6 Pages«<3456>
Biggest loser (own experience)
#41 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 6:21:08 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
I guess it's a loss only when one sells. Holding large chunks of KQ bought at 46 and Mumias at 14. But if you count opportunities lost as a loss, my worst is offloading EABL at 53, a stock that has since done a 1:5 split and the current price is in the strastophere.

I'm sailing in the same boat. Bought sukari at 14.00, it now tastes bitter than Malariaquinne.

@Caramba and @Gordon Gekko relax. You don't know what it means to be 'shaved'. If memory serves me right, I remember being conned Ksh. 49 for that mumias thingy. I remain bald to date Sad Sad Sad

d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly A buddy of mine told me he got his at 49/- too, i've always thot he lies about it...Kumbe. Pole sana
#42 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 7:14:55 PM

cmc @ 21, Kq at 42. Bado nalia
the deal
#43 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 7:32:17 PM

Common theme in this thread is that TN has screwed most of us!
phantom
#44 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 8:23:47 PM

Bought KQ at 60 bob and also another chunk of 1000 at 35 all in the name of averaging
Your boss's job is to give you a job. Its your job to make yourself rich
Prime
#45 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 8:37:17 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
I guess it's a loss only when one sells. Holding large chunks of KQ bought at 46 and Mumias at 14. But if you count opportunities lost as a loss, my worst is offloading EABL at 53, a stock that has since done a 1:5 split and the current price is in the strastophere.

I'm sailing in the same boat. Bought sukari at 14.00, it now tastes bitter than Malariaquinne.

@Caramba and @Gordon Gekko relax. You don't know what it means to be 'shaved'. If memory serves me right, I remember being conned Ksh. 49 for that mumias thingy. I remain bald to date Sad Sad Sad

d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly A buddy of mine told me he got his at 49/- too, i've always thot he lies about it...Kumbe. Pole sana

Naona tuko wengi.
Pesa Nane
#46 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 11:27:25 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

The con game was called Mumias Sugar Secondary IPO 2006. The prospectus / info memo was all sugar coated, honey stuffed and with a few chocolate flakes. All for a SUPER DISCOUNTED PRICE OF ONLY Ksh. 49.50 (NOT 49)

Ironically, this was implemented under the Economic Recovery Strategy for Wealth and Employment Creation (ERSWEC) Programme.d'oh! d'oh!
Merciless Mafia.Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:33:26 AM

phantom wrote:
Bought KQ at 60 bob and also another chunk of 1000 at 35 all in the name of averaging

Sad pole mine is worse My book has KQ printed at 70 and 110 when i had given my broker free hand to trade... sisemi kituBrick wall
Halafu CFC stanbic 132 Even with the consolation shares given for liberty holdings I ask myself Pray kwani the company got chopped into 2 and some chaps disappeared to British Virgin Islands kuficha huko?
The i remember dozing of in class during CAPM MM and other asset pricing theories... but i crammed the other sections and escaped with a B.
kazee
#48 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:41:23 AM

My worst ever was buying 600,000 safcom shares at 5 bob back in the days before and after listing then it went sub 3. Sold them at below 3 and wrote off a net loss of just above a mita, accepted and moved on smile
mwekez@ji
#49 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:46:36 AM

kazee wrote:
My worst ever was buying 600,000 safcom shares at 5 bob back in the days before and after listing then it went sub 3. Sold them at below 3 and wrote off a net loss of just above a mita, accepted and moved on smile

Classic buy high sell low case. hope you got the lesson. pole
kazee
#50 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:50:50 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
kazee wrote:

Classic buy high sell low case. hope you got the lesson. pole

I know! Learnt my lesson but at the time I weighed between how long it would take for me to recover and opportunities in real estate developments that I had and opted for the latter. Time value of money. But what a lossPray
6 Pages«<3456>