wazua Wed, Dec 25, 2024

37 Pages«<34567>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
bird_man
#81 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 2:04:44 PM

Good Discussions

Now i think we have talked about equity and what they are introducing. perfect product if i may add my 2 cents.

Can we now explore into other angles?,
1. What do they want to achieve with this?
Are they trying to limit costs of transaction between different platforms (telcos and banks)-Why should you pay Safcom for withdrawing money from your Equity A/C?Why should you pay Paybill charges for depositing into it?Why not pay Equity those commissions?They want to keep all Equity money & commissions within Equity.It will also greatly reduce the need for bank braches & associated costs.

2. What would competitors, if it affects any do?
i.e Telcos (read MPESA) and Banks (Read Simba)-Simba is technologically dead.MPESA is already fighting back.I hear their MPESA techs are in China testing Mpesa re-loaded to be launched in June.

good day

Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#82 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 2:22:24 PM

sorovi wrote:
Had not heard of this technology yet am in telcom..Sad Sad but competition is good if Equity can bring this technology..smile smile Some operators are already using it.. Learned something though..

link

Same here, i think Equity is their test market, even their face book page has no comments from supposed customers, lets see how it will work.

mkei wrote:
@Murchr, Do you know how much it costs me to deposit into my account from Mpesa? If Equity promises to be as cheap as they say, why would i not use Finserve?

If its about price wars, that war has been fought before and you know the outcome.
jawgey
#83 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 2:40:18 PM

When all is said and done, I hope this will drive some sense to mpesa bank,, that the monopoly days are numbered. Because currently we've been held hostage!literally
Seeing is believing
Goldilocks Reloaded
#84 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 5:02:03 PM

A break from the monopoly of the green SIM would be most welcome. For someone sending KES 101 to a non-MPESA-registered user, a charge of KES 66 in tariff charges is just ridiculous. That is a whooping 66%. This sticker thing better come quick but then again, Kenya's peculiar habits have stuck to the green amidst all the price wars.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
accelriskconsult
#85 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 5:17:43 PM

This technology will not make sense to those who think in a linear manner. I don't see how a James Mwangi/Julius Kipngetich tag team would not know about testing before project launch.

The technology seems to have been around for quite sometime http://www.bibitel.com/.

Digitech is one of the companies that Equity is getting the sim cards from.

The attack is on all existing mobile phone providers including Airtel.
#86 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 5:40:32 PM

mv_ufanisi wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.

Yeah this could be a giant killer for SCOM. SCOM shouldn't assume that Equity is Airtel. Equity has been here before giving a broken nose to established players in the banking industry. Plus Equity has a lot of brand value in Kenya & innovation. Their slim SIM in itself shows how they think. SCOM needs to be ready when we start getting news in July that 100,000 SIMs have been installed in the first month. That's when you know its for real.

if it works as promised; i am all in. just hope they have it for nano-sim.
#87 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 6:12:43 PM

mkenyan wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Yeah this could be a giant killer for SCOM. SCOM shouldn't assume that Equity is Airtel. Equity has been here before giving a broken nose to established players in the banking industry. Plus Equity has a lot of brand value in Kenya & innovation. Their slim SIM in itself shows how they think. SCOM needs to be ready when we start getting news in July that 100,000 SIMs have been installed in the first month. That's when you know its for real.

What if safcom warns its customers against interfering with the simcard and it should not be held liable if anything happens.
Make no mistake things are about to get very nasty smile
mkeiy
#88 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 6:46:31 PM

madollar wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
mv_ufanisi wrote:
accelriskconsult wrote:

What if safcom warns its customers against interfering with the simcard and it should not be held liable if anything happens.
Make no mistake things are about to get very nasty smile

What is it that could happen to make safcom liable?

Let the damn cards come, i'm tired of Safcom can't wait tl kiss them goodbye. As i pray for successful launch.
ngapat
#89 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 7:32:46 PM

The Business Center Interview with Dr. James Mwangi
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
target1360
#90 Posted : Thursday, May 29, 2014 9:29:25 PM

Dr mwangi successfully out did big players in the banking industry even when few believed that many poor kenyans could ever hold a bank account.
watch this
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
Outvestor
#91 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:14:31 AM

For those interested in some insight on how the various technologies may possibly get bundled onto a SIM skin, here's some reference : http://www.taisys.com/

Granted, the concept is fairly new, but not impossible.
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
Outvestor
#92 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:55:26 AM

The two-pronged approach is a killer strategy:

- Those who want to use some of the services without having to ditch their current mobile operators can use the SIM skin.

- Those who are confident to go all out on this will be issued with regular SIM cards.
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
Mkenia
#93 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 10:53:22 AM

Thank you bwana Daktari! After you are done with telcos (read SCOM), move to energy (Kenya Power) and water (Nairobi Waters). Tumenyanyaswa ya kutosha. Tumeomba serikali itusaidie lakini wapi!!!
#94 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 11:05:01 AM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:
A break from the monopoly of the green SIM would be most welcome. For someone sending KES 101 to a non-MPESA-registered user, a charge of KES 66 in tariff charges is just ridiculous. That is a whooping 66%. This sticker thing better come quick but then again, Kenya's peculiar habits have stuck to the green amidst all the price wars.

Robbery without violence. Eagerly waiting for the roll out even though I'm not a member. M pesa is ridiculously expensive but so far they have not been able to get someone to challenge them. This is definitely a game changer.
Evolve
#95 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 11:38:25 AM

I do not hold a brief for the green SIM but I am not sure whether Equity's "M-PESA" will be any cheaper. In any case, Equity is not in the business of being cheap but in providing a service that resonates well with its customers' expectations. The question is, where does the service it intends to offer lie? This is what will earn them more customers and enhance its shareholders' value. I see value in the stock in the medium to long term.
#96 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 11:50:18 AM

Even the share is reacting positively now about to reach new all time highs,lets hope the additional revenue stream and beba card will bear sweet fruits otherwise equitys normal business is up and running making profit..I see them making a billion or more from this in q4
#97 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 1:34:04 PM

Mkenia wrote:
Thank you bwana Daktari! After you are done with telcos (read SCOM), move to energy (Kenya Power) and water (Nairobi Waters). Tumenyanyaswa ya kutosha. Tumeomba serikali itusaidie lakini wapi!!!

Not impossible, India-Tata : Korea-Daewoo : Kenya-Memba : Uganda-Madhvani : Nigeria-Dangote
streetwise
#98 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 1:40:10 PM

I agree Kenya power should be first on his priority list..
georgegop
#99 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 2:47:09 PM

Bought Equity in Dec 2013 @31 and my stockbroker has asked me to sell. Really?d'oh!
Don't Work for Money, Let Money Work for You..
innovator
#100 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 2:56:57 PM

@georgeop Your stock broker should give you reasons so that you can decide. Not decide for you.