wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

36 Pages«<34567>»
UNGA anyone?
#81 Posted : Tuesday, July 06, 2010 4:37:34 PM

@the deal; It's been on a see-saw for some time now. I wouldn't worry too much about today's jump.
#82 Posted : Tuesday, July 06, 2010 4:42:36 PM

....see; it closed at 11.60
the deal
#83 Posted : Tuesday, July 06, 2010 4:51:54 PM

mukiha wrote:
@the deal; It's been on a see-saw for some time now. I wouldn't worry too much about today's jump.

sawa sawa...
#84 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 10:07:07 AM

I have just sent out another small buy order for Unga @12. If it goes through, this counter will be 11.7% of my portfolio.

I started buying in mid-May and my average price is 12.22 [incl commissions].

Source of funds - profits taken from SCOM, MSC, EQTY.

NB; I did not liquidate the 3 above completely! I just took out the profit.
#85 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 10:55:29 AM

@mukiha - Based on the problems the wheat farmers claim in selling their produce... it seems Unga will do fine...

I have an interest in Unga as well coz the NAV is much higher (25+). The shares remain illiquid but let's hope for profits though they pay a nominal dividend coz of their huge short-term debt...
#86 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:12:51 AM

VVS, tell me more about Unga's debt
#87 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:23:24 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
VVS, tell me more about Unga's debt

Unga buys grain & often borrows to buy the grain.

1) Since grain (maize + wheat) tends to have seasons i.e. not an all-year round crops, they need to buy during the harvest...

2) Unga also imports grain. These are imported in 'bulk' i.e. they buy the grain FOB then it is delivered to Mombasa (or thru border points) then to Nairobi & Nakuru. These grains are stored until milled & sold...

So you can see the short-term debts can balloon up until the end product (flour) is sold & cash collected...
#88 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:28:07 AM

Thanks
#89 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 11:42:23 AM

1H 2010-11 balance sheet is not detailed enough but there is 4bn in CA vs 2.1bn in CL. There is a cost to the CL though not shown in the P&L.

There is a danger of 'losses' due to KES & UGX currency depreciation vs US$ but I think it will be mitigated through lower duties/taxes.
shauriyako
#90 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 2:32:24 PM

@All

I know one or two guys who work for unga and from what I am told is unga did fine the just ended trading year. I am told their H2 was not a as good as H1 but they did well.
That said, I need to pose a question that I have asked elsewhere and never got answered. I got funds at my disposal that will ultimately end in this counter, KK, Mumias etal but I am jittery over the referendum thingy. Are my worries unfounded? MY HOLDING AT THE EXCHANGE WAS HALVED DURING THE POST ELECTION VIOLENCE!!! THATS WHERE I AM COMING FROM.
Though I am brave enough to continue investing I doubt I can handle a similar loss seeing that my modest holding constitutes much of my worth.
@Mukiha,@VV,@Deal,@Ucant,@Sheep,@qw and all input please.
When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
#91 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 2:41:24 PM

Good question & that is my fear too... Should I sell off what I like just so I can ride out the Referendoom?

This is Kenya where the fiction of we will never have a 'civil war' is no longer valid... What we had in PEV 2008 was a low-grade civil war...

The good news is that kibaki (his legacy)+ raila (prez/PM job in 2012) seem committed & they control the armed forces/police...

The watermelons are the ones I despise... Vote YES or NO... It is YOUR right lakini these watermelons need to be sliced up!
the deal
#92 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 3:15:00 PM

@Shauriyako Unga will be reporting their results around September there...so u can spread your buys between now and then...so that u take advantage of any price fluctuations...thats wat i'm intending to do...
#93 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 3:15:43 PM

Can you please ask your friends if Unga has a website?
#94 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 3:22:16 PM

shauriyako wrote:
@All

I know one or two guys who work for unga and from what I am told is unga did fine the just ended trading year. I am told their H2 was not a as good as H1 but they did well.
That said, I need to pose a question that I have asked elsewhere and never got answered. I got funds at my disposal that will ultimately end in this counter, KK, Mumias etal but I am jittery over the referendum thingy. Are my worries unfounded? MY HOLDING AT THE EXCHANGE WAS HALVED DURING THE POST ELECTION VIOLENCE!!! THATS WHERE I AM COMING FROM.
Though I am brave enough to continue investing I doubt I can handle a similar loss seeing that my modest holding constitutes much of my worth.
@Mukiha,@VV,@Deal,@Ucant,@Sheep,@qw and all input please.

shauriyako, I think a new constitution is inevitable this time round. Though violence can't be ruled out, like VVS said, Raila and Kibaki control the security agencies. I don't see the Kibaki+Raila partnership losing. They WILL win, even if it means rigging.
If the NO team tries anything funny, they wil be dealt with. Si uliona vile machage alifanyiwa. I don't think there will be a repeat of 2007/2008. And you don't wan't to miss out on the rally that might take place if(and when) the proposed constitution passes.
#95 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 3:27:06 PM

Unga... website... I do not think so!
Crazy, huh? I would have thought the American CEO (seconded from SeaBoard) would have pushed for a website but the Board is controlled by the ndegwas
#96 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 5:20:45 PM

Unga's price rally is heavily dependent on them paying a dividend and seeing as it has been more than 5 years since they did so i say its a big risk but i got about 3.5% of my portfolio in this

@mukiha 11.7% of your portfolio??? you definitely got the Kahunas for the NSE Applause
Wa_ithaka
#97 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 5:31:55 PM

One should only hold Unga as a speculative stock and nothing more.
Its volatile because of fx; weather patterns; govt interference with ugali
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#98 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:02:56 PM

Confirmed; deal done at 11.95

No cash remaining now, but if I get some, I buy some more...
#99 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:18:49 PM

guru267 wrote:
Unga's price rally is heavily dependent on them paying a dividend and seeing as it has been more than 5 years since they did so i say its a big risk but i got about 3.5% of my portfolio in this

@mukiha 11.7% of your portfolio??? you definitely got the Kahunas for the NSE Applause

guru, do you have the exact time when they last paid dividends? How much was it?
the deal
#100 Posted : Thursday, July 08, 2010 6:20:01 PM

mukiha wrote:
Confirmed; deal done at 11.95

No cash remaining now, but if I get some, I buy some more...

Unga will suprise...i will start buying kidogo kidogo next week...last year they gave bonus shares...can they do it again...a bonus+dividend wil be awesome...