is on their throats for free billions to buy expensive wallets

last time i checked voice was dead and the cash cow was mpesa and data.is the kenyan market then gong back wards.i donot know why management of this company is going counter trend we should be seeing a serious push in the data market.
watesh
#93 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 5:34:33 PM

watesh wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
@VituVingiSana

last time i checked voice was dead and the cash cow was mpesa and data.is the kenyan market then gong back wards.i donot know why management of this company is going counter trend we should be seeing a serious push in the data market.

Voice still makes 58% of revenues, it brings in a large bulk of the cash so they can't risk reducing..according to half year results voice +1.52bn mpesa +3.76bn and data +3bn....i think that extra 1.5bn is still very important.
Investment in data and mpesa is also way more than voice
#94 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 6:51:35 PM

wow.how many results release have you attended.even equity told us when they were doing regional expansion,KQ(ouch)told us they were going to buy new planes.so we actually donot know what the future holds for safaricom.so we are just investing blindly hoping that the next financial results will be good.try this silence game on fortune 500 companies and you will see fire.putting investors in the dark isnot the way to go.

English is a difficult language!!!

You release information competitors already know, information they would know anyway or does not give them advantage in knowing.

KQ buying planes would never be a secret. Once you place an order that information is technically public. Equity going regional was not a secret. I said it here ages before James Mwangi announced it. And in any case they had started going regional and there is no advantage the competitors would get by knowing it!!!

Products on the other hand is a different ball game. You don't for example tell people you are working on a mobile phone based money transfer system because they also start working on theirs. You announce a product that has just gone online. Before the competition can figure out how to create one it is several months down the line and you are automatically the market leader!!
Boris Boyka
#95 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 7:01:08 PM

You release information competitors already know, who know anyway or does not give them advantage in knowing.

KQ buying planes would never be a secret. Once you place an order that information is technically public. Equity going regional was not a secret. I said it here ages before James Mwangi announced it. And in any case they has started going regional and there is no advantage the competitors would get by knowing it!!!

Products on the other hand is a different ball game. You don't for example tell people you are working on a mobile phone based money transfer system because they also start working on theirs. You announce a product that has just gone online. Before the competition can figure out how to create one it is several months down the line and you are automatically the market leader!!

Iko shida hapa!smile There's a diff between physical projects and software/applications. @MaichBlack I see vander is jumbling both in one basket!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#96 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 8:31:07 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

You release information competitors already know, who know anyway or does not give them advantage in knowing.

KQ buying planes would never be a secret. Once you place an order that information is technically public. Equity going regional was not a secret. I said it here ages before James Mwangi announced it. And in any case they has started going regional and there is no advantage the competitors would get by knowing it!!!

Iko shida hapa!smile There's a diff between physical projects and software/applications. @MaichBlack I see vander is jumbling both in one basket!

yani you guys are saying we are sitted here and we donot know where the company is heading?is that what this is ?is there anything more scary than that.i pity investors in this company.so basically the investment in 2G and voice was a lie
IMPORTANT amnot saying he mentions the actual products but he should give a guidance of where the company is headed.he can give for instance an indication safcom wants to venture into this and this industry.i would think since mpesa and data are whats bringing in money he would invest more into that.well so far he has shown he's not interested in that
#97 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 8:36:47 PM

I rest my case!!!

Hata the new education act inasema we don't force kids to repeat even if they get 36/500 in the exam.
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#98 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 8:47:07 PM

I rest my case!!!

Hata the new education act inasema we don't force kids to repeat even if they get 36/500 in the exam.

its quite evident its becoming hard to defend this collymore guy.
Boris Boyka
#99 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2015 8:54:05 PM

d'oh! d'oh! Walimu hujionea mambo. Waongezwe 70-80%
I rest my case!!!

Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
sitaki.kujulikana
#100 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2015 2:02:37 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
safcom reminds me of telcom, the latter brought down itself due to its dominance such that they were blind to what was happening around them, it was made worse by the cheerleaders who thought the cooper wire was the best thing since the smoke signal days.

2019 will be to safcom what 1999 was to telcom.

Some times I read certain posts and I wonder if I should reply. No facts at all. No basis.

How do you compare telcom to Safcom??? Unless you just want to type something or you are too young!! You had to know and bribe people to get connected to telcom. If your line had problems, it would take even months to be sorted out and you still had to bribe the person sending the technicians and the technicians themselves. There was zero innovation at Telcom. Absolute zero! No marketing etc.

Now, Safaricom is at totally another level. Innovation - must be the number one company on innovation in the region. Unparalleled marketing. The process at Safaricom must be some of the best in the country. I know someone high up at Safaricom and they explained to me the processes from how they organize groups for product development etc. and I was extremely impressed. You should hear the inside story of the process that was involved to bring MPesa home and you will understand why I am totally amused by some of the statements here!!!

These guys should be running the country!! Trust me! If you gave the Safaricom team the country to run, in 10 years you would not be a 3rd world country!!

Disclaimer: I don't work and have never worked for Safaricom.

I would happily outsource the economic management of Kenya to Singapore or Vodaphone.

sawa @MaichBlack you win, you are the one who has facts and your posts are the only worth ones, plus your mastery of the queen's language matches none.

but as I mentioned what will bring down safcom is its dominance just as the telcom cheerleaders thought the copper wire was the ultimate communication medium, the same way the safcom cheerleaders think that the telephone is the ultimate communication tool. Its the computer that will take this battle not the telephone.

Now since you are the king of facts, why don't you share the inside mpesa story process, of bringing it home, we also want to be mesmerized by the brilliance of the safcom guys.