timbosho wrote:

Hapo sawa timbosho, ndivyo nilikubaliana na torio , sisi wamiliki wa ngozi nyeusi huzaliwa na kiwango kikubwa sana cha ujinga, na ukosefu wa akili. smile

you people never fail to surprise me.
So... is IQ a factor of skin color? presence of melanin or lack there of? is melanin abundance a causal factor or a correlational factor? Lazy brains tend to draw up conclusions like this! is IQ a factor of birth, diet, environment? Does the weight a mother pick up during her pregnancy affect the IQ of the child she is bearing? Does talking to your child while in the womb and after they are born (way before they can give your any kind of feedback) affect the IQ of the child? What about having elder siblings? Are there other factors? are they causal or correlational?
What are the causal not correlational factors that actually make IQ tests differ among groups of people?Don't be a lazy thinker!!
In my well considered opinion it's all down to 2 things... CULTURE and DIET amongst other factors! even such things as height are to a large extent having a dietary correlation.
Has anyone looked up the Flynn effect?

by the way... how come the Japanese or the chineses (that are supposed to have higher IQs) don't go around reminding everyone that they are in the front of the bell curve and yet it's the people in the middle that do? Don't consume hate science and look at your kids any differently! your kids are not damned to be low IQed just because their folks had black skins... priss! synthesising the causality of IQ or any other trait of the human race to just 1 or 2 variables is incredibly lazy... FAGA!! DON'T BE A LAZY THINKER!

sasa @ma-sukuma, si @ti-mbosho amesema bell curve ni ukweli wa maisha - how is one supposed to discuss with one who believes that the color of your skin is a determinant of ones intelligence, si unakubaliana tu na yeye - sasa utamwambia nini, na tayari anajua yeye na wewe na mimi tulizaliwa na ujinga. smile

Sio timbosho alisema. Ni Uncle Lee alisema, the great Lee Kuan Yew. Personally I'm not quite sure why it is Asians and whites dominating the world economy and politics, not black people. But come to think of it, outside of Egypt, Mali and Ethiopia, what have we contributed to the world in terms of scientific, economic or cultural achievements? The Chinese can point to tea, philosophy, gunpowder, paper money etc. What can we point to? I do not know if its lazy thinking or not, but when you open the book of African achievements in the past and now, it is mostly blank outside Egypt, Ethiopia and Mali. Either what was achieved was lost in time/forgotten, or just was not there to begin with.

at least if you care to go back several years back you would have tripped across that ka achievement of turning a monkey into some crude form of a human being, if africa and to a good extent kenya had not done that we would all be jumping from tree to tree, picking ticks from each other. smile

If you also got into the ka time machine and zoomed back into some carefully selected time you will realize that there is that ka achievement of selling its people abroad to work in some plantations, i am told that fed into some good chunk of what the west has now.

Ama how are we measuring the achievements ? smile

But seriously why would you measure achievement of a region then remove the achievers from it.

My current guesswork is that past collective achievements by a people is an indication of their talents and abilities, which has a bearing on their present circumstances; their ability to set objectives collectively, their ability to overcome obstacles and challenges in their environments in achieving their objectives, the quality and motivations of their leadership, the people's ability to select and follow good leaders, and remove bad leaders from positions of authority when the opportunity to do so arises. That is why I removed the achievers (Egypt, Ethiopia and Mali, off the top of my head). As a disclaimer, this is purely guesswork and very unscientific, arrived at after travelling to some of these regions a few times and looking up their history after getting curious, while taking a few beers.

What matters more is how an individual changes collective behavior and how regularly this happens in a society.

Where were these individuals who can influence collective behaviour in Africa and why were they unable to make their influence count in the days gone by, unlike their counterparts in Asia, Latin America and Europe? Where are they now?

@timbosho, do you know Muindi Mbingu? Kinjeketile? Agajo Trudo? Reason is a human characteristic and even those small chieftains were ruled by reason. The important thing is meeting needs according to experience and political structures.

One can only wonder how the Ming empire would have related with Africa. But do you know what made Europe overtake the Mings? And how life and globalization changed?

There's a time I asked people here to do a small experiment. They were to look at different historical periods from the earliest time recorded to the distant future and trace patterns and turning points on Wikipedia.

As for the present; why aren't you able to provide leadership that counts? The answer is because you're alienated from your roots and experience. You want to be an Asian or European.

I have never doubted the ability of Africa to produce individuals who can reason. To be honest, I do not them and what they accomplished. I will be sure to look them up.
That aside, my drunken thoughts were/are, why was their impact on the collective miniscule and short lived? With all due respect to their capabilities, why do we living in the present know so little about them and do not feel their impact today?

Perhaps I was also not clear on what I meant by collective talents and capabilities, and how I guage them. Nisamehe. I measure collective talents and capabilities by a number of unscientific criteria and random guesswork like how early knowledge milestones are crossed, how early did they organise themselves nation states consisting of multiple ethnic societies, because this shows an ability to unite multiple ethnic societies across a wide geographic area into a collective, an ability to develop the structures and identify the administrative talents needed to administer it, and deploy the collective towards achieving shared objectives that cut across narrow ethnic interests, how, once they organised themselves, solved the complex problems a collective people face, how their collective abilities and capabilities impacted surrounding societies and how it impacts us today.
For example, one of the milestones I look at is mastery of reading and writing. Why, because ni kama internet ya 10,000 years ago. Writing helps to create a permanent store of knowledge and forms a foundation for future discoveries by later generations. Reading helps to disseminate this store of knowledge to a wider audience than can be reached by speaking, and also allows for knowledge to live on after the death of the knowledge discoverer/creator. Apart from my sorry ignorance, maybe that is why I do not know about Agajo Trudo et al. If he/she wrote down their thoughts, or hired someone to do so, maybe their words and deeds would have lived on and impacted more.
As to why I myself am not standing up to lead, umenimulika hapo. Truth be told, I just want to live a simple life, provide the basics for my family, and watch my children grow up. I do not think I have the energy/ambition/ruthlessness/ability to lie without blinking/talent required to lead people, especially Kenyans. Besides my wife will kill me if I entertain such thoughts. The most I can do is run a small business, hata MCA I think itaniweza.
Please excuse any ignorance in my responses,and remember hii ni random guesswork. No research, no studies, none of that stuff. Just those things which enter your brain at 2.30am.
#82 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 6:54:29 AM

>>>>>>>Continued >>>>>> http://www.businessdaily.../1/-/oum2ob/-/index.html
#83 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 6:55:26 AM

@timbosho, I've just woken up from this long dream about my classmates being in a frenzy to go to some foreign land even though few could afford it, and some even thought they could be denied visas courtesy of their 'burdens'.

In all this activity my mathematics teacher wanted a relationship with me, even though she too was going, and my exercise book was neglected and I hadn't bothered to finish my sums. But I was just relaxed. Not inclined to the frenzy.

And frankly, I don't think I'll ever get into a frenzy in this dream called wakefulness. I've learnt of the emptiness of the I, perception, and phenomena and all that's remaining is sleep, sleep, sleep. To be awake to dreams.
Muriel
#84 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 10:06:33 AM

@timbosho, I've just woken up from this long dream about my classmates being in a frenzy to go to some foreign land even though few could afford it, and some even thought they could be denied visas courtesy of their 'burdens'.

In all this activity my mathematics teacher wanted a relationship with me, even though she too was going, and my exercise book was neglected and I hadn't bothered to finish my sums. But I was just relaxed. Not inclined to the frenzy.

And frankly, I don't think I'll ever get into a frenzy in this dream called wakefulness. I've learnt of the emptiness of the I, perception, and phenomena and all that's remaining is sleep, sleep, sleep. To be awake to dreams.

As we have seen, a relationship is also a means of confirming, disproving, and creating experience.

She was a nice teacher whom I approve of seeing she probably wanted to make a connection with your hind parts through some sort of instrument which is necessary for a relationship.
#85 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 10:28:18 AM

Muriel wrote:

As we have seen, a relationship is also a means of confirming, disproving, and creating experience.

She was a nice teacher whom I approve of seeing she probably wanted to make a connection with your hind parts through some sort of instrument which is necessary for a relationship.

Laugh
#86 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 11:19:56 AM

Muriel wrote:

Laugh

Why is it that @tycho and @muriel lol like

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh

and not as this Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

???

#87 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 11:40:03 AM

Why do people wrongly compare Kenya with South Korea and Singapore? A country is only as rich as it's neighbours and trading partners. Kenya is surrounded by war torn countries and unfriendly country to the south. The amount of money we can make from our neighbhours cannot compare with what the tiger nations can make with traing with each other. It is a fallacy
Muriel
#88 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 12:41:36 PM

Muriel wrote:

Laugh

Why is it that @tycho and @muriel lol like

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh

and not as this Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

???

They might be the chosen ones.
#89 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 1:08:52 PM

FundamentAli wrote:
Why do people wrongly compare Kenya with South Korea and Singapore? A country is only as rich as it's neighbours and trading partners. Kenya is surrounded by war torn countries and unfriendly country to the south. The amount of money we can make from our neighbhours cannot compare with what the tiger nations can make with traing with each other. It is a fallacy

The comparison is at independence - the rest I guess is a debate on what happened, some are claiming that human capital was the major contributing factor that pulled us back, some are claiming its leadership that played a major role, and now you have brought in a different parameter - poor, war ravaged and unfriendly neighbors.

Though south korea boarders a poor, war ravaged unfriendly neighbor, and also the likes of malaysia and singapore despite being mostly island territories are still in the neighborhood of war ravaged, poor countries some with brutal leadership.
Wainadi
#90 Posted : Friday, April 10, 2015 2:20:01 PM

A local FM touched briefly on this topic today. truly Wazua leads.
Its all good.
#91 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 8:28:47 PM

This one I post for the Nairobi Gov...Evans Kidero

#92 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 9:14:06 PM

Singapore is a port city state and can only be compared with a city like Nairobi or mombasa. Singapore is only 700km2 i.e 35km x 20km which is like from Karen shopping centre to roysambu (S-N) and kangemi to mlolongo (W-E). Infact it's the size of Nairobi. And yes Nairobi has done so much in the past 50yrs.
#93 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 9:32:21 PM

Singapore is a city state and can only be compared with Nairobi. Infact it's the size of Nairobi. And yes Nairobi has done so much in the past 50yrs.

What's more impressive is how they cleaned up the river. A clean Nairobi river or Athi river can be used as a tourist attraction. River cruises or even as a mode of transport. If only we'd have leaders who would think
#94 Posted : Tuesday, February 20, 2018 7:33:09 PM

Business Daily wrote:
Singaporeans aged 21 and above will get a “hong bao”, or Lunar New Year red packet, as Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat announced a “one-off” bonus in 2018 of up to S$300 ($228.50), depending on their income.

The bonus comes after Singapore’s trade-reliant economy grew 3.6 per cent in 2017, its best pace in three years.

Song Seng Wun, an economist for CIMB private banking, said the one-off “hong bao” bonus was a product of Singapore’s economy having a “better than expected outcome” in the last year.
#95 Posted : Tuesday, February 20, 2018 8:23:12 PM

Business Daily wrote:
Singaporeans aged 21 and above will get a “hong bao”, or Lunar New Year red packet, as Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat announced a “one-off” bonus in 2018 of up to S$300 ($228.50), depending on their income.

The bonus comes after Singapore’s trade-reliant economy grew 3.6 per cent in 2017, its best pace in three years.

Song Seng Wun, an economist for CIMB private banking, said the one-off “hong bao” bonus was a product of Singapore’s economy having a “better than expected outcome” in the last year.

While every child popped in Kenya owes some national debt!
#96 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 7:52:26 AM

Business Daily wrote:

While every child popped in Kenya owes some national debt!

Courtesy of Jubilee
Ngalaka
#97 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 8:00:09 AM

Business Daily wrote:

Ala!!
Kwani being a Singaporean is an investment in itself!
You earn bonus by virtue of being a citizen.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#98 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 8:10:57 AM

One is a democracy while the other is an autocracy. Tafakari hayo
#99 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 8:19:56 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
One is a democracy while the other is an autocracy. Tafakari hayo

We were also an autocracy for decades...under Kenyatta and Moi.

In those decades, Singapore enriched the nation while the Mois and Kenyattas enriched themselves.

Ngalaka
#100 Posted : Wednesday, February 21, 2018 8:43:04 AM

Excuses of being a democracy won't wash!
South Korea is a democracy.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu