if youre 35 and dont drive,youre a failure
I bought my first car as a teenager,now can you imagine if I had just said mission accomplished,I'm finally successful?
To me,the best yardstick for success is having time to do things that make you happy,which for my case is spending time with family and friends,travelling all over the world etc. Life,liberty and the pursuit of happiness!! Now that's true success.
people mistake 'owning' from 'loaning'.... if you buy your hao for cash,and buy a car for cash,you own them and I would consider you mighty successful,... wouldnt care if you loose the damn job! just make sure the house has a garden to grown your vegies! seriously,the culture of loans gives people serious illusions... rent is far much better than morgage on some unstable job!! ...... for the car,NENER on loan,and not as a status symbol... agree its a functional tool!
Every dream starts as an idea; just like a tree starts as a tiny seed
I have no car. I will however buy a car when i feel that i need and can afford the convenience that comes with it..
My initial thoughts about a car was that a car is a liability.. the fuel,the servicing...agreed with Kiyosakyi's book.
But then i thought.... why are we working? If a car affords you the convenience of mobility and you can afford that convenience,then by all means acquire it. But only if you can afford it. If you can live life confortably,and getting a lift to/from work does not bother you,or matatu's are your way,dont.
If we start counting liabilities - renting a house is a liability. but most of us don't have a choice owing to the high cost of owning a house.
There is no absolute success.. Success is relative to people,their believes,their values,their abilities,their opportunities. We don't all share these,and we cannot define success to be 'x'. I can only say that success can be defined personally,we set our goals. we work towards achieving them. nothing absolute
so owning a car/house or not by age 'x' can only be defined by an individual,not as a society.
Something else..
A car,our clothes,where we live,where we eat,where we hang out... they all reflect our lifestyle. We live different lifestyles because of our diversity in choice,ability and values. - if you think meeting in Mc Fry's is for campus students,and you can only meet at Java - you are paying a price for lifestyle. - if you are driving that Range Rover/Vitz to work,instead of walking / taking a matatu - you are paying for lifestyle. - if you want to live in Embakasi because the houses are big,rather than in some small squeezed place in upmarket Kileleshwa - again,you are paying for lifestyle. - if you can only eat at Ronalo's for lunch,and cannot think of eating food prepared by the tea lady - who sells her lunch at 100 bob,you are paying for lifestyle.
What we own by what age,is a reflection of our lifestyle. Since we cannot all be the same,if your lifestyle allows you to have the car by 35,so be it. If the person in Kibera cannot afford that car by 35,that doesnt make them a failure. They are under different circumstances.
The beauty of diversity is that you cannot generalise. If you do,then you miss the point.
only xters that are sure they will live forever talk this....a mortal man doesnt talk like this
'A newspaper has three things to do. One is to amuse,another is to entertain and the rest is to mislead.' Ernest Bevin
Phili Ochieng-the most intelligent man in Kenya-doesn't drive. He is the wealthiest man in Kenya-intellectual fortune-the fortune that never dwindles.
Such a man will be immortalised because of the value he has added to humanity as a whole.
If this is failure so be it-though I want to buy a car.
the sage, come on,wat do you mean the most intelligent man in Kenya!!!! Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 12/4/2008 Posts: 341 Location: Nairobi
Bill Cosby was once asked the question what the secret was for his success,his answer was as interesting as it was illuminating...'I sure don't know what the secret to success is,but I do know the secret to failure-trying to please everyone' My take is success is both subjective and relative.E.g successful actor and his /her measure of success is relative to that of his fellow actors and subject to him and his fans.Here may be a good measure of money is also a determinant. But take a case of a successful philanthropist,Mother Teresa for example,money here is not a factor. Maybe the more apt question would be does success equal greatness......If so...Are you a great person then if drive at 3 or at 70?My answer lies with the comment by Bill Cosby,if you seek success/greatness by putting up appearances,then you can only be setting yourself up for failure.... Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
Financial success which I believe is what is in question here can only be measured by one's background. Take an example: Uhuru Kenyatta drives Range rover sports and has an escort of a Lexus just incase something happens to the Range and there is this guy brought up in Kibera but today has managed to buy a plot in Kitengela and has built a house,has a wife and two kids who go to an average school but takes matatu to work. Who of these two would be considered more financially successiful?
Fellow Skerians lets not use cars as a yard sticks to measure our successes because you can be in that car and still be broke-busted and disgusted!
My one denarii!
Life Can Be Explained As The Experience Of Living
When you're 4... success is... Not peeing in your pants. When you're 12... success is... Having friends. When you're 16... success is... Having A driver's license. When you're 20... success is... Having sex. When you're 35... success is... Having money. When you're 50... success is... Having money. When you're 60... success is... Having sex. When you're 70... success is... Having A driver's license. When you're 75... success is... Having friends. When you're 80... success is... Not peeing in your pants.
if youre 35 and dont drive,youre a failure