13 Pages«<34567>»
Alcoblow - Is it the solution?
#81 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 12:01:35 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
This is one government policy I mostly agree with. Name and shame them.

He he he...I think you should have written the ONLY one. Is there any other that you agree with?smile smile

Wewe, one miracle at a time.smile smile

Hehehe...sawa bro. smile
#82 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 12:09:42 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
This is one government policy I mostly agree with. Name and shame them.

He he he...I think you should have written the ONLY one. Is there any other that you agree with?smile smile

Wewe, one miracle at a time.smile smile

Hehehe...sawa bro. smile

Applause Applause Applause That is miracle for 2014. Accept and move on!
#83 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 12:14:21 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Suddenly, your employer, clients, date(s), etc know the sort of person that you are. And the cookie begins to crumble.

We have discussing this issue the whole morning with a couple of friends...dnt know what u guyz thnk...

Btw is a claim actionable?does jumping bail constitute an offence of such severe nature as to have your name plastered in the daily press?
And what is the objective of posting names in the papers when the police have the capacity. Isnt it a waste of resources.

Now look at lawyers always looking for a loop hole where they can fight back.smile smile I think the offense they committed(drunk driving) is worse more than the punishment of being on the paper. These days si people are even serving court orders through newspapers? This too is ok.
livie
#84 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 1:05:18 PM

jmbada wrote:
I still maintain the biggest risks are:
1. Unroadworthy vehicles.
2. Unqualified / disrespectful drivers
3. Overloaded vehicles (whether freight or passenger).
4. Lack of seat belts, airbags and child car seats.
5. Overspeeding
6. Absolutely ATROCIOUS road markings and traffic signals. Very few painted roads (think yield / stop signs); speed limits; turn/no-uturn indications; double-single yellow markings; edges of the road; street lighting...the list goes on and on.

Will all the above flaws, you could be a stone-cold sober driver and still get into an accident! Literally, in Kenya, you have to only drive on roads you know like the back of your hand AND be sober!

Having road markings alone would drastically reduce accidents, whether under influence or not...I agree.
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#85 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 1:58:17 PM

1. 3years ago, a guy we grew up with in shags...heavily drunk. Driving along Isiolo-Meru road. At around 2am...crushed with his Toyota Raum n died on the spot.

2. Last year but one...2012. A guy we were in campus with...was working for KCB. They are so drunk, driving along Mombasa road. Kufika Nyayo, they forgot kuna round-about. Drove on top of it. Car crushed. Lives crushed.

3. Mid last year, July specifically. A friend from Nyeri. Guys quite drunk. They decide to road test a new Subaru. Drives along valley road, takes a turn at the Kenyatta avenue round about n drives upwards towards hurlingam. Just at the round about near Total, they forgot to break, hit a car that was already on the round about. Guys rushed to Nairobi hospital. Few days later, the guy is dead...

Those r guys I knew personally. Very young n promising lives lost. There are many more such sad stories. They had driven b4 when drunk but these were just days they either took slightly more, or they were tired, or whatever. Only them could tell the tale, but its too late. Dead gives no stories. If only alcoblow had come, maybe they could have feared on those specific nights n they wud still be with us.

About Govt n EABL, they better have you drink a few bottles n drink for long, than drink 20 bottles n drink for your final night. Your longer live would make more business sense to them.

One more challenge is that you may be OK risking your live like that, but on the way yu hit n kill or maim an innocent guy who was just driving safely. Why now?

Don't drink when drunk. Its not fair to either you or other road users.

I know those guys,they were drinking in a pals house
#86 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 4:19:05 PM

#87 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 4:41:08 PM

Sasa, the morning shift guys had already provided this, discussed, agreed and we moved on.
#88 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 4:47:15 PM

Sasa, the morning shift guys had already provided this, discussed, agreed and we moved on.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ati morning shift guys! Lol. That is the opposite of 2pm ama?
#89 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 4:50:33 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ati morning shift guys! Lol. That is the opposite of 2pm ama?

Some employers and clients won't be amused by that list. Some people will be fired or lose alot of business.
#90 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:17:55 PM

The courts are collecting over 10Million weekly who does the money belong to?
#91 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:36:10 PM

GoK. A good way to fund the trillion plus budget.
african coloner
#92 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 2:42:09 AM

To solve this problem, planners should not allow pubs near highways or where it can only be accessed by private cars. But for now Alco blow is God send in Nairobi
#93 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 7:10:37 AM

If alcoblow guys are able to arrest you then achana nayo...simple!!!....Tumia taxi ama designated driver!!!!

Applause Applause i like the turn around!
#94 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 10:41:44 PM

If alcoblow guys are able to arrest you then achana nayo...simple!!!....Tumia taxi ama designated driver!!!!

Applause Applause Me too.smile
#95 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 10:59:51 PM

Nimeona kwa news jana wamehangaisha watu wa Mlolongo/Msa road, South B na Nbi West sana.Sad
#96 Posted : Saturday, February 01, 2014 11:29:22 PM

If
alcoblow guys are able to arrest you then achana
nayo...simple!!!....Tumia taxi ama designated driver!!!!

This is very good for you, great for other road users! Let us stamp out DUI; gari inajua nyumbani crap!
#97 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 7:13:05 AM

Yes ! Alco blow is becoming a solution.

Yesturday where I was there was genuine fear of being caught so guys to max 3 beers and alot of water thereafter before going home.

They left very early (11.00pm )which is odd for a Sato and from 9.00 the discussion was obout Alcoblow making the drinking not very enjoyable.

For sure DUI will go down and eventually drinking will go down.

Businesses will suffer in the long run but I guess only supernormal profits will go.

Best part lives will be saved.
#98 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 7:47:41 AM

Yes ! Alco blow is becoming a solution.

Yesturday where I was there was genuine fear of being caught so guys to max 3 beers and alot of water thereafter before going home.

They left very early (11.00pm )which is odd for a Sato and from 9.00 the discussion was obout Alcoblow making the drinking not very enjoyable.

For sure DUI will go down and eventually drinking will go down.

Businesses will suffer in the long run but I guess only supernormal profits will go.

Best part lives will be saved.

Clearly, this Alcoblow is the solution!

Who wants to appear on National TV breathing in stupid gadget? Or your name published on the Nation? Or skipping work on Monday to go to court?
#99 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 1:58:05 PM

I was at Rafikiz last night. It was nearly empty...this was a pub that used to get packed to the rafters and people would park on the green between the roads!
Now let us extrapolate ..
How much revenue did EABL pull in last year? They are going to take a massive hit ....so will KRA tax collection...10 to 15 billion perhaps from KBL alone? Not to mention the drinking establishments. The share will take a small hit as well. Some more domestic borrowing from the gavmint to cover the short fall....Credit will become just a little bit more expensive?
Cascade effect.
Not that I am saying alcoblow should be pulled
#100 Posted : Sunday, February 02, 2014 2:08:36 PM

quicksand wrote:
I was at Rafikiz last night. It was nearly empty...this was a pub that used to get packed to the rafters and people would park on the green between the roads!
Now let us extrapolate ..
How much revenue did EABL pull in last year? They are going to take a massive hit ....so will KRA tax collection...10 to 15 billion perhaps from KBL alone? Not to mention the drinking establishments. The share will take a small hit as well. Some more domestic borrowing from the gavmint to cover the short fall....Credit will become just a little bit more expensive?
Cascade effect.
Not that I am saying alcoblow should be pulled

At K1 and most of the joints at Westie its buiness as usual...