The 1982 coup
Facts you may not have known. 1. The whole thing would have been prevented because MIC(Military Intelligent Corps) had info about it 2 wks b4. When the CGS was told..he took it lightly and dint think it would happen. 2 In July 1982, there had been simmering discontentment among the low-ranking Air Force officers regarding inadequate accommodation. However Mulinge the CGS had been informed and construction of houses had began. 3 It is believed that Lieutenant Mwamburi was the one who leaked the info because he had been recruited to join the mutiny, his info was that Air force officers and soldiers from One Kenya Rifles, Nanyuki, and 78 Tank Battalion, Isiolo, were planning a mutiny. He wasnt believed because he was a "troublesome officer" the matter was however investigated and Ogidi and Ochuka were identified as ringleaders. What made the army not to act was the fact that the whole deal dint incorporate senior officers so Mulinge assumed the "boys" wouldn't do it, and he would deal with them once he establishes the whole issue. But 3 day b4 the coup Mo1 was informed about it. 4. Before the boys pulled their stunt, it was noted that Ochuka used to meet Raila in a house on 4th Ngong Ave, owned then by a prof Otieno. 5. The army together with the special branch, conducted investigations on which torture was involved and some confessions were made, its believed that this is where the politicians(Sir Charles, OAR and others) involved were mentioned.<----It was however too hard to prove this and now that Sir Charles had been mentioned the west was "interested". 6. That man called Kanyotu died with very many secrets. If only there was a way one would open up someones brain and take out all info. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
When you consider how poorly executed the coup was it becomes difficult to imagine that a person like Oginga Odinga who was once VP and knew what it takes to topple a government was actually involved deeply. I mean seriously, these people thought that taking over broadcasting house amounted to a coup. How amateurish is that ?
So Oginga funded the coup huh ? How much funding did the Airforce serrvicemen really need to pick up their rifles and storm Broadcasting house ?
Its difficult to imagine that Oginga Odinga thought he could topple the government using two Airforce privates and no senior officers to mastermind the coup. This is a man who as a former VP understood how the military works.
Based on the original stories, I have read, the coup plotters were unhappy because of the way junior officers were treated and that was their main reason for plotting a coup. It is also obvious that Moi knew a coup was coming. Thats why according to reliable sources, he was so nonchalant about it.
Another thing that difficult to imagine is that given all the contacts Oginga had overseas, he never thought of an escape plan should the coup fail. He and RAO actually waited like sitting ducks for Moi to come and arrest them.
And RAO was not that popular in 1982. If Moi thought he was guilty, he would have charged him with treason.
Moi accused RAO of all manner of things when he was President and even locked him up in detention. But he never came out and said that RAO was one of the master minds of the coup and even went as far as dropping the charges ?
I have noticed of late that there has been a concerted effort in some of the media to trash Oginga Odinga. Those who lived through the Kenyatta years will tell you that the same thing happened in the 1970s. Is history repeating itself ?
Alba wrote:When you consider how poorly executed the coup was it becomes difficult to imagine that a person like Oginga Odinga who was once VP and knew what it takes to topple a government was actually involved deeply. I mean seriously, these people thought that taking over broadcasting house amounted to a coup. How amateurish is that ?
So Oginga funded the coup huh ? How much funding did the Airforce serrvicemen really need to pick up their rifles and storm Broadcasting house ?
Its difficult to imagine that Oginga Odinga thought he could topple the government using two Airforce privates and no senior officers to mastermind the coup. This is a man who as a former VP understood how the military works.
Based on the original stories, I have read, the coup plotters were unhappy because of the way junior officers were treated and that was their main reason for plotting a coup. It is also obvious that Moi knew a coup was coming. Thats why according to reliable sources, he was so nonchalant about it.
Another thing that difficult to imagine is that given all the contacts Oginga had overseas, he never thought of an escape plan should the coup fail. He and RAO actually waited like sitting ducks for Moi to come and arrest them.
And RAO was not that popular in 1982. If Moi thought he was guilty, he would have charged him with treason.
Moi accused RAO of all manner of things when he was President and even locked him up in detention. But he never came out and said that RAO was one of the master minds of the coup and even went as far as dropping the charges ?
I have noticed of late that there has been a concerted effort in some of the media to trash Oginga Odinga. Those who lived through the Kenyatta years will tell you that the same thing happened in the 1970s. Is history repeating itself ? There was no evidence that Oginga was not involved, rather the son was, but the father stood by the son to the very end, you wonder how amateurish the whole issue was...yes the guy was an amateur then, alikuwa hajaiva bado, he wasnt the enigma you know today. The reason why Ochuka and group were incapacitated was because the army knew their plans were going on and one Major Kiilu made sure what they had in their disposal was not so lethal, the communication equipment at Eastleigh had to be destroyed and that made it impossible for Ochuka to communicate with the rest......300 people died tho most of them were university students (Raila was working with the university then) who were rioting and were supporting the rebels. RAO was not popular yes but he was the son of the 1st vice president of Kenya, infact almost all politicians who were incarcerated then were just held in detention, it was hard to prove that they were involved. He was tried and found not guilty...then the book came out... And yes the other coup was in the 70s where Major Ndolo was involved. Has anyone ever followed up to know what happened to the family of those who were hanged? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/10/2010 Posts: 1,001 Location: River Road
mawinder wrote:mkonomtupu wrote:most wazuans are young. Most cant recall when MO1 said clearly there was a "msaliti" who was being groomed by foreign powers to take power. RAO was promptly pardoned to give evidence against the "msaliti"
I missed the gist of your thread due to sleep.You are wrong.RAO was released from detention in 1988 after the Miller commission had been disbanded.He was rearrested the same year and released in 1991.He has suffered and for that period NEVER call him a traitor.In fact I respect Muite and him for that while Lee Muthoga is the traitor. RAO was actually charged with treason according to the charge sheet prepared by sharad rao. there was actually a watertight case as patrick shaw and by then CİD used to be meticulous in gathering evidence. if the trial went through RAO would have been convicted. sharad rao entered a nolle prosequi against the charges facing RAO who was then detained and brought in 1984 to testify against msaliti in the miller commission which was not disbanded but actually gave recommendations which were not implemented. i still have the "Weekly Review" from those days. Actually starting with the first treason trial in kenya in 1980-81 the Muthembwa trial before chief justice simpson you could tell something was being planned. As for RAO organizing the 1990 saba saba riots that is just hogwash he was nowhere near the table actually he was in detention.
McReggae wrote:So the researchers had more than enough information about the research? at least now a number of wazuans know it aint as easy as some would like it to be.....Odinga... I have removed the hallowed name Odinga from the title. I hope now you will contribute in a mature way. You have so many posts that add no value to this thread.
Lolest! wrote:McReggae wrote:So the researchers had more than enough information about the research? at least now a number of wazuans know it aint as easy as some would like it to be.....Odinga... I have removed the hallowed name Odinga from the title. I hope now you will contribute in a mature way. You have so many posts that add no value to this thread. No value to the thread? Thank you sir. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Is it not possible to state in plain speech how this previously unknown part of history went down? Ama iliandikwa na tycho.
McReggae wrote:Lolest! wrote:McReggae wrote:So the researchers had more than enough information about the research? at least now a number of wazuans know it aint as easy as some would like it to be.....Odinga... I have removed the hallowed name Odinga from the title. I hope now you will contribute in a mature way. You have so many posts that add no value to this thread. No value to the thread? Thank you sir. sorry little value for someone who claims to be in the know
Mtu Biz wrote:Is it not possible to state in plain speech how this previously unknown part of history went down?
Ama iliandikwa na tycho. Fellows who think they are holding into very important secrets. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Thanks @mkonomtupu it is important to teach these Kifake shuldrens the right history government and civics. Some of them read only geography and physical sciences. . . If the Saba Saba 'Uprisings' and agitation for constutional change were a football match Rayila cannot make the first 11, infact much to the chagrin on his supporters hata bench zi. First eleven reads like, 1. Timothy Njoya, 2.Ahmed Salim Bahmariz 3.Rhumba Kinuthia 3.Masinde Muliro 4.Martin Shikuku before the ugali incident 5 . Ken Stanley Njindo 6.Jaramogi Adononija Oginga Odinga 7. Paul Kibugi Muite 9. Nthenge George 10. James orengo 11. Gitobu Imanyara the reserve team had the likes of kijana wamalwa as deputy captain, Salim NdamweJohn Khaminwa,Koigi Wamwere Phiroze Nowrojee, Kathurima inoti, George Anyona serving injury in prison. Mohammed Ibrahim, Gitobu Imanyara, Charles Rubia,Gibson Kamau Kuria Kiraitu Murungi, etc ongezea any other players i might have left out including Wangari Maathai and Ndingi MwanaNzeki, Manasses Kuria, ArchBishop Okoth Rayila was a ball boy On this 82 monkey business editors of the time the likes of Nyamora and Hillary Ngweno owe us the real history of what really went down in this Kenya's unspoken. And before people start throwing stones notice Ubaks names is inentionally left out because he an his muthaiga-DP golfing buddies came late after Christmas of that year after a drinking spree and started urinating at our FORD bus. . . The rest is History [/quote] As for RAO organizing the 1990 saba saba riots that is just hogwash he was nowhere near the table actually he was in detention. [/quote] "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
@all in the know. We 'kefake shudren' seek info...info hidden from us by KIE. Give us the books where this info is. Or links of articles with the truth. We will appreciate. Thanks to all who have been kind to tell us what they know.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/25/2012 Posts: 1,624 Location: Langley
Lolest! wrote:@all in the know. We 'kefake shudren' seek info...info hidden from us by KIE. Give us the books where this info is. Or links of articles with the truth. We will appreciate. Thanks to all who have been kind to tell us what they know. http://mobile.nation.co..../-/1382dyl/-/index.html
Page one has it all. Moi didn't want the coup planners to be arrested not because the matter could be dealt with internally but simply because he wanted the coup to go on as planned. The question is why?? With the little analytical skills which we gained in 2009 from reading Utegano and An enemy of the people your analysis won't be far from the truth. If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:@all in the know. We 'kefake shudren' seek info...info hidden from us by KIE. Give us the books where this info is. Or links of articles with the truth. We will appreciate. Thanks to all who have been kind to tell us what they know. History, can't be written in 'plain English' or plain language, to be precise. This is because politics is never conducted in plain language. All political expression is an invitation to interpretation of not just past events, but also present ones. It's the expression of a world view, and world views can hardly pass the 'plain language' test. To this effect I call all political and historical documents as evidence. Consequently, there's always a part of history that remains unwritten, and undiscovered. Therefore, in judging the truth of historical assertion, one is constrained by the demands of natural law and justice, and the dictates of universal 'brotherhood'. History is about atonement. Look at all the Empires, and you'll see this trend. Thus in being given events and their dates, one is called to infer relationships, and motives, and their relations to the above constraints. History necessarily entails the coining of Knowledge. I'd be disappointed if, this thread, and any Wazuan thread was limited to quotes and citations as the standards of truth. For then we'd merely be paying homage to falsehood and death. The multiplicity of voice and perception and ease of communication should enable us to write history together.
What I'd like to know is why things in this country seemed to go wrong.. from what I and many 'shudren' gathered to have been brought about by the coup. There was Nyayo this and Nyayo that, the guy was all over physically putting up gabions.. we even had a Kenyan car! Pioneer something. Now, if he was in the know, and from what I gather from the replies in this thread, wanted to play politics/games and 'finish' his enemies.. Why then, and after achieving what he wanted, did the economy and way of life go down the drain? Did the whole ndlama make him eccentric? And how so if he was on the know?
tycho wrote:Lolest! wrote:@all in the know. We 'kefake shudren' seek info...info hidden from us by KIE. Give us the books where this info is. Or links of articles with the truth. We will appreciate. Thanks to all who have been kind to tell us what they know. History, can't be written in 'plain English' or plain language, to be precise. This is because politics is never conducted in plain language. All political expression is an invitation to interpretation of not just past events, but also present ones. It's the expression of a world view, and world views can hardly pass the 'plain language' test. To this effect I call all political and historical documents as evidence. Consequently, there's always a part of history that remains unwritten, and undiscovered. Therefore, in judging the truth of historical assertion, one is constrained by the demands of natural law and justice, and the dictates of universal 'brotherhood'. History is about atonement. Look at all the Empires, and you'll see this trend. Thus in being given events and their dates, one is called to infer relationships, and motives, and their relations to the above constraints. History necessarily entails the coining of Knowledge. I'd be disappointed if, this thread, and any Wazuan thread was limited to quotes and citations as the standards of truth. For then we'd merely be paying homage to falsehood and death. The multiplicity of voice and perception and ease of communication should enable us to write history together. lol! sycho ebu conclude what you just said in 2 sentences. Kuumwa na kishwa nayo! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
simonkabz wrote:tycho wrote:Lolest! wrote:@all in the know. We 'kefake shudren' seek info...info hidden from us by KIE. Give us the books where this info is. Or links of articles with the truth. We will appreciate. Thanks to all who have been kind to tell us what they know. History, can't be written in 'plain English' or plain language, to be precise. This is because politics is never conducted in plain language. All political expression is an invitation to interpretation of not just past events, but also present ones. It's the expression of a world view, and world views can hardly pass the 'plain language' test. To this effect I call all political and historical documents as evidence. Consequently, there's always a part of history that remains unwritten, and undiscovered. Therefore, in judging the truth of historical assertion, one is constrained by the demands of natural law and justice, and the dictates of universal 'brotherhood'. History is about atonement. Look at all the Empires, and you'll see this trend. Thus in being given events and their dates, one is called to infer relationships, and motives, and their relations to the above constraints. History necessarily entails the coining of Knowledge. I'd be disappointed if, this thread, and any Wazuan thread was limited to quotes and citations as the standards of truth. For then we'd merely be paying homage to falsehood and death. The multiplicity of voice and perception and ease of communication should enable us to write history together. lol! sycho ebu conclude what you just said in 2 sentences. Kuumwa na kishwa nayo! Let me do it in 3. 1. Politics and history are always mythical 2. History is always being written 3. Now, thanks to technology, history can be written in collaboration and en mass.
@ tycho, agreed. Especially with point 3. History is always being written. Usually those in authority/those who shout loudest or at times those who appear right get their version recognised as the authentic one. Nonetheless, we are better off having different versions.
Lolest! wrote:@ tycho, agreed. Especially with point 3. History is always being written. Usually those in authority/those who shout loudest or at times those who appear right get their version recognised as the authentic one. Nonetheless, we are better off having different versions. Sasa ata wewe umekuwa recruited na tycho? Hii wazua itakuwa ni kuwaza tu. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
No @kabz. Hiyo ya kina tycho leave it to him @chessmaster and wazua admin. But he has a point. History is rarely without dispute. The Maumau were heroes and freedom fighters to some. To others, they were terrorists who contributed to suffering of their people. Imagine a book written about Raila by mcreggae. Now imagine if you wrote it. History depends on the historian. The 2 books would be very different. Which is why some here say they have facts but cant discuss them. They're still creating history and don't have all the details.
Lolest! wrote:No @kabz. Hiyo ya kina tycho leave it to him @chessmaster and wazua admin. But he has a point. History is rarely without dispute. The Maumau were heroes and freedom fighters to some. To others, they were terrorists who contributed to suffering of their people. Imagine a book written about Raila by mcreggae. Now imagine if you wrote it. History depends on the historian. The 2 books would be very different. Which is why some here say they have facts but cant discuss them. They're still creating history and don't have all the details. How would it be?
The 1982 coup