church adverts on tv
#81 Posted : Wednesday, January 15, 2014 4:43:42 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
weeh endelea @mtu biachara

Unga lazma utafutwe kaka.

So......high school.

Got 'saved' in form 1 first term... jumped ship at the end of the term.

My first brush with charismania was in high school, sema weekend challenge or was it challenge weekend.
screaming preacher after screaming preacher, very emotional and loud 'praise and worship'... sema speaking in tongues!

I was in high school around the time when there was supposed 'devil worship' at Nairobi School, some chap had been worshiping the devil by the poolside or so the story went...We had our own suspected devil worshiper as well... sema watu wa tae kwo ndo lol

Ok so i 'Got Saved' (dont like using that terminology) in my fourth year in campus.... i was alone when it happened...(story for another day).
Until then i was your regular beer chugging, cigarette smoking(kubwa na ndogo), tobacco chewing, womanizing,clubbing, deluded young Kenyan.

I was later introduced and started attending a respected Pentecostal church.. being Pentecostal, tongue speaking and mood music were not frowned upon. everything was honky dory until one day a sermon or rather a story that i found very very strange was preached, i dont remember it verbatim but it went something like this...

The preacher was talking about a friend of hers in the UK to whom a very miraculous thing happened.
She had been praying about financial issues, she then went to either a church or a convention and gave an offering or was prayed concerning this.

The part i remember kabisa is that when she later went home, her whole house was filled with "british pounds" all the cupboards, the fridge, every nook and cranny of the house had cash!
This of course being God's apparent answer to her prayers. - Pressed down shaken together and running over

This came from the mouth of a very very respected lady elder of the church!

I wondered for a long time weather she had been lied to, was lying herself or has an extremely vivid imagination.

I turned to scripture... i found no evidence of God oversupplying anything to anyone as an answer to prayer.

The only place you see an oversupply is in exodus where God responding to the Israelite's grumbling over the monotony of manna were given so much quail that it came out of their nostrils... and this was given out of Gods wrath and disappointment as he then swiftly punished them.

This was the beginning...

Enjoying the read!!
Mtu Biz
#82 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 6:20:44 PM

You know... i just came across this and i remembered there is a pending story here... but this is way more important.

Peter talks about false teachers thus... The rendering in KJV lends much more weight to this as i have observed.

2 Peter 2:3
King James Version (KJV)
3 And through covetousness shall they with feigned words make merchandise of you: whose judgment now of a long time lingereth not, and their damnation slumbereth not.

Its interesting that the popular false teachings will ALWAYS dwell on themes that have to do with upgrading you with regard to health/wealth and draw parallels with blessedness.

Through covetousness SMH!

The tenth commandment remember ?

17 Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour's wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor any thing that is thy neighbour's.

If your pastor has been telling you the way "watu watakuonea wivu juu utawapita" as i heard on tv yesterday.. flee from that place.

You are much better off as mtu wa phombe than continuing to nod shout and clap under such teaching.

That scripture up there is just too accurate.. the exact description of whats going on.

Mteule fungua macho.
Sola Scriptura

Mtu Biz
#83 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 6:35:55 PM

They teach you materialism,

they draw out in you the lust of the eyes, the pride of life...

You take the bait, hook then line then sinker.

You now pay them, as you chase the wind.

God help us.

What shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world, and lose his own soul.

Dear christian, it is not about health and wealth.

If you go to a church that has no problem selling Napoleon Hill's think and grow rich at the book stand...

Let me stop there..
Sola Scriptura

#84 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 7:03:44 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
Well, here goes the short version. Highlights only.

Growing up at the coast of Mombasa was interesting especially for mtu wa bara... the cultural / religious mix.. i remember our muslim neighbours (the kids)would sometimes threaten to read Al-Badiri to us if we dont agree to xyz or do 123.. i've never known what al badiri is about .. i digress

Your stories are interesting... And those boys in Mombasa played games on you ahahah Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The Al-Badr (is Bengali term, originally from the Arabic: meaning full moon) was a paramilitary wing of the West Pakistan Army. This army operated in Bangladesh (then East Pakistan) against the Bengali nationalist movement during the Bangladesh Liberation War. The unit was used for raids and special operations; the West Pakistan army command initially planned to use the locally recruited militias (Al-Badr, Razakar, Al-Shams) for policing cities of East Pakistan, and regular army units to defend the border with India. Most members of Al-Badr appear to have been Biharis.

Background
The name of the paramilitary formation, Al-Badr, may refer to the Battle of Badr.

Battle of Badr
Part of the Muslim-Quraish Wars, Date 13 March 624 CE/17 Ramadan, 2 AH.
Location: At the wells of Badr, 80 mi (130 km) southwest of Medina
Result: Decisive Muslim victory

Commanders and leaders:
Muslims of Medina: Muhammad, Hamza ibn Abd al-Muttalib, Ali ibn Abi Talib
Opponents Quraish of Mecca: Abu Jahl, Utba ibn Rabi'ah, Umayyah ibn Khalaf, Hind al-Hunnud

Strength of the Muslims of Medina: 313 Infantry & Cavalry: 2 Horses and 70 camels
Strength of the Quraish of Mecca: 950 Infantry & Cavalry: 100 Horses and 170 Camels

Casualties and losses on the Muslims of Medina side: 14 killed
Casualties and losses on the Quraish of Mecca side: 70 killed (37 killed by Ali alone), and 70 captured.

[FROM WIKIPEDIA]

The war itself
This Battle of Badr, fought on Saturday, 13 March 624 CE (17 Ramadan, 2 AH in the Islamic calendar) in the Hejaz region of western Arabia (present-day Saudi Arabia).

The battle of Badr was the most important among the Islamic battles of Destiny. For the first time the followers of the new faith were put into a serious test. Had victory been the lot of the pagan army while the Islamic Forces were still at the beginning of their developments, the faith of Islam could have come to an end.

No one was aware of the importance of the outcome of the Battle as the Prophet (s.a.w) himself. We might read the depth of his anxiety in his prayer before the beginning of the Battle when he stood up supplicating his Lord:

"God this is Quraish. It has come with all its arrogance and boastfulness, trying to discredit Thy Apostle. God, I ask Thee to humiliate them tomorrow. God, if this Muslim band will perish today, Thou shall not be worshipped."

At this battle in which the pagan army consisted of 950 fighters
symbols
#85 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 10:38:00 PM

@Muriel - I'll enjoy watching your bubble go POP!
#86 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 1:19:26 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:

So......high school.

My first brush with charismania was in high school, sema weekend challenge or was it challenge weekend.
screaming preacher after screaming preacher, very emotional and loud 'praise and worship'... sema speaking in tongues!

I was in high school around the time when there was supposed 'devil worship' at Nairobi School, some chap had been worshiping the devil by the poolside or so the story went...We had our own suspected devil worshiper as well... sema watu wa tae kwo ndo lol

Ok so i 'Got Saved' (dont like using that terminology) in my fourth year in campus.... i was alone when it happened...(story for another day).
Until then i was your regular beer chugging, cigarette smoking(kubwa na ndogo), tobacco chewing, womanizing,clubbing, deluded young Kenyan.

I was later introduced and started attending a respected Pentecostal church.. being Pentecostal, tongue speaking and mood music were not frowned upon. everything was honky dory until one day a sermon or rather a story that i found very very strange was preached, i dont remember it verbatim but it went something like this...

The preacher was talking about a friend of hers in the UK to whom a very miraculous thing happened.
She had been praying about financial issues, she then went to either a church or a convention and gave an offering or was prayed concerning this.

The part i remember kabisa is that when she later went home, her whole house was filled with "british pounds" all the cupboards, the fridge, every nook and cranny of the house had cash!
This of course being God's apparent answer to her prayers. - Pressed down shaken together and running over
The police came or were called in when neighbors reported screaming... she was asked to explain where the money came from... etc

I wondered for a long time weather she had been lied to, was lying herself or has an extremely vivid imagination.

I turned to scripture... i found no evidence of God oversupplying anything to anyone as an answer to prayer.

The only place you see an oversupply is in exodus where God responding to the Israelite's grumbling over the monotony of manna were given so much quail that it came out of their nostrils... and this was given out of Gods wrath and disappointment as he then swiftly punished them.

His name was Awero. Was in either Mars or Elgon. Wish I'd found Christ like you, whilst in Patch, to get through the being bullied and subsequent bullying rife in that school. Have you read 'Patch' Mucheru Njaga's book?

Muriel
#87 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:47:17 AM

symbols wrote:

I know my 'happy' time is soon coming to a tumultuous end.

I am deeply saddened that you will enjoy it. But I am still hopeful to have your company when the POP time comes.
symbols
#88 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 9:27:08 AM

Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

I am deeply saddened that you will enjoy it. But I am still hopeful to have your company when the POP time comes.

I wish you no ill and although transitions are difficult they do have their lessons and insights.Hope you protect your heart.I'll still be here.
Mtu Biz
#89 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 10:04:59 AM

symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

I wish you no ill and although transitions are difficult they do have their lessons and insights.Hope you protect your heart.I'll still be here.

Weee! What are you guys on about?

This talk will attract @Tycho here then the thread will need an intepretor from another galaxy. :(
Sola Scriptura

#90 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 10:27:14 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:
symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

This talk will attract @Tycho here then the thread will need an intepretor from another galaxy. :(

watu hutalk sijui how.
Muriel
#91 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 11:05:10 AM

Mtu Biz wrote:
symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
symbols wrote:

watu hutalk sijui how.

Haki poleni. Its just some reflections. Nothing much. Don't mind us.

I like your narrative, Mtu Biz. You have been there and done that. The more I read, the more I grasp these nuances - like the pressed down shaken together over supply bit.

Please continue ,,,,,,,,,,, you have reached just the beginning ,,,,,,,,,,,
Mtu Biz
#92 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 1:40:51 PM

Naked worship is not too far off.

Lets be real! Lets be relevant!

What the bible says? That doesn't matter!

Sola Scriptura

#93 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 2:20:39 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Naked worship is not too far off.

Lets be real! Lets be relevant!

What the bible says? That doesn't matter!

Pray Pray Pray

#94 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 4:44:06 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

So......high school.

The police came or were called in when neighbors reported screaming... she was asked to explain where the money came from... etc

His name was Awero. Was in either Mars or Elgon. Wish I'd found Christ like you, whilst in Patch, to get through the being bullied and subsequent bullying rife in that school. Have you read 'Patch' Mucheru Njaga's book?

@ Mtu Biz, either this rumour was in all schools or we went to the same school.

#95 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2016 7:36:29 PM

Some people are DOOMed!
#96 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2016 7:50:59 PM

Very very sad what religion make people do Sad Sad Sad
hamburglar
#97 Posted : Thursday, November 24, 2016 7:55:36 PM

Screeeech.

I heard church and came to talk shit about it as fast as I could. Lol.

I think I should be a pastor then i can get to try all the outrageous things I've ever thought of doing on people without having to face any repercussions. I've always wanted to bitch slap Christians so maybe I can be a pastor and say that slapping the bejeezus out of religious folks will bring them blessings.

Might be the most fun I ever have. I would just walk around town slapping folks who would then thank me in return. Lol.
#98 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2016 12:50:41 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

So......high school.

This i can relate. In Nyeri there was a form 2 girl from who claimed to be behind all the fatal accidents in nyeri. Then she said they have representatives in every school. Then the Emmanuel Eni novel was released. The devil seemed to be everywhere. Turns out they were all lies.

In my school there was a mono who escaped bullying because the rumour was he was a "DW". By the way you couldn't dare pronounce the name in full.
Coolbull
#99 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2016 3:40:07 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

This i can relate. In Nyeri there was a form 2 girl from who claimed to be behind all the fatal accidents in nyeri. Then she said they have representatives in every school. Then the Emmanuel Eni novel was released. The devil seemed to be everywhere. Turns out they were all lies.

In my school there was a mono who escaped bullying because the rumour was he was a "DW". By the way you couldn't dare pronounce the name in full.

I can relate too FRM2011. A 'duo' (form 2) in my school escaped all duties and could even not queue in the dining hall. Rumour went that he was a Devil Worshiper too. Huyo jamaa alituchezea akili.
#100 Posted : Friday, November 25, 2016 3:56:45 PM

Very very sad what religion make people do Sad Sad Sad

And 99% of the vicims being doomed are women...quite shocking!