wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

6 Pages«<3456>
Scenic routes
Muheani
#81 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 9:35:36 PM

I recently did Thika- Nairobi- Nakuru- Njoro- Nakuru- Lanet -Dundori- Ol Kalou- Engineer- Jambini- Flyover- Gakoe- Mataara- Gatura -gatanga-Thika.

I FELT GOOD!! Kenya is beautiful. The scenic route and the lush greenery were a sight to behold with a spiritual-almost Godly touch. The road is awesome, funny that few people seem to know. Try and you will never regret.

Simo, Yaani Ulipita Tu Hapo Karibu Pasenga Na Haukusema,

Ningetumana upewe Either potatoes, karati Ama A Really Fluffy Polished Merino Sheep Ngozi. Ukivaa Hakuna Baridi. Unakuwa Elder Pap.
#82 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 10:34:08 PM

kamundu wrote:
I recently did Thika- Nairobi- Nakuru- Njoro- Nakuru- Lanet -Dundori- Ol Kalou- Engineer- Jambini- Flyover- Gakoe- Mataara- Gatura -gatanga-Thika.

I FELT GOOD!! Kenya is beautiful. The scenic route and the lush greenery were a sight to behold with a spiritual-almost Godly touch. The road is awesome, funny that few people seem to know. Try and you will never regret.

@ simonkabz im told the road ni kapeti ama? Is the road busy? Want to take my family for a drive those sides. Lastly used that road in 1999. Is it the one through mang'u town?

Yes. Thats the one. Carpet all the way less a small section between Jambini-Flyover. You can even dismount the car's suspension to save on weightsmile

You can start at Blue Posts Hotel Thika (Gatanga road) and do the reverse route, or start at Jomoko (Mangu/Gatukuyu road)
#83 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 10:37:23 PM

Muheani wrote:

Ningetumana upewe Either potatoes, karati Ama A Really Fluffy Polished Merino Sheep Ngozi. Ukivaa Hakuna Baridi. Unakuwa Elder Pap.

Next time I will hoot all the way till someone appears with a sack of waru. But.....your name scared me a bit ......reminds me of FIRIFO (phillip), muheani wa mbegu ya ngombe gwitu gicagiLaughing out loudly
Muheani
#84 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 5:14:23 AM

Muheani wrote:

Next time I will hoot all the way till someone appears with a sack of waru. But.....your name scared me a bit ......reminds me of FIRIFO (phillip), muheani wa mbegu ya ngombe gwitu gicagiLaughing out loudly

LolLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
majimaji
#85 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 9:58:21 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Here is another scenic route that I have not done in a long time.

Start from Nairobi to Thika - turn right on Garissa road and keep going. Past Matuu, Yatta, Ukasi - it used to be a legal requirement to wait for a convoy here. Then on to Garissa. Spend the night, pray you survive the terrorists. Those days the only place you could get a guaranteed cold beer was at Oasis or the the PC's compound.

Next morning head back towards Nairobi, cross the Tana rive bridge and turn left towards, Hola, Garsen, Malindi, Kilifi, Mombasa.

Arrive Mombasa very late, dusty and dog tired (don't worry, it is all tarmac these days). Lodge at the Castle Hotel (does it still exist?), careful of the Fatima's attention.

Early next morning head north towards Mazeras, Voi, Archers Post et al. Arrive Nairobi late evening, again dog tired but happy. Stop at Deep West for a cold beer and the best of Wenge Musica. Another weekend done, plus a day if you gave in to Fatima's temptation.

The scenery is mostly desert. Not much by day, but see it under the moonlight and you'll never forget.

Who says our country is boring?

How is this section @Wakanyugi? Is it tarmacked, how about banditos?
CLK
#86 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 2:46:05 PM

Its only in Kenya where you kati a girl by taking out to a food joint and the said girls eats like she is heading to the South Sudan the following day. I think Kenyan galz are food-maniacs!!!

wachana! if you think they are then talk to dudes from 'other regions'whose gals eat like no man's biz and order take aways 4 family back home!

And by eating I mean all takataka from frothy beer straight from bottle,goat head,tail,napkins,matumbo,chewing gum,biscuits,cake,straws to icecream in one sitting.
Hata bill wanakula before you pay.

Kenyans both men and women eat a lot of food generally, a starter in a restaurant in Nairobi would pass for the main course elsewhere...
#87 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:55:34 PM

There was this amazing book written many years that had like 20 scenic routes to drive.

I have it somewhere, it also has maps. Let me look for it.

@Kularaha,
Could that be 40 circuits in Kenya by Philip Obeille(sp)? the dude who went on a gallivanting spree in Kenya with his family in a Pajero... I have the book, BEST investment ever especially for those of us who're more often than not on the road. The maps were also pretty accurate,and the distance estimates. I think he made the trips about 20 or 25years ago,but still very relevant
#88 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:57:27 PM

Garrissa - Habaswein - Modogashe
#89 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:59:23 PM

kiriita wrote:
Most of you get Es for your answers...

I know - it's called thread mutation wazua style - 'Nairobi metropolis' bit forgotten....

@JB, how about a drive through the Nairobi National park...enter through Lang'ata, exit from Kitengela side...

Or, drive through Karen, end up at Oloolua forest...very quiet, nice with rivers and waterfall, picnic sites etc...yes, I also didn't believe it is is Nairobi!!!! and entrance fee is like 100Kshs at the gate....thanx to one @Leona...

@Nostopping
Karibu sana, and FYI.. they now have a banda/guesthouse in the forest.. just in case next time you wish to spend the night in the serene surroundings. If you're more of the roughing out kind,you could camp.. we camped over for a friend's birthday,barbeque and drinks until the a.m.. super amazing
#90 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 4:00:20 PM

Muheani wrote:

@Simonkabz...That Gakoe-Thika road was very bad sometime ago. Was it repaired? I remember once an Elephant strayed onto us as we repaired a puncture hapa mama ngina's shamba.
#91 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 4:18:50 PM

Good read.

Our roads esp in the rural areas need to be marked for us to enjoy such routes. Its hard to follow unmarked rural roads. I recently visited a friend in a shags in Kinangop in a convoy and got lost while coming back to Nairobi. Luckily it was not after dark and i was able to asked locals for the way to flyover.
mzeiya411
#92 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 4:42:19 PM

majimaji wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Here is another scenic route that I have not done in a long time.

Start from Nairobi to Thika - turn right on Garissa road and keep going. Past Matuu, Yatta, Ukasi - it used to be a legal requirement to wait for a convoy here. Then on to Garissa. Spend the night, pray you survive the terrorists. Those days the only place you could get a guaranteed cold beer was at Oasis or the the PC's compound.

Next morning head back towards Nairobi, cross the Tana rive bridge and turn left towards, Hola, Garsen, Malindi, Kilifi, Mombasa. Arrive Mombasa very late, dusty and dog tired (don't worry, it is all tarmac these days). Lodge at the Castle Hotel (does it still exist?), careful of the Fatima's attention.

Early next morning head north towards Mazeras, Voi, Archers Post et al. Arrive Nairobi late evening, again dog tired but happy. Stop at Deep West for a cold beer and the best of Wenge Musica. Another weekend done, plus a day if you gave in to Fatima's temptation.

The scenery is mostly desert. Not much by day, but see it under the moonlight and you'll never forget.

Who says our country is boring?

How is this section @Wakanyugi? Is it tarmacked, how about banditos?

Don't dare this stretch without a serious SUV especialy the stretch between Garissa-Bura and Hola to Mnazini. Woe unto you if it's raining
mzeiya411
#93 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 4:51:18 PM

willin2learn wrote:
Garrissa - Habaswein - Modogashe

This is one road that makes you feel bad for NEP...
Kriscalf
#94 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:32:40 PM

I so love travelling!!!
Tamaa nayo mmenitia!!!
The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
#95 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 7:58:42 PM

Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool.
#96 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 9:14:10 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Once upon a time, a ride I took from Voi to Mwatate and onwards to Wundanyi had me mesmerized at the scenery, especially the Mwatate-Wundanyi section. Very green and cool.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can

#97 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 9:16:28 PM

leona wrote:
There was this amazing book written many years that had like 20 scenic routes to drive.

I have it somewhere, it also has maps. Let me look for it.

@Kularaha,
Could that be 40 circuits in Kenya by Philip Obeille(sp)? the dude who went on a gallivanting spree in Kenya with his family in a Pajero... I have the book, BEST investment ever especially for those of us who're more often than not on the road. The maps were also pretty accurate,and the distance estimates. I think he made the trips about 20 or 25years ago,but still very relevant

@Leona, a book like that.. I want! Where did you buy it?

#98 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 9:51:22 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mbloo, just tell us the truth... it wasn't the scenery, the mbeotifo taita ladies who start out black in Voi and end up yellow up the hills. The tiny pot-holes call for moderate speed and the so called scenery is all shrubs, dry land that one. The people tho' are amazing. I love the taita customs. Try to stay away from the mnazi.. if you can

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers.
#99 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 11:37:33 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly oops, busted! On a serious note lakini, was doing some job at a gov't office huko Wundanyi. True though, those ngeos are mbeotitifu and their customs good. Which reminds me, I've always heard eti kuna barabara inatoka Voi inapitia ndani ya Tsavo na kutokea Malindi albeit disused. How true is that? Apparently people avoid it coz of wild animals and poachers.

First I'm hearing of it.. I admire miros. Maybe its their dare-devil attitude that makes their skin white. In South Sudan there is a couple that would tour the country. An old couple. And they'd do it just by themselves in a land-rover laden with all their camping gear. And this is amidst all the fighting, unrest etc, while the rest of us were fearful of leaving the camp for a drink 500metres away! Death wish?

Someone once told me(please don't quote me), if you find yourself in an unsafe area, walk bodly... like you own the placed'oh! I dunno if it works with wild animals/poachers.. they might think 'Huyu amefuluta kitu iko na mbegu and therefore, he's not fit for consumptionsmile '

#100 Posted : Thursday, August 01, 2013 12:48:09 AM

kiriita wrote:
Most of you get Es for your answers...

I know - it's called thread mutation wazua style - 'Nairobi metropolis' bit forgotten....

@JB, how about a drive through the Nairobi National park...enter through Lang'ata, exit from Kitengela side...

Or, drive through Karen, end up at Oloolua forest...very quiet, nice with rivers and waterfall, picnic sites etc...yes, I also didn't believe it is is Nairobi!!!! and entrance fee is like 100Kshs at the gate....thanx to one @Leona...

Hizi mbili lazima nijaribu hivi karibuni.