wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

23 Pages«<34567>»
Fire at JKIA
Muheani
#81 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:44:21 AM

ATI WATER HAS RUN OUT NOW?? OMG
Pipeline,the fueling companies all near there cant supply water?
Si they come for water huku kwetu.

Phew!!!!...now contained!!
#82 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:46:50 AM

The only options are;
1. VIP Lounge ----- 50%
2. The Hague trip -- 15%
3. Duty free shops - 20%
4. Any other ------ 15%

ETHIOPIANS Laughing out loudly
#83 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:48:12 AM

Kusema na Kutender, more tenders on the way!!!
#84 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:55:17 AM

Very sad day. Very shameful. Very depressing. Fires are bound to happen, the problem is fire control preparedness. Planes do catch fire too. Again, this is shameful. National shame.
#85 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 9:55:41 AM

As I predicted, now news coming in that water has run out

Oh Kenya, are we so incompetent?

Are our fire fighters trained and with the necessary knowledge? You cannot put out certain fires with water...we have options in foam and carbondioxide...

@kysse, I thought bwana Freedom arrived in a chopper, motorcade imetoka wapi?
#86 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:00:48 AM

Are our fire fighters trained and with the necessary knowledge? You cannot put out certain fires with water...we have options in foam and carbondioxide...

oh I understand that was security detail lol.For a moment I wondered if his flight was departing from mlolongo.

Was talking to those engineers wa fueling companies, hakuna job today. They will spend the day sleeping in their cubicles.

I see pax walking with luggages jameni from arrivals all the way up cz of no vehicles.

Now everyone wants to know if their cargo has gone up in flames,

What is cnn telling the world? It's the arrivals/immigration/customs/Barclays bank,(money) woi,car hire companies,forex,hotels,wololo guys have suffered and that expensive simba restaurant area Sad

The cargo area is ok but..

mkeiyd
#87 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:00:54 AM

A few posts on this thread are well thought,encouraging.
Majority of them,quite depressing.
Our "juakali" ways and loads of complacency.
#88 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:03:36 AM

Dude arrived in a chopper, but motorcade ni ya security details. Yeye si Raia.
#89 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:04:24 AM

WTF - the photo by @timuka shows the entire arrivals on fire.. How the hell can this happen and how did it get to that level??? Must be Sabotage..

Why must it be sabotage?

DIGITAL BLUNDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

seppuku
#90 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:04:32 AM

Not seen anyone quoting eye witnesses. Ama wamekatazwa kuongelesha media?
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#91 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:05:30 AM

Muheani wrote:

After the fact.
Fire has happened.

Looking ahead
I hope someone is already working at contingencies and business continuity. We cant be shut down..no.

Now thats where the problems begins we never have BCPs...this is going to be rough...

Mboss, BCPs are there. Be informed. An airport can be shut down to contain the fire, arriving airlines are rerouted to other airports nearby, e.g. MSA. Departures can be delayed or cancelled till things are contained.
#92 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:06:48 AM

seppuku wrote:

There seems to be a ban of sorts...wamenyonga wire...
#93 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:06:58 AM

The power of social media
InnovateGuy
#94 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:08:09 AM

Strategic planning and risk management: Maybe, we need a second international airport in Nairobi or somewhere close to Nairobi. Again, maybe, Nairobi County needs at least three firefighting helicopters.

Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#95 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:08:15 AM

Yaani Raira ameamua kutumalizia kiwanja sababu ya VIP Lounge pekee yake?

seppuku
#96 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:08:23 AM

seppuku wrote:

There seems to be a ban of sorts...wamenyonga wire...

Wenye walikuwa si wa-tweet basi. Surely there has to be some clues...
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#97 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:12:13 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Strategic planning and risk management: Maybe, we need a second international airport in Nairobi or somewhere close to Nairobi. Again, maybe, Nairobi County needs at least three firefighting helicopters.

What we need are people to do their goddamned jobs!!! otherwise you may wake up to find both Airports burning if you had two within the same vicinity.

So I guess my flight tomorrow will be cancelled, so will spend the rest of the day managing disappointed clients instead of doing productive work.
#98 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:13:21 AM

Dude arrived in a chopper, but motorcade ni ya security details. Yeye si Raia.

oh oh waa.na vile tumetrekLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Tokyo
#99 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:15:31 AM

Los Angeles Times

Huge fire closes Nairobi's international airport
Email

Facebook
Twitter

AP

People watch a fire raging at the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport in Nairobi, Kenya.
BY TIMES STAFF
August 7, 2013, 3:00 p.m.
A spectacular fire caused major damage Wednesday at the international airport in Nairobi, Kenya, one of the busiest in Africa, according to news reports and social media accounts. There were no reports of casualties, and the cause appeared to be undetermined.

The blaze broke out at 5 a.m. local time (7 p.m. Tuesday PDT) and gutted the arrivals building of Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, according to Kenya's Daily Nation newspaper. The paper quoted the head of security for the Kenya Airports Authority, Eric Kiraithe, as saying: “By our own standards this is so big.”

The airport was closed and passengers evacuated, the BBC reported, adding that there were unconfirmed reports that the blaze had begun in the airport's immigration offices.

The fire broke out on the 15th anniversary of the Aug. 7, 1998, bombing of the U.S. Embassy in Nairobi, but there was no immediate indication that there was any link. That bombing, and the nearly simultaneous bombing of the U.S. Embassy in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, were the largest attacks to that point by Al Qaeda, and claimed 224 lives.

After Wednesday's airport fire, the Associated Press quoted a British passenger, Martyn Collbeck, who had been scheduled to fly back to London on an early morning KLM flight. “When I arrived, there were one or two fire engines parked outside the international arrivals. It spread very fast,” said Collbeck. “There were a couple of explosions, which I think were a couple of gas canisters.”

Photos posted on Twitter suggested the scale of the blaze.

MORE: Passengers evacuated as crews work to contain massive fire at Nairobi airport pic.twitter.com/QgFl15LWNL http://t.co/gLKAYdWVi5 #Kenya

— RT (@RT_com) August 7, 2013
BREAKING PIC: Appears to show huge fire that's shut down international airport in Nairobi, Kenya @citizentvkenya pic.twitter.com/9o56NR0J8C

— NewsBreaker (@NewsBreaker) August 7, 2013
Jomo Kenyatta is said to be the sixth busiest airport in Africa. It is named after Kenya's first prime minister and president.
work to prosper
InnovateGuy
#100 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:15:38 AM

Conspiracy theories are escapist means intended to divert and distort the truth. This needs a clear answer. And we can get the answer, if we are willing. Are we?
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.